DETAILED ACTION
This application is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
The text of 35 U.S.C. § 103 not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claims 1 and 9-13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0315002 A1 to Haddadin (hereinafter “Haddadin_1”).
Claim 1: Haddadin_1 discloses a manipulator for an industrial robot, comprising at least one dual joints assembly, comprising:
a housing (see annotated FIGURE below – all the housings annotated with a bold arrow comprise a first part and a second part as recited in Claim 1) comprising a first part extending in a first axial direction and a second part extending in a second axial direction orthogonal to the first axial direction, the first part being offset from the second part by a distance in a third axial direction orthogonal to the first axial direction and the second axial direction.
The Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing that the first and second parts of any of the housings highlighted in the annotated FIGURE above define first and second chambers, respectively, because the first and second parts of the dual joints assembly shown in the annotated figure define degrees of freedom of the assembly robot which would contain a first and second joints, respectively. The Office further finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing that the first and second joints defined by the first and second parts comprise a first and second power output shafts, respectively, which are configured to rotate around the first and second axial directions, respectively, in order to drive rotation of the respective joints.
Claim 9: Haddadin_1 discloses wherein the first part and/or the second part is substantially of a cylindrical shape. Thus, the manipulator recited in Claim 9 is rendered obvious over Haddadin_1.
Claim 10: The Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing that the first part and the second part of one of the housings identified above in the annotated figure of Haddadin_1 overlap with each other in the third axial direction to define an overlapped part which defines a channel communicating the first chamber and the second chamber, because the housings shown in FIG. 3 of Haddadin_1 include chambers which define a channel.
Claim 11: Paragraph [0074] of Haddadin_1 discloses that drive units 9 (of robot 2) include “motor, gearbox, control, output housing.” It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing that the “control” of drive units 9 may include one or more sensors configured to sense a position of the rotation shaft of the motor of drive unit 9.
The Office further finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing that the first and second joints of the assembly robot each comprise:
a motor;
a rotation shaft coupled to the motor; and
one or more sensors configured to sense a position of the rotation shaft,
in order to safely control rotation of the first and second joints.
Claim 12: Haddadin_1 discloses at least one structural member configured to connect two adjacent dual joints assembly or connect one dual joints assembly and a single joint assembly. Thus, the manipulator recited in Claim 12 is rendered obvious over Haddadin_1.
Claim 13: Haddadin_1 discloses an industrial robot, comprising:
a base.
As described above, the manipulator according to claim 1 is rendered obvious over Haddadin_1.
Thus, the industrial robot recited in Claim 13 is obvious over Haddadin_1.
Claims 2-4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0315002 A1 to Haddadin, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,384,022 B2 to Riedel.
Claim 2: Haddadin_1 discloses the manipulator according to claim 1, but does not necessarily disclose wherein the first part comprises a first axial end comprising a first opening and a second axial end opposite to the first axial end in the first axial direction comprising a second opening.
Riedel teaches a similar industrial robot with a dual joint assembly comprising a housing with an elliptical opening and a circular opening corresponding to first and second axial ends of the housing. The housing also includes a cover at the elliptical opening, which is of an elliptical shape.
In view of the Riedel teaching, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the manipulator disclosed by Haddadin_1, such that the first part comprises a first axial end comprising a first opening and a second axial end opposite to the first axial end in the first axial direction comprising a second opening, in order to more easily assemble and maintain the dual joint assembly.
Claim 3: As described above, Riedel teaches an elliptically-shaped opening and a circular opening.
According to the modification used above in the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 3 is rendered obvious over the combination of Haddadin_1 and Riedel.
Claim 4: Haddadin_1, as modified above by Riedel in the rejection of Claim 2 (such that the first part comprises opposite first and second openings), discloses the manipulator according to claim 2. Haddadin_1 further discloses a structural member. Riedel teaches covers configured to enclose openings of several joints.
In view of the Riedel teaching, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to attain, with a reasonable expectation of success, the manipulator described above in the rejection of claim 2, which further comprises:
a first cover configured to enclose the first opening in order to cover/close the first joint; and
a structural member which is connected to the first power output shaft at the second opening, in order to drive rotation of the first joint.
Claim 6: Haddadin_1 discloses the manipulator according to claim 1, but does not necessarily disclose wherein the second part comprises a third axial end comprising a third opening and a fourth axial end opposite to the third axial end in the second axial direction comprising a fourth opening.
As described above, Riedel teaches a similar industrial robot with a dual joint assembly comprising a housing with an elliptical opening and a circular opening corresponding to first and second axial ends of the housing. The housing also includes a cover at the elliptical opening, which is of an elliptical shape.
In view of the Riedel teaching, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the manipulator disclosed by Haddadin_1, such that the second part comprises a third axial end comprising a third opening and a fourth axial end opposite to the third axial end in the second axial direction comprising a fourth opening, in order to more easily assemble and maintain the dual joint assembly.
Claim 7: Haddadin_1, as modified above by Riedel in the rejection of Claim 6 (such that the second part comprises opposite third and fourth openings), discloses the manipulator according to claim 6. Haddadin_1 further discloses a second structural member. Riedel teaches covers configured to enclose openings of several joints 22.
In view of the Riedel teaching, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to attain, with a reasonable expectation of success, the manipulator described above in the rejection of claim 6, which further comprises:
a second configured to enclose the third opening (taught by Riedel according to the rejection of Claim 6 above) in order to cover/close the second joint; and
a second structural member which is connected to the second power output shaft at the fourth opening.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0315002 A1 to Haddadin, in view of U.S. Patent No. 12,384,022 B2 to Riedel, as applied to Claims 2 and 4 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,584,027 B2 to Zhang et al.
Claim 5: The combination of Haddadin_1 and Riedel does not appear to disclose the limitation recited in Claim 5, in which the first cover is made of a different material from the housing of the dual joints assembly.
Zhang teaches a “joint of [a] collaborative robot, and housing therefor” in which a cover is made of a different material from a housing (“The housing 2 of the joint may be an aluminum alloy material” Col. 4, Lines 57-58, and “The rear cover 5 may be made of a non-metallic material, and therefore, the rear cover 5 may be arranged at a position with less heat generation, i.e., a position corresponding to the electrical component 4, so that the use amount of metals may be reduced, and the costs of the joint may be reduced” Col. 6, Lines 4-10).
In view of the Zhang teaching, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the manipulator disclosed by Haddadin, as modified by Ciniello in the rejection of Claims 2 and 4 above, such that the first cover (taught by Ciniello) is made of a different material from the housing, so that the costs of the joint may be reduced, as taught by Zhang.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0315002 A1 to Haddadin, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of German Patent Publication No. 10 2017 125 209 A1 to Efinger et al.
Claim 8: Haddadin discloses one-piece housings (see the annotated figure provided above). Haddadin does not necessarily disclose a housing which is a one-piece cast component produced by chill casting with a sand core.
Efinger teaches a housing 1 for an electric motor including a power output shaft. The housing device 1 comprises a housing shell 2 which is “preferably produced by sand casting or chill casting with sand cores or salt cores. This offers a low porosity and high mechanical properties as well as the possibility of heat treatment.”
In view of the Efinger teaching, the Office finds that it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to produce, with a reasonable expectation of success, one or more of the housings disclosed by Haddadin as a one-piece cast component by chill casting with a sand core, in order to achieve a housing of low porosity and high mechanical properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's 08/27/2026 arguments have been considered but are not found to be persuasive.
On Page 7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant suggests “two separate links that articulate relative to one another are not a single ‘housing comprising a first part… and a second part’ as recited in Claim 1.” In response, the Office notes that Claim 1 does not recite “a single housing comprising a first part… and a second part.” Also, the Office submits that Haddadin discloses a single housing comprising a first part and a second part. The Office further submits that Haddadin discloses a housing that includes a “fixed structural relationship, namely the first part being offset from the second part by a distance in a third axial direction orthogonal to the first and second axial directions.”
The Office further maintains it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of filing to provide the robot disclosed by Haddadin with a first joint arranged within the first chamber and a second joint arranged within the second chamber, each comprising a power output shaft.
The Office respectfully disagrees that its obviousness rationale for Claim 1 is conclusory and unsupported by the reference.
Applicant’s “fourth” argument on Page 8 of Applicant’s remarks is moot in light of newly-cited art.
Applicant’s “fifth” argument on Page 8 is similarly rendered moot over the rejection of Claim 10 above.
Regarding Applicant’s “sixth” argument, the Office concedes that Haddadin_1 does not disclose the claimed sensors. Nevertheless, the Office finds that the manipulator recited in Claim 11 is obvious for the reasons explained above.
Regarding Applicant’s “seventh” argument, the portions of Haddadin_1 which Applicant cites to relate to assembly of the robot. The Office’s rejection of Claims 2, 4, 6, and 7 incorporates a rationale for the maintenance of the robot. The cited portions that Applicant relies on do not teach away from such a rationale. Applicant’s argument, therefore, is not found to be persuasive.
Applicant’s “eighth,” “ninth,” and “tenth” arguments are moot because they do not apply to the combination of references cited in this rejection.
Conclusion
/RANDELL J KRUG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618