DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filed on 10/23/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Pub. No. 20260046392 A1).
Regarding to claim 20:
Xu teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a bitstream of video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus (paragraph [0023] In a twelfth aspect, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium is provided. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium has a computer program and a bitstream stored thereon, and the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method described in the second aspect, to generate the bitstream.), wherein the method comprises (the method steps do not carry patentable weight as the claim is a product-by-process claim in which only the bitstream (product), generated by the method steps (process), is given weight. MPEP §2113 recites "Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps". Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
"To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must
be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed
matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated".
MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists, MPEP §2111.05(III).
The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claims 20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Xu which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0023]).
Any argument attempting to distinguish claim 20 from Xu will be held not responsive to this claim rejection made on distinct and independent grounds. 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(b).
Other dependent claims are also rejected because of the deficiencies of their respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Pub. No. 20260046392 A1).
Regarding to claim 1 and 18-20:
1. Xu teach a method for video processing, comprising: (Xu Fig. 1) applying, for a conversion between a video unit of a video and a bitstream of the video, (Xu [0135] FIG. 10 is a schematic diagram of a video decoding method provided in an embodiment of the present disclosure, and the embodiment of the present disclosure is applied to the video decoder illustrated in FIG. 1 and FIG. 3. As illustrated in FIG. 10, the method of the embodiments of the present disclosure includes the following. [0136] In S101: a reference region and an extrapolation filter of a current block are determined, and a filter coefficient of the extrapolation filter is determined based on the reference region. [0137] When decoding the current block, the decoder side decodes a bitstream to obtain a quantized coefficient of the current block, performs inverse-quantization on the quantized coefficient to obtain a transform coefficient of the current block, and performs inverse transform on the transform coefficient to obtain a residual value of the current block. Then, a prediction mode of the current block is determined, a prediction value of the current block is determined based on the prediction mode, and a reconstructed value of the current block is obtained based on the prediction value and the residual value of the current block)
an extrapolation filter-based intra prediction (EIP) mode to the video unit, (Xu [0150] In an example, the third information may be represented as intra_eip_flag, and thus, whether the current block is predicted by using the extrapolation filter prediction mode may be determined by different values assigned to intra_eip_flag. For example, when intra_eip_flag=0, it indicates that the current block is not predicted by using the extrapolation filter prediction mode; when intra_eip_flag=1, it indicates that the current block is predicted by using the extrapolation filter prediction mode. In this way, the encoder side signals the preset flag intra_eip_flag into the bitstream, and the decoder side determines the prediction mode of the current block, by the value of the decoded preset flag intra_eip_flag, and for example, when the preset flag intra_eip_flag=1, it indicates that the prediction mode of the current block is the extrapolation filter prediction mode, and the decoder side uses the extrapolation filter prediction mode to predict the current block.) wherein the EIP mode is applied (Xu [0136] In S101: a reference region and an extrapolation filter of a current block are determined, and a filter coefficient of the extrapolation filter is determined based on the reference region.) to at least one of: a luma component or a chroma component; (Xu [0499] In some embodiments, the above-mentioned current block is a luma block or a chroma block, that is, in the embodiments of the present disclosure, both the luma block and the chroma block may be predicted by using the extrapolation filter prediction mode provided in the embodiments of the present disclosure.) and performing the conversion based on the EIP mode. (Xu [0553] In an example, the third information may be represented as intra_eip_flag, and thus, whether the current block is predicted by using the extrapolation filter prediction mode may be indicated by different values assigned to intra_eip_flag. For example, when intra_eip_flag=0, it indicates that the current block is not predicted by using the extrapolation filter prediction mode; when intra_eip_flag=1, it indicates that the current block is predicted by using the extrapolation filter prediction mode. In this way, the encoder side signals the preset flag intra_eip_flag into the bitstream, and the decoder side determines the prediction mode of the current block, by the value of the decoded preset flag intra_eip_flag, and for example, when the preset flag intra_eip_flag=1, it indicates that the prediction mode of the current block is the extrapolation filter prediction mode, and the decoder side uses the extrapolation filter prediction mode to predict the current block.)
Xu teach a robust method with multiple embodiments. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art develop claimed simplified method based on the teaching of Xu with predictable results, because all the steps are taught by Xu.
Regarding to claim 17:
17. Xu teach the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video unit into the bitstream, and/or wherein the conversion includes decoding the video unit from the bitstream. (Xu [0024] FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of a video encoding and decoding system involved in the embodiments of the present disclosure. [0025] FIG. 2 is a schematic block diagram of a video encoder involved in the embodiments of the present disclosure. [0026] FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of a video decoder involved in the embodiments of the present disclosure)
Claims 2-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Pub. No. 20260046392 A1), in view of He (U.S. Pub. No. 20150373366 A1).
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Xu teach the method of claim 1, wherein the reconstruction area is used for determining an EIP model coefficient. (Xu [0136] In S101: a reference region and an extrapolation filter of a current block are determined, and a filter coefficient of the extrapolation filter is determined based on the reference region. [0124] Exemplarily, by constructing a Wiener-Hopf equation as shown in Formula (1) and solving this Wiener-Hopf equation, the filter coefficient of the extrapolation filter may be obtained)
Xu do not explicitly teach wherein a reconstruction area is derived based on a block vector or a motion vector.
However He teach wherein a reconstruction area is derived based on a block vector or a motion vector. (He [0081] An intra block copy involves using the reconstructed pixels to predict current coding blocks within the same picture, and the displacement information—which is referred to as block vector—is coded. [0082] FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example of full frame intra block copy mode. Considering the complexity and bandwidth access, in HEVC screen content coding extension reference software (SCM-1.0) [R31] has two configurations for intra block copy mode. One is full frame intra block copy mode, in which all reconstructed pixels can be used for prediction as shown generally at 1700 in FIG. 13. In order to reduce the block vector searching complexity, hash based intra block copy search was proposed [R29], [R30]. Another is local region intra block copy mode, which is discussed next.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu, further incorporating He in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate a reconstruction area is derived based on a block vector or a motion vector. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Xu teach the method of claim 2, Xu do not explicitly teach wherein the reconstruction area used for determining the EIP model coefficient is not adjacent to a current video unit.
However He teach wherein the reconstruction area used for determining the EIP model coefficient is not adjacent to a current video unit. (He [0082] FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example of full frame [not adjacent] intra block copy mode. Considering the complexity and bandwidth access, in HEVC screen content coding extension reference software (SCM-1.0) [R31] has two configurations for intra block copy mode. One is full frame intra block copy mode, in which all reconstructed pixels can be used for prediction as shown generally at 1700 in FIG. 13. In order to reduce the block vector searching complexity, hash based intra block copy search was proposed [R29], [R30]. Another is local region intra block copy mode, which is discussed next. [0083] FIG. 14 is a diagram illustrating an example of local region intra block copy mode, as shown generally at 1800. When local region intra block copy mode is used, only those reconstructed pixels in the left and current coding tree units (CTU) are allowed to be used as reference. Please see the rejection of claim 2)
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Xu teach the method of claim 3, wherein an EIP model is calculated from a block vector or a motion vector pointed reference region, or wherein a EIP prediction is generated by applying an EIP model. (Xu [0128] After determining the filter coefficient of the filter based on the above Formula (1), the sample to be filtered is filtered by the following Formula (2), to obtain the filtered sample: [00002]t[r]′=. Math.n=0N-1cn×t[r+pn](2). [0129] Where t[r]′ is a sample value filtered at the position r, p.sub.n is a relative position difference between an n-th position among N positions corresponding to the position r and the position r, and t [r+p.sub.n] denotes a sample value to be filtered at a position r+p.sub.n. [0124] Exemplarily, by constructing a Wiener-Hopf equation as shown in Formula (1) and solving this Wiener-Hopf equation, the filter coefficient of the extrapolation filter may be obtained:)
Xu do not explicitly teach block vector or a motion vector indicated reference sample.
However He teach block vector or a motion vector indicated reference sample. (He [0081] which is referred to as block vector—is coded. [0082] FIG. 13 is a diagram illustrating an example of full frame intra block copy mode. Considering the complexity and bandwidth access, in HEVC screen content coding extension reference software (SCM-1.0) [R31] has two configurations for intra block copy mode. One is full frame intra block copy mode, in which all reconstructed pixels can be used for prediction as shown generally at 1700 in FIG. 13. In order to reduce the block vector searching complexity, hash based intra block copy search was proposed [R29], [R30]. Another is local region intra block copy mode, which is discussed next. [0083] FIG. 14 is a diagram illustrating an example of local region intra block copy mode, as shown generally at 1800. When local region intra block copy mode is used, only those reconstructed pixels in the left and current coding tree units (CTU) are allowed to be used as reference)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Xu teach the method of claim 2, Xu do not explicitly teach wherein the block vector or the motion vector is based on intra block copy (IBC) or intra template matching prediction (intraTMP).
However He teach wherein the block vector or the motion vector is based on intra block copy (IBC) or intra template matching prediction (intraTMP). (Please see the rejection of claim 4 IBC. intraTMP is part of OR condition and rejection is not required)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Xu teach the method of claim 2, Xu do not explicitly teach wherein the EIP mode is a kind of IBC mode, or wherein the EIP mode is a kind of intraTMP mode.
However He teach wherein the EIP mode is a kind of IBC mode, or wherein the EIP mode is a kind of intraTMP mode. (He [0098] Another embodiment is to add two flags to normal IntraBC mode. The first flag is used to indicate whether the BV derivation process is applied or not. If the first flag is 1, the second flag is coded to indicate whether uni-prediction or bi-prediction is used. If second flag is 0, then only the derived BV or MV is used for intra block copy prediction or motion compensated prediction. Otherwise, if the second flag is 1, the signaled BV is used to generate the first prediction, and the derived BV or MV is used to generate the second prediction; the final prediction is generated by averaging those two predictions, analogously to bi-prediction mode)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Xu teach the method of claim 6, Xu do not explicitly teach wherein a EIP flag is signalled conditioned by an IBC mode, wherein the EIP flag indicates whether the IBC mode is an EIP based IBC mode or a regular IBC mode, or wherein a EIP flag is signalled conditioned by an intraTMP mode, wherein the EIP flag indicates whether the intraTMP mode is an EIP based intraTMP mode or regular intraTMP mode.
However He teach wherein a EIP flag is signalled conditioned by an IBC mode, wherein the EIP flag indicates whether the IBC mode is an EIP based IBC mode or a regular IBC mode, or wherein a EIP flag is signalled conditioned by an intraTMP mode, wherein the EIP flag indicates whether the intraTMP mode is an EIP based intraTMP mode or regular intraTMP mode. (He [0098] Another embodiment is to add two flags to normal IntraBC mode. The first flag is used to indicate whether the BV derivation process is applied or not. If the first flag is 1, the second flag is coded to indicate whether uni-prediction or bi-prediction is used. If second flag is 0, then only the derived BV or MV is used for intra block copy prediction or motion compensated prediction. Otherwise, if the second flag is 1, the signaled BV is used to generate the first prediction, and the derived BV or MV is used to generate the second prediction; the final prediction is generated by averaging those two predictions, analogously to bi-prediction mode. [0112] In an exemplary embodiment, a video coded bitstream is received, and flag is identified in the bitstream indicating whether a signaled block vector or a derived block vector is used in IntraBC prediction. If the flag is a first value, then the signaled block vector is used for IntraBC prediction. If the flag is a second value then the BV or MV is derived based on the signaled block vector. In some such methods, the derived BV or MV is used for intra block copy prediction or motion compensated prediction.)
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Pub. No. 20260046392 A1), in view of He (U.S. Pub. No. 20150373366 A1), further in view of Zhao (U.S. Pub. No. 20240022710 A1).
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Xu teach the method of claim 2, Xu do not explicitly teach wherein an EIP prediction is derived based on at least one of: a reconstruction reordered IBC or a reconstruction reordered intraTMP.
However Zhao teach wherein an EIP prediction is derived based on at least one of: a reconstruction reordered IBC or a reconstruction reordered intraTMP. (Zhao [0088] In JVET-Z0159, a Reconstruction-Reordered IBC (RR-IBC) mode is disclosed for screen content video coding. When it is applied, the samples in a reconstruction block are flipped according to a flip type of the current block. At the encoder side, the original block is flipped before motion search and residual calculation, while the prediction block is derived without flipping. At the decoder side, the reconstruction block is flipped back to restore the original block.)
The motivation for combining Xu and He as set forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 8. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu, further incorporating He and Zhao in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate an EIP prediction is derived based on at least one of: a reconstruction reordered IBC or a reconstruction reordered intraTMP. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Xu teach the method of claim 8, Xu do not explicitly teach wherein at least one of: a template of a EIP block or a reconstruction of the EIP block is flipped or reordered based on a flip type of the at least one of: a reconstruction reordered IBC or a reconstruction reordered intraTMP.
However Zhao teach wherein at least one of: a template of a EIP block or a reconstruction of the EIP block is flipped or reordered based on a flip type of the at least one of: a reconstruction reordered IBC or a reconstruction reordered intraTMP. (Zhao [0089] Two flip methods, horizontal flip and vertical flip, are supported for RR-IBC coded blocks. A syntax flag is firstly signalled for an IBC AMVP coded block, indicating whether the reconstruction is flipped, namely ibc_flip_flag, and if it is flipped, another flag is further signaled specifying the flip type, namely ibc_flip_type. For IBC merge, the flip type is inherited from neighbouring blocks, without syntax signalling. [0096] In some embodiments, different candidate flipping patterns (including no flipping) may be applied on the template of a current block, then the distortion between the template of reference block 1403 and the flipped template 1402 of current block 1401 may be calculated)
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 10-16:
Claims 10-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 20240298013 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), because this prior art discuss multi-model linear model (MMLM) technology. However, this prior art is not used because cited prior arts are closest to the inventive concept.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896