DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 comprises limitation “in each unit frame period, a non-light-emitting state is set in at least one of an initial sub-frame period and a last sub-frame period”; Examiner interprets the claims limitation as conjunctive requiring both of the elements i.e. a non-light-emitting state in an initial sub-frame period and also in a last sub-frame period. If applicant doesn’t agree and wants the claim limitation to be interpreted as disjunctive, please amend to claims language to replace and with or.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a driver configured to drive the pixel array; and a controller configured to control the driver, wherein the controller is configured to control the driver such that each of a plurality of unit frame periods includes a plurality of sub-frame periods and a duty ratio in each sub-frame period is controlled” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Par 0034 describes “FIG. 1 is a view showing an example of the configuration of a display device 10 according to this embodiment. The display device 10 can include a pixel array 12, a vertical scanning circuit 13 and a signal output circuit 14 which serve as a driver 50 configured to drive the pixel array 12, and a controller 20 configured to drive the driver 50. It can be said that the vertical scanning circuit 13 and the signal output circuit 14 form the driver 50 configured to drive the pixel array 12”. Par 0042 describes “The controller 20 can include a timing generator (TG) 30 and a receiver 40. The receiver 40 can receive a luminance setting signal and supply it to the TG 30.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 12-13, 17-18, 22-24, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE et al (US Pub 2024/0038157).
With respect to claim 1, LEE discloses a display device comprising (fig. 1; display device 200): a pixel array (fig. 1; display panel 400; fig. 2; discloses display panel 400 includes plurality of pixels PX); a driver configured to drive the pixel array (fig. 1; driver 350; par 0050; discloses the driver 350 may provide voltages (e.g. the same or different voltages, such as positive and/or negative voltages) to gate lines and data lines of the display panel 400 in response to the control signals CS); and a controller configured to control the driver, (fig. 1; display controller 320; par 0045; discloses The display controller 320 may control up to the overall operation of the display driving circuit 300. The display controller 320 may include a data processor 330 and a timing controller 340. The data processor 330 may convert the image data IDT and transmit data DATA obtained by the converting, to the driver 350) wherein the controller is configured to control the driver such that each of a plurality of unit frame periods includes a plurality of sub-frame periods (par 0045; discloses The display controller 320 may control up to the overall operation of the display driving circuit 300; par 0035; discloses One frame may include a plurality of sub-frames, and the third synchronization signal may provide information about a start of each sub-frame and a point in time for controlling an emission time of pixels. Par 0054; discloses the timing controller 340 may control an emission time of pixels included in the display panel 400, based on the synchronization signal ss. In some example embodiments, the timing controller 340 may generate the control signal CS such that the driver 350 generates an emission control signal for controlling the emission time of pixels of the display panel 400;) and a duty ratio in each sub-frame period is controlled, (par 0074; discloses a luminance value of each of the pixels PX′ may vary according to a duty ratio of the emission control signal. As the duty ratio of the emission control signal (for example, a length of an on-period of the emission control signal relative to a period of the emission control signal) increases, an emission time of pixels PX′ may increase and the pixels PX′ may exhibit high luminance. As described above, the emission control driver 353 may adjust pulse width modulation (PWM) of the emission control signal under control by a timing controller (e.g., the timing controller 340 of FIG. 2), thereby controlling the luminance of the display panel 400a) and in each unit frame period, a non-light-emitting state is set in at least one of an initial sub-frame period and a last sub-frame period (par 0117; discloses an emission period of a pixel may be controlled based on the emission control signal En. When the emission control signal En is at an active level, a section with the active level may be an emission period Temit in which pixels emit light, and when the emission control signal En is at an inactive level, a section with inactive level may be a non-emission period TD in which emission of pixels is blocked; fig. 7; discloses each subframe includes a non-light emitting period TD).
With respect to claim 7, LEE discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, the non-light-emitting state is set in the initial sub-frame period, and in a sub-frame period including a light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, the sub-frame period starts with a non-light-emitting period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses in each unit frame, the subframe period starts with non-light emission period TD and in each of the subframe, the subframe starts with non-light emit period and is followed by the light emission period Temit).
With respect to claim 8, LEE discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in the sub-frame period including the light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, the light-emitting period is set after an end of the non-light-emitting period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses in each unit frame, the subframe period starts with non-light emission period TD is followed by the light emission period Temit).
With respect to claim 12, LEE discloses wherein a sub-frame period including a light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods includes a first non-light-emitting period and a second non-light-emitting period as non-light-emitting periods, (LEE; fig. 7; discloses each sub-frame includes a first non-light emitting period TD and a second non-light emitting period TD) and the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in the sub-frame period including the light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, the sub-frame period starts with the first non-light-emitting period, ends with the second non-light-emitting period, and includes the light-emitting period between the first non-light-emitting period and the second non-light-emitting period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses each subframe in unit frame 2 includes a light emitting period between the first non-light emitting period and second non-light emitting period).
With respect to claim 13, LEE wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, a non-light-emitting state is set in the initial sub-frame period and the last sub-frame period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses in the unit frame 2, the first subframe S2_1 and last subframe S2_4 both includes a non-light emitting period TD).
With respect to claim 17, LEE discloses wherein the driver is further configured to supply, to each of a plurality of pixels arranged in the pixel array, a luminance signal according to a luminance level (LEE; par 0067; discloses the data driver 352 may convert, in response to a data control signal CTRL2, data DATA corresponding to the image data IDT, into image signals, which are analog signals, and may provide the image signals to the data lines DL1 to DLn; see par 0074 as well).
With respect to claim 18, LEE discloses wherein the luminance signal is a signal having a potential according to the luminance level (LEE; par 0067; discloses the data driver 352 may convert, in response to a data control signal CTRL2, data DATA corresponding to the image data IDT, into image signals, which are analog signals, and may provide the image signals to the data lines DL1 to DLn; par 0066; discloses a grayscale voltage corresponding to the pixels PX is applied to the pixels PX connected to a selected scan line, through the data lines DL1 to DLm, a display operation may be performed.).
With respect to claim 22, LEE discloses wherein each unit frame period includes at least three sub-frame periods as the plurality of sub-frame periods (LEE; par 0110; discloses each frame may include four sub-frames).
With respect to claim 23, LEE discloses a display apparatus comprising: the display device according to claim 1; and a control circuit connected to the display device (LEE; fig. 1; device 10 with host 100 connected to display device 200).
With respect to claim 24, LEE discloses a conversion apparatus comprising: a system including a plurality of lenses; a sensor configured to receive light having passed through the system; and a display configured to display an image, wherein the display includes the display device according to claim 1 (LEE; par 0025; discloses the electronic device may include a camera).
With respect to claim 26, LEE discloses a moving body comprising: a main body; and a display provided in the main body, wherein the display includes the display device according to claim 1 (LEE; par 0025; discloses the electronic device may include robots, drones, vehicle devices etc).
With respect to claim 27, LEE discloses a wearable device comprising: a display apparatus configured to display an image, wherein the display apparatus includes the display device according to claim 1 (LEE; par 0025; discloses the electronic device may include wearable devices etc).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2024/0038157) in view of ISHII (US Pub 2021/0142742).
With respect to claim 2, LEE discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, the non-light-emitting state is set in the last sub-frame period (fig. 7; discloses in the unit frame 2, the non-emission period is included in the last sub-frame S2_4);
LEE doesn’t expressly disclose in a sub-frame period including a light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, the sub-frame period starts with the light-emitting period;
In the same field of endeavor, ISHII discloses display device and control method (see abstract); ISHII discloses in a sub-frame period including a light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, the sub-frame period starts with the light-emitting period (fig. 9; discloses in each sub-framre period, the sub-frame starts with light emission period; par 0103; discloses in pixel circuit 30, control signals WS, REF, and INI and extinction signal EN are all at the low level at time t01 before the start of the extinction period as illustrated in FIG. 3A. drive transistor 33 is in such a state that its drain is connected to power source Vcc via switch transistor 34 being in the ON state, its source is connected to the anode of light-emitting device 32, and its gate and source are connected to the electrodes of pixel capacitance 38. Since pixel capacitance 38 accumulates the charge corresponding to the signal voltage, drive transistor 33 supplies the gate-source current corresponding to the signal voltage to light-emitting device 32 and causes light-emitting device 32 to emit light);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE to incorporate the teachings of ISHII to start each subframe with light emission period while varying the total number of frame period irrespective of a frame period that is input in order to make flicker invisible on the display panel for displaying an image.
With respect to claim 3, LEE as modified by ISHII discloses wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in the sub-frame period including the light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, a non-light-emitting period is set after an end of the light-emitting period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses in each subframe period, the non-light emitting period TD is set after the light emitting period Temit).
With respect to claim 19, LEE as modified by ISHII don’t expressly disclose wherein the driver is further configured to supply the luminance signal to each of the plurality of pixels once in each unit frame period;
ISHII further discloses wherein the driver is further configured to supply the luminance signal to each of the plurality of pixels once in each unit frame period (par 0087; discloses Source driving circuit 16 is also referred to as a signal-line driving circuit. Source driving circuit 16 is connected to signal lines 42 and outputs video signals supplied in units of frames from control device 20 to signal lines 42 so as to supply these video signals to each pixel circuit 30. Through signal lines 42, source driving circuit 16 writes luminance information based on the video signals to each pixel circuit 30 in the form of a current value or a voltage value.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by ISHII to incorporate the teachings of ISHII to transmit luminance data in units of frames in order to efficiently transmit the image frame data to the plurality of pixels in the display panel such that image is accurately displayed.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2024/0038157) in view of ISHII (US Pub 2021/0142742) and LEE et al (US Pub 2022/0392401) referred to as LEE401.
With respect to claim 4, LEE as modified by ISHII discloses wherein the plurality of sub-frame periods include at least one first sub-frame period each including the light-emitting period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses each subframe includes light emitting period Temit);
LEE as modified by ISHII don’t expressly at least one second sub-frame period including the last sub-frame period without the light-emitting period, and the controller is further configured to control the driver such that each unit frame period includes the at least one second sub-frame period after the at least one first sub-frame period;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE401 discloses display device and control method (see abstract); LEE401 discloses at least one second sub-frame period including the last sub-frame period without the light-emitting period, (fig. 7; sub-frame SF2; par 0074; discloses The PWM controller 501 may control a pulse width of a first PWM signal based on a bit value of image data in a subframe and a signal width of a clock signal. For example, when the bit value of the image data is 1, the pulse output of the PWM signal may be turned on as much as the signal width of the clock signal, and when the bit value of the image data is 0, the pulse output of the PWM signal may be turned off as much as the signal width of the clock signal; see par 0090 as well) and the controller is further configured to control the driver such that each unit frame period includes the at least one second sub-frame period after the at least one first sub-frame period (fig. 7; discloses unit frame 1 comprises a subframe SF1 where light is emitted and subframe SF2 where light is not emitted);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by ISHII to incorporate the teachings of LEE401 to divide the frame into subframe having light emitting sub-frames and non-light emitting subframes in order to reduce the power consumption of the display device.
With respect to claim 9, LEE as modified by ISHII discloses wherein the plurality of sub-frame periods include at least one first sub-frame period each including the light-emitting period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses each subframe includes light emitting period Temit);
In the same field of endeavor, LEE401 discloses display device and control method (see abstract); LEE401 discloses at least one second sub-frame period including the initial sub-frame period without the light-emitting period, (fig. 7; sub-frame SF2; par 0074; discloses The PWM controller 501 may control a pulse width of a first PWM signal based on a bit value of image data in a subframe and a signal width of a clock signal. For example, when the bit value of the image data is 1, the pulse output of the PWM signal may be turned on as much as the signal width of the clock signal, and when the bit value of the image data is 0, the pulse output of the PWM signal may be turned off as much as the signal width of the clock signal; see par 0090 as well) and the controller is further configured to control the driver such that each unit frame period includes the at least one first sub-frame period after the at least one second sub-frame period (fig. 7; discloses unit frame 1 comprises a subframe SF1 where light is emitted and subframe SF2 where light is not emitted);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by ISHII to incorporate the teachings of LEE401 to divide the frame into subframe having light emitting sub-frames and non-light emitting subframes in order to reduce the power consumption of the display device.
With respect to claim 14, LEE as modified by ISHII discloses wherein the plurality of sub-frame periods include at least one first sub-frame period each including the light-emitting period (LEE; fig. 7; discloses in unit frame 2 plurality of subframes includes light emitting period Temit); and in a case where the at least one first sub-frame period includes a plurality of first sub-frame periods, the controller is configured to control the driver such that each unit frame period continuously includes the plurality of first sub-frame periods (LEE; fig. 7; discloses in unit frame 2 the plurality of subframe are continuously includes the light emitting period).
LEE as modified by ISHII don’t expressly disclose at least one second sub-frame period without the light-emitting period;
In the same field of endeavor, LEE401 discloses display device and control method (see abstract); LEE401 discloses at least one second sub-frame period without the light-emitting period, (fig. 7; sub-frame SF2; par 0074; discloses The PWM controller 501 may control a pulse width of a first PWM signal based on a bit value of image data in a subframe and a signal width of a clock signal. For example, when the bit value of the image data is 1, the pulse output of the PWM signal may be turned on as much as the signal width of the clock signal, and when the bit value of the image data is 0, the pulse output of the PWM signal may be turned off as much as the signal width of the clock signal; see par 0090 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by ISHII to incorporate the teachings of LEE401 to divide the frame into subframe having light emitting sub-frames and non-light emitting subframes in order to reduce the power consumption of the display device.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2024/0038157) in view of ISHII (US Pub 2021/0142742) and GREMEL-LANGAUER et al (US Pub 2021/0056896).
With respect to claim 20, LEE as modified by ISHII don’t expressly disclose further comprising a measurement device configured to measure a luminance on a periphery of the display device, wherein in each unit frame period, the controller is configured to decide a duty ratio in a sub-frame period including a light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods in accordance with luminance information acquired by the measurement device;
In the same field of endeavor, GREMEL-LANGAUER a driving method for a display (see abstract); GREMEL-LANGAUER discloses comprising a measurement device configured to measure a luminance on a periphery of the display device, (fig. 5; light sensor arrangement 12) wherein in each unit frame period, the controller is configured to decide a duty ratio in a sub-frame period including a light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods in accordance with luminance information acquired by the measurement device (par 0008; discloses a method for sensing light employs an electronic device. The electronic device comprises a display and a light sensor arrangement mounted behind the display. Light being incident on the display may traverse through the display and can be received and eventually detected by means of the light sensor arrangement. Par 0033; discloses two consecutive sub-frames are used as first and second sub-frames to determine the ambient light level, respectively. Alternatively, a number of first sub-frames and a number of second sub-frames are combined to determine the ambient light level. Par 0060; discloses the display brightness can be modulated using the amplitude parameter AP and/or duty cycle parameter DP; see par 0033 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by ISHII to incorporate the teachings of GREMEL-LANGAUER to adjust the brightness of the display by using detecting the ambient light using the light sensor such that brightness of the display is accurately adjusted using the information form the light sensor.
With respect to claim 21, LEE as modified by ISHII don’t expressly disclose wherein in a case where the luminance information changes in each unit frame period, with respect to the sub-frame period including the light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, the controller is configured to change the duty ratio in the sub-frame period;
In the same field of endeavor, GREMEL-LANGAUER a driving method for a display (see abstract); GREMEL-LANGAUER discloses wherein in a case where the luminance information changes in each unit frame period, with respect to the sub-frame period including the light-emitting period among the plurality of sub-frame periods, the controller is configured to change the duty ratio in the sub-frame period;( par 0008; discloses a method for sensing light employs an electronic device. The electronic device comprises a display and a light sensor arrangement mounted behind the display. Light being incident on the display may traverse through the display and can be received and eventually detected by means of the light sensor arrangement. Par 0033; discloses two consecutive sub-frames are used as first and second sub-frames to determine the ambient light level, respectively. Alternatively, a number of first sub-frames and a number of second sub-frames are combined to determine the ambient light level. Par 0050; discloses The first sub-frame SFR1 has a duty cycle of 90%. The duty cycle of a second sub-frame SFR2 is then changed to 100% and returns to 90% with third and fourth sub-frames SFR3, SFR4, for example. The change in duty cycle alters the display brightness and, thus, can be detected by means of a light sensor; Par 0060; discloses the display brightness can be modulated using the amplitude parameter AP and/or duty cycle parameter DP; see par 0033 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as modified by ISHII to incorporate the teachings of GREMEL-LANGAUER to adjust the brightness of the display by using detecting the ambient light using the light sensor such that brightness of the display is accurately adjusted using the information form the light sensor.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al (US Pub 2024/0038157) in view of Prieto et al (US Pub 2011/0032430).
With respect to claim 25, LEE discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing provided with a display, wherein the display includes the display device according to claim 1 (LEE; par 0025; discloses the electronic device may include smartphone, tablets, televisions etc);
LEE don’t expressly disclose a communication device provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication;
In the same field of endeavor, Prieto discloses an electronic apparatus with display; Prieto discloses a communication device provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication (fig. 1; communications 111; par 0013; discloses the communications module 111 is configured for wired and/or wireless communications with external devices, such as cell phones or computers or the like);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE to incorporate the teachings of Prieto to include a communications unit in the apparatus in order to allow the apparatus to communicate with external devices wirelessly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 10-11, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 5, LEE alone or in view of other prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, a length from an end of the light-emitting period in the last first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period to an end of the unit frame period is longer than a length of a non-light-emitting period in each of the at least one first sub-frame period and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as the final result would have been unpredictable. Hence claim 5 comprises allowable subject matter.
With respect to claim 6, LEE alone or in view of other prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, a length from an end of the light-emitting period in the last first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period to an end of the unit frame period is not less than 3 msec and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as the final result would have been unpredictable. Hence claim 6 comprises allowable subject matter.
With respect to claim 10, LEE alone or in view of other prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, a length from a start of the unit frame period to a start of the light-emitting period in the initial first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period is longer than a length of the non-light-emitting period in each of the at least one first sub-frame period and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as the final result would have been unpredictable. Hence claim 10 comprises allowable subject matter.
With respect to claim 11, LEE alone or in view of other prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, a length from a start of the unit frame period to a start of the light-emitting period in the initial first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period is not less than 3 msec and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as the final result would have been unpredictable. Hence claim 11 comprises allowable subject matter.
With respect to claim 15, LEE alone or in view of other prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, a length from an end of the light-emitting period in the last first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period of an immediately preceding unit frame period of the unit frame period to a start of the light-emitting period in the initial first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period of the unit frame period is longer than a length of the non-light-emitting period in each of the at least one first sub-frame period and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as the final result would have been unpredictable. Hence claim 15 comprises allowable subject matter.
With respect to claim 16, LEE alone or in view of other prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the controller is further configured to control the driver such that in each unit frame period, a length from an end of the light-emitting period in the last first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period of an immediately preceding unit frame period of the unit frame period to a start of the light-emitting period of the initial first sub-frame period among the at least one first sub-frame period of the unit frame period is not less than 3 msec and it would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by LEE as the final result would have been unpredictable. Hence claim 16 comprises allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/SUJIT SHAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2624