CTNF 19/368,580 CTNF 90226 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris et al. (US 2021/0201769 A1, hereinafter “Morris”) in view of Ouderkirk et al. (US 2019/0295503 A1, hereinafter “Ouderkirk”) . As to claim 1 , Morris discloses a wearable device (Fig. 2) comprising: a display (Fig. 1 element 120) including a driving layer (Fig. 8A element 811) formed at a silicon substrate (809; Para. 0145), and an emission layer (807) on the driving layer (Para. 0146); and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Fig. 11 element 1142), wherein the display is configured to: receive, from the at least one processor, via the driving layer, information regarding an image (Para. 0161); using each of first bit sequences, control, in accordance with a pulse width modulation (PWM) scheme, each of first light emission elements in the emission layer to emit light for displaying of a first portion of the image (Fig. 12-13; Para. 0161-0170, each pixel unit includes bit cells for storing a control word for the unit pixel and a PWM generation circuit for generating PWM signals) identified in accordance with a gaze of a user wearing the wearable device; using each of second bit sequences, control, in accordance with the PWM scheme, each of second light emission elements in the emission layer to emit light for displaying of a second portion of the image around the first portion of the image (Fig. 13; Para. 0161-0170, the PWM signal for second portion of the image); and based on the emission of each of the first light emission elements and the emission of each of the second light emission elements, display the image (Fig. 4), Morris does not disclose each of first light emission elements in the emission layer to emit light for displaying of a first portion of the image identified in accordance with a gaze of a user wearing the wearable device; wherein a bit depth of each of the first bit sequences is greater than a bit depth of each of the second bit sequences. However, Ouderkirk (Fig. 1) teaches each of first light emission elements in the emission layer to emit light for displaying of a first portion of the image (112) identified in accordance with a gaze of a user wearing the wearable device (Para. 0033, 0044); wherein a bit depth of each of the first bit sequences is greater than a bit depth of each of the second bit sequences (Para. 0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ouderkirk to vary bit depths of the image data based on the gaze direction in the device disclosed by Morris. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption (Ouderkirk; Para. 0035). The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 18. As to claim 2 , Morris discloses the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display includes: a plurality of light emission elements including the first and second light emission elements (Fig. 11 element 1105; Para. 0159); and a plurality of memory cells (1102) respectively connected to the plurality of light emission elements (1105; Para. 0161), and wherein the display is configured to: store, in each of the plurality of memory cells, each of a plurality of bit sequences obtained from the information received from the at least one processor (Para. 0161); obtain each of the plurality of bit sequences from each of the plurality of memory cells (Para. 0169); obtain each of the first bit sequences by adding one or more bits to each of bit sequences of a first set obtained from a portion of the plurality of memory cells respectively connected to the first light emission elements (Fig. 12B; Para. 0168-0169, data bits for pixels connected to the same data line. The second pixel will have more bits added in sequence to the bits for the first pixel); using each of the first bit sequences, control each of the first light emission elements to emit light (Fig. 11-13A); and using each of the second bit sequences, control each of the second light emission elements to emit light (Fig. 11-13A). Morris does not expressly disclose obtain each of the second bit sequences by bypassing adding the one or more bits to each of bit sequences of a second set obtained from another portion of the plurality of memory cells respectively connected to the second light emission elements. However, Ouderkirk teaches obtain each of the second bit sequences by bypassing adding the one or more bits to each of bit sequences of a second set obtained from another portion of the plurality of memory cells respectively connected to the second light emission elements (Para. 0033, bit depts for peripheral region which is lower than the central region). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ouderkirk to vary bit depths of the image data based on the gaze direction in the device disclosed by Morris. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption (Ouderkirk; Para. 0035). As to claim 3 , Morris discloses the wearable device of claim 2, wherein the one or more bits in each of the first bit sequences are positioned behind the least significant bit (LSB) of each of the bit sequences of the first set (Fig. 13A; bits for second pixel will be after the LSB of the first pixel in the same data line). As to claim 4 , Morris discloses the wearable device of claim 2, wherein the one or more bits in each of the first bit sequences are positioned in front of the most significant bit (MSB) of each of the bit sequences of the first set (Fig. 13A; bits for first pixel are in front of the most significant bit of the second pixel in the same data line). As to claim 5 , Morris discloses the wearable device of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of light emission elements is respectively connected to each of the plurality of memory cells through circuitry configured for pulse width modulation (Fig. 12B), and wherein the display is configured to: by providing each of the first bit sequences to the circuitry connected to each of the first light emission elements, control each of the first light emission elements to emit light (Para. 0169); and by providing each of the second bit sequences to the circuitry connected to each of the second light emission elements, control each of the second light emission elements to emit light (Para. 0169, PWM signal is generated based on data stored in the bit cell for each pixel). As to claim 6 , Morris (Fig. 11) discloses the wearable device of claim 2, wherein the display further includes memory (1144) different from the plurality of memory cells (1102), wherein the one or more bits are obtained from the memory, and wherein a size of each of the first bit sequences is greater than a maximum storage size of each of the plurality of memory cells (Para. 0160, 0170; each memory cell is one bit while the first bit display sequences could be four bits for each pixel). As to claim 7 , Morris (Fig. 11) discloses the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display includes: a plurality of light emission elements including the first and second light emission elements (1105), a plurality of memory cells (1102) respectively connected to the plurality of light emission elements, and memory (1144) different from the plurality of memory cells (1105), wherein memory cells (1102) of a first set respectively connected to the first light emission elements (1105) from among the plurality of memory cells are used to obtain each of the first bit sequences in conjunction with the memory (1105; Para. 0160, 0170, display data from the display memory/buffer), wherein memory cells of a second set respectively connected to the second light emission elements from among the plurality of memory cells are used to obtain each of the second bit sequences (memory cells for second display region), and wherein the memory is used to obtain each of the first bit sequences from among the first bit sequences and the second bit sequences (Para. 0160- 0170, first bit sequences from the display data stored in the memory/buffer). As to claim 8 , Morris (Fig. 11) discloses the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display includes: a plurality of light emission elements including the first light emission elements and the second light emission elements (1105), a plurality of memory cells (1102) respectively connected to the plurality of light emission elements (1105), and memory (1144) different from the plurality of memory cells (1102), wherein the plurality of memory cells (1102) includes memory cells of a first set respectively connected to the first light emission elements (1105, first area), and memory cells of a second set respectively connected to the second light emission elements (second display area), and wherein the display is configured to: obtain the first bit sequences by adding one or more bits obtained from the memory to each of bit sequences of a first set respectively obtained from the memory cells of the first set, and control each of the first light emission elements to emit light using each of the first bit sequences (Fig. 12B; Para. 0168-0169, data bits for pixels connected to the same data line. The second pixel will have more bits added in sequence to the bits for the first pixel); and obtain, as the second bit sequences, bit sequences of a second set respectively obtained from the memory cells of the second set, and control each of the second light emission elements to emit light using each of the second bit sequences (Fig. 12B; Para. 0168-0169, second data set for second data line) As to claim 9 , Morris (Fig. 11) discloses the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display includes: a plurality of light emission elements (1105) including the first light emission elements and the second light emission elements (first display area and second display area), a plurality of memory cells (1102) respectively connected to the plurality of light emission elements (1105), and memory (1144) different from the plurality of memory cells (1102), and wherein the display is configured to: obtain a plurality of bit sequences from the information received from the at least one processor (1142; Para. 0169); by adding one or more bits to each of bit sequences of a first set to be stored in a portion of the plurality of memory cells respectively connected to the first light emission elements from among the plurality of bit sequences, obtain each of first bit sequences (Fig. 12B; Para. 0168-0169, data bits for pixels connected to the same data line. The second pixel will have more bits added in sequence to the bits for the first pixel); obtain, as the second bit sequences, bit sequences of a second set to be stored in another portion of the plurality of memory cells respectively connected to the second light emission elements from among the plurality of bit sequences (Fig. 12B; Para. 0168-0169, second data set for second data line); store, in the memory, the one or more bits which are a portion of each of the first bit sequences (Para. 0169, memory/buffer stores the data signals); store, in each of memory cells of a first set which is the portion of the plurality of memory cells, each of the bit sequences of the first set which is a remaining portion of each of the first bit sequences (Fig. 13A, storing data for each pixels in the first data line); store, in each of memory cells of a second set which is the another portion of the plurality of memory cells, each of the second bit sequences (Fig. 13A, storing data in a pixel of second data line); control each of the first light emission elements, to emit light using each of the first bit sequences obtained by adding the one or more bits obtained from the memory to each of the bit sequences of the first set obtained from each of the memory cells of the first set (Fig. 12B; Para. 0168-0169, data bits for pixels connected to the same data line. The second pixel will have more bits added in sequence to the bits for the first pixel); and control each of the second light emission elements, to emit light using each of the second bit sequences obtained from each of the memory cells of the second set (Para. 0169). As to claim 10 , Morris (Fig. 11) discloses the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display includes: a plurality of light emission elements (1105) including the first light emission elements and the second light emission elements (first display area and second display area), a plurality of memory cells (1102) respectively connected to the plurality of light emission elements (1105), and memory (1144) different from the plurality of memory cells (1102), and wherein the display is configured to: obtain, from the information received from the at least one processor, a plurality of bit sequences including the first bit sequences and the second bit sequences (Para. 0168-0169, display bit for first and second column of pixels); store, in the memory, a portion of each of the first bit sequences (Para. 0160); store, in each of memory cells of a first set which is the portion of the plurality of memory cells, each of the bit sequences of the first set which is a remaining portion of each of the first bit sequences (Fig. 13A, storing data for each pixels in the first data line); store, in each of memory cells of a second set which is the another portion of the plurality of memory cells, each of the second bit sequences (Fig. 13A, storing data in a pixel of second data line); control each of the first light emission elements, to emit light using each of the first bit sequences obtained by adding the one or more bits obtained from the memory to each of the bit sequences of the first set obtained from each of the memory cells of the first set (Fig. 12B; Para. 0168-0169, data bits for pixels connected to the same data line. The second pixel will have more bits added in sequence to the bits for the first pixel); and control each of the second light emission elements, to emit light using each of the second bit sequences obtained from each of the memory cells of the second set (Para. 0169). As to claim 11 , Morris (Fig. 11) discloses the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display includes: a plurality of light emission elements (1105) including the first light emission elements and the second light emission elements (first display area and second display area), a plurality of memory cells (1102) respectively connected to the plurality of light emission elements (1105), and memory (1144) different from the plurality of memory cells (1102), and wherein the display is configured to: obtain, from the information received from the at least one processor, a plurality of bit sequences (Para. 0161, 0166); in memory cells of a first set which are a portion of the plurality of memory cells respectively connected to the first light emission elements, respectively store, as the first bit sequences, the bit sequences of the first set (Para. 0166, pixels connected to the first data line); in memory cells of a second set which are another portion of the plurality of memory cells respectively connected to the second light emission elements, respectively store the second bit sequences obtained by removing one or more bits from each of the bit sequences of the second set (pixels connected to the second data line); control each of the first light emission elements, to emit light using each of the first bit sequences obtained from each of the memory cells of the first set (Para. 0159); and control each of the second light emission elements, to emit light using each of the second bit sequences obtained from each of the memory cells of the second set (Para. 0159). Morris does not disclose identify bit sequences of a first set and bit sequences of a second set from among the plurality of bit sequences. However, Ouderkirk (Fig. 1) teaches identify bit sequences of a first set (112) and bit sequences of a second set (110) from among the plurality of bit sequences (Para. 0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Ouderkirk to vary bit depths of the image data based on the gaze direction in the device disclosed by Morris. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption (Ouderkirk; Para. 0035). As to claim 12 , Morris in view of Ouderkirk disclose the wearable device of claim 1, teaches further comprising: at least one camera facing an eye of a user (Morris; Para. 0096), and wherein the first portion is identified based on a position of a gaze of the user identified from images obtained through the at least one camera (Ouderkirk; Fig. 1, Para. 0034, 0046). The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 19. As to claim 14 , Morris discloses the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display is further configured to identify the first portion from the information (Fig. 25; Para. 0218, pixel data). As to claim 15 , Morris in view of Ouderkirk disclose the wearable device of claim 14. Ouderkirk further teaches wherein the information includes data for identifying the first portion outside an area for the image displayed on the display (Fig. 1 element 110; Para. 0038, display data for the region 110). As to claim 17 , Morris in view of Ouderkirk disclose the wearable device of claim 1. Ouderkirk further teaches wherein the first portion is a portion of an image configured to be recognized by a foveal vision of the user (Fig. 1 element 112), and wherein the second portion is a portion of an image configured to be recognized by a peripheral vision of the user (106; Para. 0044)1017 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris and Ouderkirk as applied to claim s 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2015/0181208 A1, hereinafter “Park”) . As to claim 13 , Morris discloses the wearable device of claim 1, further comprising: a rechargeable battery (Para. 0242). Morris does not disclose wherein the display is configured to: based on a remaining capacity of the battery being less than a reference capacity, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the second bit sequences; and based on the remaining capacity being greater than or equal to the reference capacity, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements in accordance with the PWM scheme to emit light using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of third bit sequences, wherein the third bit sequences have a bit depth equal to the bit depth of each of the first bit sequences. However, Park teaches wherein the display is configured to: based on a remaining capacity of the battery being less than a reference capacity, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the second bit sequences (Para. 0046); and based on the remaining capacity being greater than or equal to the reference capacity, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements in accordance with the PWM scheme to emit light using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of third bit sequences, wherein the third bit sequences have a bit depth equal to the bit depth of each of the first bit sequences (para. 0045, 0069). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Park to operate in low-power mode in the device disclosed by Morris/Ouderkirk. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption (Park; Para. 0038). The above rejection also stands for the similar method of claim 20 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris and Ouderkirk as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2008/0204438 A1, hereinafter “Song”) . As to claim 16 , Morris in view of Ouderkirk does not disclose the wearable device of claim 1, wherein the display is configured to: based on a brightness level of a portion of an environment around the wearable device provided together with the image being lower than a reference brightness level, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the second bit sequences; based on the brightness level being greater than the reference brightness level, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of third bit sequences having a bit depth equal to the bit depth of each of the first bit sequences. However, Song teaches wherein the display is configured to: based on a brightness level of a portion of an environment around the wearable device provided together with the image being lower than a reference brightness level, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the second bit sequences (Para. 0049, 0051); based on the brightness level being greater than the reference brightness level, display the image, by controlling each of the first light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of the first bit sequences and controlling each of the second light emission elements to emit light in accordance with the PWM scheme using each of third bit sequences having a bit depth equal to the bit depth of each of the first bit sequences (Para. 0048-0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Song to adjust the emission signal based on ambient light in the device disclosed by Morris/Ouderkirk. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure. Choi et al. (US 11,209,656 B1) discloses changing luminance levels based on gaze direction (Fig. 12A). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BIPIN GYAWALI whose telephone number is (571)272-1597. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00-5:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Will Boddie can be reached at 571-272-0666. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. BIPIN GYAWALI Primary Examiner Art Unit 2625 /BIPIN GYAWALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 2 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 3 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 4 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 5 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 6 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 7 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 8 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 9 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 10 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 11 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 12 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 13 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 14 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 15 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/368,580 Page 16 Art Unit: 2625