Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Showa Denko KK (JP 2017215057 A, hereinafter “Showa”) in view of Ananthanarayanan et al. (US 6,998,560 hereinafter “Ananthanarayanan”).
In regard to claim 1, Showa discloses a flow path structure (Fig. 2 shows a flow path structure) comprising:
a first member including a first flow path configured to allow a fluid to flow therein Fig. 2, the part at 3 defines a first member that has an inner fluid bore near 14 that defines a first flow path configured to allow the fluid to flow therein);
a second member including a second flow path configured to allow the fluid to flow therein (Fig. 2, the parts 22 and 21 can define a second member which has a second flow path defined by the inner fluid bore of 22 which allows the fluid to flow therein); and
a tubular connection member provided over the first member and the second member (Fig. 2, pipe 6 defines a tubular connection member which is provided over 22 and 3) and configured to cause the first flow path and the second flow path to communicate with each other (Fig. 2, 6 is configured to allow the first and second fluid paths to communicate with each other), wherein
the connection member includes a tubular portion extending along an axial direction (Fig. 2, middle section of 6 defines a tubular portion extending along an axial direction between 27 and 28), a first flange portion integrally provided on one end side of the tubular portion (Fig. 2, flange 27 defines a first flange portion which is integrally provided on one end side of 6 similar to applicant’s invention) and having an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the tubular portion (Fig. 2, 27 has an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the tubular portion of 6 as shown), and a second flange portion integrally provided on an other end side of the tubular portion (Fig. 2, flange 28 defines a second flange portion integrally provided on an other end side of the tubular portion) and having an outer diameter larger than the outer diameter of the tubular portion (Fig. 2, 28 has an outer diameter larger than the outer diameter of the tubular portion), and
brazed portions are provided that are obtained by brazing directly between the first flange portion and the first member (Figs. 2 and 6a, braze material 45 defines a braze portion directly between 27 and 3 since 45 is directly between and in contact with both 27 and 3) and between the second flange portion and the second member, respectively (Figs. 2 and 6b, braze material 47 can be reasonably interpreted as a braze portion that joins 28 and 21 and 47 is at least axially between 28 and 22).
Showa does not expressly disclose the braze portion between the second flange portion and the second member is directly between the second flange portion and the second member because the braze portion is at an axial end of 6 and the flange 21 of 22 in order to join the flange 28 against 21.
In the related field of brazed joints, Ananthanarayanan shows a braze portion directly between a flange of a tubular part and another member (Fig. 12, braze portion at 576 between a flange at 564 of a tubular part 562 and another member 572) in order to have at least a known and reliable configuration for brazing a flange on a tubular part.
Additionally, it has been held that matters relating to positioning of parts were held unpatentable if the different positions would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C). In this case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Showa to rearrange the braze portion to be directly between the second flange portion and the second member like that of Ananthanarayanan in order to have at least the advantage of a known and reliable configuration for brazing a flange on a tubular part and the different position of the braze portion would not have modified the operation of the device. Furthermore, it would also be advantageous to rearrange the braze portion to at the axial face of the flange 28 of Showa to prevent braze material in direct contact with the fluid flow. See Fig. 2 of Showa at 19 near 31, the braze portion is the only one that is within direct contact with the fluid flow.
In regard to claim 3, Showa and Ananthanarayanan disclose the flow path structure according to claim 1, and Showa further discloses wherein
the first member is a manifold including a plurality of the first flow paths (Figs. 2 and 3, plurality of first flow paths defined by the flow paths 11A), and the second member is a member configured to allow the fluid to flow via the manifold (Figs. 1-3 shows how 22 is fluidly connected with the part 3 to allow fluid to flow via 3).
In regard to claim 7, Showa discloses a flow path structure (Fig. 2 shows a flow path structure) comprising:
a member including a flow path through which a fluid flows (Fig. 2, the part 3 has defines a member having a flow path through which a fluid flows near 14); and
a tubular connection member provided in the member and communicating with the flow path (Fig. 2, the part 6 defines a tubular connection member provided in 3 and communicating with the flow path since 6 is inserted into 3), wherein
the connection member includes a tubular portion extending along an axial direction (Fig. 2, the axially middle section of 6 between 27 and 28 defines a tubular portion extending along an axial direction) and a protruding portion integrally provided on the tubular portion (Fig. 2, flange 27 defines a protruding portion integrally provided on the tubular portion) and having an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the tubular portion (Fig. 2, 27 has an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the tubular portion), and
a brazed portion is provided that is obtained by brazing (Figs. 2 and 6a, braze portion at 45) between a surface of the protruding portion facing the member and intersecting the axial direction (See image below, indicated surface of protruding portion is a surface which viewed in the axial direction is facing the member and intersects the axial direction as shown below such that the surface intersects the dotted axial line) and a surface of the member facing the protruding portion and intersecting the axial direction (See image below, indicated surface of the member faces the protruding portion 27 and intersects the axial direction as shown between the intersection of the surface and the dotted axial line).
Showa does not expressly disclose the brazed portion is directly between a perpendicular surface of the protruding portion facing the member and a perpendicular surface of the member facing the protruding portion because as shown above in the attached image, the brazed portion is between a curved surface of the protruding portion not perpendicular to the axial direction and the perpendicular surface of the member facing the protruding portion.
Showa in view Ananthanarayanan discloses the brazed portion is directly between a perpendicular surface of the protruding portion facing the member and a perpendicular surface of the member facing the protruding portion. See claim 1 above for the same reasons of rearranging the braze portion to be at the perpendicular surface of the flange and for the same reasons to combine Showa and Ananthanarayanan.
In regard to claim 8, Showa and Ananthanarayanan disclose the flow path structure according to claim 7, and Showa further discloses wherein
the connection member is provided across the member and a second member (Fig. 2, 6 is provided across 3 and a second member 22), and includes the protruding portion on one end side (Fig. 2, 27 is on one end side of 6) and a second protruding portion on an other end side of the tubular portion (Fig. 2, 28 defines a second protruding portion on an other end side of 6), and
the brazed portion is provided on the one end side (See image above for claim 7, the brazed portion is provided on the one end side) and a second brazed portion is provided on the other end side in the axial direction (Figs. 2 and 6b, a second brazed portion at 47 which is provided on the other end side of 6 in the axial direction).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 218270356 U) in view of Steck (US 9,534,723 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Yuan discloses a flow path structure (Fig. 8 shows a flow path structure) comprising:
a first member including a first flow path configured to allow a fluid to flow therein (Fig. 8, part 1 defines a first member which has a fluid bore defining a first flow path configured to allow a fluid to flow therein);
a second member including a second flow path configured to allow the fluid to flow therein (Fig. 8, the part 2 defines a second member having a fluid bore defining a second flow path that allows the fluid to flow therein); and
a tubular connection member provided over the first member and the second member (Fig. 8, the tube 30 defines a tubular connection member provided over members 1 and 2) and configured to cause the first flow path and the second flow path to communicate with each other (Fig. 8, 30 is configured to cause the first flow path and the second flow path to communicate with each other), wherein
the connection member includes a tubular portion extending along an axial direction (Fig. 8, the portion at 35 defines a tubular portion extending along an axial direction), a first flange portion integrally provided on one end side of the tubular portion (Fig. 8, flange 31 defines a first flange portion that is integrally provided on one end side of 35) and having an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the tubular portion (Fig. 8, 31 has an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of 35), and a second flange portion integrally provided on an other end side of the tubular portion (Fig. 8, flange 32 defines a second flange portion integrally provided on an other end side of 35) and having an outer diameter larger than the outer diameter of the tubular portion (Fig. 8, 32 has an outer diameter larger than 35), and
brazed portions are provided (Fig. 8 and in paragraphs [n0063-n0065] of the English translation discloses the tube 30 can be brazed to members 1 and 2).
Yuan does not explicitly disclose locations of the brazed portions such that the brazed portions are provided directly between the first flange portion and the first member and directly between the second flange portion and the second member, respectively.
In the related field of brazed pipe couplings, Steck teaches a brazed portion between an axial surface of a flange and a surface of a member (Fig. 3, flange at 24, braze material 26, and member 10. The braze material 26 is at an axial surface of 24 that would otherwise without 26 be in contact with a surface of 10.) in order to have at least the advantage of a firm and fluid-tight connection (In 4:35-61 discloses the braze material 26 allows a firm and fluid-tight connection between 24 and member 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brazed portions of Yuan to be brazed portions that are provided directly between the first flange portion and the first member and directly between the second flange portion and the second member, respectively with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a firm and fluid-tight connection as taught by Steck.
In regard to claim 2, Yuan and Steck disclose the flow path structure according to claim 1, wherein
the brazed portion directly between the first flange portion and the first member and the brazed portion directly between the second flange portion and the second member at least partially overlap each other when viewed along the axial direction (See Fig. 8 of Yuan, both connections at 31 and 32 are identical, therefore, Yuan in view of Steck disclose the brazed portions at least partially overlap each other when viewed along the axial direction such that the brazed portions are axially aligned. See claim 1 above for the same reasons to combine Yuan and Steck.).
In regard to claim 3, Yuan and Steck disclose the flow path structure according to claim 1, and Yuan further discloses wherein
the first member is a manifold including a plurality of the first flow paths (Fig. 9, the member 1 and in [n0045] of the English translation discloses the member 1 can be a manifold and as shown in Fig. 9, there are at least two identical first flow paths at both 3 between members 1 and 2), and the second member is a member configured to allow the fluid to flow via the manifold (Fig. 9, member 2 is a member configured to allow the fluid to flow via 1 since the connection member bridges the flow between members 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 4, Yuan and Steck disclose the flow path structure according to claim 2, and Yuan further discloses wherein
the first member is a manifold including a plurality of the first flow paths, and the second member is a member configured to allow the fluid to flow via the manifold (See claim 3 above for the same reasons that also require “the first member is a manifold…via the manifold”).
In regard to claim 5, Yuan discloses a method for manufacturing a flow path structure, the method comprising:
providing the flow path structure including
a first member including a first flow path configured to allow a fluid to flow therein,
a second member including a second flow path configured to allow the fluid to flow therein, and
a tubular connection member provided over the first member and the second member and configured to cause the first flow path and the second flow path to communicate with each other, in which
the connection member includes a tubular portion extending along an axial direction, a first flange portion integrally provided on one end side of the tubular portion and having an outer diameter larger than an outer diameter of the tubular portion, and a second flange portion integrally provided on the other end side of the tubular portion and having an outer diameter larger than the outer diameter of the tubular portion (See claim 1 above for the same reasons that also require the features of “the flow path structure comprising:…the tubular portion”);
Yuan in view of Steck disclose a brazing member disposing step of disposing brazing members directly between the first flange portion and the first member and directly between the second flange portion and the second member, respectively (See claim 1 above for the same reasons with regard to location of the braze material for brazing the flanges to the members. See claim 1 above for the same reasons to combine Yuan and Steck.); and
Yuan further discloses a brazing step of simultaneously performing heating and brazing between the first flange portion and the first member and between the second flange portion and the second member (In [n0063-n0065] disclose utilizing a brazing furnace which would simultaneously braze and heat both sides of the connection member in order to save cost of individually welding each side one by one. Additionally, cost savings of furnace brazing multiple connections simultaneously is a known benefit of utilizing a brazing furnace as disclosed in https://kintekfurnace.com/faqs/what-are-the-key-advantages-of-furnace-brazing.).
In regard to claim 6, Yuan and Steck disclose the method for manufacturing a flow path structure according to claim 5, and Yuan further discloses wherein the heating between the first flange portion and the first member and the heating between the second flange portion and the second member in the brazing step are performed by induction heating (See claim 5 above with regard to brazing furnace).
Yuan and Steck do not expressly disclose induction heating as the type of brazing for simultaneously brazing the first and second flange portions.
However, induction heating is a known process. See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Induction_heating such that induction brazing is well-known to join materials together.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the furnace brazing of Yuan and Steck for induction brazing with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of a known and reliable method for joining brazed pipe joints. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) with regard to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Additionally, see https://cenos-platform.com/induction-brazing-simulation-case-study/, https://www.radyne.com/blog-induction-brazing-advantages/, and https://www.assemblymag.com/articles/96642-induction-brazing that it is well-known and within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to shape induction coils to the shape of plural pipe joints intended to be brazed in order to save cost and time. It is also noted that the crux of applicant’s invention is the flow path structure having two brazed ends and not to a brazing tool.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the brazing is not on the annular convex portion 28 and the brazing on 27 is not on any surface perpendicular to the axial direction of Showa which distinguishes over Showa with regard to claims 1 and 7, however, applicant’s arguments are moot because the updated rejection above relies upon teachings from Ananthanarayanan that discloses arranging braze portions on the perpendicular surface of a flange of a tubular part. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Steck only teaches brazing between surface of relatively simple geometry which do not involve flanges 31 and 32 of Yuan with regard to claim 1, however, the Examiner respectfully disagree because such reasoning appears narrowly focused and one of ordinary skill in the art would not bodily incorporate the exact flange of Steck into the flanges of Yuan but rather what Steck would reasonably suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, which Steck would reasonably suggest having a braze portion at the contact surface between a flange and another member. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679