DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to Applicant’s patent application filed on 10/24/2025. An action on the merits follows.
Claims 1-5 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
transport unit configured to transport a cardboard box in claims 1-5
a first mechanism configured to drive the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion and make the pair of the flaps stand upright from below respectively in conjunction with an operation of the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion in claims 1-5
a second mechanism configured to fold the pair of the flaps standing upright toward an inside of the opening by moving the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion along the transport direction in claims 1 -5.
a lifting mechanism configured to raise and lower the cardboard box in a vertical direction of claim 2.
transport unit = a conveyor 371, a lifting mechanism 372, and a position adjustment mechanism 373 (¶0042)
a first mechanism 383 = first drive mechanism 387 having a first drive unit 389 and second drive unit 390 (¶0052 of PGPub) and second drive mechanism 388 having a second drive unit 391 and second drive unit 392 (¶0054)
first drive unit 389 of first drive mechanism 387 = air cylinder (¶0053)
second drive unit 390 of first drive mechanism 387 = air cylinder (¶0053)
first drive unit 391 of second drive mechanism 388 = air cylinder (¶0055)
second drive unit 392 of second drive mechanism 388 = air cylinder (¶0055)
a second mechanism 384 = first drive mechanism 393 and second drive mechanism 394
first drive mechanism 393 = ball screw and motor (¶0056)
second drive mechanism 394 = ball screw and motor (¶0056)
a lifting mechanism = a ball screw and a motor (¶0044)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USP# 5,839,254 of Chen (henceforth Chen) in view of USPGP# 20240092048 of Yamamuro et al. (henceforth Yamamuro).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches
A folding apparatus (device in fig. 1 except for 14, 15) comprising:
a transport unit (12) configured to transport a cardboard box (10) in a transport direction (bottom to top in fig. 1) that is substantially horizontal (see fig. 1); and
a folding unit (2, 4, 5, 6) disposed above the transport unit, the folding unit being configured to fold, among a plurality of flaps (103, 104, 105) provided at an edge of an opening of the cardboard box (see fig. 3), a pair of the flaps (103, 104) into an inside of the opening of the cardboard box, the pair of the flaps extending in a direction intersecting the transport direction in a horizontal direction (see fig. 3),
wherein the transport unit stops transport of the cardboard box when the cardboard box is positioned below the folding unit (during clamping and lifting as described in c. 4, l. 32-36), and
the folding unit includes
a first abutting portion (41) configured to abut against one of the pair of the flaps, and
a second abutting portion (64) configured to abut against an other of the pair of the flaps,
a first mechanism (42, 65) configured to drive the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion and make the pair of the flaps stand upright from below respectively in conjunction with an operation (folding operation) of the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion, and
a second mechanism (130, 63) configured to fold the pair of the flaps standing upright toward an inside of the opening by moving the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion along the transport direction.
Please note that second mechanism is interpreted under 112f or 6th para and includes the corresponding structure of ball screw and motor (see Claim Interpretation section above). Chen uses an air cylinder (63) to drive the first abutting portion and second abutting portion through the second motion. The air cylinder can be considered equivalent structure to ball screw and motor because it performs equally well the function of folding the pair of the flaps. However, should the applicant contend that Chen is silent on the second mechanism comprising a ball screw and motor.
Yamamuro teaches
a folding apparatus (fig. 1a) comprising a movement mechanism comprising a ball screw (81a) and motor (81) for moving an abutting portion (57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the air cylinder of Chen with a ball screw and motor as taught by Yamamuro in order to provide the predictable result of precise control over the movement of the abutting portion (Yamamuro: ¶0096, see also para 0094-0095).
Regarding claim 2, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Chen and Yamamuro teaches
wherein the transport unit includes a lifting mechanism (Chen: 3) configured to raise and lower the cardboard box in a vertical direction (Chen: c. 4, l. 32-36), and the lifting mechanism brings the cardboard box closer to the folding unit by raising the cardboard box (Chen: c. 4, l. 32-36, figs. 1 and 6 ).
Chen uses an air cylinder (34) of the lifting mechanism to raise and lower the cardboard box (Chen: c. 3, l. 6-27). The air cylinder can be considered equivalent structure to ball screw and motor because it performs equally well the function of raising and lowering the cardboard box in a vertical direction. However, should the applicant contend that Chen is silent on the lifting mechanism comprising a ball screw and motor.
Yamamuro teaches
a folding apparatus (fig. 1a) comprising a movement mechanism comprising a ball screw (81a) and motor (81) for moving an abutting portion (57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the air cylinder of Chen with a ball screw and motor as taught by Yamamuro in order to provide the predictable result of precise control over the movement of the abutting portion (Yamamuro: ¶0096, see also para 0094-0095).
Regarding claim 3, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Chen and Yamamuro teaches
wherein the first abutting portion is disposed downstream of the second abutting portion in the transport direction of the transport unit (Chen: see fig. 1 and 7, 41 is downstream of 64), and the folding unit positions the first abutting portion above the second abutting portion when the transport unit transports the cardboard box after the pair of the flaps are folded (Chen: see fig, 11, 41 is above 64).
Regarding claim 4, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Chen and Yamamuro teaches
wherein in each of the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion, a convex portion (Chen: see annotated fig. 7) protruding downward is provided on a tip end side (Chen: see annotated fig. 7) of an abutting section (Chen: see annotated fig. 7) that abuts against a corresponding one of the flaps (Chen: 103 or 104) upon folding the corresponding flap during movement of the first abutting portion and the second abutting portion by the second mechanism (Chen: see annotated fig. 7 and c. 4, l. 7-16).
Regarding claim 5, as shown in claim 1, the combination of Chen and Yamamuro teaches
A box sealing apparatus (device in fig. 1) comprising: the folding apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above); and a sealing apparatus (14, 15) configured to seal the flaps of the cardboard box in which the pair of the flaps have been folded by the folding apparatus (c. 4, l. 17-24).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/M. A./
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731