DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I (Claims 2-9) and Species 1D, 2I, and 3D in the replies filed on 8/13/26 and 9/16/26 is acknowledged.
With respect to the elections of Invention and Species 2I, because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1D and 3D in the reply filed on 9/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no delivery system or stylet is claimed. The examiner agrees that these elements are not required in the claims as currently presented.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The examiner notes that Applicant has once again failed to fully respond to the requirement for election of species. Although Applicant states that “Claims 2-9 are elected” (see the reply filed 9/16/26), there is no indication regarding which of new claims 23-31 read on the elected species.
It appears that the language of certain claims corresponds to non-elected embodiments. For example, Claim 26 requires a “bulbous head,” as described in the specification as being present in Figures 16A-C (non-elected Species K). However, the anchor fingers 231 in Figure 10A has also been broadly interpreted to be a “bulbous head” by the examiner.
Additionally, Claim 27 requires an “insertion-limiting portion” (element 140 in Applicant’s PGPub), which the specification describes as being part of the delivery system. However, external anchor 250 has also been broadly interpreted to be an “insertion-limiting portion” by the examiner.
In view of the above, Claims 2-9 and 23-31 have been examined on the merits. However, any further amendment to the claims that do not correspond to elected Species 2I will result in the claim(s) being withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an insertion-limiting portion” in claim 27
“a feature to facilitate removal of the cerebrospinal fluid shunt”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 27 recites “the cerebrospinal fluid shunt of claim 2, further comprising an insertion limiting portion configured to limit an insertion depth of the cerebrospinal fluid shunt into the thecal sac.” There is no support for this limitation in the instant specification or figures.
It appears that applicant may be attempting to claim limiter 140 from the instant specification. However, limiter 140 is part of the shunt delivery system, not the shunt.
Claims 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “insertion-limiting portion” in Claim 27 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. While the specification recites “limiter 140,” this element is part of the delivery system, not part of the shunt. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim limitation “feature to facilitate removal of the cerebrospinal fluid shunt” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is unclear what structural element is required to perform the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claims so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 24, 26-28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 2023/0364395).
With respect to Claim 2, Meyer teaches a cerebrospinal fluid shunt for placement in a patient (Abstract; Figures 1A-4), the cerebrospinal fluid shunt comprising:
an inlet region 120 configured to pass through an aperture in an epidural vein wall or an intervertebral vein wall, to pass through an aperture in a thecal sac 115, and to pass through an interstitial space between one of the epidural vein wall or the intervertebral vein wall and the thecal sac (Figure 1A; the shunt 100 may be implanted from the epidural vein, through an interstitial space, and into the thecal sac using the needle shown in Figure 4; see paragraph [0035];
an inlet aperture in the inlet region 120, wherein the inlet aperture is configured to receive cerebrospinal fluid from an intradural space (Figure 1A; Abstract and paragraphs [0034-0035]; the shunt drains from the inlet 120, through tubular transverse region 110, and through outlet 130);
an outlet region 130 configured to be positioned in a venous pathway;
an outlet aperture in the outlet region 130, wherein the outlet aperture is in fluid communication with the inlet aperture, wherein the outlet aperture is configured to permit flow the cerebrospinal fluid received by the inlet aperture out of the cerebrospinal fluid shunt (Figure 1A; Abstract and paragraphs [0034-0035]; the shunt drains from the inlet 120, through tubular transverse region 110, and through outlet 130);;
a transverse region 110 between the inlet region 120 and the outlet region 130, wherein the transverse region comprises a channel to enable fluid communication between the inlet aperture and the outlet aperture (Figure 1A; paragraph [0035]: defines a conduit connecting the first end 120 and the second end 130); and
a regulator 140 configured to partially decrease a flow of the cerebrospinal fluid through the channel (paragraphs [0036] and [0047-0050]: valve 140 may be any of a number of valve types used to restrict flow).
With respect to Claim 3, Meyer teaches that the regulator 140 is further configured to completely stop the flow of CSF through the channel 110 (in some embodiments, valve 140 may be configured to allow flow until intrathecal pressure reaches a cracking pressure, at which point the valve will close to stop fluid transfer; see paragraphs [0047-0050]).
With respect to Claim 4, Meyer teaches that the regulator 140 is included in the transverse region 110 of the shunt 100. See Figure 1A and paragraph [0046].
With respect to Claim 6, Meyer teaches that the regulator 140 is configured to at least partially decrease the flow of CSF through the channel when a pressure of CSF in the channel decreases ([0046]: the flow controller may reduce or prevent flow; [0047-0050]: the regulator reduces or stops flow when pressure drops below a threshold).
With respect to Claim 8, Meyer teaches that the shunt 100 further comprises an anchor (distal anchor 150 in the inlet region 120 and proximal anchor 160 in the outlet region 130; Figure 1A) configured to facilitate stabilization of the shunt 100 when it is implanted (paragraphs [0035-0036]).
With respect to Claim 24, Meyer teaches that each of the distal and proximal anchors (150, 160; Figure 1A) comprises a plurality of struts (i.e. “anchor fingers”) that are configured to anchor the shunt (Figure 1A; paragraphs [0035-0036]).
With respect to Claim 26, Meyer teaches the shunt of Claim 2, and further teaches that the inlet region includes a bulbous head 150 that anchors the inlet of the shunt to the thecal sac (Figure 1A; paragraph [0035]).
With respect to Claim 27, Meyer teaches the shunt of Claim 2, and further teaches that the shunt 100 further comprises an insertion-limiting portion 160 configured to limit an insertion depth of the shunt 100 into the thecal sac 115 (portion 160 expands in the epidural vein to anchor the shunt in the vein, thereby limiting the depth to which the shunt can be inserted into the thecal sac; see Figure 1A and paragraphs [0035-0036]).
With respect to Claim 28, Meyer teaches one or more radiopaque markers identifying the location of the inlet region 120 (see “Radiographic marker for positioning” in Figure 1B).
With respect to Claim 31, Meyer teaches that the shunt 100 may be formed of a variety of suitable materials including silicone [0056].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 9, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Heilman (US 2016/0136398; hereinafter “Heilman 2016”).
With respect to Claims 5, 7, and 23, Meyer teaches the shunt of Claim 2, but does not specifically teach that the regulator comprises at least one collapsible region in a wall of the transverse region (Claim 5), such that the regulator is not positioned within the channel (Claim 7) and the collapsible region comprises a lower durometer or more flexible region than other portions of the shunt body (Claim 23).
Heilman 2016 teaches a valved CSF shunt in the same field of endeavor. Specifically, in the embodiment of FIGS. 29A and 29F-G, valve 209 can have a windsock-like configuration, formed from a collapsible, mesh-like framework of biocompatible polymeric material. In its open form (e.g., under normal differential pressure between the subarachnoid space and venous system), CSF flows from the CP angle cistern 138 through the shunt lumen 207 and out through the pores of windsock valve 209. Windsock valve 209 can collapse on itself when the external pressure exceeds pressure within the shunt, such during coughing or sneezing events, to prevent the backflow of blood through shunt 200 into the subarachnoid space 116. (See Figures 29A and F-G; paragraph [0204]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Meyer’s CSF shunt such that the regulator comprises at least one collapsible region in a wall of the transverse region (Claim 5), such that the regulator is not positioned within the channel (Claim 7) and the collapsible region comprises a lower durometer or more flexible region than other portions of the shunt body (Claim 23), as suggested by Heilman 2016, in order to allow the regulator to collapse in the presence of high pressure outside of the shunt, thereby preventing backflow through the shunt [0204].
With respect to Claim 9, Meyer teaches the shunt of Claim 2 as claimed, and further teaches that the shunt may be coated with a variety of therapeutic compounds [0057-0059]. Meyer, however, does not explicitly teach that the shunt comprises a material that reduces coagulation of blood or a material that reduces aggregation of protein.
Heilman 2016 teaches a CSF shunt in the same field of endeavor, wherein the shunt may be made of biocompatible materials such as silicone [0155]) and is further coated with an anti-thrombotic coating such as Parylene or Heparin, thereby reducing coagulation of blood within and around the shunt [0154]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Meyer’s CSF shunt to have a coating that reduces coagulation and/or aggregation of protein, as suggested by Heilman 2016, in order to provide a well-known means for preventing thrombosis and coagulation induced by the deployment of the shunt [0154].
Claims 25, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer in view of Heilman (US 2020/0030588; hereinafter “Heilman 2020”).
With respect to Claim 29, Meyer teaches the shunt of Claim 2 as claimed, one or more radiopaque markers identifying the location of the inlet region 120 (see “Radiographic marker for positioning” in Figure 1B) and wherein known radiographic techniques may be used to visualize the device during insertion [0062-0064]. Meyer, however, does not specifically teach one or more radiopaque markers identifying the outlet region.
Heilman 2020 teaches a CSF shunt in the same field of endeavor, wherein the shunt comprises a radiopaque marker 2227c on the proximal anchor 2227, which is in the outlet region of the shunt (Figures 15A-B; paragraph [0143]) This configuration allows the clinician to visualize positioning and deployment of the proximal anchor within the body [0143]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Meyer’s CSF shunt to have a radiopaque marker at the outlet region of the shunt, as suggested by Heilman 2020, in order to provide a well-known means for visualizing the position of the proximal end of the shunt within the body [0143].
With respect to Claims 30, Meyer teaches the shunt of claims 2 and 8, wherein the anchor 150 may be self-expanding or mechanically expandable by a variety of means [0065]. Meyer, however, does not specifically teach that the outlet region includes a feature to facilitate removal of the shunt.
Heilman 2020 teaches a CSF shunt in the same field of endeavor, wherein the shunt is collapsable and retrievable using a variety of well-known mean [0221]. Specifically, the outlet/proximal region of shunt comprises at least one feature that is utilized in the process of the shunt from the body with a retrieval catheter [0221]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Meyer’s shunt to have a feature at the outlet end that enables removal of the shunt from the body, as suggested by Meyer, in order to provide a well-known means for retrieving the shunt after treatment has been completed.
With respect to Claim 25, Meyer and Heilman 2020 reasonably suggest a shunt that is configured to be collapsed and retrieved from the body (see [0221] of Heilman 2020 and the rejection of Claim 30 above). Meyer and Heilman, however, do not explicitly teach that the outward radial force of the anchor is less than the tensile strength of the shunt body, to facilitate extraction of the shunt from the patient.
However, it follows naturally that, if the anchor is collapsible, it should have a tensile strength that is less than that of the shunt body, such that it is capable of being collapsed prior to withdrawing the shunt. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the anchor of Meyer and Heilman to have a tensile strength that is less than the shunt body, in order to allow the anchor to collapse prior to removal of the shunt from the body (see [0221] of Heilman).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brinjikji (US 2026/0007867) teaches a CSF shunt with a flow control valve.
Malek (US 2024/0115842) teaches a CSF shunt for draining from a thecal sac.
Khaderi (US 2018/0125707) teaches a drainage shunt comprising a collapsible sidewall for closing a fluid pathway.
/PHILIP R WIEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781