DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-22 are objected to because of the following informalities: “DBMS”, “JDV”, “ID”, “DDL” should be provided the definition. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye et al. (US 2020/0334254) hereinafter Arye, in view of Shridhar (US 2025/0173355).
In claim 1, Arye discloses “A method, comprising:
a DBMS storing a plurality of JDV objects, wherein each JDV object of said plurality of JDV objects comprises fields normalized across a plurality of base rows of a plurality of base tables, wherein said plurality of base rows comprises a root row of a root table and a child row of a child table, said root table and said child table belonging to said plurality of base tables ([0044] The data store 145 stores data as tuples (also referred to as records) that may be stored as rows of data, with each row comprising a set of attributes. These attributes typically have a name associated with them (e.g., “time”, “device_id”, “location”, “temperature”, “error_code”) and a type (e.g., string, integer, float, boolean, array, json, jsonb (binary json), blob, geo-spatial, etc.). Attributes may also be referred to herein using the terms “fields”, “columns” or “keys” [0045] The data store 145 may store records in a standard database table…The data store 145 may also store data in a partitioned database table referred to as a hypertable. A hypertable is a partitioned database table that provides an interface of a single continuous table represented by a virtual view-such that a requestor can query it via a database query language such as SQL. This hypertable may also be known as a parent table, partitioned table, or the like. A hypertable may be defined with a standard schema with attributes (or fields or column) names and types…These dimension attributes on which the hypertable is partitioned are also referred to as “partitioning key(s)”, “partition key(s)”, or “partitioning fields [0046] The database system splits the hypertable into chunks. Each chunk stores a subset of records of the hypertable. A chunk may also be referred to herein and elsewhere as a data chunk or a partition, a shard, a child table, or just a table [0062] a chunk could refer to a number of storage representations, including a traditional relational database table, a virtual database view, a materialized database view, a set of structured markup language (e.g., XML), a set of serialized structured data (e.g., JSON, Google Protocol Buffers, Apache Avro, Apache Parquet), or flat files (e.g., with comma- or tab-separated values));
a database transaction synchronizing on a plurality of affected JDV objects of said plurality of JDV objects, wherein synchronizing on said plurality of affected JDV objects comprises ([0065] This materialized view is an aggregation over raw data from the base table, where an aggregate typically takes a collection of records (also known as tuples) and produces a single new tuple. Often this new tuple reflects some summary information about the input tuples, such as the min, max, or average of a column of the input tuples. A common aggregation in time-series analysis takes a time-column value and aggregates all tuples corresponding to some time interval (such as a minute) together):
if said database transactions inserts a root row of a particular JDV object of said plurality of JDV objects or updates a filtering column of said root row, determining one or more database transactions making a change to one or more base rows of said particular JDV object ([0067] When some type of change is performed on a base table, for example, base table RAW (such as an INSERT, UPDATE, or DELETE operation), the database system 110 reflects this change in the materialized view, for example, materialized view MINUTES. The database system tracks changes to the portion of the raw data in base table RAW that already have a materialization precomputed in MINUTES, so that the corresponding materialization table can be updated to reflect these changes [0076] a view, table, or chunk could refer to a number of storage representations, including those belonging to traditional databases (e.g., relational tables, virtual views, materialized views); a set of structured markup language (e.g., XML); a set of serialized structured data (e.g., JSON, Google Protocol Buffers, Apache Avro, Apache Parquet); flat files (e.g., with comma- or tab-separated values); tables or files stored in different storage layouts such as row-major form, column-major form (also known as columnar storage), or other layouts; storage using various types of in-database compression; and other storage representations [0087] when creating a chunk, the chunk creation module 450 may also create structures such as indexes for the chunk and update metadata to specify constraints, foreign key relationships, and any other policy configurations for the chunk);
locking said a set of database transactions, said set of database transactions including said database transaction ([0101] Once the materialization engine 180 decides which regions to materialize, it starts to execute the materialization. To do so, in some embodiments, the materialization engine 180 takes locks on the base table, materialization table, and/or metadata (or records similar information), so that other database processes know that a materialization is ongoing);
determining a first set of affected objects of said plurality of affected JDV objects by at least executing one or more affected-object queries in a current read mode ([0083] The query processor 130 comprises components including a connector 410, a query parser 415, a query planner 425, a query optimizer 430, an execution engine 435, and a query plan store 455. A query processor 130 receives a query in some query language, such as SQL, which specifies the tables or datasets on which the query will apply (i.e., read or write data). A query or database query may represent a request to read data (e.g., SELECT statements in SQL) or modify data (e.g., INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE statements in SQL) from the database);
determining a second set of affected objects of said plurality of affected JDV objects by at least executing said one or more affected-object queries in a flash back mode ([0102] For this optimization to be safe, the system needs to make sure that either the data changes made by the modifying process will be seen by the materialization process or that the modifying process creates an invalidation record. To achieve this, in some embodiments, the materialization engine 180 takes locks to change metadata about which region of data requires invalidation before it reads data from that region [0103] Once ready to execute (e.g., it holds any necessary locks on the base table), the materialization engine 180 reads the data from base table, perform any calculations needed to generate the materialization based on that data, and write the computed results out to the materialization table. Finally, the materialization engine 180 updates any metadata (e.g., the completion threshold) with information about the state of the materialized data. The materialization engine 180 may also need to delete or overwrite data from the materialization table if it is re-materializing a previously-materialized range)”.
Arye does not appear to explicitly disclose however, Shridhar discloses “locking the first set of affect objects and the second set of affected objects ([0016] Even though the batches are executed in parallel, the batches may not perform their functions at the same time if there is an update on the same database record. One of transactions T1 and T2 may be issued first (e.g., by a few milliseconds). Here, T1 may execute first, causing T2 to wait, putting T2 on hold. The first database transaction T1 may sequentially lock rows of a table comprising the data elements it is attempting to update (e.g., a first subset of the second data elements having the changed association in batch 121a). In some embodiments, the lock may cause other transactions, such as T2, to wait, for example. Next, the first database transaction T1 sequentially updates each row comprising the subset of the second data elements having the changed association with the new data values, for example. When T1 is finished updating the elements of the batch, it may unlock the rows of the table. The wait (or hold) command on T2 is removed, and T2 is executed. T2 sequentially locks rows comprising the second subset the second data elements having the changed association in the second batch and sequentially updates each row comprising the second subset of the second data elements having the changed association with the new data values. In some embodiments, additional transactions may be placed on hold if such transactions also are updating data in the same table as T1 and T2. Accordingly, additional database transactions may be sequentially executed as each of the other transactions unlocks the table after performing their updates)”.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Arye and Shridhar, the suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide techniques for preventing database deadlocks during synchronization, the techniques disclose when one transaction accesses a record in the database, the record is locked, other batches accessing the locked record may wait until the record is unlocked to complete their updates (Abstract, [0010]).
In claim 3, Arye teaches
The method of claim 1, wherein each JDV object of said plurality of JDV objects is contained in a JSON duality view of a plurality of JSON duality views ([0062] a chunk could refer to a number of storage representations, including a traditional relational database table, a virtual database view, a materialized database view, a set of structured markup language (e.g., XML), a set of serialized structured data (e.g., JSON, Google Protocol Buffers, Apache Avro, Apache Parquet), or flat files (e.g., with comma- or tab-separated values)).
Claims 12 and 14 are essentially same as claims 1 and 3 except that they recite claimed invention as one or more non-transitory storage media and are rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected baseclaim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior arts of record teaches "wherein said set of database transactions are each associated with a respective database transaction ID of a set of database transaction IDs; wherein said first set of affected objects and said second set of affected objects are each associated with a respective object ID of a set a plurality of objects IDs; wherein locking said set of database transactions includes locking said set of database transaction IDs in database transaction ID order; and wherein locking the first set of affected objects and the second set of affected objects includes locking said set of object IDs in object ID order" as recited in claim .
Its dependent claim 11 is also objected based on the same rationale as applied to the parent claim.
9. Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected baseclaim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior arts of record teaches "wherein said database transaction changes a set of base rows of said plurality of affected JDV objects, wherein each base row of said set of base rows has a primary key value of a plurality of primary key values; and wherein a particular affected-object query of said one or more affected-objects includes a path-based expression that references a primary key value of a base row of said set of base rows and a primary key field defined by a particular JSON duality view of said plurality of JSON duality views" as recited in claim 4.
10. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected baseclaim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior arts of record teaches "wherein each JDV object of said plurality of JDV objects is contained in a JSON duality view of a plurality of JSON duality views, wherein each JSON duality view of said plurality of JSON duality views defines at least one key JSON field; said database transaction storing a view-path list that includes a plurality of dependency mappings, each dependency mapping of said plurality of dependency mappings a base table to a particular JSON duality view of said plurality of JSON duality views and to an identifying path that references a key JSON field defined by said particular JSON duality view" as recited in claim 5.
Its dependent claims 6-8 are also objected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claim.
11. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected baseclaim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior arts of record teaches "wherein said first set of affected objects includes a first affected object that includes a child base row from a child table of said first affected object; wherein before said database transaction begins commit time and while said database transaction is in-flight, another in-flight database transaction has locked said child base row and made a change to said child row; and wherein said another in-flight database transaction, in response to requesting a lock on said first affected object, is blocked from committing said change to said child row" as recited in claim 9.
Its dependent claim 10 is also objected based on the same rationale as applied to the parent claim.
Claims 13, 15-21 and 22 are essentially same as claims 2, 4-10 and 11 except that they recite claimed invention as one or more non-transitory storage media.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on 892 form.
Examiner’s Note: Examiner has cited particular figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Contact Information
/HUAWEN A PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169