Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 10/23/2025.
Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Khoche U.S. Publication No. 2019/0370624A1 (“Khoche”), in view of Twitchell U.S. Publication No. 2010/0067420A1 (“Twitchell”).
Claim 1: Khoche teaches the following:
A multi-communication-interface tape node, comprising: a wireless transducing circuit; […]; and a wake circuit electrically coupled to […] the wireless transducing circuit; (¶ [0028]: the term “tape node” refers to an adhesive tape platform or a segment thereof that is equipped with sensor, processor, memory, energy source/harvesting mechanism, and wireless communications functionality); (¶ [0033]: adhesive tape platform includes embedded components of a wireless transducing circuit); (¶ [0066]: adhesive tape platform includes a one-time wake circuit that delivers power from a respective energy source to a respective wireless circuit (e.g., a circuit comprising a processor, one or more transducers, and one or more wireless communications circuits)).
Wherein the wake circuit is configured to activate the wireless transducing circuit in response to […]; (¶ [0066]: adhesive tape platform includes a one-time wake circuit that delivers power from a respective energy source to a respective wireless circuit (e.g., a circuit comprising a processor, one or more transducers, and one or more wireless communications circuits) in response to an event that wake the one-time wake circuit).
Khoche does not explicitly teach that the adhesive tape platform includes a passive wireless tag and a wake circuit electrically coupled to the passive wireless tag, wherein the wake circuit is configured to activate the wireless transducing circuit in response to an electrical input from the passive wireless tag.
However, Twitchell teaches the following:
a passive wireless tag; and a wake circuit electrically coupled to the passive wireless tag and wireless transducing circuit; (Abstract: A wireless transceiver includes: (a) a low power radio frequency (LPRF) communications component including a transmitter and a first receiver; and (b) a second receiver that is configured to screen a radio frequency broadcast and provide, on the basis of specific data identified therein, the electronic signal to the LPRF communications component in order to power up the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0134]: the second receiver may be passive); (¶ [0135]: the second receiver comprises a wireless tag which may include a radio frequency detector component, a memory component, and an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) component); (¶ [0140]: a sensor component is physically connected to the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0199]: WRTs of the present invention preferably are utilized in sensor information collecting and/or asset-tracking applications).
Thus, Twitchell discloses a wireless transceiver device comprising (a) an LPRF communication component including a transmitter/receiver and sensor for collecting sensor information (equivalent to “a wireless transducing circuit”) and (b) a second receiver comprising a passive wireless tag including an RF detector, memory, and ASIC component. Moreover, the second receiver is configured to provide an electronic signal to (a) in response to screening a radio frequency broadcast – equivalent to a “wake circuit electronically coupled to the passive wireless tag”.
Wherein the wake circuit is configured to activate the wireless transducing circuit in response to an electrical input from the passive wireless tag. (Abstract: A wireless transceiver includes: (a) a low power radio frequency (LPRF) communications component including a transmitter and a first receiver; and (b) a second receiver that is configured to screen a radio frequency broadcast and provide, on the basis of specific data identified therein, the electronic signal to the LPRF communications component in order to power up the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0134]-¶ [0135]: see above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the passive wireless tag (electrically coupled to a wake circuit) that, in response to screening an RF broadcast, is configured to activate a wireless transducing circuit by providing an electronic signal directly to the wireless transducing circuit, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks” (¶ [0120]) and to further “collectively reduce battery consumption” (¶ [0277]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 2: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
The wireless transducing circuit comprising: a processor; memory, and at least one wireless communication interface. (¶ [0043]: the wireless transducing circuit includes a memory incorporated into one or more processors or transducers); (¶ [0062]: Each wireless transducing circuit includes an antenna, a wireless communications circuit coupled to the antenna, a transducer, a controller electrically connected to the wireless communications circuit and the transducer, and an energy source).
Claim 3: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 2. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Further comprising an internal energy source, wherein the wake circuit delivers power from the internal energy source to the wireless transducing circuit in response to the electrical input. (¶ [0031]: adhesive tape platform is equipped with an energy source); (¶ [0066]: adhesive tape platform includes a one-time wake circuit that delivers power from a respective energy source to a respective wireless circuit (e.g., a circuit comprising a processor, one or more transducers, and one or more wireless communications circuits) in response to an event that wakes the one-time wake circuit.).
Claim 4: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 2. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
The at least one wireless communication interface implementing Bluetooth. (¶ [0041]: the wireless transducing circuit includes a number of communication systems, including a Bluetooth communication system).
Claim 5: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Khoche does not explicitly teach, however Twitchell does teach, the following:
Wherein the passive wireless tag comprises a passive RFID tag. (Abstract: wireless transceiver comprises a second receiver); (¶ [0162]: wireless transceiver may be referred to as a “WT”); (¶ [0135]: the second receiver comprises a wireless tag which may include a radio frequency detector component); (¶ [0185]: WTs comprise RFID tags).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the passive wireless tag comprising a passive RFID tag, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks” (¶ [0120]) and to further “collectively reduce battery consumption” (¶ [0277]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 6: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 5. Furthermore, Khoche does not explicitly teach, however Twitchell does teach, the following:
Wherein the passive wireless tag is activated by an RFID interrogation signal. (Abstract: A wireless transceiver includes: (b) a second receiver that is configured to screen a radio frequency broadcast and provide, on the basis of specific data identified therein, the electronic signal to the LPRF communications component in order to power up the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0132]: second receiver physically is connected to the input of the LPRF communications component, with the second receiver generating the electronic signal in order to power up the LPRF communications component in response to receipt by the second receiver of a radio frequency broadcast).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the passive wireless tag that is activated by an RFID interrogation signal, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks” (¶ [0120]) and to further “collectively reduce battery consumption” (¶ [0277]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 7: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Wherein the wireless transducing circuit is configured to deactivate after completing a predetermined function to conserve power. (¶ [0065]: the adhesive tape platform segments are preconfigured in a low power or a powered-off state, and remain in the low power or powered-off state until a predetermined event occurs); (¶ [0086]: In order to conserve power, the tape nodes typically communicate according a schedule promulgated by the server. The schedule usually dictates all aspects of the communication, including the times when particular tape nodes should communicate); (¶ [0072]: tape node can turn itself off after being turned on).
Claim 8: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
[…] the multi-communication-interface tape node. (¶ [0028]: an adhesive tape platform or a segment thereof that is equipped with sensor, processor, memory, energy source/harvesting mechanism, and wireless communications functionality).
Khoche does not explicitly teach a passive wireless tag embedded within the multi-communication-interface tape node. However, Twitchell teaches the following:
Wherein the passive wireless tag is embedded within the multi-communication-interface […] node. (Abstract: A wireless transceiver includes: (b) a second receiver); (¶ [0134]: the second receiver may be passive); (¶ [0135]: the second receiver comprises a wireless tag which may include a radio frequency detector component, a memory component, and an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) component).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the embedded passive wireless tag, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks” (¶ [0120]) and to further “collectively reduce battery consumption” (¶ [0277]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 9: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Further comprising an adhesive layer for attaching the multi-communication-interface tape node to an asset or a surface. (¶ [0031]: adhesive tape platform can be adhesively attached to a variety of different surfaces to inconspicuously implement any of a wide variety of different wireless communications based network communications and transducing (e.g., sensing, actuating, etc.) applications).
Claim 10: Khoche teaches the following:
A method for activating a wireless transducing circuit of a multi-communication-interface tape node, comprising: […] activating the wireless transducing circuit by the wake circuit. (¶ [0028]: the term “tape node” refers to an adhesive tape platform or a segment thereof that is equipped with sensor, processor, memory, energy source/harvesting mechanism, and wireless communications functionality); (¶ [0033]: adhesive tape platform includes embedded components of a wireless transducing circuit); (¶ [0066]: adhesive tape platform includes a one-time wake circuit that delivers power from a respective energy source to a respective wireless circuit (e.g., a circuit comprising a processor, one or more transducers, and one or more wireless communications circuits) in response to an event that wake the one-time wake circuit).
Khoche does not explicitly teach receiving an interrogation signal by a passive wireless tag embedded in the multi-communication-interface tape node, and inputting an electrical signal from the passive wireless tag to a wake circuit of the multi-communication-interface tape node in response to the interrogation signal.
However, Twitchell teaches the following:
Receiving an interrogation signal by a passive wireless tag embedded in the multi-communication-interface […] node; Inputting an electrical signal from the passive wireless tag to a wake circuit of the multi-communication-interface […] node in response to the interrogation signal; and activating the wireless transducing circuit by the wake circuit. (Abstract: A wireless transceiver includes: (a) a low power radio frequency (LPRF) communications component including a transmitter and a first receiver; and (b) a second receiver that is configured to screen a radio frequency broadcast and provide, on the basis of specific data identified therein, the electronic signal to the LPRF communications component in order to power up the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0134]: the second receiver may be passive); (¶ [0135]: the second receiver comprises a wireless tag which may include a radio frequency detector component, a memory component, and an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) component); (¶ [0140]: a sensor component is physically connected to the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0199]: WRTs of the present invention preferably are utilized in sensor information collecting and/or asset-tracking applications).
Thus, Twitchell discloses a wireless transceiver device comprising (a) an LPRF communication component including a transmitter/receiver and sensor for collecting sensor information (equivalent to “a wireless transducing circuit”) and (b) a second receiver comprising a passive wireless tag including an RF detector, memory, and ASIC component. Moreover, the second receiver is configured to provide an electronic signal to (a) in response to screening a radio frequency broadcast – equivalent to “receiving an interrogation signal by a passive wireless tag embedded in the multi-communication-interface node, inputting an electrical signal from the passive wireless tag to a wake circuit of the multi-communication-interface node in response to the interrogation signal, and activating the wireless transducing circuit by the wake circuit”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the features for receiving an interrogation signal by a passive wireless tag embedded in a multi-communication-interface node, inputting an electrical signal from the passive wireless tag to a wake circuit of the multi-communication-interface node in response to the interrogation signal, and activating the wireless transducing circuit by the wake circuit, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks […] and for a wireless data network technology that accommodates a large number of nodes, reduces RF interference, and consumes less power” (¶ [0120]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 11: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Wherein the wake circuit connects power to the wireless transducing circuit from an internal energy source of the multi-communication-interface tape node is response to an electrical input from the wake circuit. (¶ [0031]: adhesive tape platform is equipped with an energy source); (¶ [0066]: adhesive tape platform includes a one-time wake circuit that delivers power from a respective energy source to a respective wireless circuit (e.g., a circuit comprising a processor, one or more transducers, and one or more wireless communications circuits) in response to an event that wakes the one-time wake circuit).
Claim 12: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Wherein the wake circuit provides an interrupt signal to a processor of the wireless transducing circuit. (¶ [0066]: adhesive tape platform includes a one-time wake circuit that delivers power from a respective energy source to a respective wireless circuit (e.g., a circuit comprising a processor, one or more transducers, and one or more wireless communications circuits) in response to an event that wakes the one-time wake circuit).
Claim 13: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 12. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Tracking an asset using a wireless communication interface of the wireless transducing circuit when activated […]. (¶ [0031]: adhesive tape platform can be adhesively attached to a variety of different surfaces to inconspicuously implement any of a wide variety of different wireless communications based network communications and transducing (e.g., sensing, actuating, etc.) applications. Examples of such applications include: tracking applications, including inventory tracking, package tracking, person tracking, animal (e.g., pet) tracking, manufactured parts tracking, and vehicle tracking).
Khoche does not explicitly teach the wireless transducing circuit being activated via a passive wireless tag. However, Twitchell teaches the following:
Tracking an asset using a wireless communication interface of the wireless transducing circuit when activated via the passive wireless tag. (¶ [0209]: Gateway may be installed in shipping vehicle); (¶ [0208]: The Gateway facilitates monitoring, controlling, and querying Wireless Reader Tags and Wireless Tags); (¶ [0202]: the radio frequency broadcasts are made by a Gateway that include at least a network interface and an RF interface for communication with Wireless Reader Tags of the ad hoc networks); (Abstract: A wireless transceiver includes: (b) a second receiver that is configured to screen a radio frequency broadcast and provide, on the basis of specific data identified therein, the electronic signal to the LPRF communications component in order to power up the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0135]: the second receiver comprises a wireless tag which may include a radio frequency detector component).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the features for tracking an asset using a wireless communication interface of a wireless transducing circuit when activated via a passive wireless tag, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks” (¶ [0120]) and to further “collectively reduce battery consumption” (¶ [0277]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 14: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Deactivating the wireless transducing circuit after completion of a predetermined operation. (¶ [0065]: the adhesive tape platform segments are preconfigured in a low power or a powered-off state, and remain in the low power or powered-off state until a predetermined event occurs); (¶ [0086]: In order to conserve power, the tape nodes typically communicate according a schedule promulgated by the server. The schedule usually dictates all aspects of the communication, including the times when particular tape nodes should communicate); (¶ [0072]: tape node can turn itself off after being turned on).
Claim 15: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 14. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Wherein the wireless transducing circuit is deactivated by powering down until reactivated […]. (¶ [0065]: the adhesive tape platform segments are preconfigured in a low power or a powered-off state, and remain in the low power or powered-off state until a predetermined event occurs).
Khoche does not explicitly teach the wireless transducing circuit being reactivated by a passive wireless tag. However, Twitchell teaches the following:
Wherein the wireless transducing circuit is deactivated by powering down until reactivated by the passive wireless tag. (Abstract: A wireless transceiver includes: (a) a low power radio frequency (LPRF) communications component; and (b) a second receiver that is configured to screen a radio frequency broadcast and provide, on the basis of specific data identified therein, the electronic signal to the LPRF communications component in order to power up the LPRF communications component); (¶ [0189]: LPRF communications component preferably is programmed to power down to an “off” state in order to conserve battery power when the LPRF communications component no longer is actively transmitting or receiving data packets); (¶ [0134]-¶[0135]: see above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the features for powering down a wireless transducing circuit until reactivated by a wireless passive tag, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks” (¶ [0120]) and to further “collectively reduce battery consumption” (¶ [0277]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 16: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 14. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Wherein the wireless transducing circuit is deactivated by transitioning to a low power state. (¶ [0065]: the adhesive tape platform segments are preconfigured in a low power or a powered-off state, and remain in the low power or powered-off state until a predetermined event occurs); (¶ [0072]: tape node can turn itself off after being turned on). Thus, it is contemplated that the adhesive tape platform (comprising the wireless transducing circuit) may transition between a powered on state and a low power/powered-off state.
Claim 17: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Khoche does not explicitly teach, however Twitchell does teach, the following:
Wherein the interrogation signal is generated by an external RFID reader. (¶ [0132]: the second receiver generates the electronic signal in order to power up the LPRF communications component in response to receipt by the second receiver of a radio frequency broadcast); (¶ [0202]: the radio frequency broadcasts are made by a Gateway that include at least a network interface and an RF interface for communication with Wireless Reader Tags of the ad hoc networks); (¶ [0208]: The Gateway facilitates monitoring, controlling, and querying Wireless Reader Tags and Wireless Tags in a class-based network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the features for providing an interrogation signal that is generated by an external RFID reader, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks […] and for a wireless data network technology that accommodates a large number of nodes, reduces RF interference, and consumes less power” (¶ [0120]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Claim 18: Khoche/Twitchell teaches the limitations of claim 10. Furthermore, Khoche teaches the following:
Wherein the multi-communication-interface tape node is deployed on an asset in a storage area […]. (¶ [0031]: adhesive tape platform can be adhesively attached to a variety of different surfaces to inconspicuously implement any of a wide variety of different wireless communications based network communications and transducing (e.g., sensing, actuating, etc.) applications. Examples of such applications include: tracking applications, including inventory tracking, package tracking, person tracking, animal (e.g., pet) tracking, manufactured parts tracking, and vehicle tracking).
Khoche does not explicitly teach and interrogation signal that is periodically transmitted by a fixed reader of a storage area. However, Twitchell teaches the following:
Wherein the multi-communication-interface […] node is deployed on an asset in a storage area and the interrogation signal is periodically transmitted by a fixed reader of the storage area. (¶ [0209]: Gateway may be installed in shipping vehicle); (¶ [0215]: when a pallet is moved onto a shipping vehicle , the pallet's Wireless Reader Tag migrates to join a Class-Based Network headed by the Gateway of the vehicle); (¶ [0208]: The Gateway facilitates monitoring, controlling, and querying Wireless Reader Tags and Wireless Tags in a class-based network); (¶ [0202]: the radio frequency broadcasts are made by a Gateway that include at least a network interface and an RF interface for communication with Wireless Reader Tags of the ad hoc networks); (¶ [0231]: Wireless Reader Tags are preferably synchronized to allow scheduled communication at regular intervals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adhesive tape platform of Khoche with the teachings of Twitchell by incorporating the features for providing an interrogation signal that is periodically transmitted by a fixed reader of a storage area, as taught by Twitchell. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further provide “more efficient methods of forming, organizing, and maintaining ad hoc wireless networks […] and for a wireless data network technology that accommodates a large number of nodes, reduces RF interference, and consumes less power” (¶ [0120]), as suggested by Twitchell.
Conclusion
/JORGE G DEL TORO-ORTEGA/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628