Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11, 13, 17, 19 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US2023/0315731 in view of Baris et al. US2010/0023501 in view of Andrade et al. US2012/0059839
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches: receiving, at a data storage system comprising a plurality of data stores, a query, wherein: (Xu see paragraph 0003 0006 0076 federated query directed at a plurality of data sources)
performing a dry run of the query on at least a subset of the plurality of data stores to evaluate, for each data store of at least the subset, whether the data store satisfies the one or more constraints (Xu see paragraphs 0078 0083 0091 performing pre-execution evaluation of candidate query plans using EXPLAIN PLAN to obtain execution statistics and predicted runtime before selecting an execution engine and choosing a candidate based on cost and given constraints. This pre-execution evaluation reads on dry run)
selecting, based on the dry run, an optimal data store from at least the subset of the plurality of data stores; (Xu see paragraph 0091 0116 ranking query plans and obtain a preferred federated query plan among the plurality of data sources)
Xu does not distinctly disclose: the query is associated with one or more constraints,
the one or more constraints comprise (i) a freshness constraint, (ii) a feasibility constraint, (iii) an execution time constraint, or (iv) any combination thereof, and
the query is in a first programming language;
identifying, from a set of intents, an intent of the query based on one or more key terms within the query;
whether the data store satisfies the one or more constraints based on the intent and data store metadata, wherein the data store metadata comprises data store information associated with each data store of at least the subset;
generating a query result for the query, wherein generating the query result comprises:
determining whether the query in the first programming language can be executed on the optimal data store,
in response to determining the query in the first programming language can be executed on the optimal data store, executing the query on the optimal data store to obtain the query result, and
in response to determining the query in the first programming language cannot be executed on the optimal data store: converting the query to a second query in a second programming language that can be executed on the optimal data store, and executing the second query on the optimal data to obtain the query result; and
providing the query result.
However, Baris teaches: the query is associated with one or more constraints,
the one or more constraints comprise (i) a freshness constraint, (ii) a feasibility constraint, (iii) an execution time constraint, or (iv) any combination thereof, and (Baris see paragraph 0004 0024 0030 determining that data store has the ability to provide data value in response to query where ability reads on feasibility)
identifying, from a set of intents, an intent of the query based on one or more key terms within the query; (Baris see paragraph 0024 query has data item of “price” and looking for data source with ability to provide value based on “price”)
whether the data store satisfies the one or more constraints based on the intent and data store metadata, wherein the data store metadata comprises data store information associated with each data store of at least the subset; (Baris see paragraph 0004 0024 0030 determining that data store has the ability to provide data value in response to query based on query data value such as “price” and source dimension matching query dimension where source dimension is metadata)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include determining ability of data store to respond to a query as taught by Baris for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Further, the combination of Xu and Andrade does not appear to distinctly disclose: the query is in a first programming language;
generating a query result for the query, wherein generating the query result comprises:
determining whether the query in the first programming language can be executed on the optimal data store,
in response to determining the query in the first programming language can be executed on the optimal data store, executing the query on the optimal data store to obtain the query result, and
in response to determining the query in the first programming language cannot be executed on the optimal data store: converting the query to a second query in a second programming language that can be executed on the optimal data store, and executing the second query on the optimal data to obtain the query result; and
providing the query result.
However, Andrade teaches: the query is in a first programming language; (Andrade see paragraph 0023 SQL)
generating a query result for the query, wherein generating the query result comprises: (Andrade see paragraph 0047 query is processed results are forwarded)
determining whether the query in the first programming language can be executed on the optimal data store, (Andrade see paragraph 0034 0047 query is processed and translated if needed sent to specific engine to get query results)
in response to determining the query in the first programming language can be executed on the optimal data store, executing the query on the optimal data store to obtain the query result, and (Andrade see paragraph 0023 0025 0034 0036 0047 query is processed sent to specific engine to get query results from database server such that query is SQL)
in response to determining the query in the first programming language cannot be executed on the optimal data store: converting the query to a second query in a second programming language that can be executed on the optimal data store, and executing the second query on the optimal data to obtain the query result; and (Andrade see paragraph 0005 0028 0047 0050 0051 query is processed and translated to a specific format if needed sent to specific engine to get query results from database server, as an example SQL transformed into CQL)
providing the query result. (Andrade see paragraph 0047 query is processed results are forwarded)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include converting programming language as taught by Andrade for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Regarding claim 2, Xu as modified further teaches: wherein the data store information is associated with (i) a data model of the data store, (ii) a schema of the data store, (iii) a set of features of the data store, or (iv) any combination thereof. (Baris see paragraph 0025 metadata related to source dimensions of data source include “price” “horsepower” and establishing relationships between dimensions which reads on set of features of data store)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include determining ability of data store to respond to a query as taught by Baris for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Regarding claim 3, Xu as modified further teaches: wherein the set of intents comprises (i) point query, (ii) filter query, (iii) join query, (iv) aggregate query, (v) subquery, or (vi) any combination thereof. (Xu see paragraph 0041 0065 query with clauses including join operators, module to push down predicate subqueries to filter out a subset of data)
Regarding claim 5, Xu as modified further teaches: performing the dry run comprises (Xu see paragraphs 0078 0083 0091 performing pre-execution evaluation of candidate query plans using EXPLAIN PLAN to obtain execution statistics and predicted runtime before selecting an execution engine and choosing a candidate based on cost and given constraints. This pre-execution evaluation reads on dry run)
the one or more constraints comprise the feasibility constraint; (Baris see paragraph 0004 0024 0030 determining that data store has the ability to provide data value in response to query where ability reads on feasibility)
for each data store of at least the subset, determining whether the query can be executed on the data store based on the intent and one or more features of the data store; and (Baris see paragraph 0004 0024 0030 determining that data store has the ability to provide data value in response to query based on query data value such as “price” and source dimension matching query dimension where source dimension is metadata and ability reads on constraint)
the one or more features are determined based on the data store metadata. (Baris see paragraph 0025 metadata related to source dimensions of data source include “price” “horsepower” and establishing relationships between dimensions which reads on set of features of data store)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include determining ability of data store to respond to a query as taught by Baris for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Regarding claims 11, 13, 17, 19, note the rejection of claim(s) 1-3, 5. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Claim(s) 4, 12, 18 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US2023/0315731 in view of Baris et al. US2010/0023501 in view of Andrade et al. US2012/0059839 in view of Ouyang et al. US2021/0303572
Regarding claim 4, Xu as modified does not teach: wherein the one or more constraints comprise the freshness constraint, and wherein performing the dry run comprises, for each data store of at least the subset:
computing a watermark indicating a freshness of data within the data store based on the data store metadata; and
determining whether the data store satisfies the freshness constraint based on a comparison of the watermark and an expected freshness indicated by the freshness constraint.
However, Ouyang teaches: wherein the one or more constraints comprise the freshness constraint, and wherein performing the dry run comprises, for each data store of at least the subset:
computing a watermark indicating a freshness of data within the data store based on the data store metadata; and
determining whether the data store satisfies the freshness constraint based on a comparison of the watermark and an expected freshness indicated by the freshness constraint. (Ouyang see paragraphs 0004 0006 0089 replication delay parameter from query indicating max acceptable delay responsive to query, a result lag is calculated on a per table basis using commit timestamp and the lag is compared against a threshold to determine whether to execute query plan)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include a replication delay parameter as taught by Ouyang for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Regarding claims 12 and 18, note the rejection of claim(s) 4. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Claim(s) 6, 14, 20 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US2023/0315731 in view of Baris et al. US2010/0023501 in view of Andrade et al. US2012/0059839 in view of Gharghabi et al. US2023/0410054
Regarding claim 6, Xu as modified further teaches: wherein performing the dry run comprises, for each data store of at least the subset:
determining a constraint satisfaction score for each constraint of the one or more constraints based on the intent and the data store metadata;
data store (Baris see paragraph 0004 0024 0030 determining that data store has the ability to provide data value in response to query with a score indicating data store ability)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include determining ability of data store to respond to a query as taught by Baris for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Xu does not teach: computing a weighted sum of the constraint satisfaction scores;
determining whether the weighted sum matches or exceeds a constraint satisfaction threshold;
in response to determining the weighted sum matches or exceeds the constraint satisfaction threshold, determining the data satisfies the one or more constraints; and
in response to determining the weighted sum does not match or exceed the constraint satisfaction threshold, determining the data does not satisfy the one or more constraints
However, Gharghabi teaches: computing a weighted sum of the constraint satisfaction scores;
determining whether the weighted sum matches or exceeds a constraint satisfaction threshold;
in response to determining the weighted sum matches or exceeds the constraint satisfaction threshold, determining the data satisfies the one or more constraints; and (Gharghabi see paragraph 0024 weighted factors are summed and if it exceeds a threshold then it is deemed to satisfy the query)
in response to determining the weighted sum does not match or exceed the constraint satisfaction threshold, determining the data does not satisfy the one or more constraints (Gharghabi see paragraph 0038 if sum of weighting factors is below threshold then it would not satisfy)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include determining a response to query based on a weighted sum as taught by Gharghabi for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Regarding claims 16 and 20, note the rejection of claim(s) 6. The instant claims recite substantially same limitations as the above-rejected claims and are therefore rejected under same prior-art teachings.
Claim(s) 7, 15 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US2023/0315731 in view of Baris et al. US2010/0023501 in view of Andrade et al. US2012/0059839 in view of Hadlock et al. US2013/0041914
Regarding claim 4, Xu as modified does not teach: wherein the one or more constraints are expressed in a constraint definition language (CDL), and wherein the expression of the one or more constraints in the CDL indicates a logical precedence of the one or more constraints
However, Hadlock teaches: wherein the one or more constraints are expressed in a constraint definition language (CDL), and wherein the expression of the one or more constraints in the CDL indicates a logical precedence of the one or more constraints. (Hadlock see paragraph 0057 0066 constraint definition language (CDL) to define constraints)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include CDL as taught by Hadlock for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Regarding claim 15, see rejection of claim 7
Claim(s) 8, 16 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US2023/0315731 in view of Baris et al. US2010/0023501 in view of Andrade et al. US2012/0059839 in view of Lee et al. US2014/0095472
Regarding claim 8, Xu as modified further teaches: optimal data store (Xu see paragraph 0091 0116 ranking query plans and obtain a preferred federated query plan among the plurality of data sources)
collecting execution metadata associated with the execution of the query or the execution of the second query, the execution metadata comprising at least one of (i) query response time, (ii) freshness level, (iii) feasibility status, (iv) user satisfaction, or (v) any combination thereof; (Baris see paragraph 0004 score regarding ability of data source being able to provide data to query where score on ability reads on metadata of feasibility)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include determining ability of data store to respond to a query as taught by Baris for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
However, Xu does not teach: receiving a subsequent query associated with at least one of the one or more constraints; and
selecting the data based on the execution metadata and historical query execution data.
Lee teaches: receiving a subsequent query associated with at least one of the one or more constraints; and (Lee see paragraph 0008 0108 0109 future query executions including costs for executing a second query)
selecting the data based on the execution metadata and historical query execution data. (Lee see paragraph 0008 0080 0108 0109 statistics and information gathered available for future query executions including costs for executing a second query)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include gathering information for future executions as taught by Lee for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Regarding claim 16, see rejection of claim 8
Claim(s) 9 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US2023/0315731 in view of Baris et al. US2010/0023501 in view of Andrade et al. US2012/0059839 in view of Trummer US2024/0281222
Regarding claim 9, Xu as modified further teaches: wherein the second programming language is a programming language that can be executed on the optimal data store. (Andrade see paragraph 0005 0028 0047 0050 0051 query is processed and translated to a specific format if needed sent to specific engine to get query results from database server, as an example SQL transformed into CQL)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include converting programming language as taught by Andrade for the predictable result of more efficiently providing requested data
Xu does not teach: providing, to a generative model, a prompt comprising the query and one or more instructions to translate the query from the first programming language to the second programming language; and
receiving, from the generative model, the second query corresponding to the second programming language, wherein the generative model generates the second query based on the prompt
Trummer teaches: providing, to a generative model, a prompt comprising the query and one or more instructions to translate the query from the first programming language to the second programming language; and
receiving, from the generative model, the second query corresponding to the second programming language, wherein the generative model generates the second query based on the prompt, (Trummer see paragraph 0010 0011 prompts to AI system as user provided instructions and system to translate SQL query into Python and C++)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include AI to convert code as taught by Trummer for the predictable result of more efficiently managing a database
Claim(s) 10 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US2023/0315731 in view of Baris et al. US2010/0023501 in view of Andrade et al. US2012/0059839 in view of Ryan Marcus, “Neo: A Learned Query Optimizer”, https://arxiv.org/pdf/1904.03711 4/7/2019
Regarding claim 10, Xu as modified further teaches: data store (Xu see paragraph 0091 0116 ranking query plans and obtain a preferred federated query plan among the plurality of data sources)
Xu does not teach: wherein selecting the optimal data comprises applying a machine learning decision model trained on historical query execution patterns
Marcus teaches: wherein selecting the optimal data comprises applying a machine learning decision model trained on historical query execution patterns. (Marcus see page 1, 3 using Neo relying on neural networks to generate execution plans by being trained by collecting execution plans and their measured performance and experience, collecting past execution plans as experience reads on ML model trained on historical execution behavior)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a federated query as taught by Xu to include machine learning collecting experiences as taught by Marcus for the predictable result of more efficiently retrieving data
Conclusion
/ALLEN S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153