Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11, 13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morgan et al. (US 2023/0045973).
Regarding claim 1, Morgan discloses a gas turbine engine (Figure 2B) comprising:
a turbomachine (18A) comprising a low pressure (LP) spool (58) and a high pressure (HP) spool (54) that rotate about a central axis (the central axis runs left to right in figure 2B through the spools);
an electric motor (60) mechanically coupled to the LP spool (see Figure 2B) for selectively rotating the LP spool (Figure 5);
a starter assembly (72) mechanically coupled to the HP spool (via 76) for selectively rotating the HP spool (Figure 5); and
a system controller (Figure 2B, 64) in operative communication with the electric motor and the starter assembly (Figure 2B), the system controller being configured for performing an engine startup of the gas turbine engine (paragraph 4) by:
increasing a motor torque of the electric motor to apply torque to the LP spool (paragraph 71);
monitoring one or more engine operating parameters to determine whether the one or more engine operating parameters is within a limit (paragraph 71 describes monitoring the vibration of the engine and if the vibration is above an acceptable limit);
increasing the motor torque of the electric motor when the one or more engine operating parameters is within the limit (paragraph 71 describes when the vibration is unacceptable, i.e. above the limit, they accelerate the LP shaft with the motor 60).
Regarding claim 2, Morgan discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine that the LP spool has reached a target speed associated with a successful engine start (paragraph 67 describes determining when the LP shaft has reached a rotor speed minimum, i.e. a target speed associated with engine start).
Regarding claim 3, Morgan discloses wherein the controller is further configured to disconnect the electric motor upon a successful start (paragraph 67 describes shutting off the application of torque by the motor 60 once the LP rotor speed minimum has been reached).
Regarding claim 4, Morgan discloses wherein the controller is further configured to determine whether there has been a successful engine start (Figure 5, 84. Paragraph 56 describes determining whether the low pressure shaft is locked, i.e. if it is not locked a successful start to the engine start process has occurred); and
reinitiate the start of the gas turbine engine (Figure 5 show if the start to the engine start process has occurred, then the system moves on to initiating start of the HP spool).
Regarding claim 5, Morgan discloses wherein the controller is further configured to disconnect the electric motor upon a repeated startup failure (Figure 5 shows the controller aborts the starting procedure at 85 if the start up process fails at 84. Paragraph 56 describes the controller may abort the start until the rotor lock is resolved, i.e. multiple attempts).
Regarding claim 10, Morgan discloses wherein the starter assembly comprises:
a starter motor (Figure 3A, 72); and
an accessory gearbox (73) coupled to the HP spool, and wherein the starter motor is coupled to the HP spool through the accessory gearbox (paragraph 43).
Regarding claim 11, Morgan discloses wherein the starter assembly is electrically coupled to a direct current (DC) starter power supply (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 13, Morgan discloses wherein the electric motor is electrically decoupled or isolated from the starter assembly (Figure 2B shows the electric motor 60 is physically isolated from the starter assembly 72).
Regarding claim 15, Morgan discloses wherein the gas turbine engine is a first engine (Figure 1, 18A) and the electric motor is a first electric motor (Figure 2B, 60) of a propulsion system (Figure 1, 18A and 18B) for an aircraft (Figure 1, 10), wherein the propulsion system further comprises a second electric motor (paragraph 23) electrically coupled to a second engine (Figure 1, 18B) of the propulsion system, and wherein the first electric motor and the second electric motor are operable to start the first engine and the second engine simultaneously (Intended use. Paragraphs 23-24 describe the two engines operable together and figure 5 shows the startup process, which can occur simultaneously for both engines).
Regarding claim 16, Morgan discloses further comprising:
a propeller (Figure 2B, 28, paragraph 25 describes 28 as a propeller, see also figure 3B), wherein the electric motor is mechanically coupled to the propeller (Figure 3B) for selectively providing power for rotating the propeller (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 17, Morgan discloses wherein the gas turbine engine is a turboprop engine (paragraph 25).
Regarding claim 18, Morgan discloses a method of starting (Figure 5) a gas turbine engine (Figure 2B), the gas turbine engine comprising a low pressure (LP) spool (58) and a high pressure (HP) spool (54) that rotate about a central axis (the central axis runs left to right in figure 2B through the spools), an electric motor (60) mechanically coupled to the LP spool (see Figure 2B) for selectively rotating the LP spool (Figure 5), and a starter assembly (72) mechanically coupled to the HP spool (via 76) for selectively rotating the HP spool (Figure 5), the method comprising:
increasing a motor torque of the electric motor to apply torque to the LP spool (paragraph 71);
monitoring one or more engine operating parameters to determine whether the one or more engine operating parameters is within a limit (paragraph 71 describes monitoring the vibration of the engine and if the vibration is above an acceptable limit);
increasing the motor torque of the electric motor when the one or more engine operating parameters is within the limit (paragraph 71 describes when the vibration is unacceptable, i.e. above the limit, they accelerate the LP shaft with the motor 60).
Regarding claim 19, Morgan discloses further comprising determining that the LP spool has reached a target speed associated with a successful engine start (paragraph 67 describes determining when the LP shaft has reached a rotor speed minimum, i.e. a target speed associated with engine start).
Regarding claim 20, Morgan discloses disconnecting the electric motor upon a successful start (paragraph 67 describes shutting off the application of torque by the motor 60 once the LP rotor speed minimum has been reached).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan et al. (US 2023/0045973) in view of Devendorf (US 2021/0222628).
Regarding claim 6, Morgan discloses all the essential features of the claimed invention except further comprising:
a clutch assembly operably coupled to the LP spool and the HP spool, wherein the controller is in operative communication with the clutch assembly and is further configured to engage the clutch assembly to mechanically couple the LP spool and the HP spool during the engine startup.
Devendorf teaches a combustion section (Figure 2, 40), a low pressure (LP) spool (46), a low speed compressor (54), a high pressure (HP) spool (38), and a high speed compressor (34);
a clutch assembly (Figure 1, 72) operably coupled to the LP spool and the HP spool (Figure 2 shows the clutch 72 radially between the two spools 35 and 45), wherein the controller (paragraph 56 and paragraph 60 describes the clutch being actively actuated, which requires a controller) is in operative communication with the clutch assembly and is further configured to engage the clutch assembly to mechanically couple the LP spool and the HP spool during the engine startup (paragraph 37).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morgan’s invention to include a clutch assembly operably coupled to the LP spool and the HP spool, wherein the controller (in the system of Morgan in view of Devendorf, Morgan’s controller provides the active control of Devendorf’s clutch assembly) is in operative communication with the clutch assembly and is further configured to engage the clutch assembly to mechanically couple the LP spool and the HP spool during the engine startup in order to ensure the low speed/low pressure system does not rotate faster than the high speed/high pressure system as suggested and taught by Devendorf in paragraph 56.
Regarding claim 7, Morgan in view of Devendorf teach the invention as claimed and described above. Devendorf further teaches wherein the clutch assembly is engaged while the electric motor (paragraph 37) and the starter assembly operate simultaneously (Figure 5 of Morgan shows the electric motor and the starter assembly operate simultaneously during start up at 86 through 90).
Claims 8-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan et al. (US 2023/0045973) in view of Himmelmann et al. (US 2016/0257416).
Regarding claim 8, Morgan discloses all the essential features of the claimed invention except wherein the electric motor is electrically coupled to a three-phase alternating current (AC) motor power supply.
Himmelmann teaches wherein the electric motor (Figure 3, 32) is electrically coupled to a three-phase alternating current (AC) motor power supply (Paragraph 35 describes the motor receiving a three-phase alternating current power).
“When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person having ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR at 1397.
In this case, provision of power can be accomplished by providing AC power or DC power. One having ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential options (providing AC power or DC power) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, wherein the electric motor is electrically coupled to a three-phase alternating current (AC) motor power supply would have been obvious because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense”.
Regarding claim 9, Morgan in view of Himmelmann teach the invention as claimed and described above. Morgan further discloses wherein the motor power supply comprises a battery, a fuel cell, or an electric power supply source (66 is an electric power supply source).
Regarding claim 12, Morgan discloses all the essential features of the claimed invention except wherein the starter power supply comprises a ground power unit or onboard battery.
Himmelmann teaches wherein the starter power supply comprises a ground power unit or onboard battery (Figure 3, 36).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morgan’s invention to include wherein the starter power supply comprises a ground power unit or onboard battery in order to power for other aircraft systems as suggested and taught by Himmelmann in paragraph 33.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan et al. (US 2023/0045973) in view of Hon et al. (US 2018/0354632).
Regarding claim 14, Morgan discloses all the essential features of the claimed invention except wherein the gas turbine engine is a first engine of a propulsion system for an aircraft, wherein the electric motor is electrically coupled with a second engine of the propulsion system for selectively providing power during an engine startup of the second engine.
Hon teaches wherein the gas turbine engine is a first engine (Figure 6, 102B) of a propulsion system (50) for an aircraft (paragraph 2), wherein the electric motor is electrically coupled (through electric lines 60) with a second engine (102A) of the propulsion system for selectively providing power during an engine startup of the second engine (Intended use, paragraph 86 describes electric machine 56B providing power to engine 102A, therefore the system is structurally capable of performing this action during engine startup of 102A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morgan’s invention to include wherein the gas turbine engine is a first engine of a propulsion system for an aircraft, wherein the electric motor is electrically coupled with a second engine of the propulsion system for selectively providing power during an engine startup of the second engine in order to provide power sharing between the two engines as suggested and taught by Hon in paragraph 86.
Conclusion
/KATHERYN A MALATEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741