DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The instant application having Application Number 19/368,190 filed on October 24, 2025 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 17 dependent claims, all of which are presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, supports are shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding independent Claims 1, 12, and 20:
Step 1 Analysis:
Claim 1 recites “A method…”, the claim recites a series of steps and therefore is process.
Claim 12 recites “A system …”; therefore, the claim is a machine.
Claim 20 recites “A computer-readable medium”, therefore the claim is a manufacture.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The claim, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, recites limitations directed to an abstract idea, including mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion), but for the recitation of mere instructions to apply an exception language. In particular, the following limitations are directed to an abstract idea:
receiving, by a computer system, a query in natural language;
generating, by the computer system, an input for a large language model, the input comprising a prompt generated based on the query;
identifying, by the computer system, a plurality of slots associated with a plurality of sections of a content item;
generating, by the large language model, a query result based on the input, the query result comprising a subset of slots of the plurality of slots selected in accordance with the plurality of sections;
extracting, by the computer system, one or more document chunks from a database storing a plurality of document chunks as one or more relevant document chunks associated with the query result;
formatting, by the computer system, the one or more relevant document chunks into a response to the query; and
providing, by the computer system, the response to a client system,
wherein the plurality of document chunks is generated by dividing each content item of a plurality of content items into the plurality of document chunks based on sections within each content item of the plurality of content items.
This limitation is a process that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a “memory”, “processor”, “computer-readable medium”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in a human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. For example, the “receiving”, “generating”, “identifying” “extracting”, “formatting” and “providing” in the context of this claim encompasses a user mentally, and with the aid of pen and paper writing the changes down on a sheet of paper and examine the list to determine the relevant ones (rationale).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong Two: Integrated into a Practical Application
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional steps: the “receiving”, “generating”, “identifying” “extracting”, “formatting” and “providing” steps mount to data gathering which are considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and these steps are considered as a mere instruction to apply an exception to perform an existing process on a generic computer and/or no more than an idea of a solution or outcome on a generic computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The insignificant extra-solution activities identified above, which include the data-gathering and the step of “receiving”, “generating”, “identifying” “extracting”, “formatting” and “providing” are recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). For these reasons, there is no inventive concept in the claim, and thus it is ineligible.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application.
Accordingly, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Independent claims 12 and 20 have the similar limitations as claim 1 and are rejected for at least the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of slots comprises at least one of medical named entity recognitions (NERs), keywords identified as frequently arising in clinical patient encounters, questions identified as frequently arising in clinical patient encounters, and information identified as frequently requested during clinical patient encounters.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the document chunks in the database are produced by performing at least one of sliding window chunking and semantic chunking.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein extracting one or more document chunks from the database storing the plurality of document chunks further comprises extracting metadata associated with the one or more relevant document chunks.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 5. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the metadata comprises at least one of a date of creation of a note, a note type, a note section, a specialist note, patient information, and a practitioner role.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 6. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein extracting the one or more document chunks from the database comprises using the metadata to determine a relevance of the one or more of the plurality of document chunks into the query.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein extracting one or more document chunks from the database further comprises: identifying a time-dependent aspect in the query, and selecting one or more of the plurality of document chunks based on the time-dependent aspect in the query.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein extracting one or more document chunks from the database further comprises performing at least one of a keyword search and a k-Nearest Neighbor (KNN) search on the plurality of document chunks in the database.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising enriching, by the computer system, at least one of the plurality of sections and the plurality of document chunks with embeddings.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 10. The computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the embeddings comprise at least one of subsection header names and vector embeddings.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
Regarding claim 11. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein formatting the one or more relevant document chunks into the response to the query comprises ranking the one or more relevant document chunks based on a predefined set of parameters.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, this additional limitation mounts to data gathering which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)), and does not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception.
With respect to claims 13-19, although claims 13-19 directed to a system, they are similar in scope to claims 2-8. Similar to claims 2-8, the claims 13-19 do not provide any additional elements that when considered individually or as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Defoor et al. (US Patent No. 11,972,223 B1, ‘DeFoor’, hereafter) in view of Sharma et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0095455 A1, ‘Sharma’, hereafter) and further in view of Anwade et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0200491 A1, ‘Anwade’, hereafter).
Regarding claim 1. Defoor teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a query in natural language; generating, by the computer system, an input for a large language model, the input comprising a prompt generated based on the query (determining contextual information may involve transmitting to the large language model a follow-up relevance explanation prompt requesting that the large language model provide a natural language explanation as to why the selected document was deemed relevant to the query, topic, or question, DeFoor, Col 24, lines 45-50);
formatting, by the computer system, the one or more relevant document chunks into a response to the query; and providing, by the computer system, the response to a client system (The document review prompt may include one or more instructions to a large language model. For example, the document review prompt may instruct the large language model to answer the one or more questions based on the text in the document chunk. As another example, the document review prompt may instruct the large language language model to format its response in a particular way. For instance, the prompt may include formatting instructions such as one or more escape characters to employ, JSON formatting to aggregate multiple citations into a single response message, or other such instructions, DeFoor, Col 25, lines 49-59),
Defoor does not teach
identifying, by the computer system, a plurality of slots associated with a plurality of sections of a content item;
generating, by the large language model, a query result based on the input, the query result comprising a subset of slots of the plurality of slots selected in accordance with the plurality of sections;
However, Sharma teaches
identifying, by the computer system, a plurality of slots associated with a plurality of sections of a content item (The language model leveraged by server system 104 may be fine-tuned for QA. The language model may be configured to analyze the received context and prompt; and intelligently identify an answer to the prompt, the location of the answer within one or more documents, and generate a confidence score indicating the probability of the answer being accurate, Sharma [0025-0026], [0036-0037], [0048], [0051]);
generating, by the large language model, a query result based on the input, the query result comprising a subset of slots of the plurality of slots selected in accordance with the plurality of sections (At 406 server system 104 may receive a prompt from a user device. For example, a user (e.g., a clinician) operating user device(s) 102 may submit a question (in real-time on-the-fly) or query to server system 104 relating to a medical task (e.g., a clinical analysis of a patient's lab results). As such, the clinician may submit a question using the clinician's natural language inquiring about what the patient's ICD code and diagnosis was on the lab result. … At 408 server system 104 may feed the sanitized text and the prompt as input into a natural language processing model. For example, server system 104 may use the sanitized text as context and the user's question as input for an extractive language model that is capable of interpreting the user's natural language question; and identifying and providing an answer, Sharma [0051-0052], [0025-0026]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Defoor and Sharma before him/her, to modify Defoor with the teaching of Sharma’s system and method for question-answering using a multi-modal end to end learning system. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of providing advanced algorithms that can understand the semantic structure of user queries and can further provide precise results to said queries (Sharma, Abstract, [0004]).
Defoor and Sharma do not teach
extracting, by the computer system, one or more document chunks from a database storing a plurality of document chunks as one or more relevant document chunks associated with the query result;
wherein the plurality of document chunks is generated by dividing each content item of a plurality of content items into the plurality of document chunks based on sections within each content item of the plurality of content items.
However, Anwade teaches
extracting, by the computer system, one or more document chunks from a database storing a plurality of document chunks as one or more relevant document chunks associated with the query result (The function “docsearch.similarity_search(query)” may perform a similarity search on the document embeddings (created earlier using OpenAI and FAISS) to find the most relevant documents based on the query. The result is a list of relevant documents (or chunks of text) that are most likely to contain the answer to the question, Anwade [0192-0194]);
wherein the plurality of document chunks is generated by dividing each content item of a plurality of content items into the plurality of document chunks based on sections within each content item of the plurality of content items (The function “docsearch.similarity_search(query)” may perform a similarity search on the document embeddings (created earlier using OpenAI and FAISS) to find the most relevant documents based on the query. The result is a list of relevant documents (or chunks of text) that are most likely to contain the answer to the question, Anwade [0117], [0192-0194]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Defoor, Sharma and Anwade before him/her, to further modify Defoor with the teaching of Anwade’s system and method for question-answering using a multi-modal end to end learning system. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of providing relevant documents as query request (Anwade, Abstract, [0191-0197]).
Regarding claim 2. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein the plurality of slots comprises at least one of medical named entity recognitions (NERs), keywords identified as frequently arising in clinical patient encounters, questions identified as frequently arising in clinical patient encounters, and information identified as frequently requested during clinical patient encounters (Sharma [0036], [0048]).
Regarding claim 3. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein the document chunks in the database are produced by performing at least one of sliding window chunking and semantic chunking (DeFoor, Col 15, lines 7-28, Col 25, lines 42-59).
Regarding claim 4. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein extracting one or more document chunks from the database storing the plurality of document chunks further comprises extracting metadata associated with the one or more relevant document chunks (DeFoor, Col 24, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 5. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein the metadata comprises at least one of a date of creation of a note, a note type, a note section, a specialist note, patient information, and a practitioner role (Sharma [0025], [0036], [0048]).
Regarding claim 6. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein extracting the one or more document chunks from the database comprises using the metadata to determine a relevance of the one or more of the plurality of document chunks into the query (Anwade [0117], [0194-0195]).
Regarding claim 7. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein extracting one or more document chunks from the database further comprises: identifying a time-dependent aspect in the query, and selecting one or more of the plurality of document chunks based on the time-dependent aspect in the query (Sharma [0006], [0051]).
Regarding claim 12. DeFoor teaches a system comprising: a computer system comprising one or more processors and memory storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (a system 700 suitable for implementing embodiments described herein includes a processor 701, a memory module 703, a storage device 705, an interface 711, and a bus 715 (e.g., a PCI bus or other interconnection fabric.) System 700 may operate as variety of devices such as an application server, a database server, or any other device or service described herein. Although a particular configuration is described, a variety of alternative configurations are possible. The processor 701 may perform operations such as those described herein. Instructions for performing such operations may be embodied in the memory 703, on one or more non-transitory computer readable media, or on some other storage device, DeFoor, Col 16, lines 15-30, Col 41, lines11-32), configure the computer system to at least:
although claim 12 directed to a system, it is similar in scope to claim 1. The method steps of claim 1 substantially encompass the system recited in claim 12. Therefore; claim 12 is rejected for at least the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 13-18, the method steps of claims 2-7 substantially encompass the system recited in claims 13-18. Therefore, claims 13-18 are rejected for at least the same reason as claims 2-7 above.
Regarding claim 20. DeFoor teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computer system (a system 700 suitable for implementing embodiments described herein includes a processor 701, a memory module 703, a storage device 705, an interface 711, and a bus 715 (e.g., a PCI bus or other interconnection fabric.) System 700 may operate as variety of devices such as an application server, a database server, or any other device or service described herein. Although a particular configuration is described, a variety of alternative configurations are possible. The processor 701 may perform operations such as those described herein. Instructions for performing such operations may be embodied in the memory 703, on one or more non-transitory computer readable media, or on some other storage device, DeFoor, Col 16, lines 15-30, Col 41, lines11-32), configure the computer system to at least:
although claim 20 directed to a medium, it is similar in scope to claim 1. The method steps of claim 1 substantially encompass the medium recited in claim 20. Therefore; claim 20 is rejected for at least the same reason as claim 1 above.
Claims 8-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Defoor et al. (US Patent No. 11,972,223 B1, ‘DeFoor’, hereafter) in view of Sharma et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2024/0095455 A1, ‘Sharma’, hereafter) in view of Anwade et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0200491 A1, ‘Anwade’, hereafter) further in view of Gunaselara et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0365500 A1, ‘Gunaselara’, hereafter).
Regarding claim 8. Defoor, Sharma and Anwade do not teach wherein extracting one or more document chunks from the database further comprises performing at least one of a keyword search and a k-Nearest Neighbor (KNN) search on the plurality of document chunks in the database.
However, Gunaselara teaches
wherein extracting one or more document chunks from the database further comprises performing at least one of a keyword search and a k-Nearest Neighbor (KNN) search on the plurality of document chunks in the database (Gunaselara [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Defoor, Sharma, Anwade and Gunaselara before him/her, to further modify Defoor with the teaching of Gunaselara’s system and method for question-based content answering. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of providing search engine field to create a new and useful method for question-answer search capabilities in a search engine with the complementary relevance ranking of answer candidates (Gunaselara, Abstract, [0006]).
Regarding claim 9. Defoor as modified teaches, further comprising enriching, by the computer system, at least one of the plurality of sections and the plurality of document chunks with embeddings (Gunaselara [0057], [0100]).
Regarding claim 10. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein the embeddings comprise at least one of subsection header names and vector embeddings (Gunaselara [0057]).
Regarding claim 11. Defoor as modified teaches, wherein formatting the one or more relevant document chunks into the response to the query comprises ranking the one or more relevant document chunks based on a predefined set of parameters (Gunaselara [0028], [0046], [0084-0085], [0105]).
Regarding claim 19, the method steps of claim 8 substantially encompass the system recited in claim 19. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected for at least the same reason as claim 8 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Gupta et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0335795 A1) discloses an unstructured data query-response pair generation system (generation system) populates a knowledge base of query-response pairs for queries of natural language content in unstructured data by prompting a first large language model (LLM) text extracted from the unstructured data. An unstructured data chatbot (chatbot) leverages the knowledge base by augmenting prompts to a second LLM responding to user queries for natural language content in the unstructured data with query-response pairs having queries that are semantically similar to the user queries. The knowledge base and LLMs are updated based on user feedback correcting responses, continually improving quality of the generation system and chatbot.
Shah et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2025/0156419 A1) discloses technologies include, in response to receiving a query, matching the query to metadata from a plurality of heterogeneous data sources, and selecting one or more data sources from the plurality of heterogeneous data sources for answering the query, by sending the query and embeddings of the matched metadata to a generative artificial intelligence (GAI), and prompting the GAI to select matching data sources. Based on the data from the GAI, generating one or more custom queries targeted to the matching data sources selected by the GAI, the custom queries formatted to be sent to the selected data sources, executing the one or more custom queries across the selected data sources, and summarizing results from the executing and providing a response to the query.
Guo Qi et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN202410635924A) discloses a medical literature intelligent question answering system and method based on RAG and LLM technologies. The system comprises an embedding model and a GPT (General Purpose Transport) large model; the embedding model is composed of an input layer, a word embedding layer, an encoder and an output layer which are cascaded in sequence; the embedding model training method comprises the steps of data collection, pre-training data preparation, pre-training, fine adjustment data preparation and model fine adjustment. The question and answer method comprises the steps that a local knowledge base is constructed, k answers closest to questions asked by a user are screened out through a vector retrieval method to serve as reference bases, questions and related answers form a prompt input model, and final answers are generated through understanding analysis of a large language model. According to the method, the RAG is combined with the medical literature, so that the convenience of acquiring contents by the user and the efficiency of acquiring knowledge by the user are improved, the application practice of a large language model in the medical field is realized, the working efficiency of medical researchers is improved, the medical researchers are helped to acquire required information more quickly, and the innovation and development of the medical field are promoted.
Butler et al. (US Patent Publication No. 10,956,469 B2) discloses a method for identifying correlated datasets comprises receiving a natural language query from a user, extracting electronic metadata from a plurality of computerized datasets, correlating the electronic metadata with the natural language query using natural language processing, calculating a correlation score between the natural language query and each of the plurality of electronic datasets, and returning a result to the user, wherein the result includes one or more datasets of the plurality of electronic datasets with a correlation score greater than or equal to a threshold.
Subbiah et al. (US Patent No. 12,596,732 B2) discloses a method and system provide the ability to process a construction domain query. A natural language user query is obtained within a construction software system. The user query is pre-processed to validate the query. Text from the query is embed into search vectors for a semantic search. A data source having multiple different sections is obtained. The semantic search is performed within each of the sections and identifies semantically relevant sections. The relevant sections are consolidated into a contextual data prompt that is input into an LLM. The LLM, which is trained based on construction data, generates a response that identifies the relevant sections. The response and an identification of the relevant sections is output.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Rones can be reached at 571-272-4085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HASANUL MOBIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168