Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monde (US-20230278642-A1), henceforth referred to as Monde, in view of Anzai (JP-2006347253-A), henceforth referred to as Anzai.
Regarding claim 1, Monde discloses a suspension member structure comprising a suspension member (Figures 2 and 3: vehicle frame 3, comprising lower frames 22, forms a suspension member), and a rigid member that is plate-shaped and that is attached to the suspension member to reinforce the suspension member (Figures 2 and 3: skid plate 32 attached to lower frames 22), wherein a rib that suppresses deformation in a thickness direction of the rigid member is provided in the rigid member (Paragraph [0043]: "The skid plate 32 includes reinforcing ribs 41 (each of which corresponds to a “reinforcement section”) for increasing the rigidity of the skid plate 32. The reinforcing ribs 41 linearly extend in the front-back direction and the left-right direction of the body. Each reinforcing rib 41 has a protruding shape that rises upward from an upper face portion of the skid plate 32"), and an opening is provided in the rigid member in a portion that is different from a portion in which the rib is provided (Figure 3: opening 43 provided in skid plate 32, provided in a portion different from rib 41), the opening penetrating the rigid member (Figure 3: opening 43 penetrates skid plate 32).
However, Monde does not teach the rigid member covering a front cross member portion. Anzai discloses the rigid member covers a front portion of an opening enclosed by the suspension member as viewed in the up-down direction (Figure 3: rigid member formed by center bar 8 covers a front portion of the opening formed by suspension member 1), and a front end of the rigid member overlaps a front cross member portion of the suspension member when the rigid member covers the front portion of the suspension member (Figures 1 and 3: front end of center bar 8 overlaps with front cross member 12 of suspension member 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rigid member location of Monde with the rigid member location of Anzai in order to strengthen the suspension cross member. Further, it would have been obvious since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Monde as modified discloses the rib is provided along an edge of the opening (Figure 3: rib 41 comprises spread prevention section 43 surrounding opening 42).
Regarding claim 4, Monde as modified discloses the opening is a clearance portion for avoiding interference with a member supported by the suspension member (Figure 3: opening 43 provides clearance for drain 45, which is a portion of engine 8, which is supported by the vehicle frame 3).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monde and Anzai as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Natusme (US-20160207572-A1), henceforth referred to as Natsume.
Regarding claim 3, Monde discloses the rigid member is rectangular shaped when viewed in the thickness direction (Figure 2: skid plate 32 is generally rectangularly shaped). However, Monde does not teach the rib being disposed diagonally. Natsume discloses the rib is provided along a diagonal line of the rigid member (Figure 2: bead portions 21A are provided along diagonal lines of rigid member panel 23). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rib shape of Monde and Anzai with the rib shape of Natsume in order to improve the load-transmission performance (Paragraph [0086]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monde in view of Natsume.
Regarding claim 5, Monde discloses a suspension member structure comprising: a suspension member (Figures 2 and 3: vehicle frame 3, comprising lower frames 22, forms a suspension member), and a rigid member that is plate-shaped and that is attached to the suspension member to reinforce the suspension member (Figures 2 and 3: skid plate 32 attached to lower frames 22), the rigid member being rectangular-shaped when viewed in the thickness direction (Figure 2: skid plate 32 is generally rectangularly shaped), wherein a rib that suppresses deformation in a thickness direction of the rigid member is provided in the rigid member (Paragraph [0043]: "The skid plate 32 includes reinforcing ribs 41 (each of which corresponds to a “reinforcement section”) for increasing the rigidity of the skid plate 32. The reinforcing ribs 41 linearly extend in the front-back direction and the left-right direction of the body. Each reinforcing rib 41 has a protruding shape that rises upward from an upper face portion of the skid plate 32"), and an opening is provided in the rigid member in a portion that is different from a portion in which the rib is provided (Figure 3: opening 43 provided in skid plate 32, provided in a portion different from rib 41), the opening penetrating the rigid member (Figure 3: opening 43 penetrates skid plate 32), the rib protrudes downward from a main body of the rigid member (Figure 3: ribs 41 protrude downwards).
However, Monde does not teach the rib being provided diagonally. Natsume discloses the rib is provided along a diagonal line of the rigid member (Figure 2: bead portions 21A are provided along diagonal lines of rigid member panel 23). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rib shape of Monde and Anzai with the rib shape of Natsume in order to improve the load-transmission performance (Paragraph [0086]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW JAMES O'NEILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614