DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 10/24/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
5. Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,468,711. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention of the instant application is a similar version of the claimed invention of the above identified U.S. Patent with the similar intended scope as shown below:
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,468,711
Claim 1. A system, comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive, from a device of a requestor, and by a remote server, a request,
wherein the request includes an identifier associated with the requestor that authorizes at least the device to receive structured data;
receive, from a data source and by the remote server, a set of structured data including a plurality of entries;
determine, by the remote server and based on analyzing the plurality of entries, subsets of the structured data that are representative of different recurring events;
[Claim 4. The system of claim 1, wherein determining the subsets of the structured data that are representative of the different recurring events is based on applying a plurality of rules related to the properties associated with the different recurring events.]
determine, by the remote server and based on analyzing the subsets of the structured data, properties associated with the different recurring events;
generate, by the remote server, a data structure representative of the different recurring events and the properties; and
transmit, by the remote server, the generated data structure to a user device.
Claim 1. A system for pattern identification, the system comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive, from a device, by a remote server, and via an application programming interface (API) call associated with the system, a request,
wherein the request includes a parameter that encapsulates a token associated with the device and authorizes the device to receive structured data;
receive, from a data source and by the remote server, a set of structured data including a plurality of entries;
determine, by the remote server and based on a first entry of the plurality of entries being associated with a same event as a first number of other entries of the plurality of entries, that the first number satisfies a threshold number,
wherein the same event is associated with a first type of a first recurring event;
determine, by the remote server and based on descriptive data associated with a second entry of the plurality of entries, that the second entry is associated with a second type of a second recurring event,
wherein an event associated with the second entry is related to a second number of other entries of the plurality of entries,
wherein the second number does not satisfy the threshold number, and
wherein the determination of the second entry being associated with the second type of the second recurring event enables distinguishing the first type of the first recurring event from the second type of the second recurring event;
determine, by the remote server and for the first recurring event, a first derived property;
determine, by the remote server and for the second recurring event, a second derived property;
generate, by the remote server, a data structure indicating the first recurring event, the first derived property, the second recurring event, and the second derived property; and
transmit, by the remote server and to a user device, the generated data structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, claim 1 recites the limitation of “transmit, by the remote server, the generated data structure to a user device” [emphasis added] in line 16. Claim 1 also recites the limitation of “receive, from a device of a requestor” [emphasis added] in line 5. It is unclear how the phrase of “a device of a requestor” is related to the phrase of “a user device.” Clarification is required.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected due to the similar reasons set forth with respect to claim 1.
Claims not specifically mentioned above are rejected by virtue of their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0035032 (hereinafter Soufiani) in view of U.S. 11,405,379 (hereinafter Clauss).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, as far as the claim is understood, Soufiani discloses a system, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (fig. 1):
receive, from a device of a requestor, and by a remote server, a request ([0047-0050]; “receive an allow message from the one or more remote devices…”; “The user identifier can correspond to an individual…”),
wherein the request includes an identifier associated with the requestor that authorizes [at least the device] to receive structured data; receive, from a data source and by the remote server, a set of structured data including a plurality of entries ([0009-0010 and 0077]; Table 1 as shown below; “…A set of transaction data is received, wherein each transaction data includes at least a user identifier, a recipient identifier, a date and an amount. A data array of transactions corresponding to a data pair over a time period is created from the set of transaction data. The data array of transactions is stored in a first array data structure in the one or more databases. One or more time-based patterns are identified in the set of transaction data stored in the one or more databases corresponding to the data pair over the time period by projecting the set of transaction data into a frequency domain using a Fourier transformation and identifying and dominant frequencies with the frequency domain using the one or more processors…”);
determine, by the remote server and based on analyzing the plurality of entries, subsets of the structured data that are representative of different recurring events ([0010 and 0076-0078]; Table 1 as shown above; “…FIG. 3 shows a flow chart of a method 300 in which a user’s transaction data is received and stored as a data structure to be analyzed for identifying patterns in block 302…”);
determine, by the remote server and based on analyzing the subsets of the structured data, properties associated with the different recurring events; generate, by the remote server, a data structure representative of the different recurring events and the properties ([0064-0067]; “receiving a new transaction data corresponding to a new completed transaction, a new pending transaction or a new predicted transaction, and storing the new transaction data in the data structure; or adding the new transaction data to the set of transaction data, and repeating the analyzing, classifying, generating and responding steps; or generating one or more new actions whenever the new transaction data matches one or more of the pattern categories, or invoking one or more of the stored actions…”); and
transmit, by the remote server, the generated data structure to a user device ([0082-0091]; fig. 8A as shown above; “…As shown in FIG. 8A above, exemplary spending suggestions 800 could display the merchant or vendor name, the approximate amount spent per time period and a suggestion to reduce the spending with an expected savings over a time period”).
The reference does not explicitly disclose the feature of wherein an identifier associated with the requestor that authorizes at least the device to receive data. However, such feature is well known in the art as disclosed by Clauss (col. 8, lns. 45-62) it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teachings of Clauss in the system of Soufiani in view of the desire to enhance the data process system by utilizing the identity authentication scheme resulting in improving the efficiency of securing the recurring events.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, while Soufiani discloses the system wherein the request includes a parameter that encapsulates a token associated with the device (Clauss: col. 9, lns. 55-col. 10, lns. 12). Therefore, the limitations of claims 2, 9 and 16 are also rejected in the analysis of claims 1, 8 or 15, and the clams are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Soufiani discloses the system wherein the token is generated based on a key associated with the user device (Clauss: col. 11, lns. 37-52). Therefore, the limitations of claims 3, 10 and 17 are also rejected in the analysis of claims 1, 8 or 15, and the clams are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Soufiani discloses the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: cluster entries of the plurality of entries based on the properties associated with the different recurring events ([0077 and 0082]; fig. 8A as shown above).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Soufiani discloses the system wherein the generated data structure includes information related to an inflow stream and an outflow stream ([005-0046 and 0057]).
11. Claims 4, 7, 11, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soufiani in view of Clauss, and further in view of US 2021/0406896 (hereinafter Chaturvedi).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Soufiani discloses the system wherein determining the subsets of the structured data that are representative of the different recurring events is [based on applying a plurality of rules] related to the properties associated with the different recurring events ([0009-0010]). The reference does not explicitly disclose the limitation of “recurring events is applying a plurality of rules.” However, such features are well known in the art as disclosed by Chaturvedi ([0079]) and it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teachings of Chaturvedi in the system of Soufiani in view of the desire to enhance the data process system by utilizing the processing rules resulting in improving the efficiency of identifying the transaction patterns.
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Soufiani discloses the system wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: [standardize] information associated with the structured data; and filter the structured data based on information associated with the properties ([0020-0021]). Soufiani does not explicitly disclose the feature of utilizing standardize information. However, such features are well known in the art as disclosed by Chaturvedi ([0075 and 0093]) and it would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teachings of Chaturvedi in the system of Soufiani in view of the desire to enhance the transaction data process by utilizing the specific configuration scheme resulting in improving the efficiency of identifying the transaction patterns.
Conclusion
/MONICA M PYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161