DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is made in response to applicant’s papers filed on 10/27/2025. Claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application. An action follows below:
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(a) because although this claim meets the requirement 112(b), i.e., the metes and bounds are determinable, however, “A method, comprising: at a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices, and a display component:” should be changed to -- A method, performed at a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices, and a display component, comprising: --, in order to clarify the claimed feature. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(a) because although this claim meets the requirement 112(b), i.e., the metes and bounds are determinable, however, “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices, and a display component, the one or more programs including instructions for:” in lines 1-4 should be changed to -- A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs including instructions, when executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices, and a display component, cause the one or more processors performing: --, in order to clearly define the cited functions/ operations performed by the one or more processors. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(a) because although this claim meets the requirement 112(b), i.e., the metes and bounds are determinable, however, “one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:” in lines 4-5 should be changed to -- one or more programs including instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors performing: --, in order to clearly define the cited functions/ operations performed by the one or more processors. Appropriate correction is required.
Notice to Applicant(s)
Examiner notes that the specification is not the measure of invention. Therefore, limitations contained therein can’t be read into the claims for the purpose of avoiding the prior art. See In re Sporck, 55 CCPA 743, 386 F.2d 924, 155 USPQ 687 (1968).
Further, the names/ terms of the features/elements used in the pending application or pending claims may be different from the names/terms of the matching features/ elements of the prior arts; however, the matching features/ elements of the prior arts contain all characteristics/ functions of the features/elements DEFINED by the pending claims.
Note that in order to avoid confusion, the below citations in the below rejection(s) are mere one or more places in the reference to disclose the "claimed" limitation(s) and/or are directed to one or more of embodiments disclosed by the cited reference(s). In other words, the “claimed” features/limitations may be read in other places in the reference or other embodiments of the reference. In order to better understand how the claimed limitations are taught by the reference(s), a review of the entire reference(s) is suggested by the examiner. Applicant is reminded a prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention as not all relevant paragraphs may have been cited in the rejection. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cieplinski et al. (US 2015/0370323 A1; hereinafter Cieplinski.)
As per claims 1, 14 and 15, Cieplinski discloses a computer system [100; Figs. 1A, 2; ¶ 24], an associated method, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [a memory 102; Fig. 1A] storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors [120/104; Fig. 1A] of a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices [a touch panel of the touch screen display 112; sensors [164, 165] and more; Fig. 1A], and a display component [at least a display of the touch screen display 112; Figs., 1A, 2], the computer system [100; Figs. 1A, 2] comprising:
one or more processors [120/104; Fig. 1A]; and
memory [a memory 102; Fig. 1A] storing one or more programs including instructions (see at least Fig. 1A; ¶¶ 49, 60-77), when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors performing the method comprising:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user in a physical environment (see at least Figs. 6A, 6B, block 706 of Fig. 7A; ¶ 142, disclosing: detecting, via the camera, a first person/user 604 in a physical environment;) and
while detecting the first user in the physical environment:
in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a second user is not detected in a first area of the physical environment, displaying, via the display component, first content (see at least Fig. 6D, blocks 712-718 of Fig. 7A; ¶ 144, disclosing in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the first image 606 includes only the first person/user 604 in a first area of the physical environment, i.e., a second person/user 616 is not detected in a first area of the physical environment, displaying, via the display component, first content including a representation of a face 608 of the first user 604 with or without one or more UI elements [620, 622, 624]; also see blocks 746-750 of Fig. 7D;) and
in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the second user is detected in the first area of the physical environment, displaying, via the display component, second content different from the first content (see at least Fig. 7C; ¶ 159, disclosing, when the first image includes the second person/user, i.e., in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the second user is detected in the first area of the physical environment, displaying, via the display component, the content item [the second content] with the second profile associated with the second person/user, the second content associated with the second person/user being different from the first content associated with the first person/user; also see blocks 752-762 of Fig. 7D and the corresponding description.)
As per claim 2, Cieplinski discloses the second user being an unidentified user (see at least Fig. 1A, since the [[second]] user is not identified by one or more elements, e.g., RF circuitry 108, power system 162, external port 124, and etc., the second user is a user unidentified by the one or more elements.)
As per claim 3, Cieplinski discloses: wherein: while detecting the first user in the physical environment: in accordance with a determination that a third set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the third set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a third user, different from the first user and the second user, is detected in the first area of the physical environment, displaying, via the display component, third content different from the first content and the second content (see the discussion in the rejection of claim 1 for the case the second user replaced by a third user; also see ¶ 139 for identifying [[plural]] people interacting with the electronic device as the computer system and performing various actions in accordance with the identifications.)
As per claim 4, Cieplinski discloses wherein: while detecting the first user in the physical environment: in accordance with the determination that the first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the first user is detected to belong to a first group, the first content is fifth content (see at least Fig. 6D, blocks 712-718 of Fig. 7A; ¶ 144, disclosing in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the first image 606 includes the first person/user 604 in a first group comprising only the first person, displaying, via the display component, the first content, as a fifth content, including a representation of a face 608 of the first user 604 with or without one or more UI elements [620, 622, 624]; also see blocks 746-750 of Fig. 7D;) and in accordance with the determination that the first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the first user is detected to not belong to the first group, that the first content does not include the fifth content (see at least Fig. 7C; ¶ 159, disclosing, when the first image includes both the first person and the second person, i.e., the first user is detected to belong a second group comprising at least both the first person and the second person and not belong to the above-discussed first group comprising only the first person, displaying, via the display component, the content item [the second content] with the second profile associated with the second person/user, the second content associated with the second person/user being different from the first content, as the above-discussed fifth content, associated with the first person/user; also see blocks 752-762 of Fig. 7D and the corresponding description.)
As per claim 5, Cieplinski discloses wherein: while detecting the first user in the physical environment: in accordance with a determination that a fourth set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the fourth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a fourth user is not detected in a first area of the physical environment and a criterion that is satisfied when the first user is detected in a second area of the physical environment, displaying, via the display component, sixth content; and in accordance with a determination that a fifth set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the fifth set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the fourth user is detected in the first area of the physical environment and a criterion that is satisfied when the first user is detected in the second area of the physical environment, displaying, via the display component, seventh content different from the sixth content (see the discussion in the rejection of claim 1 for the case the second user replaced by a fourth user; also see ¶ 139 for identifying [[plural]] people interacting with the electronic device as the computer system and performing various actions in accordance with the identifications.)
As per claim 6, Cieplinski discloses the first content including a first widget (see at least ¶ 144, disclosing the first content including a widget, such as one of buttons, toolbars, media content, icons, applications windows and more; also see Fig. 1A disclosing various widget modules 149.)
As per claim 7, Cieplinski discloses the second content including a second widget (see at least ¶ 144, disclosing the second content including a widget, such as one of buttons, toolbars, media content, icons, applications windows and more; also see Fig. 1A disclosing various widget modules 149.)
As per claim 8, Cieplinski discloses the second widget being the same as the first widget (see at least ¶ 144, disclosing the first and the second widget being a same widget, such as one of buttons, toolbars, media content, icons, applications windows and more.)
As per claim 9, Cieplinski discloses the second widget being a different type of widget than the first widget (see at least ¶ 144, disclosing the second widget being one of buttons, toolbars, media content, icons, applications windows and more and the first widget being another one of buttons, toolbars, media content, icons, applications windows and more.)
As per claim 10, Cieplinski discloses the second content including a third widget (see at least ¶ 144, disclosing the second content including a third widget being one of buttons, toolbars, media content, icons, applications windows and more.)
As per claim 11, Cieplinski discloses the first content including content that corresponds to the first user (see the discussion in the rejection of claim 1; or see at least Fig. 6D, blocks 712-718 of Fig. 7A; ¶ 144, disclosing the first content associated with the first user and including a representation of a face 608 of the first user 604 with or without one or more UI elements [620, 622, 624]; also see blocks 746-750 of Fig. 7D.)
As per claim 12, Cieplinski discloses the second content including content that does not correspond to the first user (see the discussion in the rejection of claim 1; or see at least Fig. 7C; ¶ 159, disclosing the second content associated with the second user and not including content corresponding to the first user; see blocks 752-762 of Fig. 7D and the corresponding description.)
As per claim 13, Cieplinski discloses the first content including eighth content, and wherein the second content including the eighth content (see at least ¶ 144, disclosing the first content and the second including content including a same one of buttons, toolbars, media content, icons, applications windows and more.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dascola et al. (US 2022/0214743 A1) discloses a related a computer system, an associated method, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices, and a display component, the computer system [110, 120, 408; Figs. 2-4] comprising: one or more processors [202; Fig. 2]; and memory [220; Fig. 2] storing one or more programs including instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors performing the method comprising: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user [7200], a second user [7203], a third user [7205] in a physical environment; displaying, via the display component, content associated with a first user [7200], a second user [7203], and/or a third user [7205] (see at least Figs 7V-7Z; 14-16 and the corresponding description.) Holder (US 2022/0253136 A1) discloses a related a computer system, an associated method, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with one or more input devices, and a display component, the computer system [110, 120, 408; Figs. 2-4] comprising: one or more processors [202; Fig. 2]; and memory [220; Fig. 2] storing one or more programs including instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors performing the method comprising: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first user [User A], a second user [User B], a third user [User C] in a physical environment; displaying, via the display component, content associated with the first user [User A], the second user [User B], and/or the third user [User C] (see at least Figs 11A-12H and the corresponding description.)
/Jimmy H Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626