DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Application filed on 10/23/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
This application is claimed as a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/469,319 filed on 09/18/2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/657,572 filed on 03/31/2022. Both of the parent applications provide sufficient support for the claimed invention of this application as requirements under 35 U.S.C § 112(a) or (pre-AIA ) 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph. Therefore, the effective filing data for this application is 03/31/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed by Applicant on 03/30/2026 has been considered. A copy of the considered IDS is enclosed with this Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “one or more storage instances content item” in line 3 should be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,762,898. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 3 and 14 of the earlier patent anticipate or suggest all limitations as recited in claims 1, 10 and 15 of this application.
In particular, the mapping of this rejection is as follows:
Instant Application
Patent No. 11,762,898
Claim 1:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
Claim 3 (including limitations of claims 1 and 3): A computer-implemented method comprising:
detecting a content item from content viewing activity of a user account;
detecting a content item not associated with the user account; (see claim 1)
determining a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library comprising digital media clips each having a particular content item, particular content metadata, and particular contextual metadata;
maintaining, for a user account of a content management system, a media clip library comprising digital media clips each having a content item, content metadata, and contextual metadata;
determining a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within the media clip library; (see claim 1)
providing, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device associated with the user account, an actionable suggestion with a selectable option to clip the content item for addition into the media clip library corresponding to the user account; and
based on the correlation, adding a new digital media clip to the media clip library by generating the new digital media clip from the content item; (see claim 1)
providing a recommendation to generate a digital media clip of the content item; (see claim 3)
based on a user interaction with the selectable option, clipping the content item for storage in the media clip library corresponding to the user account.
based on generating the digital media clip of the content item, adding the digital media clip to the media clip library of the user account. (see claim 3)
Similarly,
Claim 10 rejected by Claim 14
Claim 15 rejected by Claim 3
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,216,982. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of the earlier patent anticipate or suggest all limitations as recited in claims 1 and 15 of this application.
In particular, the mapping of this rejection is as follows:
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,216,982
Claim 1:
A computer-implemented method comprising:
Claim 10 (including limitations of claims 1 and 10): A computer-implemented method comprising:
detecting a content item from content viewing activity of a user account;
extracting a content item comprising content data and content metadata based on a detected user interaction with the content item;
capturing contextual signals from one or more active digital environments on a client device at a time of extracting the content item;
generating contextual metadata for the content item based on the contextual signals from the one or more active digital environment;
generating a digital media clip file by associating the content item comprising the digital content data and the content metadata with the contextual metadata generated from the contextual signals from the one or more active digital environments;
(claim 1)
determining a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library comprising digital media clips each having a particular content item, particular content metadata, and particular contextual metadata;
identifying a first collection of digital media clip files from a plurality of collections of digital media clip files by determining a correspondence value between the digital media clip file and the first collection of digital media clip files, (see claim 1)
providing, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device associated with the user account, an actionable suggestion with a selectable option to clip the content item for addition into the media clip library corresponding to the user account; and
providing, for display on the client device, a suggestion to add the digital media clip file to the first collection of the digital media clip files based on the correspondence value; (see claim 10)
based on a user interaction with the selectable option, clipping the content item for storage in the media clip library corresponding to the user account.
associating the digital media clip file with the first collection of digital media clip files based on the correspondence value; (see claim 1)
wherein associating the digital media clip file with the first collection of digital media clip files is based on receiving a user interaction with respect to the suggestion to add the digital media clip file to the first collection of digital media clip files. (see claim 10)
Similarly,
Claim 15 rejected by Claim 10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 (effective filing date 03/31/2022) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qureshi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0324470, Publication date 11/12/2015), and further in view of Kumar (U.S. Patent No. 9,852,377, Patent date 12/26/2017).
As to claim 1, Qureshi et al. teaches:
“A computer-implemented method” (see Qureshi et al., Abstract) comprising:
“detecting a content item from content viewing activity of a user account” (see Qureshi et al., [0057] for determining/detecting text, images or video (i.e., content item) selected by a user (i.e., representing a user account); also see [0069] for storing clipped content in a storage associated with the user’s account in the document management system);
“determining a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library comprising digital media clips each having a particular content item, particular content metadata, and particular contextual metadata” (see Qureshi et al., [0054] for using content descriptive-metadata tags included or attached to the clips to relate/correlate clips and/or documents, wherein the metadata tag “tennis” is an example of content metadata, and the metadata tag or information related to underlying content source as disclosed can be interpreted as contextual metadata as recited; [0067]-[0070] wherein a data storage (e.g., a local storage or a cloud storage) associated with a user account for storing user clips can be interpreted as a media clip library as recited wherein each clip including content descriptive metadata tags, wherein metadata tag “pulse width modulation” can be interpreted as content metadata as recited; also see [0068] wherein citation data (e.g., author name, the URL of the web page, the publication date, etc.) associated with clipped content is contextual metadata as recited);
“providing, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device associated with the user account, an actionable suggestion with a selectable option to clip the content item for addition into the media clip library corresponding to the user account” (see Qureshi et al., [0057] for providing a toolbar with options to clipping the selected content, wherein any function/option provided by the system can be interpreted as a suggestion as recited); and
“based on a user interaction with the selectable option, clipping the content item for storage in the media clip library corresponding to the user account” (Qureshi et al., [0057] the client application performs clipping process based on a particular option selected/interacted with by the user; also [0069] for adding the clips to the user’s storage as soon as the user clips content (i.e., generating clips)).
In case that Qureshi et al. does not explicitly teach a feature of determining a correlation between a content item with one or more content items/clips associated with storage/library/collection as equivalently recited as:
“determining a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library comprising digital media clips”.
On the other hand, Kumar explicitly teaches a feature of determining a correlation between a content item with one or more content items/clips associated with storage/library/collection (see Kumar, element 406 of Fig. 4, [column 3, lines 7-26 and 55-65], and [column 10, line 43 to column 11, line 16]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kumar’s teaching to Qureshi et al.’s system by implementing a feature for determining a correlation between content items and content items/clips of a library/collection. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide an effective way to suggest whether to clip or store a content item. In addition, both of the references (Qureshi et al. and Kumar) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a content management system for managing content items according to user accounts. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 2, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“determining the correlation between the content item and the one or more digital media clips within the media clip library by” (see Qureshi et al., [0054] and [0070] for using content-descriptive metadata tags to relate the content/clips; also see Kumar, [column 3, lines 55-65] for determining the similarity (i.e., how similar) between a content item and content items in storage location(s)):
“generating a correlation score between the content item and the one or more digital media clips” (see Kumar, [column 3, lines 55-65] for determining the similarity (i.e., how similar) between a content item and content items in storage location(s); also [column 11, lines 17-36] wherein the score for each storage location can be interpreted as equivalent to a correlation score between a content items and content items associated with the storage location); and
“determining that the correlation score satisfies a media clip suggestion threshold” (see Kumar, [column 11, lines 17-36] for comparing the score of the given storage location to a predetermined threshold).
As to claim 3, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“clipping the content item for storage in the media clip library by generating a digital media clip for the content item that represents one or more storage instances content item within a content management system” (see Qureshi et al., [0069]-[0070] for clipping content by generating clips to store clipped content, wherein clips can be stored in local storage or cloud storage associated with the user’s account in the document management system).
As to claim 4, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 3 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“generating contextual metadata for the digital media clip from contextual signals associated with a display environment of the content item” (see Qureshi et al., [0068] for generating citation information for the clipped content (i.e., media clip), wherein the citation information includes the URL of the webpage (i.e., contextual signals associated with a display environment of the content item); also see [0057] for keeping track of all clipped content (i.e., clips) with corresponding reference sources (i.e., contextual metadata) from which the content was clipped)).
As to claim 5, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 3 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“generating the contextual metadata utilizing adjacent content displayed within the display environment in relation to the content item, wherein the display environment comprises a webpage” (see Qureshi et al., [0068]-[0069] for generating citation information (i.e., contextual metadata) and metadata associated with clipped content by scanning the webpage; also see [0057]).
As to claim 6, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“in response to a search query, providing, for display within an additional graphical user interface of the client device, a digital media clip of the content item based on contextual metadata of the digital media clip corresponding the search query” (see Qureshi et al., [0051] for allowing users to conduct searches suing clip metadata or metadata tags; also see [0054] for searching user clips with a particular metadata tag (e.g., “tennis” (i.e., content metadata) or a particular content source (i.e., contextual metadata))).
As to claim 7, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 6 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“providing, for display within the additional graphical user interface of the client device, the contextual metadata comprising one or more adjacent content items from a display environment corresponding to the content item as part of a search result for the search query” (see Qureshi et al., [0051] for allowing users to conduct searches suing clip metadata or metadata tags; also see [0054] and [0057] for searching user clips with a particular metadata tag (e.g., “tennis” (i.e., content metadata) or a particular content source (i.e., contextual metadata)); also see [0068] for different metadata or content items extracted from the webpage (e.g., the author name, the URL of the webpage, etc.)).
As to claim 8, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“determining the correlation between the content item and the one or more digital media clips utilizing a media clip classification machine-learning model” (see Qureshi et al., [0054] for using metadata tags to relate clips and documents; also see Kumar, [column 10, lines 58 to column 11, line 5] for determining how similar (i.e., similarity or correlation) the content item is to content items in each storage location using classifiers (i.e., classification machine learning models)).
As to claim 9, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 1 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“wherein the content item comprises an image or a portion of an electronic document” (see Qureshi et al., [0057]-[0059] and Fig. 4).
As to claim 10, Qureshi et al. teaches:
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a computing device to” (see Qureshi et al., Abstract, Fig. 1 and [0036]):
“detect a content item from content viewing activity of a user account” (see Qureshi et al., [0057] for determining/detecting text, images or video (i.e., content item) selected by a user (i.e., representing a user account); also see [0069] for storing clipped content in a storage associated with the user’s account in the document management system);
“provide, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device associated with the user account, an actionable suggestion with a selectable option to clip the content item in response to” (see Qureshi et al., [0057] for providing a toolbar with options to clipping the selected content, wherein any function/option provided by the system can be interpreted as a suggestion as recited):
“determining a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library comprising digital media clips each having a particular content item, particular content metadata, and particular contextual metadata” (see Qureshi et al., [0054] for using content descriptive-metadata tags included or attached to the clips to relate/correlate clips and/or documents, wherein the metadata tag “tennis” is an example of content metadata, and the metadata tag or information related to underlying content source as disclosed can be interpreted as contextual metadata as recited; [0067]-[0070] wherein a data storage (e.g., a local storage or a cloud storage) associated with a user account for storing user clips can be interpreted as a media clip library as recited wherein each clip including content descriptive metadata tags, wherein metadata tag “pulse width modulation” can be interpreted as content metadata as recited; also see [0068] wherein citation data (e.g., author name, the URL of the web page, the publication date, etc.) associated with clipped content is contextual metadata as recited); and
“based on a user interaction with the selectable option, generate a digital media clip of the content item” (Qureshi et al., [0057] the client application performs clipping process based on a particular option selected/interacted with by the user; also [0069] for adding the clips to the user’s storage as soon as the user clips content (i.e., generating clips)).
In case that Qureshi et al. does not explicitly teach a feature of determining a correlation score between a content item with one or more content items/clips associated with storage/library/collection and generating recommendation based on the correlation score as equivalently recited as:
“determining a correlation score between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library; and
determining that the correlation score satisfies a media clip suggestion threshold;”.
On the other hand, Kumar explicitly teaches a feature of determining a correlation score between a content item with one or more content items/clips associated with storage/library/collection and generating recommendation based on the correlation score (see Kumar, element 406 of Fig. 4, [column 3, lines 7-26 and 55-65], and [column 10, line 43 to column 11, line 36] for determining a score for each storage location (i.e., equivalent to score between the content item and content items of the storage location) and determining whether the score satisfies a predetermined threshold in order to provide a recommendation regarding the content item and the storage location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kumar’s teaching to Qureshi et al.’s system by implementing a feature for determining a correlation score between content items and content items/clips of a library/collection with respect to a threshold and providing recommendation based on whether the correlation score satisfies a predetermined threshold. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide an effective way to suggest whether to clip or store a content item. In addition, both of the references (Qureshi et al. and Kumar) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a content management system for managing content items according to user accounts. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 11, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 10 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“generate contextual metadata for the digital media clip from contextual signals associated with a display environment of the content item” (see Qureshi et al., [0068] for generating citation information for the clipped content (i.e., media clip), wherein the citation information includes the URL of the webpage (i.e., contextual signals associated with a display environment of the content item); also see [0057] for keeping track of all clipped content (i.e., clips) with corresponding reference sources (i.e., contextual metadata) from which the content was clipped)).
As to claim 12, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 11 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“generate the contextual metadata utilizing adjacent content displayed within the display environment in relation to the content item” (see Qureshi et al., [0068]-[0069] for generating citation information (i.e., contextual metadata) and metadata associated with clipped content by scanning the webpage (i.e., display environment); also see [0057]).
As to claim 13, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 10 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“in response to a search query, providing, for display within an additional graphical user interface of the client device, the digital media clip and contextual metadata corresponding to the digital media clip” (see Qureshi et al., [0051] for allowing users to conduct searches suing clip metadata or metadata tags; also see [0054] for searching user clips with a particular metadata tag (e.g., “tennis” (i.e., content metadata) or a particular content source (i.e., contextual metadata))).
As to claim 14, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 10 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“identify the content viewing activity of the user account from a web browser application” (see Qureshi et al., [0058] for visiting a webpage through a web browser window/application); and
“provide, for display within the graphical user interface of the client device associated with the user account, the actionable suggestion with the selectable option within the web browser application” (see Qureshi et al., [0058] and Fig. 4 for displaying a toolbar with options for clipping the selected content from a webpage within the web browser window).
As to claim 15, Qureshi et al. teaches:
“A system comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a software application with instructions that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to” (see Qureshi et al., Abstract, Fig. 1 and [0036]):
“detect a content item from content viewing activity of a user account” (see Qureshi et al., [0057] for determining/detecting text, images or video (i.e., content item) selected by a user (i.e., representing a user account); also see [0069] for storing clipped content in a storage associated with the user’s account in the document management system);
“determine a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library comprising digital media clips each having a particular content item, particular content metadata, and particular contextual metadata” (see Qureshi et al., [0054] for using content descriptive-metadata tags included or attached to the clips to relate/correlate clips and/or documents, wherein the metadata tag “tennis” is an example of content metadata, and the metadata tag or information related to underlying content source as disclosed can be interpreted as contextual metadata as recited; [0067]-[0070] wherein a data storage (e.g., a local storage or a cloud storage) associated with a user account for storing user clips can be interpreted as a media clip library as recited wherein each clip including content descriptive metadata tags, wherein metadata tag “pulse width modulation” can be interpreted as content metadata as recited; also see [0068] wherein citation data (e.g., author name, the URL of the web page, the publication date, etc.) associated with clipped content is contextual metadata as recited);
“provide, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device associated with the user account, an actionable suggestion with a selectable option to clip the content item for addition into the media clip library corresponding to the user account” (see Qureshi et al., [0057] for providing a toolbar with options to clipping the selected content, wherein any function/option provided by the system can be interpreted as a suggestion as recited); and
“based on a user interaction with the selectable option, adding a digital media clip and contextual metadata for the content item in the media clip library corresponding to the user account” (Qureshi et al., [0057] the client application performs clipping process based on a particular option selected/interacted with by the user; also [0069] for adding the clips to the user’s storage as soon as the user clips content (i.e., generating clips)).
In case that Qureshi et al. does not explicitly teach a feature of determining a correlation between a content item with one or more content items/clips associated with storage/library/collection as equivalently recited as:
“determine a correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips within a media clip library comprising digital media clips”.
On the other hand, Kumar explicitly teaches a feature of determining a correlation between a content item with one or more content items/clips associated with storage/library/collection (see Kumar, element 406 of Fig. 4, [column 3, lines 7-26 and 55-65], and [column 10, line 43 to column 11, line 16]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kumar’s teaching to Qureshi et al.’s system by implementing a feature for determining a correlation between content items and content items/clips of a library/collection. Ordinarily skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so to provide an effective way to suggest whether to clip or store a content item. In addition, both of the references (Qureshi et al. and Kumar) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, a content management system for managing content items according to user accounts. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success when combined.
As to claim 16, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 15 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“determine the correlation between the content item and the one or more digital media clips within the media clip library by” (see Qureshi et al., [0054] and [0070] for using content-descriptive metadata tags to relate the content/clips; also see Kumar, [column 3, lines 55-65] for determining the similarity (i.e., how similar) between a content item and content items in storage location(s)):
“generating a correlation score between the content item and the one or more digital media clips” (see Kumar, [column 3, lines 55-65] for determining the similarity (i.e., how similar) between a content item and content items in storage location(s); also [column 11, lines 17-36] wherein the score for each storage location can be interpreted as equivalent to a correlation score between a content items and content items associated with the storage location); and
“determining that the correlation score satisfies a media clip suggestion threshold” (see Kumar, [column 11, lines 17-36] for comparing the score of the given storage location to a predetermined threshold).
As to claim 17, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 15 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“generate the contextual metadata for the digital media clip from contextual signals associated with a display environment of the content item” (see Qureshi et al., [0068] for generating citation information for the clipped content (i.e., media clip), wherein the citation information includes the URL of the webpage (i.e., contextual signals associated with a display environment of the content item); also see [0057] for keeping track of all clipped content (i.e., clips) with corresponding reference sources (i.e., contextual metadata) from which the content was clipped)).
As to claim 18, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 17 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“generate the contextual metadata for the digital media clip utilizing adjacent content displayed within the display environment in relation to the content item, wherein the display environment comprises a webpage” (see Qureshi et al., [0068]-[0069] for generating citation information (i.e., contextual metadata) and metadata associated with clipped content by scanning the webpage; also see [0057]).
As to claim 19, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 15 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“in response to a search query, provide, for display within an additional graphical user interface of the client device, the digital media clip and the contextual metadata corresponding to the content item as part of a search result for the search query” (see Qureshi et al., [0051] for allowing users to conduct searches suing clip metadata or metadata tags; also see [0054] for searching user clips with a particular metadata tag (e.g., “tennis” (i.e., content metadata) or a particular content source (i.e., contextual metadata))).
As to claim 20, this claim is rejected based on the same arguments as above to reject claim 15 and is similarly rejected including the following:
Qureshi et al. as modified by Kumar teaches:
“determine the correlation between the content item and one or more digital media clips utilizing a media clip classification machine-learning model” (see Qureshi et al., [0054] for using metadata tags to relate clips and documents; also see Kumar, [column 10, lines 58 to column 11, line 5] for determining how similar (i.e., similarity or correlation) the content item is to content items in each storage location using classifiers (i.e., classification machine learning models)).
Conclusion
/Phuong Thao Cao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2164