DETAILED ACTION
The present office action represents the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Priority
This application claims CIP priority to PCT/US25/52187 dated 23 October 2025 and Continuation priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/753,501 dated 04 February 2025 and U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/713,451 dated 29 October 2024.
Specification
The Specification is objected to because it contains reference to external documents (see Spec. Para. 0005 citing to Vertigan et al. (2006), Chamberlain Mitchell et al. (2017), Yi et al. (2024)) without indicating the source of the documents. There is no title or publisher of the documents listed. The Examiner suggests citing these documents in an IDS and/or providing an amended Specification providing the title and source of the documents.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) because following figure(s) contain text that is smaller than the permissible limit of 1/8”:
Fig. 6-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claim recites a method, system and computer-readable medium (“CRM”) for automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy, which are within a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A1
The limitations of (Claim 1 being representative) collecting objective cough tracking [sound] data [and] analyze sound […] and determine a history of cough events therefrom, collecting subjective patient-reported cough data, and analyze both objective cough tracking data and subjective patient-reported cough data to automatically generate and provide personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy, as drafted, is a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for recitation of generic computer components. The claims encompass a series of rules or instructions for a person or persons to follow, with or without the aid of a computer, to generate and provide personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy (see Spec. Para. 0004, 0005 describing this as a human activity) in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. The rules or instructions are the claimed steps of “collecting (to analyze and determine)…collecting…and operating (to analyze and generate)” as indicated supra.
Other than reciting generic computer components (discussed infra), i.e., a system implemented by a data processor (computer), the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional element of an electronic device having a microphone, a processor, and a user interface that implements the identified abstract idea. The electronic device is described by the applicant as a smartphone (see Spec. Para. 0002; Claim 2) and is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a generic smartphone performing generic smartphone functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The Examiner notes that a mobile phone having a display, microphone and processor (i.e., a smartphone) has been held by the courts to be a generic computing device. See United Services Automobile Association v. PNC Bank, N.A., 139 F.4th 1332, 1334, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2025) (finding that claims confined to a “personal mobile device, like a cell phone” do not render eligible an otherwise ineligible claim because a “mobile device is a piece of generic hardware”). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a electronic device having a microphone, a processor, and a user interface to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Claims 2-22 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible even when considered individually or as an ordered combination.
Claim(s) 2 merely describe(s) the electronic device, which further defines this additional element.
Claim(s) 3 merely describe(s) how data is inputted, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 4 merely describe(s) analyzing and providing data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 5 merely describe(s) detecting data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 6 merely describe(s) detecting , recording, and adjusting data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 7 merely describe(s) how data is analyzed, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 8 merely describe(s) how data is presented, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 9 merely describe(s) how data is collected, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 10 merely describe(s) how data is recorded, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 11 merely describe(s) how data a training session is presented, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 12, 13 merely describe(s) generating messages, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 14 merely describe(s) generating data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 15 merely describe(s) identifying and reporting data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 16 merely describe(s) providing data, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 17 merely describe(s) developing recommendations, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 18 merely describe(s) training and operating an engine, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 18 also includes the additional element of “a machine-learning technique” which represents mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Implementing an abstract idea using a generic computer or components thereof does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or significantly more because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 19 merely describe(s) how a reminder is generated, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 19 also includes a vibration generator that produces audio signals (i.e., a speaker). The speaker is interpreted to be part of the generic computer and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons as those presented above.
Claim(s) 20 merely describe(s) how long data is collected, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim(s) 21, 22 merely describe(s) how/when data is collected, which further defines the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “wherein step (d) further comprises….” The claim is indefinite because it is unclear what the claim is referring to. Claim 1 does not include a step (d) and thus Claim 6 cannot be further limiting something that does not exist. Perhaps the Applicant meant Claim 6 to depend from Claim 7; however, this introduces further issues as to whether multiple trends are detected and multiple recommendations are issued. The Examiner suggests reciting “further comprising a step (d) of detecting….”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shouldice et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Patent Publication No. 2020/0297955) in view of Baste et al. (WIPO publication WO 2023/141376).
REGARDING CLAIM 1
Shouldice teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy, the method comprising the following steps:
a. collecting objective cough tracking data by operating an electronic device having a microphone and [Fig. 2, Para. 0080, 0086, 0094, 0161 teaches collecting user cough data (objective data) via a microphone of a smart device, such as a smartphone. See also Para. 0129.]
(i) configured to communicate sound detected by the microphone to an external processor or
(ii) comprising an internal processor configured to analyze sound detected by the microphone and determine a history of cough events therefrom, [Para. 0094, 0095 teaches that the smart device includes a processor that analyzes the cough data and to determine whether the data is consistent with a chronic cough. Para. 0163 teaches that the analysis of cough data occurs over multiple nights (a history of cough events).]
b. collecting subjective patient-reported cough data by providing a user interface configured for entry of subjective patient-reported cough data, and [Para. 0082, 0085, 0088 teaches collecting user feedback data about how the user feels (subjective data; Spec. Para. 0070, 0071).]
c. operating the external processor or the internal processor to analyze both objective cough tracking data and subjective patient-reported cough data [Para. 0085, 0088, Claim 13 teaches that both physiological and feedback data are analyzed.] to automatically generate and provide personalized recommendations […]. [Para. 0129, 0131 teaches that an alert suggesting a course of action based on the analysis of the data is provided to the user. Para. 0138 teaches that the recommendation (course of action) is relaxing breathing exercises.]
The Examiner notes that “for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy” is an intended use of the recommendation and is note required to occur; however, in the interest of completeness, AAPA has been cited to teach this feature.
Shouldice may not explicitly teach
for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy
Baste at Spec. Para. 0011 teaches that it was known in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to provide Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy treatment to a patent having chronic cough indications
for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy [Baste at Para. 0077-0079 teaches providing behavioral therapy that teaches breathing to manage cough (interpreted as Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy), leading to cough suppression and management of chronic cough.]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the chronic disease monitoring and management system of Shouldice to provide Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy treatment to a patent having chronic cough indications as taught by Baste, with the motivation of improving patient treatment outcomes and improving quality of life (see Baste at Para. 0016, 0041).
The Examiner further notes that Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy is described at Spec Para. 0011, 0012 as being known in the art meaning that it is also Applicant Admitted Prior Art. See especially reference to Sundholm et al. (2022).
REGARDING CLAIM 2
Shouldice/Baste teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/Baste further teaches
wherein the electronic device is a smart ring, a smartwatch, or a smartphone. [Shouldice at Para. 0052 teaches that the device is a smartphone or smartwatch.]
REGARDING CLAIM 3
Shouldice/Baste teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/Baste further teaches
wherein the user interface configured for entry of subjective patient-reported cough data in step (b) is further configured to collect the subjective patient-reported cough data via at least one input of the electronic device of step (a). [Shouldice at Para. 0088 teaches that the feedback is gathered from a questionnaire answered by the user. Claim 13 teaches that the feedback is entered into the device by a user.]
REGARDING CLAIM 4
Shouldice/Baste teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1 and 3. Shouldice/Baste further teaches
wherein the processor of the electronic device is further configured to automatically conduct step (c) of analyzing objective cough tracking data and subjective patient-reported cough data to automatically generate and provide personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy. [Shouldice at Abstract, Para. 0140 teaches that the device/system is automated.]
REGARDING CLAIM 5
Shouldice/Baste teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/Baste further teaches
further comprising a step (d) of detecting a trend in cough events and adjusting the recommendations for applying the Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy based thereon. [Baste at Para. 0289 teaches that recommendations are based on monitoring data provided by the patient such as daily symptom diary entries which include cough frequency (a trend in cough events). Baste at Para. 0163, 0313 teaches that recommendations are modifications to behavioral therapy.]
REGARDING CLAIM 6
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (d) further comprises a step of
detecting a trend in cough events, [Baste at Para. 0212, 0217, 0289 teaches that monitoring data includes cough frequency data. See rejection of Claim 5.]
detecting a trend in subjective patient-reported cough outcomes, [Baste at Para. 0190, 0304 teaches that monitoring data includes surveys that collect self-reported data indicating progress statuses. Baste at Para 0190 teaches that the surveys include the LCQ which collects subjective data, such as “Have you felt in control of your cough?” Shouldice also teaches collecting subjective data per Claim 1. ]
recording a history of following Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy recommendations, and [Baste at Para. 0311 teaches that monitored data includes patient system usage data (history of usage; i.e., following the treatment). See also Para. 0437.]
adjusting the recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy based thereon. [Baste at Para. 0313, 0315 teaches that the monitored data results in patient interaction data which is then used to recommend intervention modifications to the behavioral therapy.]
REGARDING CLAIM 7
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (c) further comprises a step of analyzing objective cough tracking data to detect at least one of: a cough trend, a cough bout, and a gap with no coughing. [Shouldice at Para. 0129, 0130, 0163, Claim 11, 27 teaches performing trend monitoring of coughing (a cough trend) to determine risk of exacerbation of a monitored condition.]
REGARDING CLAIM 8
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein the electronic device comprises a display or a speaker, and the processor of the electronic device is configured to present personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy using the display and/or the speaker of the electronic device. [Shouldice at Para. 0129, 0131 teaches that an alert suggesting a course of action based on the analysis of the data is provided to the user. Shouldice at Para. 0138 teaches that the recommendation (course of action) is relaxing breathing exercises (the Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of BASTE). Shouldice at Para. 0091, 0092 teaches that an alarm subsystem provides the alert (recommendation) as a visual alert on a display or as an audio alert (which would necessarily use a speaker).]
REGARDING CLAIM 9
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (b) of collecting subjective patient-reported cough data includes electronically collecting subjective patient-reported Outcomes. [Shouldice at Para. 0082, 0085, 0088 teaches that the collected user feedback data is about how the user feels (subjective patient-reported Outcomes). The Examiner notes that there is no indication as to what the “outcomes” are referring to.]
REGARDING CLAIM 10
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1 and 5. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
further comprises a step (e) of detecting patient adherence to recommended Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy via providing the user interface configured for entering and recording a history of performing recommended BCST cough suppression training sessions. [Baste at Para. 0079, 0159 teaches that behavioral therapy is applied via a user interface of the DTx system (a user interface) and the user’s interactions are tracked in real-time. This is necessarily a history of performing the behavioral therapy by the patient, which the claim self-defines as patient adherence.]
REGARDING CLAIM 11
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1, 5, and 10. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein at least one cough suppression training session is guided by the electronic device. [Baste at Para. 0043, 0079 teaches that the behavioral therapy is a progression of interactive modules/lessons (at least one cough suppression training session) that are presented through graphical user interface (GUI) of a DTx system (the smartphone display of Shouldice).]
REGARDING CLAIM 13
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1, 5, 10, and 11. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (d) further comprises generating […] messages upon detecting an increasing trend of cough events while maintaining adherence to recommended Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy. [Shouldice at Para. 0090-0092 teaches providing an alert/alarm messages indicating an increase in severity of the monitored condition. Shouldice at Para. 0080 teaches that the monitored condition is coughing.]
Shouldice/Baste may not explicitly teach that the alerts (messages) are encouraging support messages. However, the limitation claims information that do not result in a manipulative difference between the information of the prior art and the functionally of the claimed method. The function taught by the prior art would be performed the same regardless of whether the information was substituted with nothing. Because Shouldice teaches that alerts (messages) are provided (and thus generated) containing information, substituting the information of the claimed invention for the information of the prior art would be an obvious substitution of one known element for another, producing predictable results. Therefore, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the information applied to the message of the prior art with any other information because the results would have been predictable. The Examiner notes that the content (or intent) of the message does not functionally affect the claim.
REGARDING CLAIM 14
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1, 5, 10, and 11. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (d) further comprises a step of generating a progress report on a periodic basis. [Baste at Para. 0323, 0324 teaches providing (and thus generating) notifications containing identification of activities, behaviors, and/or symptoms of the patient (a progress report) that is issued to one or more health practitioners associated with the patient based on patient updates. This is interpreted to occur periodically, i.e., when there are updates.]
REGARDING CLAIM 15
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1, 5, 10, and 11. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (d) further comprises a step of identifying and reporting at least one cough trigger. [Baste at Para. 0289, 0291 teaches a diary that identifies cough triggers. The diary is used by the system and thus the trigger information is “reported” to the system.]
REGARDING CLAIM 16
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1, 5, 10, 11, and 15. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (d) further comprises a step of providing patient-specific guidance on how to navigate the at least one cough trigger. [Baste at Para. 0094 teaches that the behavioral therapy is targeted at managing triggers. Baste at Para. 0095 teaches that lesson modules (patient-specific guidance) are directed to managing specific triggers.]
REGARDING CLAIM 17
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (c) of developing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy comprises a step of using a Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy engine. [Shouldice at Para. 0137, 0138 teaches using an alarm subsystem (a Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy engine) to provide the recommendations. Baste at Fig. 1B, Para. 0146 also teaches a therapeutic module database (Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy engine) that provides therapies for the patient (i.e., therapy recommendations).]
The Examiner notes that a “Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy engine” is a non-functional label. Because Shouldice/Baste teaches the functionality of the “engine”, they are interpreted to teach the non-functional label as well.
REGARDING CLAIM 18
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1 and 17. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein in step (c) the Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy engine is trained and operated using a machine-learning technique. [Baste at Para. 0213 teaches that recommendations are generated by one or more machine learning modules. Baste at Para. 0322 teaches that recommendations for behavioral treatment are generated by one or more machine learning modules, which is interpreted to be part of the therapeutic module. Baste at Para. 0036 teaches that the machine learning is trained.]
REGARDING CLAIM 19
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein the electronic device is further equipped with a vibration generator, and wherein step (c) further comprises a step of generating haptic signals or audio signals by the electronic device as a reminder to practice recommended cough suppression techniques. [Baste at Para. 0123 teaches that content is generated in audible and haptic formats by speaker components and a haptic output device, both of which are vibration generators. The Examiner notes that “as a reminder to practice recommended cough suppression techniques” is an intended use of the generated content and is not required to occur. See also Baste at Para. 0186. Shouldice at Para. 0289 also teaches the use of an audio unit and a haptic unit to output information.]
REGARDING CLAIM 20
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (a) is automatically conducted for at least 10 hours per day. [Shouldice at Para. 0144, 0149, Claim 20 teaches that the detection of the patient’s respiration dynamics is performed over days, weeks, months, or years. The Examiner notes that a day is 24hr, thus collection of respiratory dynamics over days includes at least 10hr per day.]
REGARDING CLAIM 21
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein step (a) is preceded by a step of collecting baseline cough data when no cough suppression therapy is applied. [Shouldice at Para. 0144 teaches tracking baseline respiration dynamics, which occurs prior to treatment. Baste at Para. 0336, 0350 also teaches performing pre-assessment of the patient’s respiratory health (baseline cough data) prior to therapy.]
REGARDING CLAIM 22
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claim 1. Shouldice/BASTE further teaches
wherein the step of collecting baseline cough data is conducted automatically for at least 3 days prior to initiation of Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy. [Shouldice at Para. 0144, 0149, Claim 20 teaches that the detection of the patient’s respiration dynamics (baseline cough data) is performed over weeks, months, or years.]
REGARDING CLAIM(S) 23
Claim(s) 23 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 1, thus Claim(s) 23 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 1.
REGARDING CLAIM(S) 24
Claim(s) 23 is/are analogous to Claim(s) 1, thus Claim(s) 23 is/are similarly analyzed and rejected in a manner consistent with the rejection of Claim(s) 1.
Shouldice at Para. 0244 further teaches a computer-readable medium that implements the disclosed functionality.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shouldice et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Patent Publication No. 2020/0297955) in view of Baste et al. (WIPO publication WO 2023/141376) in view of Kraus et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Patent Publication No. 2004/0236240).
REGARDING CLAIM 12
Shouldice/BASTE teaches the claimed method of automatically generating and providing personalized recommendations for applying Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy of Claims 1 and 5. Shouldice/BASTE may not explicitly teach
wherein step (d) further comprises generating […] messages upon detecting a subsiding trend of cough events.
Kraus at Para. 0803 teaches that it was known in the art of computerized healthcare, at the time of filing, to output a message indicating that a patient is improving after treatment
wherein step (d) further comprises generating […] messages upon detecting a subsiding trend of cough events. [Kraus at Para. 0803 teaches outputting a messages (thus the message is generated) upon determining that the respiratory condition of a patient is improving (the chronic cough of Baste) or is stable after a treatment.]
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare, at the time of filing, to modify the chronic disease monitoring and management system of Shouldice having the provision of Behavioral Cough Suppression Therapy treatment to a patent having chronic cough indications of Baste to output a message indicating that a patient is improving after treatment as taught by Kraus, with the motivation of improving situational awareness of a patient’s status.
Shouldice/Baste/Kraus may not explicitly teach that the alerts (messages) are encouraging support messages. However, the limitation claims information that do not result in a manipulative difference between the information of the prior art and the functionally of the claimed method. The function taught by the prior art would be performed the same regardless of whether the information was substituted with nothing. Because Shouldice teaches that alerts (messages) are provided (and thus generated) containing information, substituting the information of the claimed invention for the information of the prior art would be an obvious substitution of one known element for another, producing predictable results. Therefore, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have substituted the information applied to the message of the prior art with any other information because the results would have been predictable. The Examiner notes that the content (or intent) of the message does not functionally affect the claim.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Alge et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Patent Publication No. 2026/0134955) which discloses a system for training a machine learning mode with chronic cough data for patients that are treated with a medication and patients treated with a placebo.
Dzhekiev et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Patent Publication No. 2022/0338756) which discloses a system for detecting cough events from a noisy environment.
/JASON S TIEDEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683