DETAILED ACTION
Herein, “the previous Office action” refers to the Non-Final Rejection filed 3/4/2026.
Documents Received
Amendments to the claims, and a declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, were received on 5/21/2026.
Priority
As detailed on the Filing Receipt filed 11/25/2025, the instant application claims priority to as early as 3/31/2021. At this point in prosecution, all claims are accorded the earliest claimed priority date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 5/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered in full. A signed copy of the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Declaration
Consideration with respect to 35 USC § 101
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 5/21/2026 (hereafter, “the Wilcox Declaration” or “the declaration”) is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-6 and 8-25 based upon lack of subject matter eligibility under 35 USC § 101 as set forth in the last Office action because:
The declaration characterizes the claimed invention as providing a technical advancement to the field of lung cancer screening by solving the failure of prior non-proteomic approaches in achieving the performance metrics necessary for dependable Stage I cancer screening. The declaration specifically discusses the failure of DNA-based approaches to reach high sensitivity in detection of Stage I lung cancer, due in part to very low circulating tumor fraction, and the opportunity presented for detection of Stage I cancer independently of circulating tumor fraction via proteomic measurements that reflect not only cancer-specific proteins but also the body’s response to cancer (Wilcox Declaration at pp. 3-4, item 10).
This is unconvincing at least in view of cited prior art. Cited reference Drake discloses a cfDNA-based approach that detects Stage I cancer with high sensitivity, including from low-volume plasma samples, discusses how this performance suggests contributions from both tumor and immune-derived signals, and exemplifies derivation of cfDNA measurements from low-volume plasma samples (para. 0510).
Thus, in support of a position that the claimed invention improves a technical field, the declaration asserts a particular functional advantage over DNA-based approaches that allegedly stems from the claimed invention’s alternative reliance on proteomic measurements. However, cited prior art indicates exhibition of the alleged functional advantage by a DNA-based approach.
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of technical improvement fails to outweigh the evidence for lack of subject matter eligibility.
Consideration with respect to 35 USC § 103
The Wilcox Declaration is furthermore insufficient to overcome the rejections of claims 1-6 and 8-25 based upon obviousness, in view of combinations of references (Drake, Kearney, Lu and Wang) applied, under 35 USC § 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
The declaration further states that the claimed subject matter solved a problem that was long standing in the art. The problem, and provided solution, are formulated thus: “[P]revious approaches relying on non-proteomic markers have consistently lacked the performance metrics necessary to achieve dependable Stage I lung cancer screening in subjects. For example, clinical tests for lung cancer screening utilizing DNA approaches have struggled to reach high sensitivity in Stage I detection due in part to the very low circulating tumor fraction. Proteins provide an opportunity to detect Stage I cancer independent of the circulating tumor fraction by measuring not only cancer specific proteins, but also the body’s response to cancer” (Wilcox Declaration at pp. 3-4, item 10).
The declaration compares the claimed invention to particular embodiments in the disclosure of Drake, particularly the generation of classifiers for detection of colorectal cancer (CRC), based on cell-free DNA measurements, to illustrate the asserted performance gap. The declaration highlights functional differences between cell free DNA measurements and proteomic measurements, between CRC- and lung cancer-associated biomarkers, and between classifiers trained thereon (Wilcox Declaration at pg. 3, items 8-9). However, these embodiments do not reflect the full scope of Drake.
Drake discloses generation and input of a range of different biomarker types, including proteomic measurements (e.g., at paras. 0378-79), to trained classifiers for detection of a range of different cancer types, including lung cancer (e.g., at paras. 0260 and 0326). Drake additionally discloses generation and employment of classifiers achieving performance characteristics including a clinical sensitivity of at least about 75% or 80%, and a clinical specificity of at least about 55% (para. 0231), and exemplifies particular cancer associated protein markers including NSE (para. 0201), i.e., ENO2. Although Drake does not disclose all aspects of the claimed invention, the declaration mischaracterizes the scope of the prior disclosure by only comparing the claimed invention to less-close embodiments of Drake.
The declaration asserts that the author would have had no reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed subject matter upon reviewing the disclosure by Drake of using cell-free DNA to detect CRC. As explained above, the declaration does not treat the relevant portions of Drake. There is no evidence that if persons skilled in the art who were presumably working on the alleged problem knew of the closest teachings of the cited references, they would still be unable to arrive at the claimed invention. See MPEP § 716.04.
Furthermore, the declaration presents evidence for achievement of certain performance metrics by the claimed invention but does not present any comparative data in support of a position that the achieved metrics would be considered unexpected by one of ordinary skill in the art. The court of In re Mayne, 104 F.3d 1339 (Fed. Cir. 1997) found Applicant statements regarding unexpected results to be conclusory, and insufficient to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness, where these statements were unsupported by comparative data (see Id. at 1343-44).
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness. Pursuant to In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130 (CCPA 1949) and In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132 (CCPA 1960), Applicant is required to explain the apparent significant deviations (i.e., omissions) made from the disclosure of Drake for the purpose of the presented comparison. See MPEP 716.02(e).
Claim Status
Claim 7 is canceled.
Claims 1-6 and 8-32 are pending, and under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objection to the specification is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment of the abstract to resolve noted informalities.
The rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC § 101, as being directed to nonstatutory subject matter, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancelation of the claim.
The rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC § 103, as being unpatentable over Drake, in view of Kearney, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancelation of the claim.
The provisional rejection of claims 1-2 and 9 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Application No. 18/164,446, is hereby withdrawn in view of the abandonment of the reference application.
The rejection of claim 7 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, as being patentably indistinct from claims of co-pending Application No. 19/093,811, in view of Kearney, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancelation of the claim.
The rejection of claim 7 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting, as being patentably indistinct from claims of co-pending Application No. 19/367,529, in view of Kearney, is hereby withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancelation of the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 26, the recited phrase “with an a” (line 20) should be amended to “with a”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-32 are rejected under 35 USC § 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description and enablement requirements. The written description requirement is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement (MPEP 2161 § II), and the statutory issues presented by the claims are discussed below with respect to each requirement. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by reconsideration of the amended claims as a whole in light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 5/21/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Written Description
The written description must describe the claimed subject matter in such a way as to reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the entire scope of the claimed invention. See Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc); Juno Therapeutics, Inc. v. Kite Pharma, Inc., 10 F.4th 1330, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2021).
Possession may be shown in many ways, e.g., by describing an actual reduction to practice of the claimed invention. A specification may describe an actual reduction to practice by showing that the inventor constructed an embodiment or performed a process that met all the limitations of the claim and determined that the invention would work for its intended purpose.
The specification describes a number of ‘Examples’ that appear to be reductions to practice of classifiers bearing conceptual similarities to that employed in practice of the claimed invention. However, the specification does not appear to describe any working examples of classifiers meeting all required limitations (e.g., the recited performance characteristic) for use with the claimed invention.
For example, the specification describes generation of a classifier based on 20 protein features, via a random forest model, in an ‘Example 6’ (paras. 00657-60). Corresponding drawings depict performance results of said proteomic classifier indicating achievement of sensitivity for stage I (and stage II) lung cancer of 47% at 99.5% specificity, and 57% at 90% specificity (Figs. 20A-B). The associated classifier does not meet all requirements (e.g., a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of ≥75%) of independent claim 1.
The specification additionally describes generation of a classifier based on 250 top-scoring protein features in an ‘Example 9’ (paras. 00675-77). Corresponding drawings depict performance results of said proteomic classifier indicating achievement of average sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of 56% at 98% specificity, with incidental achievement of sensitivity of ≥75% during cross-validation (Figs. 22B). The associated classifier similarly does not meet all requirements (e.g., using <25 features) of independent claim 1.
The specification apparently fails to affirmatively identify any particular sets of proteomic markers from which less than 25 features, capable of training a classifier to distinguish lung cancer with the required performance characteristic, can be derived. Hence, the claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor, or a joint inventor, had possession of the claimed invention.
For the above reasons, the claims lack adequate written description support.
Enablement
To satisfy the enablement requirement, the specification must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without ‘undue experimentation.’ See In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 736-37 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The instant specification is enabling for: applying a classifier, which is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples, to measurements of particular lung cancer associated proteomic markers and thereby providing a quantitative or qualitative result using <25 features therefrom. However, the specification does not appear to disclose any working examples of proteomic-only classifiers meeting all required limitations (e.g., the recited performance characteristic) for use with the claimed invention.
For example, the specification describes generation of a classifier based on 20 protein features, via a random forest model, in an ‘Example 6’ (paras. 00657-60). Corresponding drawings depict performance results of said proteomic classifier indicating achievement of sensitivity for stage I (and stage II) lung cancer of 47% at 99.5% specificity, and 57% at 90% specificity (Figs. 20A-B). The associated classifier does not meet all requirements (e.g., a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of ≥75%) of independent claim 1.
The specification additionally describes generation of a classifier based on 250 top-scoring protein features in an ‘Example 9’ (paras. 00675-77). Corresponding drawings depict performance results of said proteomic classifier indicating achievement of average sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of 56% at 98% specificity, with incidental achievement of sensitivity of ≥75% during cross-validation (Figs. 22B). The associated classifier similarly does not meet all requirements (e.g., using <25 features) of independent claim 1.
The specification apparently fails to affirmatively identify any particular sets of proteomic markers from which less than 25 features, capable of training a classifier to distinguish lung cancer with the required performance characteristic, can be derived. It is unclear how one of ordinary skill in the art would ascertain which proteomic markers to employ.
Furthermore, the specification states that “In some embodiments, any of the classifiers disclosed herein can be build using any of the biomarkers disclosed herein to determine whether a sample from a subject has a disease state selected from: healthy… or NSCLC Stages 1, 2, or 3. In some embodiments, the classifier is capable of distinguishing samples as healthy versus NSCLC Stages 1, 2, or 3 with a high sensitivity and high specificity” (para. 00591, emphasis added). Numerous proteomic biomarkers are disclosed in the specification, including the following: A2GL, A2M, ACAA1, ACTB, ACTG, AKR1B1, ADA2, AGT, ALDR, ANGPTL6, ANP32A, ANPEP, ANTXR1, ANTXR2, APCS, APOM, APP, AQP1, ARPC1B, ASGR2, ASPH, BMP1, BTK, BPIF1, C6, CALR, CAN2, CAPZA1, CBR1, CCL18, CD5L, CDH1, CDH11, CDH2, CDHR2, CEMIP, CHRDL1, CILP, CILP2, CLEC3B, CNDP1, COL14A1, COL18A1, COL6A1, COLEC10, CP, CRP, CSPG2, CTSH, DNAJB11, DSC2, DSG2, EIF2AK2, ENO3, EPRS1, EPS15L1, ESM1, ETFB, EXT1, F13A1, F23B, FAT1, FGL1, FGL2, FHL1, FLT4, FMOD, FN3K, GC, GP1BB, GPC1, GPLD1, GRHPR, HADHA, HDGF, HIST1H4I, HLA.C, HP, HPR, HPTR, HTRA1, ICAM1, IDH2, IGFALS, IGFBP2, IGFBP5, IGHA1, IGHG2, IGKC, IGKV1-8, IGKV1-9, ILF2, ITGAM, ITIH2, LGALS3BP, LCN2, LPP, LTF, MAOB, MAPK1, MAP2K1, METTL7A, MPO, MYH9, NADP, NAMPT, NIF3L1, NOTCH1, NOTCH2, NOTUM, NRP1, NUCB1, ORM1, ORM2, P01011, P0DOX8, PARVB, PCSK6, PEBP4, PFN1, PGP, PI16, PIGR, PMVK, PPP2R1A, PRG4, PRKAR1A, PROS1, PRSS2, PSMC4, PTX3, PXDN, RABGAP1, RELN, RHOA, RLA2, RPL12, RPS7, S100A8, S100A9, S100A12, SAA1, SAA2, SAA4, SDC1, SERPINA1, SERPINA3, SERPINF2, SERPING1, SIAT1, SLAIN2, SND1, SVEP1, TAGLN2, TFRC, TGFB1, TLN1, TNC, TPM1, TSP2, TUBA1A, TUBA1C, TUBB, TUBB1, and VCAN (paras. 008, 0010, 0012, 0014, 00349-52 and 00355). The lengthy specification has not been checked exhaustively for further description of unique biomarker species, but likely describes biomarkers beyond those 165 cited here.
The specification states that a user can employ any of the biomarkers disclosed therein, and provides no concrete examples of classifiers that achieve the recited performance characteristic using any particular combination of proteomic markers from among those disclosed. A user would need to discern which combinations of proteomic markers, from among those disclosed, would enable the development of a classifier as claimed.
Assume, for the sake of simplicity, that each considered proteomic biomarker corresponds to a single classifier feature. A prospective user of the claimed invention would need to assess the performance characteristics of classifiers trained on
∑
i
=
1
24
165
!
i
!
165
-
i
!
different combinations of less than 25 biomarkers, from among the cited 165 biomarkers exemplified by the specification, to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
The specification thus does not appear to reasonably provide enablement for the full scope of the claims. Hence, the specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The claims as written appear to set forth, as the court warned against in Reiffin v. Microsoft Corp., 214 F.3d 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2000), a right to exclude that “overreach[es] the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification” (Id. at 1345).
For the above reasons, the claims lack sufficiently enabling disclosure.
Claims 1-6 and 8-32 are rejected under 35 USC § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by reconsideration of the amended claims as a whole in light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 5/21/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
With respect to claims 1-3, 26, 31 and dependents therefrom, there is uncertainty regarding scope of the following recited limitations:
“with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%” (claim 1, lines 9-11; claim 26, lines 20-21; claim 31, lines 8-9);
“wherein the sensitivity for the lung cancer is at least 82%” (claim 3, lines 1-2);
“wherein the sensitivity for the lung cancer is at least 85%” (claim 4, lines 1-2).
The claims appear to recite specific functions or results achieved by the invention (i.e., the classifier) without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that achieve that specific result (see MPEP 2173.05(g)).
Distinguishing lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with the recited performance characteristics (e.g., comprising a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75%) does not appear to be a conventional capability of any given classification model, trained for lung cancer classification via conventional techniques, using any given combination of less than 25 features derived from measurements of any given lung cancer associated proteomic markers. Thus, adherence to all limitations of the claim would appear to require performance of the method in some particular manner that is not fully articulated therein and would not be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
For the above reasons, the claims are indefinite.
Response to Arguments – Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 101
In the Remarks filed 5/21/2026, Applicant traverses the rejection under 35 USC § 101 and presents supporting arguments.
Applicant alleges that amended claim 1 recites an ordered combination of ‘non-routine and conventional’ elements that provide a technological improvement over existing lung cancer screening methods and, similarly to claims held eligible in BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed Cir. 2016; hereafter “BASCOM”) and Rapid Litig. Mgmt. v. CellzDirect, Inc., 827 F.3d 1042 (Fed. Cir. 2016; hereafter “CellzDirect”), thus amounts to significantly more than the alleged judicial exception (pg. 11, para. 3 – pg. 12, para. 2)..
The BASCOM court found considered claims to recite a particular combination of additional elements providing an improvement in the functioning of a claimed computer system over prior content filtering systems, despite conventionality of the claimed elements as considered individually (see 827 F.3d at 1348-51). Unlike that considered in BASCOM, the instant specification does not supply evidence that particular technical features of the claimed invention improve the functioning of a computer compared to technology conventionally employed within the field of the invention. The instant claims are not considered as eligible under similar reasoning to that provided by the BASCOM court.
The CellzDirect court held considered claims to apply a discovered natural phenomenon (the ability of liver cells to survive the multiple freeze-thaw process) to create a “new and improved technique for producing a tangible and useful result” (Id. at 1049-50). Unlike those considered in CellzDirect, the instant claims do not apply a natural law to produce a tangible product in an improved manner. In the absence of significant additional elements, a process that employs mathematical algorithms to manipulate existing information to generate additional information is not patent eligible (Digitech Image Techs., LLC vs. Elecs. For Imaging, Inc., 758 F.3d 1344, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). The instant claims are not considered as eligible under similar reasoning to that provided by the CellzDirect court.
Thus, the argument of analogy to BASCOM and CellzDirect is found unpersuasive. (See arguments below for further discussion of the issue of conventionality.)
In support, Applicant points to functional disadvantages of prior lung cancer screening methods as described in the Wilcox Declaration (Declaration under 37 CFR § 1.132, filed 5/21/2026) and the specification, and highlights utilization by the claimed classifier of fewer than 25 features derived from proteomic measurements to achieve a sensitivity of at least 75% for stage I lung cancer (pg. 12, para. 3 – pg. 13, para. 2).
Requirement that the claimed method utilizes proteomic measurements limits the type of input data evaluated via the claimed classifier, and the courts have ruled that such limitations merely confine judicial exceptions to particular fields of use (see Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 716 (Fed. Cir. 2014); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp., 134 F.4th 1205 (Fed. Cir. 2025)).
Field-of-use limitations are insufficient to integrate judicial exceptions into a practical application or provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05(h)). See Cleveland Clinic Foundation v. True Health Diagnostics, LLC, 859 F.3d 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2017), wherein the court held as ineligible claims involving analysis of measured levels of a particular biomarker (myeloperoxidase) to determine subject risk of cardiovascular disease.
Requirement that the claimed method utilizes less than 25 features limits the structure of the claimed classifier, which is a mathematical algorithm. Requirement that the claimed classifier achieves the cited sensitivity for stage I lung cancer limits the claimed act of calculation, although the metes and bounds of this limitation are unclear (see ‘Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112’).
Only additional elements are evaluated (alone and in combination) to determine if they provide an inventive concept which constitutes significantly more, since “[an] inventive concept… cannot be furnished by [an] unpatentable law of nature (or natural phenomenon or abstract idea) itself” (Genetic Techs. V. Merial LLC, 818 F.3d 1369, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). The unconventional or improved nature of the usage of less than 25 classifier features, and/or achievement of a particular performance characteristic, is therefore a moot point with respect to subject matter eligibility under § 101.
Thus, the argument of cited advantages over prior art is found unpersuasive.
Applicant notes that each of claims 2-6 and 8-25 depend on and include all elements of claim 1, and alleges that these claims further recite additional elements of particular advantage and utility (pg. 13, para. 3). As claim 1 does not recite eligible subject matter in current form, the dependence therefrom of claims 2-6 and 8-25 does not confer eligibility to these claims. The alleged additional elements are not identified, and mere assertion of their existence is found unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that new claim 26 recites an ordered combination of ‘non-routine and conventional’ elements that provide a technological improvement over existing lung cancer screening methods and thus, in a similar manner to claims held eligible in BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341 (Fed Cir. 2016; hereafter “BASCOM”), amounts to significantly more than the alleged judicial exception. Applicant highlights the claimed use of at least two different proteomic assays to obtain a combined input dataset of proteomic measurements from fewer than 25 lung associated proteomic markers, and contrasts this with conventional use of a single assay platform (pg. 14, para. 2 – pg. 15, para. 1).
This is unconvincing at least in view of cited prior art. Cited reference Drake discloses performance of a plurality of assays, including: quantitative immunoassay, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), protein microarray, cell-free protein Immuno-Quant ELISA, and SIMOA (para. 0018). Cited reference Kearney discloses measuring protein levels using any suitable method, and exemplifies methods including microarray and immunoassays, e.g., ELISA (para. 0096). Cited reference Van Gool reviews applications of numerous different types of protein assays (e.g., ELISA at pg. 259; lateral flow assays at pg. 261), and discusses relative advantages and disadvantages of each. In view of the cited prior art, implementation of multiple proteomic assays does not appear unconventional in the field. Thus, the argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that new claim 31 recites a step of administering a specific treatment and thus, in a similar manner to claims held eligible in Vanda Pharm. Inc. v. West-Ward Pharm. Int’l Ltd., 887 F.3d 1117 (Fed. Cir. 2018; hereafter “Vanda”), integrates the alleged judicial exception into a practical application (pg. 15, para. 3 – pg. 17, para. 1).
The claim as written recites a step of “administering a treatment to the subject or conducting imaging on the subject based at least in part on a classification… by the classifier” (lines 10-11, emphasis added). Imaging a patient, although an important diagnostic step for many diseases and medical conditions (e.g., lung cancer), does not itself treat any disease or medical condition (e.g., lung cancer). The claim as written encompasses embodiments where the alleged judicial exception is not integrated into provision of a particular treatment for lung cancer. Thus, the argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that new claim 31 recites an ordered combination of steps that was not well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of early-stage lung cancer screening (pg. 17, para. 2). The cited steps (a) and (b) of claim 31 are directed to judicial exceptions, while step (c) is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity. See rejection for full details. Thus, argument regarding the unconventional nature in combination of the recited steps is found unpersuasive.
For the above reasons, the arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejections are maintained. Please note that the presented argument regarding the treatment step of claim 31 would be found persuasive, if the claim were to recite the administration of a particular treatment, based at least in part on a classification of the biofluid sample by the classifier, in all claimed embodiments. The Examiner recommends appropriate amendment.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
35 USC § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-6 and 8-32 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea, and a natural phenomenon, without significantly more (i.e., non-statutory subject matter). The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 5/21/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
"Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas, natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 § I).
Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts (including formulas, equations and calculations), and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Laws of nature and natural phenomena include principles, relations, and products that are naturally occurring or do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature (MPEP 2106.04(b)).
The claims as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea and a natural phenomenon.
Step 1: The Four Categories of Statutory Subject Matter (MPEP 2106.03)
The claims are directed to methods, which fall under the ‘process’ category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A, Prong One: Whether the Claims Set Forth or Describe a Judicial Exception (MPEP 2106.04 § II.A.1)
‘Mathematical concepts’ are relationships between variables and numbers, numerical formulas or equations, or acts of calculation, which need not be expressed in mathematical symbols (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) § I). The claims further recite elements which encompass mathematical concepts, at least under their broadest reasonable interpretation, including:
“applying a classifier to the [proteomic measurements] to provide a quantitative or qualitative result… using fewer than 25 features from the [proteomic measurements]” (claims 1, 26 and 31), i.e., evaluating an algorithm for <25 input values to produce output, wherein:
the classifier is trained to distinguish sample classes with a performance characteristic comprising:
“a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer” (claims 1, 26 and 31),
“a specificity of at least 55%” (claims 1, 26 and 31),
“[a] sensitivity for stage I lung cancer [of] at least 75%” (claims 1, 26 and 31),
“[a] sensitivity for the lung cancer [of] at least 82%” (claim 3), and
“[a] sensitivity for the lung cancer [of] at least 85%” (claim 4), and
the classifier comprises:
“a linear regression algorithm, a logistic regression algorithm, a gradient boosted model, or a combination thereof” (claim 17),
“the linear regression algorithm” (claim 18),
“the logistic regression algorithm” (claim 19), and
“the gradient boosted model” (claim 20).
The recited algorithms, and acts of calculation, constitute mathematical concepts.
‘Mental processes’ are processes that can be performed in the human mind at least with use of a physical aid, e.g., a slide rule or pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) § III). The recited acts of calculation are (in simple embodiments) practicably performable in the human mind, at least with physical aid, further rendering them as mental processes (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) § III). For example, the human mind is capable of evaluating a linear regression algorithm for particular input values. Additionally, the claims recite elements that encompass further processes that are practicably performable in the human mind, at least under their broadest reasonable interpretation, including:
“generating a combined dataset comprising at least a portion of the first proteomic measurements and at least a portion of the second proteomic measurements” (claim 26), i.e., combining information.
Combining sets of information is practicably performable in the human mind, and thus constitutes a mental processes.
Mathematical concepts and mental processes constitute enumerated groups of abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) §§ I and III). Hence, the claims recite elements that, individually and in combination, constitute an abstract idea.
The claims further recite the following claim elements, which require that recited data is
representative of natural phenomena:
the classifier processes proteomic measurements representative of “an amount or concentration of… lung cancer associated proteomic markers [in a] biofluid sample” (claims 1, 26 and 31), wherein:
“the proteomic measurements are obtained from fewer than or equal to about 25 of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers” (claim 8),
“the lung cancer associated proteomic markers comprise Fibrinogen-like protein 1 (FGL1), Gamma-Enolase 2 (ENO2), or any fragment thereof” (claim 21),
“the lung cancer associated proteomic markers comprise the FGL1, or a fragment thereof” (claim 22), and
“the lung cancer associated proteomic markers comprise the ENO2, or a fragment thereof” (claim 23); and
the classifier distinguishes “lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples” (claim 1), wherein:
“the lung cancer comprises non-small cell lung cancer” (claim 5), and
“the non-small cell lung cancer is stage 1 non-small cell lung cancer, stage 2 non-small cell lung cancer, stage 3 non-small cell lung cancer, or stage 4 non-small cell lung cancer” (claim 6).
These elements require that data satisfy given representative constraints, but do not alter the abstract nature of the steps performed upon said data. Moreover, these elements specify that data represents particular natural phenomena (i.e., particular proteomic markers).
The claims must therefore be examined further to determine whether they integrate these judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Whether the Claims Contain Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception(s) into a Practical Application (MPEP 2106.04 § II.A.2)
The claims recite the following additional elements directed to data gathering activity necessary for performance of claimed method steps:
“measuring an amount or a concentration of [the] lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements” (claims 1 and 31), wherein:
“the biofluid sample is a blood sample and the processed sample is a plasma sample or a serum sample comprising plasma or serum isolated from blood” (claim 2),
“the measuring comprises performing an immunoassay to obtain the proteomic measurements” (claim 9),
“the measuring comprises performing at least two immunoassays to obtain the proteomic measurements” (claim 10),
“the immunoassay comprises an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA)” (claim 11),
“the immunoassay comprises a particle-based immunoassay” (claim 12),
“the immunoassay comprises a lateral flow assay” (claim 13),
“the immunoassay is a sandwich immunoassay” (claim 14),
“the immunoassay comprises a fluorescent or luminescent readout” (claim 15),
“the fluorescent readout is obtained from one or more fluorescent proteins or a fluorescence resonance energy transfer” (claim 16),
“at least a subset of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers is immobilized to a solid support directly or indirectly” (claim 24), and
“the solid support is a welled plate” (claim 25);
“obtaining a biofluid sample from a subject comprising lung cancer associated proteomic markers” (claim 26); and
“measuring an amount or a concentration of fewer than 25 of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers from the biofluid sample using at least two different proteomic assays” (claim 26), comprising:
“measuring, using [the] first proteomic assay… an amount or a concentration of a first subset of the fewer than 25 lung cancer associated proteomic markers in the biofluid sample or a processed sample therefrom to obtain first proteomic measurements” (claim 26), wherein:
“the first proteomic assay is an immunoassay” (claim 27),
“the immunoassay comprises an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), a particle-based immunoassay, a lateral flow assay, a sandwich immunoassay, or a fluorescent or luminescent readout” (claim 28), and
“measuring, using [the] second proteomic assay… an amount or a concentration of a second subset of the fewer than 25 lung cancer associated proteomic markers in the biofluid sample or the processed sample therefrom to obtain second proteomic measurements” (claim 26), wherein:
“the second proteomic assay is an immunoassay” (claim 29), and
“the immunoassay comprises an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), a particle-based immunoassay, a lateral flow assay, a sandwich immunoassay, or a fluorescent or luminescent readout” (claim 30).
Insignificant extra-solution activity, including necessary data gathering activity, is insufficient to integrate judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The claims further recite the following elements:
“administering a treatment to the subject or conducting imaging on the subject based at least in part on a classification of the biofluid sample by the classifier” (claim 31), wherein:
“the treatment comprises an immunotherapy, a lung cancer targeted therapy, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, percutaneous ablation, radiofrequency ablation, cryoablation, microwave ablation, chemoembolization, or surgery” (claim 31), or
“the imaging comprises a computer tomography (CT) scan, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan, an ultrasound scan, an X-ray, a positron emission tomography (PET) scan, or a PET-CT scan” (claim 32).
The step of administering treatment would, if required in all embodiments of the claims, be considered as a particular treatment as per MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). However, the claims do not require the performance of the step of administering a treatment in all claimed embodiments. The step of conducting imaging is not considered as a treatment for a disease or medical condition, and is considered to merely link the recited judicial exceptions to a particular field of use or technological environment. See discussion regarding claim 31 in ‘Response to Arguments – Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 101’). Field-of-use limitations are insufficient to integrate judicial exceptions into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
No further additional elements are recited.
When the claims are considered as a whole: they do not improve the functioning of a computer, other technology, or technical field (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)); they do not apply the judicial exceptions to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP 2106.04(d)(2)); they do not implement the judicial exceptions with, or in conjunction with, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)); they do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)); and they do not apply or use the judicial exceptions in some other meaningful way beyond linking the use of the judicial exceptions to a particular technological environment and/or field of use (e.g., cancer diagnostics; MPEP 2106.05(e) and 2106.05(h)).
Therefore, the claims do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) § I.
Because the claims recite an abstract idea and a natural phenomenon, and do not integrate those judicial exceptions into a practical application, the claims are directed to those judicial exceptions. Claims that are directed to judicial exceptions must be examined further to determine whether the additional elements besides the judicial exceptions render the claims significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Additional elements besides the judicial exceptions may constitute inventive concepts that are sufficient to render the claims significantly more (MPEP 2106.05).
Step 2B: Whether the Claims Contain Additional Elements that Amount to an Inventive Concept (MPEP 2106.05)
As noted above, several recited additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. Mere addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than the recited judicial exceptions, particularly when the activities are well-understood or conventional (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The conventionality of recited additional elements that amount to insignificant extra-solution activity must be further considered.
Recited additional elements amounting to insignificant extra-solution activity encompass processes which are indicated as well-understood, routine and conventional by relevant prior art. The cited article by Van Gool et al (Expert Review of Proteomics 17(4): 257-273; published 5/19/2020) reviews clinically applied multiplex protein biomarker assays, particularly immunoassays applied to biofluid samples (pg. 258, Abstract – pg. 259, l. column), and discusses ELISAs, particle-based and sandwich formats, fluorescent readout, immobilization of protein markers to a well-plate surface, and lateral flow assays (pp. 259-61, sections 3.1-3.3). Van Gool provides evidence that the claimed data gathering activity is well-known, routine and conventional.
Hence, the encompassed extra-solution activity is considered well-understood, routine and conventional. Well-understood, routine and conventional activity is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than judicial exceptions (MPEP 2106.05(d)).
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the judicial exceptions to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a
particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to
perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not
provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exceptions to a particular technological environment and/or field of use (e.g., cancer diagnostics; MPEP 2106.05(e) and 2106.05(h)).
Therefore, the claims do not provide an inventive concept and/or significantly more than the judicial exceptions themselves. See MPEP 2106.05.
Conclusion: Claims are Directed to Non-statutory Subject Matter
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to judicial exceptions and lack an inventive concept. Hence, the claimed invention does not constitute significantly more than the judicial exceptions, so the claims are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Response to Arguments – Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 103
In the Remarks filed 5/21/2026, Applicant traverses the rejections under 35 USC § 103 and presents supporting arguments.
Applicant alleges that the Office has not met its burden in demonstrating that Drake and Kearney, alone or in combination, teach or suggest a classifier that can achieve a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75% (pg. 17, para. 6).
To the extent of scope for which the claimed classifier is enabled (see ‘Claim Rejections – 112’), it is viewed as made obvious in light of the combined teachings of Drake and Kearney. Kearney. In particular, Kearney teaches application of their proteomic methods to discrimination of lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). Kearney also teaches development of classifiers based on assessment of sensitivity and specificity to identify protein panels with optimal discriminatory performance (para. 0134) and presents findings regarding a number of tested 15-protein panels that were found to distinguish cancer with high sensitivities and specificities (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5). Thus, the argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant points to the Wilcox Declaration to support an allegation that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Drake and Kearney to arrive at the claimed invention, and furthermore that the unexpected performance of the claimed invention in distinguishing early-stage lung cancer satisfies a long-felt and previously unmet need in the art (pg. 17, para. 6 – pg. 18, para. 3).
As explained above, the declaration does not compare the claimed invention to the relevant teachings of Drake (see ‘Declaration’ section). Additionally, the declaration makes no comparison between the claimed invention and the teachings of cited reference Kearney. The § 103 rejections all include both Drake and Kearney, and Kearney is likewise considered highly relevant prior art. Kearney discloses generation of classifiers for discriminating cancer vs. non-cancer based on proteomic measurements (Abstract), and exemplifies application to lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). In particular, Kearney discloses 131 different 15-protein panels that were found to distinguish cancer with AUCs above 0.80 (para. 0182; Fig. 1).
An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR § 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness (In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175 (CCPA 1979)). The submitted declaration compares the claimed invention with the disclosure of Drake but fails to treat the closest disclosed embodiments, and does not discuss the disclosure of Kearney. It is considered moot for the purpose of rebutting obviousness over the applied combinations of Drake, Kearney and/or other cited references.
Applicant alleges that claim 13 is eligible by virtue of its dependency, since Lu does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Drake and Kearney with respect to claim 1 (pg. 19, paras. 4-6). The Examiner contends that the combined teachings of Drake and Kearney present
no deficiencies with respect to the limitations of claim 1, thus the argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that claim 22 is eligible by virtue of its dependency, since Wang does not remedy the alleged deficiencies of Drake and Kearney with respect to claim 1 (pg. 20, paras. 1-3). The Examiner contends that the combined teachings of Drake and Kearney present no deficiencies with respect to the limitations of claim 1, thus the argument is found unpersuasive.
For the above reasons, the arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-21 and 23-32 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Drake (WO 2019/200410; published 10/17/2019; on IDS filed 11/5/2025), in view of Kearney (US 2016/0047820; published 2/18/2016; on IDS filed 11/5/2025). The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 5/21/2026) to incorporate new limitations.
Claim 1 is directed to a method for detecting lung cancer associated proteomic markers, comprising steps of: measuring an amount or a concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the proteomic measurements to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of the lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the proteomic measurements, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%.
With respect to claim 1, Drake discloses systems and methods that analyze blood-based cancer diagnostic tests (Abstract), comprising: measuring concentration of a set of proteins in a body fluid sample obtained from a patient to generate proteomic measurements (paras. 0107, 0114 and 0379); and input of protein concentration features to a machine learning model to obtain an output classification of whether the sample is associated with a cancer, wherein the machine learning model is trained on vectors obtained from training samples including a first subset identified from individuals with cancer and a second subset identified from individuals not having cancer (paras. 0028 and 0378), the cancer can be lung cancer (para. 0326), and performance may include a clinical sensitivity of at least about 80% and a clinical specificity of at least about 55% (para. 0231).
Drake does not disclose embodiments wherein the machine learning model assigns the classification using fewer than 25 features, or with a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to claim 2, Drake discloses centrifuging blood to isolate a plasma fraction (para. 0337). Additionally, Kearney discloses obtaining plasma samples via routine phlebotomy (para. 0125), i.e., isolation from drawn blood.
With respect to claims 3-4, Drake discloses embodiments wherein performance includes a clinical sensitivity of at least about 82% and at least about 85% (para. 0231).
With respect to claim 5, Drake discloses embodiments wherein the cancer is lung cancer (para. 00326) and exemplifies method validation through analysis of available data from squamous cell lung cancer samples (para. 0462). Squamous cell lung cancer is a type of non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC).
With respect to claim 6, Drake discloses obtaining blood samples from individuals with stage I, II, III or IV cancer (para. 0124).
With respect to claim 8, Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of a panel of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153).
With respect to claims 9-12 and 14-15, Drake discloses performing a plurality of assays which can include quantitative immunoassay, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA); Immuno-Quant ELISA, i.e., a sandwich ELISA; and SIMOA, i.e., a particle-based, sandwich ELISA comprising a fluorescent readout (para. 0018). As evidence for the examiner’s characterization of SIMOA, see the cited article by Rissin (Analytical Chemistry 83(6): 2279-2285; published 2/11/2011).
Additionally, Kearney discloses measuring the expression level of a biomarker protein using immunoassays such as ELISA (para. 0096).
With respect to claim 16, Drake discloses assaying mRNA via polynucleotide probes that are labeled with fluorescent reporters, i.e., fluorescent proteins (para. 0192). One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to apply the disclosed reporting modality to other disclosed assay systems involving binding of analytes by probe molecules, e.g., protein immunoassays. In this way, Drake makes obvious the application of obtaining a fluorescent readout from one or more fluorescent proteins to protein immunoassays as claimed.
With respect to claims 17-20, Drake discloses input of protein concentration features to a machine learning model (para. 0378), wherein machine learning can include multiple linear regression and partial least squares regression (both forms of linear regression), logistic regression and/or a gradient boost tree (para. 0233).
Additionally, Kearney teaches assignment of protein coefficients (discriminatory weights) via a logistic regression model (paras. 0047 and 0253) and further teaches quantitative expression of the discriminatory ability of a protein panel as a mathematical algorithm with a term for each constituent protein being the product of its coefficient and measured expression level (para. 0092).
With respect to claims 21 and 23, Drake discloses cancer associated protein markers including NSE (neuron-specific enolase), also known as ENO2 (para. 0201). Additionally, Kearney discloses analysis of biomarker proteins including ENO2 (para. 0118; pg. 22, Table 6).
With respect to claims 24-25, Drake discloses immunosorbent assays (e.g., ELISA) wherein a marker protein is bound to a solid support, such as a microtiter well (para. 0206).
Claim 26 is directed to a method, comprising steps of: obtaining a biofluid sample from a subject comprising lung cancer associated proteomic markers; measuring, using a first proteomic assay, an amount or a concentration of a first subset of fewer than 25 of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain first proteomic measurements; measuring, using a second proteomic assay, an amount or a concentration of a second subset to obtain second proteomic measurements; generating a combined dataset comprising at least a portion of the first proteomic measurements and at least a portion of the second proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the combined dataset to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of the lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the combined dataset, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%.
With respect to claim 26, Drake discloses systems and methods that analyze blood-based cancer diagnostic tests (Abstract), comprising: measuring concentration of a set of proteins in a body fluid sample obtained from a patient to generate proteomic measurements (paras. 0107, 0114 and 0379); and input of protein concentration features to a machine learning model to obtain an output classification of whether the sample is associated with a cancer, wherein the machine learning model is trained on vectors obtained from training samples including a first subset identified from individuals with cancer and a second subset identified from individuals not having cancer (paras. 0028 and 0378), the cancer can be lung cancer (para. 0326), and performance may include a clinical sensitivity of at least about 80% and a clinical specificity of at least about 55% (para. 0231).
Drake further discloses obtaining measurements via a plurality of assays (para. 0018), and is thus considered to at least make obvious the limitations regarding performance of first and second assays to generate first and second proteomic measurements; generating a combined dataset therefrom and applying the classifier to the combined dataset.
Drake does not disclose embodiments wherein the machine learning model assigns the classification using fewer than 25 features, or with a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to claims 27-30, Drake discloses performing a plurality of assays which can include quantitative immunoassay, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA); Immuno-Quant ELISA, i.e., a sandwich ELISA; and SIMOA, i.e., a particle-based, sandwich ELISA comprising a fluorescent readout (para. 0018). As evidence for the examiner’s characterization of SIMOA, see the cited article by Rissin (Analytical Chemistry 83(6): 2279-2285; published 2/11/2011).
Additionally, Kearney discloses measuring the expression level of a biomarker protein using immunoassays such as ELISA (para. 0096).
Claim 31 is directed to a method, comprising steps of: measuring an amount or a concentration of lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements; applying a classifier to the proteomic measurements to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of the lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the proteomic measurements, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%; and administering a treatment to the subject or conducting imaging on the subject based at least in part on a classification of the biofluid sample by the classifier, wherein the treatment comprises an immunotherapy, a lung cancer targeted therapy, hemotherapy, radiation therapy, percutaneous ablation, radiofrequency ablation, cryoablation, microwave ablation, chemoembolization, or surgery.
With respect to claim 31, Drake discloses systems and methods that analyze blood-based cancer diagnostic tests (Abstract), comprising: measuring concentration of a set of proteins in a body fluid sample obtained from a patient to generate proteomic measurements (paras. 0107, 0114 and 0379); and input of protein concentration features to a machine learning model to obtain an output classification of whether the sample is associated with a cancer, wherein the machine learning model is trained on vectors obtained from training samples including a first subset identified from individuals with cancer and a second subset identified from individuals not having cancer (paras. 0028 and 0378), the cancer can be lung cancer (para. 0326), and performance may include a clinical sensitivity of at least about 80% and a clinical specificity of at least about 55% (para. 0231).
Drake further discloses application of their methods to guide treatment decisions (para. 0007) and subsequent provision of treatment to the subject (para. 0262), and exemplifies treatments including at least checkpoint inhibitor therapy, i.e., immunotherapy (para. 0035), radiation therapy and surgical intervention (paras. 0091 and 00262). Drake also discloses application of their methods to recommend confirmatory imaging for the subject (para. 0284).
Drake does not disclose embodiments wherein the machine learning model assigns the classification using fewer than 25 features., or with a performance characteristic comprising a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to claim 32, Drake exemplifies imaging modalities including computed tomography (CT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound, chest X-ray, positron-emission tomography (PET), and PET-CT (para. 0284).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if it simply
applies known techniques to a known method. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented a classifier using fewer than 25 features, as taught by Kearney, to enhance the cancer diagnostic methods taught by Drake, because Kearney teaches development of classifiers using feature sets of the claimed sparsity and satisfying performance characteristic thresholds disclosed by Drake (para. 0153, Fig. 1). In this way Kearney indicates that development and employment of classifiers as claimed, to perform classification tasks as claimed, was known in the art. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Drake and Kearney both discuss algorithmic classification of lung cancer states based on measurements, via immunoassay, of protein levels in plasma samples.
In this way the disclosure of Drake, in view of Kearney, makes obvious the limitations of claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-21 and 23-32. Thus, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Drake, in view of Kearney, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Lu (Scientific Reports 7: article no. 42414, 10 pages; published 2/10/2017). This rejection is maintained from the previous Office action.
With respect to claim 13, Drake discloses immunoassays (para. 0018) but does not disclose a lateral flow assay.
Kearney teaches immunoassays (para. 0096) but does not teach a lateral flow assay.
Lu presents an immunomagnetic nanobead-based lateral flow test strip for simultaneous quantitative detection of neuron-specific enolase (aka ENO2) and carcinoembryonic antigen, and discusses its application to diagnosis of lung cancer (pg. 1, Abstract).
Lu teaches that due to its simplicity, speed, and ease of use, lateral flow immunoassay has been widely used in numerous fields including the detection of serum proteins, e.g., tumor markers (pg. 2, para. 2).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if it simply
applies known techniques to a known method. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented assaying via a lateral flow assay, as taught by Lu, to enhance the cancer diagnostic methods taught by Drake, in view of Kearney, because Lu teaches that lateral flow immunoassay has been widely employed to rapidly quantify cancer-associated proteins (pg. 2, para. 2). In this way Lu indicates that employment of lateral flow assays to perform proteomic measurements was known in the art. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Drake and Lu both discuss measurement, via immunoassay, of protein levels in blood fractions.
In this way the disclosure of Drake, in view of Kearney and Lu, makes obvious the limitations of claim 13. Thus, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Drake, in view of Kearney, as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Wang (Cell 176(1): 334-347; published 1/10/2019). This rejection is maintained from the previous Office action.
With respect to claim 22, Drake discloses measuring concentration of a set of proteins (para. 0379) but does not mention fibrinogen-like protein 1 (FGL1).
Kearney teaches measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins (para. 0008) but does not mention FGL1.
Wang discusses the role of FGL1 in cancer immunodynamics (pg. 334, Abstract), and presents findings that plasma levels of FGL1 are significantly higher in NSCLC patients compared to healthy donors, indicating that FGL1 is upregulated in human cancers and especially NSCLC (pg. 342, l. column; pg. 343, Fig. 1D). Wang also presents findings that elevated plasma levels of FGL1 are associated with significantly decreased 5-year survival, indicating additional prognostic utility (pg. 342, l. column; pg. 343, Fig. 1C).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if it simply
applies known techniques to a known method. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented measurement and analysis of FGL1 levels, to enhance the cancer diagnostic methods taught by Drake, in view of Kearney, because Wang provides evidence that plasma levels of FGL1 have significant diagnostic utility for discrimination of NSCLC. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Drake and Wang both discuss association between plasma levels of proteins and non-small cell lung cancer. See In re Semaker 702 F.2d 989, 994-95 (Fed. Cir. 1983) regarding recognition of an expected beneficial result based on scientific principles.
In this way the disclosure of Drake, in view of Kearney and Wang, makes obvious the limitations of claim 22. Thus, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments – Double Patenting
In the Remarks filed 5/21/2026, Applicant traverses the rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting and presents supporting arguments.
Applicant alleges that, in light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, claims 1-2, 17-18 and 20 are patentably distinct over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,334,190 in view of Kearney (pg. 20, paras. 5-6). No particular limitations are discussed, hence the argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that, in light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, claims 1-5, 9, 11 and 21-22 are patentably distinct over claims of the co-pending U.S. Application No. 19/039,712 (pg. 21, paras. 4-5). No particular limitations are discussed, hence the argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that, in light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, claims 1-4, 8-9, 11 and 21-22 are patentably distinct over claims of the co-pending U.S. Application No. 19/093,811 (pg. 21, para. 7 – pg. 22, para. 1). No particular limitations are discussed, hence the argument is found unpersuasive.
Applicant alleges that, in light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims, claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8-25 are patentably distinct over claims of the co-pending U.S. Application No. 19/367,498 (pg. 22, paras. 4-5). No particular limitations are discussed, hence the argument is found unpersuasive.
For the above reasons, the arguments are found unpersuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Instant claims 1-2, 17-18, 20 and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14-15, 17 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,334,190 (issued 6/17/2025; on IDS filed 11/5/2025; hereafter, “‘190”), in view of Kearney. ‘190 shares joint inventors (Ma, Philip; Wilcox, Bruce; Collin, Francois; Belthangady, Chinmay; Yang, Mi; Khadka, Manoj; Liu, Manway; Blume, John; Langer, Robert S. JR.; Khaledian, Ehdieh) and a common assignee (PrognomIQ, Inc.) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 5/21/2026).
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method for detecting lung cancer associated proteomic markers, comprising steps of: measuring an amount or a concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the proteomic measurements to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of the lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the proteomic measurements, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘190 claims processing proteins from [a] biofluid sample from [a] subject to obtain proteomic data, generating a combined dataset comprising at least a portion of the proteomic data… and determining a presence or absence of cancer at least in part by inputting the combined dataset into a trained machine learning classifier, wherein the machine learning classifier is trained on cancer samples and on-cancer samples (claim 1), and wherein the cancer is lung cancer (claim 15).
‘190 does not particularly claim embodiments wherein the machine learning classifier assigns the classification using fewer than 25 features, with a sensitivity of at least 80% and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to instant claim 2, ‘190 claims embodiments wherein the biofluid sample comprises a blood, serum, or plasma sample (claim 19).
With respect to instant claims 17-18 and 20, ‘190 claims embodiments wherein the machine learning classifier is trained using partial least squares discriminant analysis (i.e., a type of linear regression) and a gradient boosted analysis (claim 14).
With respect to instant claim 31, ‘190 claims administering a radiation or surgical cancer treatment to the subject based on identifying a biological state as indicative of the presence of cancer via the classifier (claim 17).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if it simply
applies known techniques to a known method. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented a classifier using fewer than 25 features with a sensitivity for the lung cancer of at least 75% and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the specificity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%, to enhance the cancer diagnostic methods claimed by ‘190, because Kearney teaches development of classifiers for distinguishing lung cancers of any stage, using feature sets of the disclosed sparsity, achieving the claimed performance (paras. 0017, 0019-20, 0060, 0153 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5). In this way Kearney indicates that development and employment of classifiers as claimed, to perform classification tasks as claimed, was known in the art. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘190 and Kearney both discuss algorithmic classification of lung cancer states based on measurements of protein levels in plasma samples.
In this way the claims of ‘190, in view of Kearney, are patentably indistinct from the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 17-18, 20 and 31.
Instant claims 1-5, 9, 11, 21-22 and 31-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 99-100, 103-104, 110-111, 113-114 and 118 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 19/039,712 (hereafter, “‘712”), in view of Kearney. ‘712 shares joint inventors (Ma, Philip; Wilcox, Bruce; Collin, Francois; Belthangady, Chinmay; Yang, Mi; Khadka, Manoj; Liu, Manway; Blume, John; Khaledian, Ehdieh) and a common assignee (PrognomIQ, Inc.) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 5/21/2026).
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method for detecting lung cancer associated proteomic markers, comprising steps of: measuring an amount or a concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the proteomic measurements to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of the lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the proteomic measurements, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘712 claims quantifying… one or more proteins or fragments thereof of [a] plasma sample to obtain a plurality of proteomic measurements… and analyzing the plurality of proteomic measurements using a classifier to assign a degree of risk of lung cancer in the subject, wherein the classifier is trained on lung cancer samples and non-cancer samples (claim 99) and assigns the degree of risk with a sensitivity of at least 80% (claim 110).
‘712 does not particularly claim embodiments wherein the classifier assigns the classification using fewer than 25 features, with a specificity of at least 55% and a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to instant claim 2, ‘712 claims isolating plasma from a blood sample from a subject to obtain a plasma sample (claim 99).
With respect to instant claims 3-4, ‘712 claims embodiments wherein the classifier assigns the degree of risk with a sensitivity of at least 85% (claim 111).
With respect to instant claim 5, ‘712 claims embodiments wherein the lung cancer comprises non-small cell lung cancer (claim 100).
With respect to instant claim 9, ‘712 claims embodiments wherein the one or more proteins or fragments thereof are quantified with an immunoassay (claim 103).
With respect to instant claim 11, ‘712 claims embodiments wherein the immunoassay is an ELISA (claim 104).
With respect to instant claims 21-22, ‘712 claims embodiments wherein the one or more proteins or fragments thereof comprise Fibrinogen-like Protein 1, FGL1 (claim 99), and wherein the plurality of proteomic measurements comprises a level or an amount of the FGL1 (claim 118).
With respect to instant claim 31, ‘712 claims performing medical imaging on the
subject if the classifier identifies the degree of risk of the lung cancer in the subject as a high degree of risk of the lung cancer (claim 113).
With respect to instant claim 32, ‘712 claims embodiments wherein the medical imaging comprises a computed tomography (CT) scan, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan, or a positron emission tomography (PET) scan (claim 114).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if it simply
applies known techniques to a known method. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented a classifier using fewer than 25 features with a sensitivity for the lung cancer of at least 75% and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the specificity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%, to enhance the cancer diagnostic methods claimed by ‘712, because Kearney teaches development of classifiers for distinguishing lung cancers of any stage, using feature sets of the disclosed sparsity, achieving the claimed performance (paras. 0017, 0019-20, 0060, 0153 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5). In this way Kearney indicates that development and employment of classifiers as claimed, to perform classification tasks as claimed, was known in the art. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘712 and Kearney both discuss algorithmic classification of lung cancer states based on measurements of protein levels in plasma samples.
In this way the claims of ‘712, in view of Kearney, are patentably indistinct from the limitations of instant claims 1-5, 9, 11, 21-22 and 31-32. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claims 1-4, 8-9, 11 and 21-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 31-32, 36-38 and 43-44 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 19/093,811 (hereafter, “‘811”), in view of Kearney. ‘811 shares joint inventors (Ma, Philip; Wilcox, Bruce; Collin, Francois; Belthangady, Chinmay; Yang, Mi; Khadka, Manoj; Liu, Manway; Blume, John; Langer, Robert S. JR.; Khaledian, Ehdieh) and a common assignee (PrognomIQ, Inc.) with the instant application. This rejection has been revised in view of Applicant’s amendment of the instant claims (filed 5/21/2026).
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method for detecting lung cancer associated proteomic markers, comprising steps of: measuring an amount or a concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the proteomic measurements to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of the lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the proteomic measurements, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘811 claims analyzing [a] plasma sample, comprising measuring an amount or concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers… to obtain proteomic measurements, and providing a result comprising a degree of risk that the subject has the lung cancer based, at least in part, on an analysis of the proteomic measurements (claim 31), wherein the analyzing further comprises inputting the proteomic measurements… into a training machine learning model… [which] provides the result (claim 36).
‘811 also claims embodiments wherein the analysis has a sensitivity of at least 80% (claim 31), wherein the one or more proteins or fragments thereof comprise fewer than 20 proteins or fragments thereof (claim 43), and wherein the lung cancer is stage I lung cancer (claim 46).
‘811 does not particularly claim embodiments wherein the classifier exhibits a specificity of at least 55%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to instant claim 2, ‘811 claims obtaining a blood sample from a subject… [and] isolating plasma from the blood sample… to obtain a plasma sample (claim 31).
With respect to instant claims 3-4, ‘811 claims embodiments wherein the sensitivity is at least 85% (claim 44).
With respect to instant claim 8, ‘811 claims embodiments wherein the one or more proteins or fragments thereof comprise fewer than 20 proteins or fragments thereof (claim 43).
With respect to instant claim 9, ‘811 claims measuring the amount or concentration of the lung associated proteomic markers with an immunoassay (claim 31).
With respect to instant claim 11, ‘811 claims embodiments wherein the immunoassay comprises an ELISA (claim 32).
With respect to instant claims 21-22, ‘811 claims embodiments wherein the one or more proteins or fragments thereof comprise FGL1 (claims 37-38).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if it simply
applies known techniques to a known method. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented a classifier with a specificity of at least 55%, to enhance the cancer diagnostic methods claimed by ‘811, because Kearney teaches development of classifiers for distinguishing lung cancers of any stage, using feature sets of the disclosed sparsity, achieving the claimed performance characteristic (paras. 0017, 0019-20, 0060, 0153 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5). In this way Kearney indicates that development and employment of classifiers as claimed, to perform classification tasks as claimed, was known in the art. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘811 and Kearney both discuss algorithmic classification of lung cancer states based on measurements of protein levels in plasma samples.
In this way the claims of ‘811, in view of Kearney, are patentably indistinct from the limitations of instant claims 1-4, 8-9, 11 and 21-22. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8-32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6 and 8-32 of co-pending U.S. Application No. 19/367,529 (hereafter, “‘529”), in view of Kearney. ‘529 shares joint inventors (Ma, Philip; Wilcox, Bruce; Collin, Francois; Belthangady, Chinmay; Yang, Mi; Khadka, Manoj; Liu, Manway; Blume, John; Langer, Robert S. JR.; Khaledian, Ehdieh) and a common assignee (PrognomIQ, Inc.) with the instant application. The new grounds of rejection presented herein were necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims (filed 5/21/2026).
Instant claim 1 is directed to a method for detecting lung cancer associated proteomic markers, comprising steps of: measuring an amount or a concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the proteomic measurements to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of the lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the proteomic measurements, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity of at least 80% for the lung cancer and a specificity of at least 55%, wherein the sensitivity for stage I lung cancer is at least 75%.
With respect to instant claim 1, ‘529 claims measuring an amount or a concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements, and applying a classifier to the proteomic measurements to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the proteomic measurements, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75% (claim 1).
‘529 does not particularly claim embodiments wherein the classifier exhibits a performance characteristic comprising an area under the curve (AUC) of at least 0.75.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of specificity and sensitivity, generation of a ROC curve, and calculation of an AUC value (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060).
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had combined AUC above 0.80 and sensitivity of at least 75% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to instant claim 2, ‘529 claims embodiments wherein the biofluid sample is a blood sample and the processed sample therefrom is a plasma sample or a serum sample comprising plasma or serum isolated from the blood sample (claim 4).
With respect to instant claims 5-6 and 8-25, the respective claims 5-6 and 8-25 of ‘529 include identical limitations.
With respect to instant claim 26, ‘529 claims measuring an amount or a concentration of fewer than 25 of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements, wherein the measuring comprises: (i) measuring, using a first proteomic assay of at least two different proteomic assays, an amount or concentration of a first subset of the fewer than 25 lung cancer associated proteomic markers in the biofluid sample or a processed sample therefrom to obtain first proteomic measurements, (ii) measuring, using a second proteomic assay of at least two different proteomic assays, an amount or concentration of a second subset of the fewer than 25 lung cancer associated proteomic markers in the biofluid sample or a processed sample therefrom to obtain second proteomic measurements; generating a combined dataset comprising at least a portion of the first proteomic measurements and at least a portion of the second proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the combined dataset to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the combined dataset, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75% (claim 26).
‘529 does not particularly claim embodiments wherein the classifier exhibits a specificity of at least 55%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to instant claim 27, ‘529 claims embodiments wherein the first proteomic assay is an immunoassay (claim 27).
With respect to instant claim 28, ‘529 claims embodiments wherein the [first] immunoassay comprises an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), a particle-based immunoassay, a lateral flow assay, a sandwich immunoassay, or a fluorescent or luminescent readout (claim 28).
With respect to instant claim 29, ‘529 claims embodiments wherein the second proteomic assay is an immunoassay (claim 29).
With respect to instant claim 30, ‘529 claims wherein the [second] immunoassay comprises an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), a particle-based immunoassay, a lateral flow assay, a sandwich immunoassay, or a fluorescent or luminescent readout (claim 30).
With respect to instant claim 31, ‘529 claims measuring an amount or a concentration of the lung cancer associated proteomic markers in a biofluid sample obtained from a subject or a processed sample therefrom to obtain proteomic measurements, wherein the measuring comprises: (i) measuring, using a first proteomic assay of at least two different proteomic assays, an amount or concentration of a first subset of the fewer than 25 lung cancer associated proteomic markers in the biofluid sample or a processed sample therefrom to obtain first proteomic measurements, (ii) measuring, using a second proteomic assay of at least two different proteomic assays, an amount or concentration of a second subset of the fewer than 25 lung cancer associated proteomic markers in the biofluid sample or a processed sample therefrom to obtain second proteomic measurements; generating a combined dataset comprising at least a portion of the first proteomic measurements and at least a portion of the second proteomic measurements; and applying a classifier to the combined dataset to provide a quantitative or qualitative result for the biofluid sample of lung cancer using fewer than 25 features from the combined dataset, wherein the classifier is trained to distinguish lung cancer samples from non-cancer samples with a sensitivity for stage I lung cancer of at least 75%; and administering a treatment to the subject or conducting imaging on the subject based at
least in part on a classification of the biofluid sample by the classifier, wherein the
treatment comprises an immunotherapy, a lung cancer targeted therapy, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, percutaneous ablation, radiofrequency ablation, cryoablation, microwave ablation, chemoembolization, or surgery (claim 31).
‘529 does not particularly claim embodiments wherein the classifier exhibits a specificity of at least 55%.
Kearney teaches methods of using biomarker proteins or panels thereof to diagnose or classify a subject as having lung cancer or a non-cancerous condition (Abstract), comprising: measuring an abundance of a panel of proteins in a sample obtained from the subject (para. 0008), wherein the sample can be a bodily fluid (para. 0064); and using an algorithmic classifier to discriminate between disease states, i.e., diagnose non-small cell lung cancer, based on protein levels of the sample (paras. 0050-52 and 60).
Kearney discusses assessment and determination of optimal classifier performance, in discriminating cancer versus non-cancer, based on receiver operating characteristic (ROC) analysis comprising determination of sensitivity and specificity (paras. 0098-99, 00134-36; Fig. 1), wherein cancers can be lung cancers of any stage (para. 0060). The species stage I would be ‘at once envisaged’ by a person of ordinary skill in the art upon reading the disclosure.
Kearney particularly teaches assessment of biomarker combinations until a panel of biomarkers with combined desired performance characteristics have been achieved (para. 0150). Kearney exemplifies use of a classification algorithm to combine relative concentrations of panels of 15 proteins into a relative likelihood of a pulmonary nodule being benign or malignant (para. 0153), and presents findings that numerous tested panels of 15 proteins had sensitivity of at least 80% and specificity of at least 55% (paras. 0017, 0019-20 and 0182; Figs. 1-2 and 4-5).
With respect to instant claim 32, ‘529 claims embodiments wherein the imaging comprises a computer tomography (CT) scan, a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scan, an ultrasound scan, an X-ray, a positron emission tomography (PET) scan, or a PET-CT scan (claim 32).
An invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art if it simply
applies known techniques to a known method. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, said practitioner would have implemented a classifier with a performance characteristic comprising an AUC of at least 0.80, as taught by Kearney, to enhance the cancer diagnostic methods claimed by ‘529, because Kearney teaches development of classifiers of the disclosed sparsity and achieving the claimed performance characteristic (para. 0153, Fig. 1). In this way Kearney indicates that development and employment of classifiers as claimed, to perform classification tasks as claimed, was known in the art. Said practitioner would have had a reasonable expectation of success because ‘529 and Kearney both discuss algorithmic classification of lung cancer states based on measurements of protein levels in plasma samples.
In this way the claims of ‘529, in view of Kearney, are patentably indistinct from the limitations of instant claims 1-2, 5-6 and 8-32. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
At this point in prosecution, no claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/JESSE P FRUMKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685 June 12, 2026