FINAL REJECTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings, Specification and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 7-12, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curran (US 2015/0007579 A1, previously cited) in view of Benz (US 2013/0305732 A1, previously cited).
Regarding independent claim 1, Curran discloses an integration system for use with a gas turbine engine 41 (Fig. 1-3), the integration system comprising:
an exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system (recirculation lines 59, 60) in flow communication with a gas turbine section 46 of the gas turbine engine 41, the EGR system including:
an EGR conduit 59 fluidly coupled to an exhaust line 39 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3 below) and fluidly coupled to an EGR inlet 43 (a “mixer” that combines the incoming air from air inlet 42 with the recirculated exhaust gas) upstream from an inlet of a compressor section 44 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3), the EGR conduit oriented to provide a portion of exhaust gases discharged from the gas turbine section to the EGR manifold (Para. 0077-93); and
a flow restriction component 50 (“louvre damper”, Para. 0078) in flow communication with the exhaust line 39 of the gas turbine engine, the flow restriction component downstream from the EGR conduit 59 of the EGR system (Fig. 3 below, the flow restriction component 50 is downstream of where the EGR conduit connects to the exhaust line),
wherein the flow restriction component 50 facilitates increasing a pressure of the exhaust gases discharged from the gas turbine section (operation of the louvre damper 50 would naturally affect the backpressure of the exhaust gas from the gas turbine engine within the exhaust line 39, by forming an adjustable flow restriction when the louvre is opened/closed that would obstruct the flowpath for the exhaust gas to travel to a carbon capture system 51; Para. 0083, the pressure level of the exhaust is controlled, in part, by the operation of a combination of the louvre damper 50, shutter 49, and throttling damper 61; Para. 0050, a goal of the system of Curran is to increase the gas turbine backpressure, and closing the louvre damper 50 would affect such an increase in the line 39; See Response to Arguments below).
Curran fails to explicitly disclose the EGR inlet is an EGR manifold.
Benz teaches a system for a gas turbine engine with exhaust gas recirculation (Fig. 1), wherein an EGR conduit fluidly coupled to an exhaust line 8 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1) and fluidly coupled to an EGR manifold 32 (Fig. 2a, Fig. 2-4, “mixing ducts” that are formed as a manifold delivering exhaust gas 41 into incoming airflow 33 for mixing thereof, Para. 0007, 0036-39, 0043) upstream from an inlet of a compressor section 1 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1 & 2a, Para. 0036).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Curran, the EGR manifold as taught by Benz, in order to improve mixing of the exhaust gas with the incoming airflow at the inlet of the compressor section, the EGR manifold improving distribution of the exhaust gas into the airflow (Benz Para. 0007, 0035-39).
Regarding claim 2, Curran in view of Benz teaches the integration system of claim 1, and Curran further teaches wherein the flow restriction component includes at least one of:
an adjustable dampener 50 (“louvre damper”, which is adjustable between at least open and closed positions, Para. 0078-0084),
a reducer component fluidly coupled to the exhaust line, the reducer component including a converging diameter, and/or
a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) downstream and in flow communication with the exhaust line of the gas turbine engine.
Regarding claim 3, Curran in view of Benz teaches the integration system of claim 2, further comprising a controller communicatively coupled to the adjustable dampener 50 (implicit from the disclosure, as a controller to operate the shutter 49, throttling damper 61, louver damper 50, and louver damper 52 would be necessary for operating the system in the various modes disclosed), the controller selectively adjusting the adjustable dampener 50 to facilitate changing the pressure of the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section (Para. 0078-84, the louver damper 50 is adjusted between open and closed positions to facilitate the control of the back-pressure of the exhaust gas on the gas turbine via the throttling damper 61; note, the claims do not explicitly preclude other control elements involved in the control of the pressure of the exhaust gas, and in that regard, the closing of the louvre damper 50 facilitates the changing of the pressure).
Regarding independent claim 7, Curran discloses a power generation system (Fig. 1-3) comprising:
a gas turbine engine 41 (Fig. 3 above) including:
a compressor section 44 for compressing a working fluid;
a combustor section 45 downstream from and in flow communication with the compressor section; and,
a gas turbine section 46 downstream from and in flow communication with the combustor section; and,
an integration system in flow communication with the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3 above), the integration system including:
an exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system (recirculation lines 59, 60) in flow communication with a gas turbine section 46 of the gas turbine engine 41, the EGR system including:
an EGR conduit 59 fluidly coupled to an exhaust line 39 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3 above) and fluidly coupled to an EGR inlet 43 (a “mixer” that combines the incoming air from air inlet 42 with the recirculated exhaust gas) upstream from an inlet of a compressor section 44 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3), the EGR conduit oriented to provide a portion of exhaust gases discharged from the gas turbine section to the EGR manifold (Para. 0077-93); and,
a flow restriction component 50 (“louvre damper”, Para. 0078) in flow communication with the exhaust line 39 of the gas turbine engine, the flow restriction component downstream from the EGR conduit 59 of the EGR system (Fig. 3 above, the flow restriction component 50 is downstream of where the EGR conduit connects to the exhaust line),
wherein the flow restriction component 50 facilitates increasing a pressure of the exhaust gases discharged from the gas turbine section (operation of the louvre damper 50 would naturally affect the backpressure of the exhaust gas from the gas turbine engine within the exhaust line 39, by forming an adjustable flow restriction when the louvre is opened/closed that would obstruct the flowpath for the exhaust gas to travel to a carbon capture system 51; Para. 0083, the pressure level of the exhaust is controlled, in part, by the operation of a combination of the louvre damper 50, shutter 49, and throttling damper 61; Para. 0050, a goal of the system of Curran is to increase the gas turbine backpressure, and closing the louvre damper 50 would affect such an increase in the line 39; See Response to Arguments below).
Curran fails to explicitly disclose the EGR inlet is an EGR manifold.
Benz teaches a system for a gas turbine engine with exhaust gas recirculation (Fig. 1), wherein an EGR conduit fluidly coupled to an exhaust line 8 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1) and fluidly coupled to an EGR manifold 32 (Fig. 2a, Fig. 2-4, “mixing ducts” that are formed as a manifold delivering exhaust gas 41 into incoming airflow 33 for mixing thereof, Para. 0007, 0036-39, 0043) upstream from an inlet of a compressor section 1 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1 & 2a, Para. 0036).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Curran, the EGR manifold as taught by Benz, in order to improve mixing of the exhaust gas with the incoming airflow at the inlet of the compressor section, the EGR manifold improving distribution of the exhaust gas into the airflow (Benz Para. 0007, 0035-39).
Regarding claim 8, Curran in view of Benz teaches the power generation system of claim 7, and Curran further teaches the system comprising:
a supplemental component 47 (HRSG and/or exhaust stack 48, Fig. 3 above) downstream and in flow communication with the exhaust line 39 of the gas turbine engine (the HRSG/stack is downstream of the gas turbine engine as shown, and along the exhaust line from the engine), wherein the flow restriction component 50 is in flow communication with the supplemental component 47 and is one of:
upstream from the supplemental component,
included within the supplemental component, or
downstream from the supplemental component 47 (Fig. 3, the flow restriction component 50 is downstream of the HRSG 47/stack 48 as shown; alternatively, there is a carbon capture system (CCS) that is downstream of the flow restriction component 50 that is not shown that could read as the supplemental component, Para. 0078).
Regarding claim 9, Curran in view of Benz teaches the power generation system of claim 8, and Curran further teaches wherein the EGR conduit 59 of the EGR system is upstream or downstream from the supplemental component (Fig. 3, the EGR conduit 59 is downstream of the supplemental component HRSG 47/stack 48 as shown).
Regarding claim 10, Curran in view of Benz teaches the power generation system of claim 8, and Curran further teaches, wherein the supplemental component includes at least one of (interpreted as requiring one or both of the following):
a heat recovery steam generator (HRSG) 47 downstream and in flow communication with the exhaust line of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3, the HRSG is downstream of the gas turbine engine 41 as shown along the exhaust gas line); and/or
an exhaust stack 48 downstream and in flow communication with the exhaust line of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3, the exhaust stack is immediately downstream of the HRSG 47).
Regarding claim 11, Curran in view of Benz teaches the power generation system of claim 7, and Curran further teaches wherein the flow restriction component 50 of the EGR system includes:
an adjustable dampener 50 (“louvre damper”, which is adjustable between at least open and closed positions, Para. 0078-0084), or
a reducer component fluidly coupled to the exhaust line, the reducer component including a converging diameter.
Regarding claim 12, Curran in view of Benz teaches the power generation system of claim 11, and Curran further teaches wherein the integration system further includes a controller communicatively coupled to the adjustable dampener 50 (implicit from the disclosure, as a controller to operate the shutter 49, throttling damper 61, louver damper 50, and louver damper 52 would be necessary for operating the system in the various modes disclosed), the controller selectively adjusting the adjustable dampener to facilitate changing the pressure of the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section (Para. 0078-84, the louver damper 50 is adjusted between open and closed positions to facilitate the control of the back-pressure of the exhaust gas on the gas turbine via the throttling damper 61; note, the claims do not explicitly preclude other control elements involved in the control of the pressure of the exhaust gas).
Regarding independent claim 16, Curran teaches a method comprising:
adjusting a pressure of exhaust gases generated by a gas turbine section 46 of a gas turbine engine 41 using a flow restriction component 50 (“louvre damper”, Fig. 3, Para. 0007, 0077-90, the flow restriction component 50 is a louvre damper that can be adjusted to open or closed positions to facilitate adjustment of the exhaust back-pressure on the gas turbine section, working in conjunction with the throttling damper 61 and shutter 49; when the louvre damper is moved to a closed position while the shutter 49 is open, an increase in backpressure in exhaust line 39 would occur, as the open passage downstream the damper 50 would then be blocked, forming an obstruction to the exhaust gas flow; the throttling damper 61 would thus affect further adjustments to the pressure in the line 39 as needed; see Response to Arguments below), the flow restriction component 50 in flow communication with an exhaust line 39 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 3 above, Para. 0077-78); and,
providing the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section of the gas turbine engine at the adjusted pressure of the exhaust gases (the exhaust gases within the exhaust line 39 would be at the adjusted pressure effected by the combined control of the shutter 49, throttle damper 61 and louver damper 50; see Response to Arguments below) to an exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) inlet 43 (“mixer”) of an EGR system, via a EGR conduit 59 (Fig. 3 above, Para. 0078, “The exhaust gas 51 flowing through the flue gas line 39 can pass a first louvre damper 50 to reach a CCS facility (not shown) and/or a second louvre damper 52 to be recirculated to the mixer 43 of the gas turbine 41 via flue gas recirculation lines 59 and 60.”),
wherein the EGR conduit 59 is fluidly coupled to the EGR inlet 43 and the exhaust line 39 of the gas turbine engine, upstream from the flow restriction component 50 (Curran Fig. 3 above);
wherein the flow restriction component 50 is downstream from the EGR conduit 59 (Fig. 3 above, the flow restriction component 50 is downstream of where the EGR conduit 59 connects to the exhaust line 39).
Curran fails to explicitly disclose the EGR inlet is an EGR manifold.
Benz teaches a method for a gas turbine engine with exhaust gas recirculation (Fig. 1), wherein an EGR conduit fluidly coupled to an exhaust line 8 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1) and fluidly coupled to an EGR manifold 32 (Fig. 2a, Fig. 2-4, “mixing ducts” that are formed as a manifold delivering exhaust gas 41 into incoming airflow 33 for mixing thereof, Para. 0007, 0036-39, 0043) upstream from an inlet of a compressor section 1 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1 & 2a, Para. 0036).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the method of Curran, the EGR manifold as taught by Benz, in order to improve mixing of the exhaust gas with the incoming airflow at the inlet of the compressor section, the EGR manifold improving distribution of the exhaust gas into the airflow (Benz Para. 0007, 0035-39).
Regarding claim 17, Curran in view of Benz teaches the method of claim 16, wherein adjusting the pressure of the exhaust gases further includes:
selectively adjusting a dampener 50 (“louvre damper”, Para. 0078) forming the flow restriction component of the EGR system to facilitate changing the pressure of the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section (Para. 0078-90, when the shutter 49 is opened, the flow restriction component 50 can be opened or closed; when the flow restriction component 50 is closed with the shutter 49 open, the back pressure of the exhaust gases can be controlled via throttling damper 61, to control a pressure of exhaust gas delivered to the EGR conduit 59).
Regarding claim 18, Curran in view of Benz teaches the method of claim 17, wherein selectively adjusting the dampener 50 of the EGR system further includes one of:
increasing a flow rate of the exhaust gases flowing through the exhaust line of the gas turbine engine (Para. 0083, when the shutter 49 is opened, exhaust gas flow will pass through the exhaust line 39, hence increasing the flow rate of the exhaust gas therethrough; the amount of exhaust gas flow is also throttled by the throttling damper 61); or,
decreasing the flow rate of the exhaust gases flowing through the exhaust line of the gas turbine engine (Para. 0083, the throttling damper 61 can increase or decrease the flow rate of exhaust gas through the exhaust line by controlling the flow rate through the stack 48).
Claims 4-6, 13-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curran in view of Benz, further in view of Ranasinghe (US 2010/0126181 A1, previously cited), further in view of Klosinski (US 2017/0218852 A1, previously cited).
Regarding claim 4 & 13, Curran in view of Benz teaches the integration system and power generation system of claims 3 & 12 respectively, but fails to teach further comprising:
an inlet bleed heat (IBH) system including an IBH conduit fluidly coupled to the compressor section of the gas turbine engine, the IBH system configured to channel, via the IBH conduit, flow extracted downstream from an outlet of the compressor section to an IBH manifold upstream from the inlet of the compressor section,
wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the IBH system to selectively adjust between:
providing the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section to the EGR manifold via the EGR conduit; and
providing the extracted flow from the outlet of the compressor section to the IBH manifold via the IBH conduit.
Ranasinghe teaches a system for a gas turbine engine 100 having an exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system (see exhaust stream 165, Fig. 1, Para. 0020, 0030-31) in flow communication with the gas turbine engine (downstream a heat recovery steam generator 195) and having an EGR conduit 165 coupled to an inlet mixing station 180 upstream the compressor section 105 of the gas turbine engine; the system further comprising:
an inlet bleed heat (IBH) system 190 including an IBH conduit fluidly coupled to the compressor section 105 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1, Para. 0023-27), the IBH system configured to channel, via the IBH conduit, flow extracted downstream from an outlet of the compressor section (Fig. 1, the IBH conduit is coupled to the downstream end of the compressor) to an IBH inlet upstream from the inlet of the compressor section,
wherein the controller 300 (Fig. 3, control system, Para. 0034-36, 0072-74) is communicatively coupled to the IBH system to selectively adjust between:
providing the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section to the EGR manifold via the EGR conduit (Fig. 2A, Para. 0042-55, see the steps from 205 through 240, the control system determines whether to engage the EGR system based on determined exhaust constituents and other exhaust permissive parameters, Para. 0033); and,
providing the extracted flow from the outlet of the compressor section to the IBH inlet via the IBH conduit (Fig. 2B, Para. 0041, 0045-46, 0062-71, see steps 255-295, the control system controls whether to implement the IBH system based on the parameters of the airflow at the inlet of the engine, such as humidity and temperature, Para. 0027; the control system can implement the methods of Fig. 2A & 2B simultaneously from the branching point at step 215).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Curran in view of Benz, an IBH system fluidly coupling a flow extracted from the outlet of the compressor section to an IBH inlet upstream the inlet of the compressor section, and using the controller to selectively adjust the provision of exhaust gases through the EGR system and the provision of extracted flow from the IBH system, as taught by Ranasinghe, in order to provide an IBH system that can serve to reduce ice formation at the inlet of the compressor section (Ranasinghe Para. 0026), and also to control the composition and parameters of the working fluid flow into the inlet of the gas turbine engine by selectively adjusting operations of the EGR and IBH systems based on constituents sensed in the exhaust gas (Ranasinghe Para. 0033, Fig.2A), and parameters of the working fluid such as humidity and temperature (Ranasinghe Para. 0027, 0033, 0039, 0063), in order to reduce formation of undesired emissions (such as Sulfur Oxides (SOx)) in the gas turbine engine (Ranasinghe Para. 0015-16, 0039-41, 0061).
Curran in view of Benz in view of Ranasinghe still fails to teach the IBH inlet is an IBH manifold.
Klosinski teaches a system for a gas turbine engine 104 including an IBH system 102 (Fig. 1, Para. 0015-17), the IBH system including an IBH manifold 114 upstream of an inlet of the compressor section 106 (Fig. 1, Para. 0016-18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Curran in view of Benz in view of Ranasinghe, an IBH manifold as taught by Kosinski, in order to provide an outlet arrangement for the extracted compressor flow that can more uniformly distribute the extracted flow into the incoming airflow of the intake assembly (Klosinksi Para. 0014-18, Fig. 1). Use of manifolds for IBH systems are also well-known in the art (see for further example, Mazumder US 2014/0144124 A1, US 9447732 B2).
Regarding claim 5 & 14, Curran in view of Benz & Ranasinghe & Klosinski teaches the integration system and power generation system of claims 4 & 13 respectively, but fails to teach wherein the controller is configured to selectively adjust between providing the exhaust gases and providing the extracted flow based on operational characteristics of the gas turbine engine.
Ranasinghe teaches wherein the controller 300 is configured to selectively adjust between providing the exhaust gases and providing the extracted flow based on operational characteristics of the gas turbine engine (based on the analyzed exhaust constituents of the gas turbine engine while the engine is operating, particularly concentrations of SOx, Para. 0005-8, 0015-16, 0039-41, 0051-52, 0061, “the present invention may utilize the IBH system 190 in conjunction with the EGR system 150 to bring the SOx concentration within a desired range”; note, the term “operational characteristics of the gas turbine engine” is very broad, and could encompass any aspect of the engine while it is operating, in this case, the exhaust characteristics).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Curran in view of Benz & Ranasinghe & Klosinski, the controller is configured to selectively adjust between providing the exhaust gases and providing the extracted flow based on operational characteristics of the gas turbine engine, as taught by Ranasinghe, in order to control and reduce SOx concentrations in the exhaust of the gas turbine engine (Ranasinghe Para. 0005-8, 0015-16, 0039-41, 0051-52, 0061).
Regarding claim 6 & 15, Curran in view of Benz & Ranasinghe & Klosinski teaches the integration system and power generation system of claims 4 & 13 respectively, but fails to teach wherein the EGR manifold of the EGR system is upstream from the IBH manifold of the IBH system.
Ranasinghe teaches wherein the EGR inlet 180 (the mixing station) of the EGR system is upstream from the IBH inlet of the IBH system (Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the system of Curran in view of Benz & Ranasinghe & Klosinski such that the EGR inlet (and consequently the incorporated EGR manifold) is upstream of the IBH inlet (and thus the IBH manifold), as taught by Ranasinghe, in order to allow the recirculated exhaust gas to combine and cool down by mixing with the inlet air to increase condensation for subsequent removal, prior to the air-exhaust mixture combining with the extracted air in the IBH system and having the temperature increase again, thus removing condensates from the flow entering the compressor section, reducing humidity of the working fluid as desired (Ranasinghe Para. 0030-32).
Regarding claims 19 & 20, Curran in view of Benz teaches the method of claim 16, but fails to teach: providing an extracted flow from an outlet of a compressor section of the gas turbine engine to an inlet bleed heat (IBH) manifold, via an IBH conduit, of an IBH system; and
selectively deciding, based on determined operational characteristics of the gas turbine engine, to:
provide the extracted flow to the IBH manifold via the IBH conduit, or
provide the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section of the gas turbine engine to the EGR manifold via the EGR conduit.
Ranasinghe teaches a method for a gas turbine engine 100 having an exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system (see exhaust stream 165, Fig. 1, Para. 0020, 0030-31) in flow communication with the gas turbine engine (downstream a heat recovery steam generator 195), the method including providing an extracted flow from an outlet of a compressor section 105 of the gas turbine engine (Fig. 1, Para. 0023-27) to an inlet bleed heat (IBH) inlet, via an IBH conduit (Fig. 1, the IBH conduit is coupled to the downstream end of the compressor), of an IBH system 190; and
selectively deciding, based on determined operational characteristics of the gas turbine engine (based on the analyzed exhaust constituents of the gas turbine engine while the engine is operating, particularly concentrations of SOx, Para. 0005-8, 0015-16, 0039-41, 0051-52, 0061, “the present invention may utilize the IBH system 190 in conjunction with the EGR system 150 to bring the SOx concentration within a desired range”; note, the term “operational characteristics of the gas turbine engine” is very broad, and could encompass any aspect of the engine while it is operating, in this case, the exhaust characteristics), to:
provide the extracted flow to the IBH inlet via the IBH conduit (Fig. 2B, Para. 0041, 0045-46, 0062-71, see steps 255-295, the control system controls whether to implement the IBH system based on the parameters of the airflow at the inlet of the engine, such as humidity and temperature, Para. 0027; the control system can implement the methods of Fig. 2A & 2B simultaneously from the branching point at step 215), or
provide the exhaust gases generated by the gas turbine section of the gas turbine engine to the EGR inlet via the EGR conduit (Fig. 2A, Para. 0042-55, see the steps from 205 through 240, the control system determines whether to engage the EGR system based on determined exhaust constituents and other exhaust permissive parameters, Para. 0033; Fig. 2A & 2B, provision of either the extracted flow or the exhaust gas can be aborted given certain operational conditions as shown).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the method of Curran in view of Benz, providing an extracted flow from the outlet of the compressor section to an IBH inlet upstream the inlet of the compressor section via an IBH system, and selectively deciding based on operational characteristics of the engine to provide exhaust gases through the EGR system or provide extracted flow from the IBH system, as taught by Ranasinghe, in order to provide an IBH system that can serve to reduce ice formation at the inlet of the compressor section (Ranasinghe Para. 0026), and also to selectively control the composition and parameters of the working fluid flow into the inlet of the gas turbine engine by selectively adjusting operations of the EGR and IBH systems based on constituents sensed in the exhaust gas (Ranasinghe Para. 0033, Fig.2A), and parameters of the working fluid such as humidity and temperature (Ranasinghe Para. 0027, 0033, 0039, 0063), in order to reduce formation of undesired emissions (such as Sulfur Oxides (SOx)) in the gas turbine engine (Ranasinghe Para. 0015-16, 0039-41, 0061).
Curran in view of Benz in view of Ranasinghe still fails to teach the IBH inlet is an IBH manifold.
Klosinski teaches a system for a gas turbine engine 104 including an IBH system 102 (Fig. 1, Para. 0015-17), the IBH system including an IBH manifold 114 upstream of an inlet of the compressor section 106 (Fig. 1, Para. 0016-18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Curran in view of Benz in view of Ranasinghe, an IBH manifold as taught by Klosinski, in order to provide an outlet arrangement for the extracted compressor flow that can more uniformly distribute the extracted flow into the incoming airflow of the intake assembly (Klosinksi Para. 0014-18, Fig. 1). Use of manifolds for IBH systems are also well-known in the art (see for further example, Mazumder US 2014/0144124 A1, US 9447732 B2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 & 7 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1 & 7, applicant argues in the Remarks filed 05/05/2026 that prior art of record Curran (US 2015/0007579 A1) fails to disclose the element of the flow restriction component, asserting that the element 50 of Curran is “distinguishable” in that Curran’s element 50 is a louvre damper that is opened or closed to allow or prevent flow of exhaust gas in line 39 from flowing to a facility 51 (Remarks pg. 9). Applicant argues the damper 50 of Curran is “not provided to increase pressure of the exhaust gases” and that pressure control is instead affected by a separate “throttling damper 61” that is not in flow communication with the exhaust line 39 and not downstream from an EGR conduit.
However, this argument is unpersuasive. The claim does not explicitly specify what the flow restriction component is, how it operates, and does not preclude other components from also effecting the increase in pressure of the exhaust gases in the exhaust line. The claim only states that it “facilitates increasing a pressure”. Curran in at least Paragraphs 0077-84, describes operation of the elements of a shutter 49, throttling damper 61, a second louvre damper 52, and the louvre damper 50 in affecting the pressure level and exhaust gas recirculation ratio of the exhaust gas. The louvre damper 50 is moved between open and closed positions while the other elements are also controlled based on whether the carbon capture system (CCS) is operating and the desired ratio of Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR, or FGR in Curran), hence “facilitating” the pressure adjustment (i.e. it helps enable the pressure increase). Since the louvre damper 50 is downstream of the throttling damper 61 and the exhaust line 39, the opening or closing of the louvre damper would also at least have some effect on the back pressure of the exhaust gas in the line 39 which is receiving the “adjusted” exhaust flow past the throttling damper 61, since it would either allow exhaust flow therethrough, or completely block/restrict the flow from passing therethrough, forcing the exhaust gas flow to enter the EGR conduit 59. The louvre damper can therefore be broadly construed as a flow restriction component having at least two settings, wherein the closed position would increase a pressure in the exhaust line 39 by virtue of blocking one of the paths the exhaust gas can flow through, thereby creating an obstruction in the exhaust flow, increasing a flow resistance in the exhaust line. The instant application’s own Specification indicates that the flow restriction component can be “an adjustable dampener 906” that affects the flow rate of the exhaust gas through the exhaust line (Para. 0082-83). Since the louvre damper of Curran also is adjustable, and affects the flow rate through the exhaust line downstream from the EGR conduit, the louvre damper would affect the back pressure in the exhaust line when adjusted, even by having only an opened/closed positions. It is recommended that the claimed “flow restriction component” as described in the claim be revised to include that the component can be selectively adjustable to enable “partial restriction” of the exhaust gas in the exhaust line to adjust the flow rate and pressure of the exhaust gases (i.e. “by partially restricting and/or opening the exhaust line”, as discussed in the instant Specification’s Para. 0083).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 16 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection that was necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed below and in the body of the rejections, at the appropriate locations. The amendments to claim 16 appear to seek to better describe the adjustment of the pressure of exhaust gases in the exhaust line by a flow restriction component, however, the same issues discussed in regards to claims 1 & 7 above arise. Applicant argues (Remarks pg. 10-11) that it is the throttling damper 61 of Curran that controls exhaust gas pressure and that the throttling damper is upstream of the EGR line. However, the claim does not explicitly preclude other controllable elements along with the “flow restriction component” for effecting control of the pressure in the exhaust line. As discussed above, the flow restriction component/louvre damper 50 of Curran would affect at least some change in pressure in the exhaust line by virtue of acting as a obstruction to the flow of exhaust gas when in the closed position. The louvre damper is one of several control elements used in conjunction with each other to affect the pressure and flow rate of the exhaust gas in the exhaust line to control the pressure and ratio of recirculated exhaust directed into the EGR conduit (Curran Para. 0077-84). Consequently, the louvre damper 50 of Curran acts as a flow restriction when closed, blocking the flow to the CCS 51, and in combination with the shutter 49, throttling damper 61, facilitates adjustment of the pressure of exhaust gases in the exhaust line 39.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on the attached PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conchieri (US 2017/0167389 A1) teaches a gas turbine engine having an exhaust gas recirculation line, and a flow restrictor/damper in an exhaust line for increasing a backpressure at the turbine outlet, the flow restrictor being upstream of an EGR conduit.
Mathai (US 2017/0167300 A1, US 10253652 B2) teaches agas turbine engine with an exhaust damper for increasing a backpressure at the turbine outlet.
Contact Information
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAIN CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741