Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, 13, 14, and 17-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 3-5 of US 12475115 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the bolded portions of claims 1 and 3-5 of ‘115 teach or suggest the bolded portions of instant claims 1 and 4-8. See chart below.
US 12475115 B2
Instant
1. A method comprising: receiving, from input originating from a user, a first query comprising natural language text,
(Examiner finds it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention modify this element to include a conventional, well known “chatbot.” The motivation would have been to assist a user in quickly finding information without expert knowledge of the schema of a database. )
1. A method comprising: obtaining a first query comprising natural language text during a chatbot conversation with a user,
wherein the user is associated with a first tenant of one or more tenants of a security provider;
wherein the user is associated with a first tenant of a plurality of tenants of a security provider;
determining if the first query corresponds to at least one of a vulnerability database
and a database managed by the security provider that maintains Internet of things (IoT) information for the one or more tenants;
based on determining that the first query corresponds to the database of IoT information,
based on determining that the first query corresponds to a first knowledge source of a plurality of knowledge sources,
prompting a large language model (LLM) to generate a database query representing the first query that is compatible with the database of IoT information,
generating a second query representative of the first query,
wherein prompting the LLM to generate the database query comprises generating a prompt comprising an instruction to generate a database query representation of the first query based, at least in part, on a schema of the database of IoT information and providing the prompt to the LLM,
wherein the first knowledge source comprises a database of Internet of Things (IoT) security information maintained for the plurality of tenants, wherein the second query is a database query representative of the natural language text,
wherein generating the second query comprises prompting a first language model with the first query;
wherein an output of the LLM indicates the database query representing the first query;
and submitting the database query to the database of IoT information to obtain a first query result comprising at least one of data and metadata maintained in the database that satisfy the database query; based on determining that the first query corresponds to the vulnerability database,
submitting the second query to the database of IoT security information to retrieve a first result that satisfies the first query;
querying the vulnerability database with a vulnerability database query determined based on the first query to obtain a second query result, wherein the second query result comprises at least one of data and metadata maintained in the vulnerability database that satisfy the vulnerability database query;
masking sensitive information of the first tenant that is included in the first query result or the second query result;
based on determining that the first result comprises sensitive information of the first tenant, masking the sensitive information of the first tenant that is included in the first result; and
generating a summary of the first query result or the second query result having sensitive information masked;
and providing the first or second query result
providing a first response to the first query comprising the first result.
Instant claims 10 and 14 are rejected for the reasons given above for instant claim 1.
[CLAIM 1] generating a summary of the first query result or the second query result having sensitive information masked; v and providing the first or second query result
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising summarizing the first result based prompting the first language model or another language model with the first result to obtain a summary of the first result, wherein providing the first response to the first query comprises providing the first response to the first query comprising the first result and the summary of the first result.
Instant claim 19 is rejected for the reasons given above for instant claim 4 above.
[CLAIM 1]. . . .determining if the first query corresponds to at least one of a
vulnerability database and a database managed by the security provider that maintains Internet of things (IoT) information for the one or more tenants
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining to which of the plurality of knowledge sources the first query corresponds,
wherein a second knowledge source of the plurality of knowledge sources comprises a vulnerability database.
Instant claim 17 is rejected for the reasons given above for instant claim 5
4. The method of claim 1 further comprising
determining one or more parameters for the vulnerability database query based on the first query,
wherein determining that the first query corresponds to the vulnerability database comprises determining that the first query relates to a known vulnerability, wherein the vulnerability database comprises at least one of an external vulnerability database and an internal vulnerability database.
6. The method of claim 5 further comprising:
based on determining that the first query corresponds to the vulnerability database,
determining one or more parameters for querying the vulnerability database based on the first query;
querying the vulnerability database with the one or more parameters;
Instant claim 13 is rejected for the reasons given above for instant claims 5-6.
Instant claim 18 is rejected for the reasons given above for claim 6.
[CLAIM 1] . . . to obtain a second query result, wherein the second query result comprises at least one of data and metadata maintained in the vulnerability database that satisfy the vulnerability database query;
. . .
and providing the first or second query result and the summary of the first or second query result as a response to the first query.
obtaining a second result of querying the vulnerability database comprising at least one of data and metadata from the vulnerability database; and
providing a second response to the first query comprising the second result.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the external vulnerability database comprises the National Vulnerability Database (NVD), wherein querying the vulnerability database comprises querying the NVD via an application programming interface (API) of the NVD.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the vulnerability database comprises the National Vulnerability Database.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the LLM comprises a pre-trained transformer-based LLM.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the first language model comprises a pre-trained transformer-based large language model (LLM).
Instant claim 20 is rejected for the reason given for instant claim 8 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 13, 14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subramanian US 20240061835 A1 in view of Reddy US 20240045893 A1 and further in view of Ghatage US 20230267227 A1.
With respect to claim 1, Subramanian teaches the following:
Claim
Subramanian; US 20240061835 A1
1. A method comprising: obtaining a first query comprising natural language text during a chatbot conversation with a user,
Para. 32 (chatbot); para. 124 and para. 125 (Examiner finds “<s>What are the invoices for Invoice </s>” teaches the obtained, NL text);
wherein the user is associated with a first tenant of a plurality of tenants of a security provider;
based on determining that the first query corresponds to a first knowledge source of a plurality of knowledge sources,
Para. 124 (first knowledge source is the knowledge source (database) specified by the schema):
generating a second query representative of the first query,
Para. 131 (second query representative of first query is a translated SQL query, for example);
wherein the first knowledge source comprises a database of Internet of Things (IoT) security information maintained for the plurality of tenants,
wherein the second query is a database query representative of the natural language text,
Para. 131 (second query representative of first query is a translated SQL query, for example);
wherein generating the second query comprises prompting a first language model with the first query;
Paras. 125, 131, 132;
para. 192 (Examiner finds “providing as input to the customized machine learning model” teaches prompting the model with the first query);
submitting the second query to the database
Para. 192
of IoT security information
to retrieve a first result that satisfies the first query;
Para. 192
based on determining that the first result comprises sensitive information of the first tenant, masking the sensitive information of the first tenant that is included in the first result; and
providing a first response to the first query comprising the first result.
Para. 192
It appears Subramanian fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the user is associated with a first tenant of a plurality of tenants of a security provider;
wherein the first knowledge source comprises a database of Internet of Things (IoT) security information maintained for the plurality of tenants,
of IoT security information
based on determining that the first result comprises sensitive information of the first tenant, masking the sensitive information
However, Reddy US 20240045893 A1 teaches “wherein the user is associated with a first tenant of a plurality of tenants of a security provider” in Para. 105 (site engineer is a tenant of a security provider );
“wherein the first knowledge source comprises a database of Internet of Things (IoT) security information maintained for the plurality of tenants” in Paras. 105-107 (Examiner finds vulnerability database teaches IoT security information);
“of IoT security information” in paras. 105-107 (Examiner finds vulnerability database teaches IoT security information).
Subramanian and Reddy are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify “obtaining a first query comprising natural language text during a chatbot conversation with a user” in Subramanian to include “wherein the user is associated with a first tenant of a plurality of tenants of a security provider” as taught by Reddy; to modify generating a second query representative of the first query as taught by Subramanian to include wherein the first knowledge source comprises a database of Internet of Things (IoT) security information maintained for the plurality of tenants as taught by Reddy; and to modify “submitting the second query to the database” as taught by Subramanian to include “of IoT security information” as taught by Reddy.
The motivation for all combinations would have been to “access[] insights about []network infrastructure, eliminating the need for complex database queries, domain-specific languages, or other cumbersome methods.” Reddy ¶119.
It appears Subramanian et al. fails to explicitly teach “based on determining that the first result comprises sensitive information of the first tenant, masking the sensitive information of the first tenant that is included in the first result; and.”
However, Ghatage teaches this element in
[0027] Upon completing the necessary processing for the request 154, the applications access system 100 may or may not return any data from the corresponding backend application depending on the request 154 being validated. If any data is to be returned, the response provider 106 receives the data from the applications communicator 104 and may enable the display of such data on the social media UI 152. For example, if an invoice is submitted for processing by the request 154 via the social media UI 152, the applications access system 100 may return an acknowledgment without any specific data. However, if the request 154 pertains to specific information regarding updating account information, the applications access system 100 may be required to return the updated information. In providing sensitive data such as account information, the applications access system 100 ensures protection of the sensitive data by implementing various procedures to occlude or prevent transmission of the sensitive data via the social media application 150. The response provider 106 enables AI-based masked communications thereby masking sensitive information while providing representative data in a response 156 to the request 154. The response 156 with the sensitive data occluded can be displayed on the social media UI 152.
Ghatage and Subramanian et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to retrieve a first result that satisfies the first query as taught by Subramanian et al. to include “based on determining that the first result comprises sensitive information of the first tenant, masking the sensitive information of the first tenant that is included in the first result; and” as taught by Ghatage.
The motivation would have been to maintain user privacy. See Ghatage ¶ 27.
Claim 10 and claim 14 are rejected for the reason given above for claim 1.
With respect to claim 4, Reddy teaches “4. The method of claim 1, further comprising summarizing the first result based prompting the first language model or another language model with the first result to obtain a summary of the first result, wherein providing the first response to the first query comprises providing the first response to the first query comprising the first result and the summary of the first result” in
[0118] The converted responses are then presented in the UI of the query module 104 for the site engineer to view. The engineer sees the following user-friendly response displayed in the UI: “The login credentials need to be changed immediately to avoid vulnerability on system x.”
(“The login credentials need to be changed immediately to avoid vulnerability on system x.” is a summary of results).
The motivation to combine this element with claim 1 is given above in claim 1 (i.e. to access[] insights about []network infrastructure, eliminating the need for complex database queries, domain-specific languages, or other cumbersome methods.).
Claim 19 is rejected for the reason given above for claim 4.
With respect to claim 5, Reddy US 20240045893 A1 teaches “5. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining to which of the plurality of knowledge sources the first query corresponds, wherein a second knowledge source of the plurality of knowledge sources comprises a vulnerability database.
[0118] The converted responses are then presented in the UI of the query module 104 for the site engineer to view. The engineer sees the following user-friendly response displayed in the UI: “The login credentials need to be changed immediately to avoid vulnerability on system x.”
The motivation to combine this element with claim 1 is given above in claim 1 (i.e. to access[] insights about []network infrastructure, eliminating the need for complex database queries, domain-specific languages, or other cumbersome methods.).
Claim 17 is rejected for the reason given above for claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, Reddy teaches “6. The method of claim 5 further comprising: based on determining that the first query corresponds to the vulnerability database, determining one or more parameters for querying the vulnerability database based on the first query” in
[0107] Based on the analyzed query, the QE engine 216 predicts the infrastructure-specific commands required to be executed on the heterogeneous infrastructure 108. The predicted query could be: “Find vulnerability conditions from a central vulnerability database.”
[0109] Some examples of subsequent questions formulated by the QE 216 include: [0110] “Find all systems deployed in AWS using ec2 instances types that are launched on a particular date.” [0111] “Retrieve security group information to find what ports are exposed to the internet and accept incoming connections.” [0112] “Is any python-based process running, which listens on a port exposed to the internet?” [0113] “What python packages may be loaded in memory by that process?” [0114] “What GitHub credentials are present on the system?” [0115] “Which GitHub user do those credentials belong to?”
(parameters include ec2 instances, dates, security group information, etc. as taught by ¶¶ 109—115 above);
“querying the vulnerability database with the one or more parameters”
[0107] Based on the analyzed query, the QE engine 216 predicts the infrastructure-specific commands required to be executed on the heterogeneous infrastructure 108. The predicted query could be: “Find vulnerability conditions from a central vulnerability database.”
[0109] Some examples of subsequent questions formulated by the QE 216 include: [0110] “Find all systems deployed in AWS using ec2 instances types that are launched on a particular date.” [0111] “Retrieve security group information to find what ports are exposed to the internet and accept incoming connections.” [0112] “Is any python-based process running, which listens on a port exposed to the internet?” [0113] “What python packages may be loaded in memory by that process?” [0114] “What GitHub credentials are present on the system?” [0115] “Which GitHub user do those credentials belong to?”
“obtaining a second result of querying the vulnerability database “comprising at least one of data and metadata from the vulnerability database; and”
[0105] Consider another exemplary scenario where a site engineer utilizes the query module 104 to obtain information about system vulnerabilities. The engineer inputs a natural language query through the UI of the query module 104, asking, “What entity may be affected with a particular vulnerability?”
[0106] The NLP engine 214 processes the query and extracts the intent, which is to identify entities that could potentially be impacted by a specific vulnerability.
[0107] Based on the analyzed query, the QE engine 216 predicts the infrastructure-specific commands required to be executed on the heterogeneous infrastructure 108. The predicted query could be: “Find vulnerability conditions from a central vulnerability database.”
(“What entity may be affected with a particular vulnerability?” corresponds to the central vulnerability database);
“comprising at least one of data and metadata from the vulnerability database; and”
[0109] Some examples of subsequent questions formulated by the QE 216 include 216 include: [0110] “Find all systems deployed in AWS using ec2 instances types that are launched on a particular date.” [0111] “Retrieve security group information to find what ports are exposed to the internet and accept incoming connections.” [0112] “Is any python-based process running, which listens on a port exposed to the internet?” [0113] “What python packages may be loaded in memory by that process?” [0114] “What GitHub credentials are present on the system?” [0115] “Which GitHub user do those credentials belong to?”
[0118] The converted responses are then presented in the UI of the query module 104 for the site engineer to view. The engineer sees the following user-friendly response displayed in the UI: “The login credentials need to be changed immediately to avoid vulnerability on system x.”
(“System x” is an example of metadata and data; user credentials include metadata and data);
“providing a second response to the first query comprising the second result”
[0118] The converted responses are then presented in the UI of the query module 104 for the site engineer to view. The engineer sees the following user-friendly response displayed in the UI: “The login credentials need to be changed immediately to avoid vulnerability on system x.”
(“The login credentials need to be changed immediately to avoid vulnerability on system x.” teaches a second result and a response to the first natural language query).
The motivation to combine this element with claim 5 is given above in claim 1 (i.e. to access[] insights about []network infrastructure, eliminating the need for complex database queries, domain-specific languages, or other cumbersome methods.). Claim 13 is rejected for the reasons given above for claim 5-6.
Claim 18 is rejected for the reason given above for claim 6.
With respect to claim 8, Subramanian teaches “wherein the first language model comprises a pre-trained transformer-based large language model (LLM)” in ¶ 116 (“This deep learning model (referred to as a “C2OMRL semantic parser” or “C2OMRL model”) is trained with thousands of example pairs (natural language to logical form).”)(Examiner finds “deep learning model would suggest “LLM” to one skilled in the art); para. 112.
Claim 20 is rejected for the reason given above for claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subramanian US 20240061835 A1 in view of Reddy US 20240045893 A1 and further in view of Ghatage US 20230267227 A1 as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Nhlabatsi US 20200351295 A1.
With respect to claim 7, it appears Subramanian et al. fails to explicitly teach “7. The method of claim 5, wherein the vulnerability database comprises the National Vulnerability Database”
However, Nhlabatsi teaches “the vulnerability database comprises the National Vulnerability Database” in para. 52.
Subramanian et al. and Nhlabatsi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vulnerability database in Subramanian to include “the National Vulnerability Database” as taught by Nhlabatsi.
The motivation would have been to provide up-to-date protection for system vulnerabilities.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-3, 9, 11-12, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALBERT M PHILLIPS, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159