DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, filed on June 09, 2026, in which claims 21-41 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24-26, 28-31, 33-34, and 36-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer et al. (US 2023/0008570) in view Kang et al. (U.S. 2020/0053518).
Regarding claim 21, Beyer teaches computer implemented method, comprising: providing an emergency response application to at least one of a plurality of public safety answering points (PSAPs), wherein the emergency response application includes a graphical user interface (GUI) operable by a PSAP system (i.e., a dispatcher user interface suitable for display on a dispatcher display screen at a public-safety answering point is provided to facilitate tracking volunteer responder network AEDs that have accepted an incident. In some embodiments, the dispatcher user interface includes a GUI widget that a dispatcher can utilize to activate a responder network that includes one or more automated external defibrillators (AEDs). The user interface is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]); displaying, in the GUI, an interactive map including a jurisdictional view of the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., The user interface of the PSAP) is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]); receiving a location of a mobile device responsive to an emergency call made by the mobile device (i.e., the incident location will be displayed on the map. In some implementations, the location from which the received emergency call is being made will be automatically marked on the map based on the default presumption being that the location from which the call originated is fairly representative of, or reasonably close to, the location of the incident being called about [0055], [0060]); determining that the location of the mobile device is within a jurisdiction of the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., When the PSAP dispatcher/operator answers the phone, the operator typically assesses the type of emergency that the caller is calling about, as well as the nature of the incident (as represented by block 253) in order to determine what, (if any) emergency services resources should be deployed to the incident. The assessment typically includes determining or verifying the location of the incident [0055]); displaying, on the interactive map, a location indicator corresponding to the location of the mobile device (i.e., the incident (mobile device) location will be displayed on the map [0060], [0066]).
Beyer teaches emergency type may indicate the nature of the emergency incident (e.g., that the incident is a potential sudden cardiac arrest)…responder networks that extend beyond responding to just sudden cardiac arrest, as for example to include responses to other incidents such as poisonous bites, opioid overdoses, allergic reactions (anaphylaxis), bleeding incidents, etc ([0073], [0082], [0101]). But Bryer does not specifically teach applying different colors to the location indicator to denote a status of the emergency call.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kang teaches the emergency notification content may be distinctively displayed in various colors depending on the type or priority of emergency. For example, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in red and, in lower priority, in black. Or, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in color and, in lower priority, in black-and-white. Or, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in highlight (e.g., in brighter pixels or flickering) and, in lower priority, with no highlight. Or, when the type of emergency is a tsunami, the emergency notification content may be displayed in blue and, when a heat wave, in red, and when an earthquake, in yellow ([0188]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the color-coded emergency taught by Kang within the system Beyer in order to know the threat level without reading the text. Red means danger now. Black means a lower threat. Blue for a tsunami or red for a heat wave tells you the specific danger.
Regarding claim 22, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches wherein the location is generated by the mobile device (i.e., The pinged AEDs each respond by sending a Status message 715 that indicates the current location and current operational status and current location of the AED [0094]; the location of the AED can be dynamically updated on the dispatchers map 406 during the incident if/as the AED is carried towards the incident [0102]).
Regarding claim 24, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches providing emergency data to the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs, wherein the emergency data includes the location (i.e., The user interface is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]).
Regarding claim 25, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above.. Beyer further teaches the emergency data includes at least one of medical data, personal data, demographic data, health data, sensor data, multimedia data, traffic data, or environmental sensor data (i.e., When the PSAP dispatcher/operator answers the phone, the operator typically assesses the type of emergency that the caller is calling about, as well as the nature of the incident (as represented by block 253) in order to determine what, (if any) emergency services resources should be deployed to the incident. The assessment typically includes determining or verifying the location of the incident [0055]-[0057], [0073]-[0074], [0082]).
Regarding claim 26, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches wherein determining that the location of the mobile device is within the jurisdiction comprises: comparing the location to a geofence associated with the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., The criteria that are used to determine which responding AEDs are appropriate for reporting may vary depending on the needs of any particular system. By way of example, in some implementations, any AED that is within a designated radius of the incident and is in good operating condition is reported to the PSAP. The designated radius may vary based upon a variety of factors including whether the incident is in an urban or rural area [0048], [0097]).
Regarding claim 28, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches wherein the location is received prior to establishment of a voice communication session between the mobile device and the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs ([0040], [0085], [0101], [0111]-[0112]).
Regarding claim 29, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches displaying, on the interactive map, one or more data overlays comprising at least one of: Internet of Things (IoT) sensors, first responder locations, traffic data, or environmental sensor data (i.e., the dispatcher user interface is further configured to display one or more volunteer responder icons on the map that each represent the location of a volunteer responder that has accepted the emergency incident. Preferably the volunteer responder icons have a different visual appearance than AED icons [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 30, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches updating the location indicator, on the interactive map, to reflect a response status that the emergency call is unattended by the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., As the AED network server receives current status messages from the pinged AEDs, it effectively develops an updated AED map with the current location and operational status of AEDs in the vicinity of the incident. It also determines which of the responding AEDs are suitable for reporting to the PSAP [0097]).
Regarding claim 31, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches providing a selectable link corresponding to the location indicator; and in response to selection of the selectable link, displaying additional emergency data associated with the mobile device comprising at least one of: a user name, a user address, or emergency contact information (i.e., FIG. 6D also shows that a volunteer responder (referred to as an App Responder) has also accepted the incident. The responder network status dialog box 460 has been updated to show that a volunteer responder has accepted the incident. An icon 470 is displayed on the map to show the current location of the volunteer responder… the information presented may include the responders name and/or information about the responders experience—e.g., Rob is trained in CPR; Mary is an off duty EMT, etc [0040], [0058], [0082]).
Regarding claim 33, Beyer teaches computer implemented method, comprising: providing an emergency response application to at least one of a plurality of public safety answering points (PSAPs), wherein the emergency response application includes a graphical user interface (GUI) operable by a PSAP system (i.e., a dispatcher user interface suitable for display on a dispatcher display screen at a public-safety answering point is provided to facilitate tracking volunteer responder network AEDs that have accepted an incident. In some embodiments, the dispatcher user interface includes a GUI widget that a dispatcher can utilize to activate a responder network that includes one or more automated external defibrillators (AEDs). The user interface is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]); displaying, in the GUI, an interactive map including a jurisdictional view of the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., The user interface of the PSAP) is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]); receiving a location of a mobile device responsive to an emergency call made by the mobile device (i.e., the incident location will be displayed on the map. In some implementations, the location from which the received emergency call is being made will be automatically marked on the map based on the default presumption being that the location from which the call originated is fairly representative of, or reasonably close to, the location of the incident being called about [0055], [0060]); determining that the location of the mobile device is within a jurisdiction of the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., When the PSAP dispatcher/operator answers the phone, the operator typically assesses the type of emergency that the caller is calling about, as well as the nature of the incident (as represented by block 253) in order to determine what, (if any) emergency services resources should be deployed to the incident. The assessment typically includes determining or verifying the location of the incident [0055]); displaying, on the interactive map, a location indicator corresponding to the location of the mobile device (i.e., the incident (mobile device) location will be displayed on the map [0060], [0066]).
Beyer teaches emergency type may indicate the nature of the emergency incident (e.g., that the incident is a potential sudden cardiac arrest)…responder networks that extend beyond responding to just sudden cardiac arrest, as for example to include responses to other incidents such as poisonous bites, opioid overdoses, allergic reactions (anaphylaxis), bleeding incidents, etc ([0073], [0082], [0101]). But Bryer does not specifically teach applying a first color to the location indicator to denote a first status of the emergency call; and applying a second color to the location indicator to denote a second status of the emergency call.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kang teaches the emergency notification content may be distinctively displayed in various colors depending on the type or priority of emergency. For example, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in red and, in lower priority, in black. Or, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in color and, in lower priority, in black-and-white. Or, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in highlight (e.g., in brighter pixels or flickering) and, in lower priority, with no highlight. Or, when the type of emergency is a tsunami, the emergency notification content may be displayed in blue and, when a heat wave, in red, and when an earthquake, in yellow ([0188]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the color-coded emergency taught by Kang within the system of Beyer in order to know the threat level without reading the text. Red means danger now. Black means a lower threat. Blue for a tsunami or red for a heat wave tells you the specific danger.
Regarding claim 34, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches wherein the location is generated by the mobile device (i.e., The pinged AEDs each respond by sending a Status message 715 that indicates the current location and current operational status and current location of the AED [0094]; the location of the AED can be dynamically updated on the dispatchers map 406 during the incident if/as the AED is carried towards the incident [0102]).
Regarding claim 36, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches providing emergency data to the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs, wherein the emergency data includes the location (i.e., The user interface is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]).
Regarding claim 37, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches the emergency data includes at least one of medical data, personal data, demographic data, health data, sensor data, multimedia data, traffic data, or environmental sensor data (i.e., When the PSAP dispatcher/operator answers the phone, the operator typically assesses the type of emergency that the caller is calling about, as well as the nature of the incident (as represented by block 253) in order to determine what, (if any) emergency services resources should be deployed to the incident. The assessment typically includes determining or verifying the location of the incident [0055]-[0057], [0073]-[0074], [0082]).
Regarding claim 38, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches wherein determining that the location of the mobile device is within the jurisdiction comprises: comparing the location to a geofence associated with the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., The criteria that are used to determine which responding AEDs are appropriate for reporting may vary depending on the needs of any particular system. By way of example, in some implementations, any AED that is within a designated radius of the incident and is in good operating condition is reported to the PSAP. The designated radius may vary based upon a variety of factors including whether the incident is in an urban or rural area [0048], [0097]).
Regarding claim 39, Beyer teaches computer implemented method, comprising: providing an emergency response application to at least one of a plurality of public safety answering points (PSAPs), wherein the emergency response application includes a graphical user interface (GUI) operable by a PSAP system (i.e., a dispatcher user interface suitable for display on a dispatcher display screen at a public-safety answering point is provided to facilitate tracking volunteer responder network AEDs that have accepted an incident. In some embodiments, the dispatcher user interface includes a GUI widget that a dispatcher can utilize to activate a responder network that includes one or more automated external defibrillators (AEDs). The user interface is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]); displaying, in the GUI, an interactive map including a jurisdictional view of the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., The user interface of the PSAP) is further configured to display a map of a region that includes a location of the emergency incident and to also display one or more accepting AED icons on the map that each show the location of an associated AED that has accepted the incident [0007]); receiving a location of a communication device responsive to an emergency session made by the communication device, wherein the emergency session includes at least one of an emergency phone call, an emergency text to 911, or an emergency alert generated by the communication device (i.e., emergency 911 call ([0053])…, the incident location will be displayed on the map. In some implementations, the location from which the received emergency call is being made will be automatically marked on the map based on the default presumption being that the location from which the call originated is fairly representative of, or reasonably close to, the location of the incident being called about [0055], [0060]); determining that the location of the mobile device is within a jurisdiction of the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., When the PSAP dispatcher/operator answers the phone, the operator typically assesses the type of emergency that the caller is calling about, as well as the nature of the incident (as represented by block 253) in order to determine what, (if any) emergency services resources should be deployed to the incident. The assessment typically includes determining or verifying the location of the incident [0055]); displaying, on the interactive map, a location indicator corresponding to the location of the mobile device (i.e., the incident (mobile device) location will be displayed on the map [0060], [0066]).
Beyer teaches emergency type may indicate the nature of the emergency incident (e.g., that the incident is a potential sudden cardiac arrest)…responder networks that extend beyond responding to just sudden cardiac arrest, as for example to include responses to other incidents such as poisonous bites, opioid overdoses, allergic reactions (anaphylaxis), bleeding incidents, etc ([0073], [0082], [0101]). But Bryer does not specifically teach applying different colors to the location indicator to denote a status of the emergency call.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Kang teaches the emergency notification content may be distinctively displayed in various colors depending on the type or priority of emergency. For example, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in red and, in lower priority, in black. Or, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in color and, in lower priority, in black-and-white. Or, when the emergency has a higher priority, the emergency notification content may be displayed in highlight (e.g., in brighter pixels or flickering) and, in lower priority, with no highlight. Or, when the type of emergency is a tsunami, the emergency notification content may be displayed in blue and, when a heat wave, in red, and when an earthquake, in yellow ([0188]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the color-coded emergency taught by Kang within the system Beyer in order to know the threat level without reading the text. Red means danger now. Black means a lower threat. Blue for a tsunami or red for a heat wave tells you the specific danger.
Regarding claim 40, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches wherein the communication device is at least one of a smart phone, smart watch, medical bracelet, wireless Internet of Things (IoT) device, or panic button (i.e., The emergency incident nearby alert may be sent to any devices associated with the volunteer responder(s) that have been designated to receive such messages. Often this will be a Smartphone or similar mobile communication device. However messages may be sent to any of a number of other types of devices in addition to, or in place of, a Smartphone, as for example, a tablet computer, a PDA, a smart watch, a smart speaker, a virtual assistant, a security system (e.g., a home, office, neighborhood or community security system), etc [0040], [0050], [0127]).
Regarding claim 41, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer further teaches updating the location indicator, on the interactive map, to reflect a response status that the emergency session is unattended by the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs (i.e., the AED represented by icon 441 is traveling towards the incident and its location on the map has been updated to show its current location/last reported location [0081]-[0082]).
Claims 23, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer et al. (US 2023/0008570) in view of Kang further in view of Hawley et al. (U.S. 2012/0307989).
Regarding claim 23, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer teaches dispatcher user interface (dashboard) includes GUI in a PSAP ([0060]). Breyer in view of Kang does not specifically teach displaying, in the GUI, a call queue with one or more device identifiers associated with caller devices, wherein the mobile device is one of the caller devices.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Hawley teaches multiple multimedia emergency calls may be handled at multimedia PSAP 124 at any given time. This may include multimedia emergency calls which have been answered by emergency services operators at multimedia PSAP 124, and also may include pending multimedia emergency calls waiting to be accepted and handled by multimedia emergency services operators at multimedia PSAP 124... In one embodiment, pending multimedia emergency calls may be maintained in a queue at multimedia PSAP 124, where the queue may be implemented at multimedia PSAP 124 in any suitable manner (e.g., at a server or any other type of device suitable for maintaining a queue of pending calls for multimedia PSAP 124). The pending multimedia emergency calls may be queued within the queue in any suitable manner (e.g., using a first-in-first-out scheme and/or using any other suitable type of queuing management scheme(s). UD 102 is a caller device or cellular phone ([0026], [0096]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Hawley within the system of Breyer in view of Kang in order to efficiently manage emergency calls in situations in which a relatively high volume of emergency calls is received (e.g., for large emergencies such as earthquakes, tornadoes, and the like).
Regarding claim 35, Beyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above. Beyer teaches dispatcher user interface (dashboard) includes GUI in a PSAP ([0060]). Breyer in view of Kang does not specifically teach displaying, in the GUI, a call queue with one or more device identifiers associated with caller devices, wherein the mobile device is one of the caller devices.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Hawley teaches multiple multimedia emergency calls may be handled at multimedia PSAP 124 at any given time. This may include multimedia emergency calls which have been answered by emergency services operators at multimedia PSAP 124, and also may include pending multimedia emergency calls waiting to be accepted and handled by multimedia emergency services operators at multimedia PSAP 124... In one embodiment, pending multimedia emergency calls may be maintained in a queue at multimedia PSAP 124, where the queue may be implemented at multimedia PSAP 124 in any suitable manner (e.g., at a server or any other type of device suitable for maintaining a queue of pending calls for multimedia PSAP 124). The pending multimedia emergency calls may be queued within the queue in any suitable manner (e.g., using a first-in-first-out scheme and/or using any other suitable type of queuing management scheme(s). UD 102 is a caller device or cellular phone ([0026], [0096]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Hawley within the system of Breyer in view of Kang in order to efficiently manage emergency calls in situations in which a relatively high volume of emergency calls is received (e.g., for large emergencies such as earthquakes, tornadoes, and the like).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer et al. (US 2023/0008570) in view Kang et al. (US 2020/0053518) further in view of Cho et al. (U.S. 2022/0157135).
Regarding claim 27, Breyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above except wherein the geofence comprises a complex polygon, and wherein determining that the location is within the jurisdiction further comprises: applying a buffer zone that expands one or more boundaries of the geofence when comparing the location to the geofence.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Cho teaches When operating in a system, the geofencing intruder detection system unit 100 may operate with other geofencing intruder detection system units 100. Multiple geofencing intruder detection system units 100 may form an electronic geofence to expand the sensing zone or to define the restricted area. In some embodiments, the geofencing intruder detection system unit 100 may transmit a sensed intruder event to other geofencing intruder detection system units 100 to cause alert warnings to be provided at one or more of the other geofencing intruder detection system units 100 to expand the warning zone ([0060]). The intruder detection system units (e.g., 902a, 902b, 902c, and 902d) may be used to, collectively, generate an electronic geofence that defines a virtual perimeter in a real-world physical geographic area. The geo-fence is indeed dynamically generated around a point location as individual intruder detection system unit are moved around in the area in which the multiple intruder detection system units communicates over the mesh network to define a boundary ([0081]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Cho within the system Beyer in view of Kang in order to increase the reach of an intruder detection system, enhance the monitoring of assets, and improve logistical efficiency.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beyer et al. (US 2023/0008570) in view of Kang et al. US 2020/0053518) further in view of Yoakum et al. (U.S. 2015/0038102).
Regarding claim 32, Breyer in view of Kang teaches all the limitations above except establishing a WebSocket connection with the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs; and streaming the location of the mobile device to the at least one of the plurality of PSAPs via the WebSocket connection, wherein the streaming occurs continuously during the emergency call.
However, the preceding limitations are known in the art of communications. Yoakum teaches provides, among other things, the ability to record content information that occurs between the time when a caller initiates a communication session, such as placing a call or initiating an emergency request to a contact center, and the time the communication session becomes established, such as when the requester is connected to the call-taker. In one embodiment, a device making an emergency request or call, may record locally (buffer) all audio and/or video (if the device has a camera) from the instant an emergency (911 or similar) call is dialed (or other form of emergency request such as a browser initiated WebRTC session is initiated). The device may then transmit both the live and buffered streams once a connection to a PSAP or other emergency resource is established ([0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Yoakum within the system of Breyer in view of Kang in order to use the buffering to capture and provide vital early insight before any emergency request is actually connected which may be helpful once the request is connected.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-41 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643