DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction and Claim Status
Applicant’s election of Species C corresponding to Claims 1–10 and 13–20 in the reply filed on 6 May 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant did not specify whether election was made with or without traverse; however, as Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 11 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6 May 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: “wherein a negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material that comprises a silicon-based active material” should instead read “further comprising a negative electrode, wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material that comprises a silicon-based active material”.
Claims 6 and 13: “comprises a lithium nickel-based active material” should instead read “comprises the lithium nickel-based active material”.
Appropriate correction is required. Note that withdrawn claims should be reviewed for similar issues to put the application in better form for the future.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the carbon-based active material" in lines 2–3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “a carbon-based active material”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5–7, 9, 10, 13, and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 107394124 A; see attached machine translation) in view of Park et al. (US 20210135187 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 5–7, 10, and 13, Wang discloses a secondary battery (see power lithium-ion battery, [0014]) comprising:
a positive electrode (see cathode sheet, [0007]) comprising a positive electrode active material (see cathode active material, [0007]) that comprises a lithium nickel-based active material (see ternary cathode material, [0007], [0011]) and LFP (LiFePO4) (see lithium iron phosphate, [0007]) in the form of secondary particles (see secondary granules, [0009]); and
wherein the lithium nickel-based active material contains 80 or 85 mol.% of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium (see LiNixMnyCo1−x−yO2 (x = 0.8, y = 0.1) and LiNi0.85Mn0.10Al0.05O2, [0011]).
Wang further discloses ([0007]) wherein the positive electrode active material comprises the LFP (LiFePO4) in the form of secondary particles in an amount of from 0.1 to 15 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the positive electrode active material, but does not explicitly disclose the claimed ranges of 0.1 to 10 (Claims 1 and 13), 0.1 to 5 (Claim 10), and 0.1 to 3 (Claim 7) parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the positive electrode active material.
However, Wang discloses ([0021]) that when the positive electrode active material comprises the disclosed amount of LFP (LiFePO4), the structural stability of the battery material system is improved and the risk of runaway of active materials when the battery is abused is reduced. Note that Wang is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the amount by weight of LFP (LiFePO4) in the form of secondary particles comprised in the positive electrode active material with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in a battery material system with improved structural stability and reduced risk of runaway of active materials when the battery is abused.
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the lithium nickel-based active material is in the form of single particles (Claim 1), nor wherein an average particle diameter (D50) of the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles is from 3 µm to 10 µm (Claim 5).
Park teaches a secondary battery (see lithium secondary battery, [0075]) comprising: a positive electrode (see positive electrode, [0075]) comprising a positive electrode active material (see positive electrode active material, [0019]) that comprises a lithium nickel-based active material (see composite transition metal oxide, [0019]) in the form of single particles (see composed of a single particle, [0019]) having an average particle diameter (D50) of preferably 3 µm to 7 µm ([0026]); and wherein the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles contains 65 mol.% or more of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium ([0019]). Park teaches ([0026]) that when the lithium nickel-based active material is in the form of single particles having an average particle diameter within a preferred range of 3 µm to 7 µm, particle strength can be increased to suppress particle breakage during rolling and improve rolling density, and the amount of gas generated by electrolyte solution side reactions can be decreased due to a decrease in specific surface area and lithium by-product. Note that Park is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of modified Wang such that the lithium nickel-based active material is in the form of single particles having an average particle diameter (D50) of 3 µm to 7 µm, as taught by Park, for the purpose of increasing particle strength to suppress particle breakage during rolling and improve rolling density, and decreasing the amount of gas generated by electrolyte side reactions due to decreased specific surface area and lithium by-product.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above. Wang further discloses wherein the lithium nickel-based active material contains 80 or 85 mol.% of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium (see LiNixMnyCo1−x−yO2 (x = 0.8, y = 0.1) and LiNi0.85Mn0.10Al0.05O2, [0011]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above. Wang further discloses ([0018]) the secondary battery comprising an electrolyte that is an organic liquid electrolyte.
Regarding Claims 18–20, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery module comprising a secondary battery according to Claim 1 as a unit cell (Claim 18), a battery pack comprising the secondary battery according to Claim 1 (Claim 19), or a battery pack comprising the battery module according to Claim 18 (Claim 20).
Park teaches ([0098]–[0099]) utilizing the secondary battery as a unit cell in a battery module, and further utilizing the battery module in a battery pack for the purpose of supplying power to a power tool, electric car, or power storage system.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the secondary battery of modified Wang into a battery module as a unit cell, and further to incorporate such a battery module into a battery pack, as taught by Park, for the purpose of supplying power to a power tool, electric car, or power storage system.
Claims 2, 4, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 107394124 A; see attached machine translation) in view of Park et al. (US 20210135187 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 5–7, 9, 10, 13, and 17–20 above, further in view of Lee et al. (WO 20200180160 A1; US 20220029152 A1 used herein for translation and citation purposes), herein referred to as Lee ‘160.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above. Wang further discloses the secondary battery further comprising a negative electrode (see negative electrode sheet, [0014]), wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material (see negative electrode active material, [0016]).
However, Wang does not disclose wherein the negative electrode active material comprises a silicon-based active material, and instead discloses wherein the negative electrode active material comprises a carbon-based active material (see artificial graphite and natural graphite, [0032]).
Lee ‘160 teaches a secondary battery (see lithium secondary battery, [0024]) comprising: a positive electrode (see positive electrode, [0024]), comprising a positive electrode active material (see positive electrode active material, [0024]) that comprises a lithium nickel-based active material (see lithium nickel cobalt manganese-based oxide, [0024]) in the form of single particles (see form of a single particle, [0043]); and wherein the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles contains 50 mol.% or more of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium ([0031], [0035]). Lee ‘160 further teaches the secondary battery further comprising a negative electrode (see negative electrode, [0024]), wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material (see negative electrode active material, [0076]) that comprises a mixture of a carbon-based active material (see carbon-based negative electrode active material, [0077], [0082]) and a silicon-based active material (see silicon-based negative electrode active material ([0077], [0082]). Lee ‘160 teaches that better capacity characteristics can be obtained when the silicon-based active material is included. Note that Lee ‘160 is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of modified Wang such that the negative electrode active material further comprises a silicon-based active material, as Lee ‘160 teaches that better capacity characteristics can be obtained when a silicon-based active material is included.
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the negative electrode active material comprises the silicon-based active material in an amount of from 1 to 15 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material (Claim 4), nor wherein the negative electrode active material comprises the carbon-based active material in an amount of 60 parts by weight or more and 99 parts by weight or less with respect to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material (Claim 14).
Lee ‘160 teaches that when the negative electrode active material composed of a mixture of silicon-based and carbon-based active materials comprises the silicon-based active material in an amount of from 1 to 30 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material (see a mixing ratio of the silicon-based negative electrode active material: the carbon-based negative electrode active material may be in a range of 1:99 to… 30:70, [0082]; note that such a range corresponds to the carbon-based active material being comprised in a balanced amount of from 70 to 99 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material), excellent cycle performance can be secured by suppressing volume expansion of the silicon-based active material and improving capacity characteristics ([0082]).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of modified Wang such that the negative electrode active material comprises the silicon-based active material in an amount of from 1 to 30 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material, and correspondingly comprises the carbon-based active material in a balanced amount of from 70 to 99 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material, as taught by Lee ‘160, for the purpose of securing excellent cycle performance by suppressing volume expansion of the silicon-based active material and improving capacity characteristics.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the amount by weight of silicon-based active material and the carbon-based active material comprised in the negative electrode active material with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in a battery material system with excellent cycle performance due to suppressed volume expansion of the silicon-based active material and improved capacity characteristics.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above. Wang discloses wherein the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles contains 80 mol.% of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium (see LiNixMnyCo1−x−yO2 (x = 0.8, y = 0.1), [0011]), but does not explicitly disclose the claimed range of 55 mol.% or more and less than 80 mol.% of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium.
Lee ‘160 teaches a secondary battery (see lithium secondary battery, [0024]) comprising: a positive electrode (see positive electrode, [0024]), comprising a positive electrode active material (see positive electrode active material, [0024]) that comprises a lithium nickel-based active material (see lithium nickel cobalt manganese-based oxide, [0024]) in the form of single particles (see form of a single particle, [0043]); and wherein the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles contains 50 mol.% or more and 95 mol.% or less of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium ([0031], [0035]). Lee ‘160 teaches ([0035]) that when the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles contains a mol.% of nickel in the disclosed range, it is more advantageous for achieving high capacity. Note that Lee ‘160 is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of modified Wang such that the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles contains 50 mol.% or more and 95 mol.% or less of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium, as taught by Lee ‘160, for the purpose of it being more advantageous for achieving high capacity.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the mol.% of nickel contained in the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in it being more advantageous for achieving high capacity.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above. Modified Wang further discloses wherein the silicon-based active material comprises SiOx (0<x<2) (see silicon oxide (SiOx, where 0<x<2), Lee ‘160 [0080]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 107394124 A; see attached machine translation) in view of Park et al. (US 20210135187 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 5–7, 9, 10, 13, and 17–20 above, further in view of Li et al. (US 20210175511 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the positive electrode has a porosity of from 19% to 23%.
Li teaches a secondary battery (see lithium-ion battery, [0041]) comprising: a positive electrode (see positive electrode plate, [0041]) comprising a positive electrode active material (see positive active material, [0041]) that comprises a lithium nickel-based active material (see positive active substance I [which] is a layered lithium nickel transition metal oxide, [0041]) in the form of single particles (see single particle morphology, [0049]), and LFP (LiFePO4) (see positive active substance II [which] is an olivine-type li-containing phosphate, [0041], which can specifically be LiFePO4, [0067]) in the form of secondary particles (see the positive active substance II includes… secondary particles, [0062]); and wherein the lithium nickel-based active material in the form of single particles contains 55 mol.% or more of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium (see all specific examples of the layered nickel transition metal oxide listed in [0065] except LiNi0.5Co0.2Mn0.3O2 and LiNi0.5Co0.25Mn0.25O2), and wherein the positive electrode active material comprises the LFP (LiFePO4) in the form of secondary particles in an amount of from 2 to 40 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts by weight of the positive electrode active material ([0056]). Li further teaches ([0057]) that when the positive electrode has a porosity of from 19% to 25%, a relatively high composition of positive electrode active material can be loaded in the positive electrode to improve the volume energy density of the secondary battery, and quick entrance of lithium ions into the positive electrode can be ensured to facilitate relatively good charge-discharge power of the secondary battery. Note that Li is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of modified Wang such that the positive electrode has a porosity of from 19% to 25%, as taught by Li, for the purpose of loading a relatively high composition of positive electrode active material in the positive electrode to improve the volume energy density of the secondary battery, and ensuring quick entrance of lithium ions into the positive electrode to facilitate relatively good charge-discharge power of the secondary battery.
When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the porosity of the positive electrode with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in a relatively high composition of positive electrode active material can be loaded in the positive electrode to improve the volume energy density of the secondary battery, and quick entrance of lithium ions into the positive electrode can be ensured to facilitate relatively good charge-discharge power of the secondary battery.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 107394124 A; see attached machine translation) in view of Park et al. (US 20210135187 A1), further in view of Lee et al. (WO 20200180160 A1; US 20220029152 A1 used herein for translation and citation purposes), herein referred to as Lee ‘160, as applied to Claims 2, 4, 8, 14, and 15 above, further in view of Lee et al. (US 20200388833 A1), herein referred to as Lee ‘833.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Wang discloses the secondary battery as set forth above. Modified Wang further discloses wherein the silicon-based active material comprises SiOx (0<x<2) (see silicon oxide (SiOx, where 0<x<2), Lee ‘160 [0080]), but does not disclose wherein at least one of a Mg-containing compound or a Li-containing compound is present in the SiOx (0<x<2) or on a surface of SiOx (0<x<2).
Lee ‘833 teaches a secondary battery (see secondary battery, [0062]) comprising: a positive electrode (see positive electrode, [0062]) comprising a positive electrode active material (see positive electrode active material, [0063]) that comprises a lithium nickel-based active material (see lithium nickel oxide or Ni-site type lithium nickel oxide, [0065]); and wherein the lithium nickel-based active material contains 70 to 99 mol.% (see LiNi1−c2Mc2O2 wherein… 0.01≤c2≤0.3, [0065]) or 100 mol.% (see LiNiO2, [0065]) of nickel with respect to 100 mol.% of metals excluding lithium. Lee ‘833 further teaches wherein the secondary battery further comprises a negative electrode (see negative electrode, [0062]), wherein the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material (see negative electrode active material, [0019]) that comprises a silicon-based active material comprising SiOx (0≤x<2) ([0019]), and more specifically SiOx (0.5≤x≤1.5) ([0020]). Lee ‘833 further teaches a Li-containing compound (see lithium-containing compound, [0019]) present in the SiOx, and a Mg-containing compound (see magnesium silicate, [0019]) present on a surface of the SiOx. Lee ‘833 teaches ([0023]) that the Li-containing compound can improve the initial efficiency of the secondary battery and energy density of the negative electrode, while ([0029]) the Mg-containing compound improves the initial efficiency of the secondary battery and suppresses the volume expansion of the negative electrode active material and generation of cracks. Note that Lee ‘833 is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of lithium secondary batteries.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary battery of modified Wang such that a Li-containing compound is present in the SiOx, as taught by Lee ‘833, for the purpose of improving the initial efficiency of the secondary battery and energy density of the negative electrode, and further such that a Mg-containing compound is present on the surface of the SiOx, as also taught by Lee ‘833, for the purpose of improving the initial efficiency of the secondary battery and suppressing the volume expansion of the negative electrode active material and the generation of cracks.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/008,264 (reference application).
Claims 3–10 and 13–20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 3-10 and 13–20, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/008,264 (i.e. Claim 3 of the instant application is provisionally rejected over Claim 3 of the reference application, Claim 4 of the instant application is provisionally rejected over Claim 4 of the reference application, and so on). In each case, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims only recite limitations which are also recited by the conflicting claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725