Claim Interpretation
The Examiner would like to note that the data of claims 6-10 do not have to be given weight because there is no functional relationship between the medium and the computer in which it is used (see fig. 9), the medium is merely serving as support for information or data (see MPEP 2111.05(III) titled MACHINE-READABLE MEDIA). The non-transitory storage medium serves as a support for the data (i.e. the bitstream) which is not used by the computer for any other purpose. The non-transitory storage medium is merely serving as support for the data.
The Examiner recommends adding instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium which cause a processor to execute the method steps listed in the claim to generate a bitstream.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,477,134 in view of Wu et al. (U.S. 2014/0301464), hereinafter Wu. Wu was cited in the Applicant’s IDS dated 10/30/25.
The majority of claims 1-5 and 11-15 are disclosed by claimed 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,477,134.
The instant application includes additional limitations in claims 1 and 11 such as one or more processors and sending the bitstream.
However, Wu teaches one or more processors ([0035] and fig. 1) and sending the bitstream (figs. 3 and 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the U.S. Patent with the missing limitations as taught by Wu to be able to use video compression to reduce bit rate of digital video (Wu [0002]).
As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known device such as a processor to yield a predictable result of improving coding efficiency.
Claims 6-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,477,134 in view of Haskell et al. (U.S. 2011/0243236), hereinafter Haskell.
The majority of claims 6-10 are disclosed by claimed 10-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,477,134.
The instant application includes additional limitations in claim 6 such as a non-transitory storage medium which includes a coded video bitstream.
However, Haskell teaches a non-transitory storage medium which includes a coded video bitstream ([0023], [0020] and claim 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by the U.S. Patent with the missing limitations as taught by Haskell to be able to decode compress video (Haskell [0023]).
As shown above, all of the limitations are known, they can be applied to a known device such as a processor to yield a predictable result of improving coding efficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Haskell et al. (U.S. 2011/0243236), hereinafter Haskell.
Regarding claim 6, Haskell discloses a non-transitory storage medium which includes a coded video bitstream (Haskell claim 21), wherein the coded video bitstream comprises: a sequence parameter set (SPS) and a first picture, wherein the SPS comprises a first flag, the first flag indicating that a current sub-picture in the first picture is treated as a picture, wherein the SPS further comprises a loop filter across sub-picture boundaries enabled flag (loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag), wherein the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag specifies that in-loop filtering operations across sub-picture boundaries are enabled when equal to one, wherein the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across sub-picture boundaries when equal to zero, wherein the SPS further comprises sub-picture identifiers (IDs) for sub-pictures partitioned from the first picture, wherein the SPS further comprises a subpicture identifier length minus 1 (subpic_id_len_minus1), wherein the subpic_id_len_minus1 plus 1 specifies a number of bits used to represent the sub-picture IDs in the SPS, wherein the SPS further comprises a number of subpictures minus one (num_subpicture_minus1), and wherein the num_subpicture_minus1 plus 1 specifies the number of sub-pictures partitioned from the first picture (see Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 7, Haskell discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 6, wherein the SPS includes an ith number of flags where i is an index of the current sub-picture (see claim 6 and Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 8, Haskell discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 6, wherein the current sub-picture is treated as a picture when the current sub-picture is constrained to contain motion vectors restricted to point to full-sample locations inside the current sub-picture and to fractional-sample locations that require only full-sample locations inside the current sub-picture for interpolation (see claim 6 and Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 9, Haskell discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 6, wherein the first flag is a subpic_motion_constrained_flag[ i ] where i is an index of the current sub-picture (see claim 6 and Claim Interpretation section above).
Regarding claim 10, Haskell discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 6, wherein the SPS further includes a sub-picture size for each sub-picture and a sub-picture location for each sub-picture (see claim 6 and Claim Interpretation section above).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW K KWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482