DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 18/605,187 and 63/452,132, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Instant Claim 1 recites the limitation “An animal attractant absorbent pad comprising an absorbent pad”. Said limitation is not recited and/or inferred by the parent application. As such, claim 1 and claims 2-9 which dependent upon claim 1, are not granted the benefit of priority to the parent application. Similarly, claims 10-20 contain limitations regarding the absorbent pad which is not disclosed in the parent application, and are therefore not granted the benefit of priority to the parent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3, and similarly claim 13, states “wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises anionic diamino stilbene or distyryl biphenyl derivatives.” The specification fails to specify exactly which derivatives could be included within the scope of this invention, thus rendering the claims indefinite. There is no fixed number of how many distyryl biphenyl derivatives exist, thus making it unclear exactly what the boundaries of the claim are, and the specification does not list exactly which ones are included within the invention.
Claims 4-5 are rejected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kupka (US 2022/0330516).
Regarding Claim 1, Kupka discloses an animal attractant absorbent pad (Figure 1) consisting of an absorbent pad (pad body 11 with absorbent layer 112) and at least one fluorescent compound (UV marker pigment 126),
wherein the absorbent pad does not contain urine (“In the preferred embodiment, the UV marker pigment 126 takes the form of any suitable pigment that is detectable by UV light.” Paragraph [0018]);
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the absence of urine, feces, blood, and other bodily fluids (“the UV marker pigment 126 serves as an additional dichromatic detecting feature distributed along the visually stimulating indicium 12, where the UV marker pigment 126 is configured to be detected by dichromatic animals that can detect UV coloration schemes under normal lighting conditions” Paragraph [0018]);
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound visibly glows when the absorbent pad is exposed to ultraviolet light (Paragraph [0018]); and
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound is configured to attract the animal to eliminate on the absorbent pad (Figure 1; Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kupka discloses an animal attractant absorbent pad (Figure 1) consisting of an absorbent pad (pad body 11 with absorbent layer 112) and at least one fluorescent compound (UV marker pigment 126),
wherein the absorbent pad has a water-permeable top layer (excretion surface 111), an absorbent middle layer (absorbent layer 112), and a water-impermeable bottom layer (impermeable layer 113; “The absorbent layer is connected between the excretion surface and the impermeable layer.” Abstract);
wherein the absorbent pad does not contain urine (“In the preferred embodiment, the UV marker pigment 126 takes the form of any suitable pigment that is detectable by UV light.” Paragraph [0018]);
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the absence of urine, feces, blood, and other bodily fluids (“the UV marker pigment 126 serves as an additional dichromatic detecting feature distributed along the visually stimulating indicium 12, where the UV marker pigment 126 is configured to be detected by dichromatic animals that can detect UV coloration schemes under normal lighting conditions” Paragraph [0018]);
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound visibly glows when the absorbent pad is exposed to ultraviolet light (Paragraph [0018]); and
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound is configured to attract the animal to eliminate on the absorbent pad (Figure 1; Paragraph [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka (US 2022/0330516) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Kershman et al. (US 2024/0090471).
Regarding Claim 2, Kupka discloses the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 1.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the UV, violet and blue spectra.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the UV, violet and blue spectra (“The at least one fluorescent compound on the present invention must be a compound that is not harmful to cats or the environment. Fluorescent whitening agents, called optical brighteners, are fluorescent materials that can absorb UV light and emit visible (blue-violet). When exposed to white light, they can also emit UV light.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to fluoresce in the UV, violet and blue spectra as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure animals such as cats will be able to see and detect the fluorescent material (Kershman Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kupka discloses the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 2.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises anionic diamino stilbene or distyryl biphenyl derivatives.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises anionic diamino stilbene or distyryl biphenyl derivatives (“Preferably, they are hydrophilic water-soluble compounds, and are mainly anionic diamino stilbene (DAS) or distyryl biphenyl (DSBP) derivatives” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise anionic diamino stilbene or distyryl biphenyl derivatives as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the pet can see the fluorescent material, while also ensuring the attractant has a low toxicity (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kupka as modified teaches the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 3.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid (“The most common classes of compounds with this property are the stilbenes, e.g., 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the pet can see the fluorescent material, while also ensuring the attractant has a low toxicity (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kupka as modified teaches the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 3.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene or 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole).
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene or 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole) (“The compounds 4,4′-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene and 2,2′-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole) are also intensely fluorescent and used as optical brighteners.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene or 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole) as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the fluorescent material is sufficiently bright enough for the pet to see (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kupka as modified teaches the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 2.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt (“The most common classes of compounds with this property are the stilbenes, e.g., … 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic Acid Sodium Salt.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the pet can see the fluorescent material, while also ensuring the attractant has a low toxicity (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kupka discloses the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 17.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the UV, violet and blue spectra.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the UV, violet and blue spectra (“The at least one fluorescent compound on the present invention must be a compound that is not harmful to cats or the environment. Fluorescent whitening agents, called optical brighteners, are fluorescent materials that can absorb UV light and emit visible (blue-violet). When exposed to white light, they can also emit UV light.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to fluoresce in the UV, violet and blue spectra as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure animals such as cats will be able to see and detect the fluorescent material (Kershman Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claim 20, Kupka discloses the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 17.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound is selected from the group consisting of 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid, 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene, 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole), and 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound is selected from the group consisting of 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid, 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene, 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole), and 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt (“The most common classes of compounds with this property are the stilbenes, e.g., 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid and 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic Acid Sodium Salt. The compounds 4,4′-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene and 2,2′-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole) are also intensely fluorescent and used as optical brighteners.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise on of the above compounds as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the pet can see the fluorescent material, while also ensuring the attractant has a low toxicity (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka in view of Kershman as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Renforth (US 2006/0260556).
Regarding Claim 7, Kupka as modified teaches the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 2. Kupka further discloses wherein the absorbent pad has a top layer (excretion surface 111), and wherein the at least one fluorescent compound is applied as a coating, applique (“the visually stimulating indicium 12 takes the form of a printed indicium but may take the form of any other suitable connection or application implement, such as, but not limited to embroidery stitching or connection means,” Paragraph [0010]), or adhesive-backed laminate on the top layer of the absorbent pad.
Kupka fails to disclose wherein the absorbent pad has a polymer top layer.
However, Renforth teaches an animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the absorbent pad has a polymer top layer (“the top layer may be paper” Paragraph [0009]; paper is a natural polymer; “the top layer 110 may be formed from an appropriate synthetic or natural fabric permitting urine to pass therethrough” Paragraph [0024]; natural fabrics are polymers).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top layer of Kupka, to be a polymer layer as taught by Renforth, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help maintain a safe and hygienic space for the animal.
Regarding Claim 8, Kupka as modified teaches the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 7. K
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the polymer top layer is translucent or transparent and the at least one fluorescent compound is embedded in the polymer top layer.
However, Renforth teaches an animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the polymer top layer is translucent or transparent and the at least one attractant is embedded in the polymer top layer (“may construct the top layer 110 from an at least partially transparent or translucent material to allow the observer to see the middle layer 120.” Paragraph [0022]; “the graphic 170 may be silk-screened, pad printed, screen printed, digitally printed, laser printed, inkjet printed, and so forth onto the top layer 110. Similarly, the pattern may be woven into the fabric of the top layer 110.” Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent compound of Kupka, to be embedded in a transparent or translucent material top layer as taught by Renforth, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the attractant remains in place during use, in order to ensure proper use of the pad, while also ensuring the pet can properly see the attractant.
Regarding Claim 9, Kupka as modified teaches the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 8.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the polymer top layer has a translucent or transparent coating containing the at least one fluorescent compound.
However, Renforth teaches the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the polymer top layer has a translucent or transparent coating containing at least one attractant (“the graphic 170 may be silk-screened, pad printed, screen printed, digitally printed, laser printed, inkjet printed, and so forth onto the top layer 110. Similarly, the pattern may be woven into the fabric of the top layer 110.” Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent compound of Kupka, to be a translucent coating as taught by Renforth, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the attractant remains in place during use, in order to ensure proper use of the pad, while also ensuring the pet can properly see the attractant.
Alternatively, Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka in view of Kershman and Renforth as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wiesenfeld (US 2024/0306594).
Regarding Claim 9, as explained above, the examiner outlines that Kupka in view of Renforth teaches the claimed invention. If, however, it can be interpreted that Renforth does not specifically teach the attractant being a translucent coating, the alternative 103 rejection applies.
Kupka further discloses the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the top layer contains at least one fluorescent compound (UV marker pigment 126).
Kupka fails to disclose wherein the polymer top layer has a translucent or transparent coating containing at least one fluorescent compound.
However, Wiesenfeld teaches an animal attractant pet potty wherein fluorescent compound is a translucent or transparent coating containing at least one fluorescent compound (“the fluorescent compound is blended with a translucent or transparent paint and applied” Paragraph [0020]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent compound of Kupka, to be a translucent coating as taught by Wiesenfeld, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the attractant remains in place during use, in order to ensure proper use of the pad, while also ensuring the pet can properly see the attractant.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Renforth (US 2006/0260556).
Regarding Claim 19, Kupka discloses the animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 17.
Kupka fails to disclose wherein the polymer top layer has a translucent or transparent coating containing at least one fluorescent compound.
However, Renforth teaches an animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the polymer top layer has a translucent or transparent coating containing at least one attractant (“the graphic 170 may be silk-screened, pad printed, screen printed, digitally printed, laser printed, inkjet printed, and so forth onto the top layer 110. Similarly, the pattern may be woven into the fabric of the top layer 110.” Paragraph [0029]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent compound of Kupka, to be a translucent coating as taught by Renforth, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the attractant remains in place during use, in order to ensure proper use of the pad, while also ensuring the pet can properly see the attractant.
Alternatively, Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Wiesenfeld (US 2024/0306594).
Regarding Claim 19, as explained above, the examiner outlines that Kupka in view of Renforth teaches the claimed invention. If, however, it can be interpreted that Renforth does not specifically teach the attractant being a translucent coating, the alternative 103 rejection applies.
Kupka further discloses the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the top layer contains at least one fluorescent compound (UV marker pigment 126).
Kupka fails to disclose wherein the polymer top layer has a translucent or transparent coating containing at least one fluorescent compound.
However, Wiesenfeld teaches an animal attractant pet potty wherein fluorescent compound is a translucent or transparent coating containing at least one fluorescent compound (“the fluorescent compound is blended with a translucent or transparent paint and applied” Paragraph [0020]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent compound of Kupka, to be a translucent coating as taught by Wiesenfeld, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure the attractant remains in place during use, in order to ensure proper use of the pad, while also ensuring the pet can properly see the attractant.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka (US 2022/0330516) in view of Vicari et al. (US 20060102093).
Regarding Claim 10, Kupka discloses an animal attractant absorbent pad (Figure 1) consisting of an absorbent pad (pad body 11 with absorbent layer 112) and at least one fluorescent compound (UV marker pigment 126),
wherein the absorbent pad does not contain urine (“In the preferred embodiment, the UV marker pigment 126 takes the form of any suitable pigment that is detectable by UV light.” Paragraph [0018]);
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the absence of urine, feces, blood, and other bodily fluids (“the UV marker pigment 126 serves as an additional dichromatic detecting feature distributed along the visually stimulating indicium 12, where the UV marker pigment 126 is configured to be detected by dichromatic animals that can detect UV coloration schemes under normal lighting conditions” Paragraph [0018]);
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound visibly glows when the absorbent pad is exposed to ultraviolet light (Paragraph [0018]); and
wherein the at least one fluorescent compound is configured to attract the animal to eliminate on the absorbent pad (Figure 1; Paragraph [0018]).
Kupka fails to disclose wherein the absorbent pad is washable.
However, Vicari teaches an animal absorbent pad (Abstract), wherein the absorbent pad is washable (“The absorbent pads of the invention are reusable, durable and economical. They may be machine washed and dried,” Paragraph [0033]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the absorbent pad of Kupka, to be washable as taught by Vicari, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow the pad to easily be cleaned, to maintain a safe and hygienic environment for the pet.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka in view of Vicari as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of La Torre (US 11116176).
Regarding Claim 11, Kupka as modified teaches the washable animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 10. Kupka further discloses the washable animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the pad has a top layer and a bottom layer (excretion surface 111, absorbent layer 112, impermeable layer 113), the bottom layer is water-impermeable (impermeable layer 113).
Kupka fails to disclose wherein the top layer is an absorbent fabric.
However, La Torre teaches an absorbent pad wherein the top layer (first sheet 110; Figure 5) is an absorbent fabric (“said first sheet is made of a nonwoven fabric having absorbent properties” Claim 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top layer of Kupka, to be an absorbent fabric as taught by La Torre, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help increase overall absorptivity of the pad, and help decrease any chances of leakage.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kupka in view of Vicari as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kershman et al. (US 2024/0090471).
Regarding Claim 12, Kupka as modified teaches the washable animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 10.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the UV, violet and blue spectra.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound fluoresces in the UV, violet and blue spectra (“The at least one fluorescent compound on the present invention must be a compound that is not harmful to cats or the environment. Fluorescent whitening agents, called optical brighteners, are fluorescent materials that can absorb UV light and emit visible (blue-violet). When exposed to white light, they can also emit UV light.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to fluoresce in the UV, violet and blue spectra as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help ensure animals such as cats will be able to see and detect the fluorescent material (Kershman Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kupka as modified teaches the washable animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 12.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises anionic diamino stilbene or distyryl biphenyl derivatives.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises anionic diamino stilbene or distyryl biphenyl derivatives (“Preferably, they are hydrophilic water-soluble compounds, and are mainly anionic diamino stilbene (DAS) or distyryl biphenyl (DSBP) derivatives” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise anionic diamino stilbene or distyryl biphenyl derivatives as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the pet can see the fluorescent material, while also ensuring the attractant has a low toxicity (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 14, Kupka as modified teaches the washable animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 10.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid (“The most common classes of compounds with this property are the stilbenes, e.g., 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise 4,4′-diamino-2,2′-stilbenedisulfonic acid as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the pet can see the fluorescent material, while also ensuring the attractant has a low toxicity (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kupka as modified teaches the washable animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 10.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene or 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole).
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene or 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole) (“The compounds 4,4′-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene and 2,2′-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole) are also intensely fluorescent and used as optical brighteners.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise 4,4'-bis(benzoxazolyl)-cis-stilbene or 2,2'-(2,5-thiophenediyl)-bis(5-tert-butylbenzoxazole) as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the fluorescent material is sufficiently bright enough for the pet to see (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kupka as modified teaches the washable animal attractant absorbent pad of claim 10.
Kupka fails to disclose the animal attractant absorbent pad, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt.
However, Kershman teaches a similar pet potty attractant, wherein the at least one fluorescent compound comprises 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt (“The most common classes of compounds with this property are the stilbenes, e.g., … 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic Acid Sodium Salt.” Paragraph [0016]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluorescent attractant of Kupka, to comprise 4-(2H-Naphtho[1,2-d]triazol-2-yl)-2-stilbenesulfonic acid sodium salt as taught by Kershman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure the pet can see the fluorescent material, while also ensuring the attractant has a low toxicity (Kershman Paragraph [0016]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 that distyryl biphenyl derivatives are well known in the art and then points to a website that described optical brighteners. However, Applicant fails to provide a list of the derivatives, or which derivatives are included in the claim or not. Without a list of derivatives, it is unclear exactly what the scope of the claim is, and exactly what compounds are within the scope. For example, what if there are new derivatives that are found in the future? Without a clear scope of what is included, the claims are rendered indefinite.
Applicant argues on page 12 that Kupka’s invention now falls outside of the scope of the consisting of language of claims 1, 10, and 17. The Office respectfully disagrees. While Kupka’s invention does disclose both the use of the UV pigments, as well as the dichromatic features, the invention would still function without the use of the dichromatic features. It has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184. In this case if dichromatic features were removed, the pet pad with just the UV marker pigments would still function in the same manner, with the UV pigments being the attractant.
Applicant argues on pages 12-13 that references Kershman et al. (US 2024/0090471) and Wiesenfeld (US 2024/0306594) cannot be used as prior art rejections as they have the same applicant. The Office respectfully disagrees. As stated above, the current application has an effective filing date of 10/27/2025. This is because the parent application that applicant is claiming priority to, does not include the subject matter related to a pad. Kershman was published on 3/21/2024 and Weisenfeld was published on 9/19/2024. Since both of these are published documents, and the instant application does not get the earlier priority date, both of these references are considered prior art. Therefore, while Kershman and Wiesenfeld could not be used for their effective filing date under 102(a)(2), they are allowed to be used as prior art as of their publication dates under 102(a)(1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642