DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“measurement system... for determining”
“inertial measurement system... for measuring” in claim 1.
In the instant case, the terms are being interpreted as disclosed in the instant specification ¶0068 and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims refer to “The system of claim 14”, whereas claim 14 is a method claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aghili (US 2005/0230557).
Regarding claim 1:
Aghili teaches a system for emulation of a dynamic system in a selected gravity environment, the system comprising:
a robotic manipulator (manipulator 102, see Fig. 1) configured to track a reference trajectory (desired trajectory, see at least ¶0015-17);
a position and orientation measurement and control system (POMCS) payload attached to a tip of the robotic manipulator, the POMCS payload configured to output control forces and torques (spacecraft 103, See Fig. 1 ¶0018, 0020, ¶0046);
a measurement system on the robotic manipulator for determining forces and moments exchanged between the tip and the POMCS payload in response to the output control forces and torques (emulation system including force/moment sensor 106, see at least ¶0040),
an inertial measurement system on the robotic manipulator for measuring accelerations and velocities of the POMCS payload at the tip (6 axis accelerometer, see at least ¶0040);
a computer system (control system 108) configured to:
remove the inertial loads from the forces and moments using the accelerations and velocities to obtain corrected measurement data corresponding to the output control forces and torques (see at least ¶0069-0070);
simulate a response of the dynamic system to the forces and moments in the corrected measurement data using a dynamic system emulator (see at least ¶0041-0045, Fig. 2); and
generate a reference trajectory for the robotic manipulator to track based upon the simulated response (see at least ¶0043-0047); and
a robotic manipulator controller configured to generate arm and joint commands based upon the reference trajectory and communicate the arm and joint commands to the robotic manipulator (see at least ¶0047).
Aghili does not explicitly teach using both a force/moment sensor and an inertial measurement system in a single embodiment
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the gravity emulation testbed as taught by Aghili with an additional sensor system for determining forces/moments and/or accelerations and velocities in order to provide for more accuracy and/or redundancy in determining the required parameters.
Regarding claim 2:
Aghili further teaches wherein the robotic manipulator has enough degrees of freedom (DOFs) to move through cartesian space at the tip of the robotic manipulator (see at least ¶0039).
Regarding claim 3:
Aghili further teaches wherein the measurement system includes a force moment sensor (FMS) or a virtual force moment sensor for measuring FMS data (see at least ¶0040).
Regarding claim 4:
Aghili further teaches wherein the measured forces and moments include inertial loads corresponding to acceleration and velocity at the tip resulting from the POMCS payload at the tip (see at least ¶0046).
Regarding claim 6:
Aghili further teaches wherein the inertial measurement system includes any one or more of an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a camera, or a sensor for measuring IMU data (six-axis accelerometer, see at least ¶0040).
Regarding claim 7:
Aghili further teaches wherein the robotic manipulator is any one of a 6 DOF robotic manipulator, a 7 DOF robotic manipulator, a serial manipulator, a robotic arm, a parallel manipulator, and a Stewart platform (see at least ¶0039).
Regarding claim 8:
Aghili further teaches wherein the system emulates any one of a 0G environment, and a non-0G environment; wherein the non-0G environment is the Moon or Mars (see at least ¶0015).
Regarding claim 11:
Aghili further teaches wherein the position and orientation measurement and control system payload is a satellite attitude determination and control system (ADCS) payload (see at least 0037-0039, ¶0130).
Regarding claim 12:
Aghili further wherein the selected gravity environment is any one of 0G, perturbed microgravity, 1G, a form of gravity other than 0G, perturbed microgravity, or 1G (see at least ¶0015).
Regarding claim 13:
Aghili further wherein the dynamic system is a satellite or a spacecraft other than a satellite (see at least abstract, ¶0031-0034).
Regarding claims 14-15 and 18-20, Aghili teaches a system and method as in claims 1-13 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9-10, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aghili as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aghili (Impedance control of Manipulators Carrying a Heavy Payload), hereinafter Aghili2.
Regarding claims 5, 9-10, and 16-17:
Aghili teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Aghili is silent as to utilizing impedance control or fusion for calculating forces and moments.
Aghili2 teaches a system and method of controlling a manipulator carrying a load including the well-known technique of utilizing impedance control to determine forces and moments acting on the manipulator/load system (see at least abstract, column 1-2, p. 3410) and wherein fusing force and accelerometer sensors is a known alternative (see at least column 2, p. 3410)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the gravity emulating testbed as taught by Aghili with the well-known alternate techniques of control and parameter estimation as taught by Aghili2 in order to accurately determine required parameters for operating a manipulator in a desired way when carrying a significant load.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619