DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Chinese parent Application Nos. CN202411640509.2, filed on November 15, 2024 and CN202511232710.1, filed on August 29, 2025.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The certified copy has been filed in U.S. provisional application No. 63/722,081, filed on November 19, 2024.
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Preliminary Amendment filed on November 17, 2025, claims 1-19 are pending. Claim 15 has been amended to be put into independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2006/0276096 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an organic light-emitting element (Figs. 1-6, generally, Summary), comprising:
a substrate (Figs. 2-6, substrate, #20; Detailed Description. [0101-0103]);
organic light-emitting units, located over the substrate (Figs. 5-6, organic layer, #50; Detailed Description, [0112]), each of the organic light-emitting units comprising:
a first electrode, located over the substrate (Figs. 2-6, common electrode, #22; Detailed Description, [0102-0112]);
an organic light-emitting layer, located over the first electrode (Figs. 5-6, organic active layers, #54/56/58); and
a second electrode, located over the organic light-emitting layer, wherein one of the first electrode and the second electrode comprises a transparent conductive material (Figs. 6, conductive members #64, electrodes, #62; Detailed Descriptions, [0117]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein, at least two organic light-emitting units of the same color of light among the organic light-emitting units comprise organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses.
However, Wang does provide the suggestion of a variety of different thicknesses of the light-emitting layers (Detailed Description, [0112-0114], “The light-emitting material may be dispersed in a matrix of another material, with or without an additive, but typically forms a layer alone. In one embodiment, each of the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 generally has a thickness in the range of approximately 40 to 100 nm.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the thickness of the organic light-emitting units to utilize the suggestions within Wang to provide wherein, at least two organic light-emitting units of the same color of light among the organic light-emitting units comprise organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses. Such a modification is a matter of design choice and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill without undue influence, as a variety of differing thicknesses are known and already suggested by the reference. Furthermore, Wang also discloses particular colors of the organic light-emitting units, which also makes it obvious to try from a limited set of finite thickness possibilities that are identified in the prior art with predictable solutions (See MPEP 2143 and Wang, Detailed Description, [0117]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein the first electrodes comprise electrode portions arranged separately (see embodiment of Fig. 9, electrodes, #62; conductive members, #64; Detailed Description, [0132-0145]), the organic light-emitting layers comprise first organic light-emitting layers, second organic light-emitting layers and third organic light-emitting layers configured to correspond to the electrode portions, respectively (Detailed Description, [0116], organic active layer, #54/56/58), a luminescence wavelength of the second organic light-emitting layers is greater than a luminescence wavelength of the first organic light-emitting layers (Detailed Description, [01112-116], “In one embodiment, the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 correspond to different colors used in an array. For example, for a full-color display, different materials for the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 can be used to achieve red, green, and blue light-emitting components. In a particular embodiment, the organic active layer 54 is used in red light-emitting components, the organic active layer 56 is used in green light-emitting components, and the organic active layer 58 is used in blue light-emitting components. In another embodiment, radiation may be emitted from a charge-blocking layer, charge-injection layer, charge-transport layer, or any combination thereof in addition to, or in place of, the corresponding organic active layer. Thus, for a red light-emitting organic layer, red light may be emitted from the organic active layer 54, one or more corresponding layers adjacent to the organic active layer 54, or a combination thereof. For a green light-emitting organic layer, green light may be emitted from the organic active layer 56, one or more corresponding layers adjacent to the organic active layer 56, or a combination thereof. For a blue light-emitting organic layer, blue light may be emitted from the organic active layer 58, one or more corresponding layers adjacent to the organic active layer 58, or a combination thereof.”; See next Detailed Description, [0050-0065] on differing wavelengths of color layers),
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein at least two of second organic light-emitting units of the organic light-emitting units comprise the second organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses.
However, Wang does provide the suggestion of a variety of different thicknesses of the light-emitting layers (Detailed Description, [0112-0114], “The light-emitting material may be dispersed in a matrix of another material, with or without an additive, but typically forms a layer alone. In one embodiment, each of the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 generally has a thickness in the range of approximately 40 to 100 nm.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the thickness of the second organic light-emitting units to provide wherein at least two of second organic light-emitting units of the organic light-emitting units comprise the second organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses. Such a modification is a matter of design choice and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill without undue influence, as a variety of differing thicknesses are known and already suggested by the reference. Furthermore, Wang also discloses particular colors of the organic light-emitting units, which also makes it obvious to try from a limited set of finite thickness possibilities that are identified in the prior art with predictable solutions (See MPEP 2143 and Wang, Detailed Description, [0117]).
Regarding claim 3, this is met by the teachings and modification to Wang of differing thicknesses of two of the first organic light-emitting layers as set forth in claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 4, Wang further discloses wherein the luminescence wavelength of the first organic light-emitting layers is greater than a luminescence wavelength of the third organic light-emitting layers (Detailed Description, [01112-116], “In one embodiment, the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 correspond to different colors used in an array. For example, for a full-color display, different materials for the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 can be used to achieve red, green, and blue light-emitting components. In a particular embodiment, the organic active layer 54 is used in red light-emitting components, the organic active layer 56 is used in green light-emitting components, and the organic active layer 58 is used in blue light-emitting components. In another embodiment, radiation may be emitted from a charge-blocking layer, charge-injection layer, charge-transport layer, or any combination thereof in addition to, or in place of, the corresponding organic active layer. Thus, for a red light-emitting organic layer, red light may be emitted from the organic active layer 54, one or more corresponding layers adjacent to the organic active layer 54, or a combination thereof. For a green light-emitting organic layer, green light may be emitted from the organic active layer 56, one or more corresponding layers adjacent to the organic active layer 56, or a combination thereof. For a blue light-emitting organic layer, blue light may be emitted from the organic active layer 58, one or more corresponding layers adjacent to the organic active layer 58, or a combination thereof.”; See next Detailed Description, [0050-0065] on differing wavelengths of color layers),.
Wang does not disclose explicitly wherein at least two of third organic light-emitting units of the organic light-emitting units comprise the third organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses.
However, Wang does provide the suggestion of a variety of different thicknesses of the light-emitting layers (Detailed Description, [0112-0114], “The light-emitting material may be dispersed in a matrix of another material, with or without an additive, but typically forms a layer alone. In one embodiment, each of the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 generally has a thickness in the range of approximately 40 to 100 nm.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the thickness of the third organic light-emitting units to provide wherein at least two of third organic light-emitting units of the organic light-emitting units comprise the third organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses. Such a modification is a matter of design choice and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill without undue influence, as a variety of differing thicknesses are known and already suggested by the reference. Furthermore, Wang also discloses particular colors of the organic light-emitting units, which also makes it obvious to try from a limited set of finite thickness possibilities that are identified in the prior art with predictable solutions (See MPEP 2143 and Wang, Detailed Description, [0117]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the organic light-emitting element further comprising pixel defined layers (PDL) to define pixel regions (see Figs. 1, Detailed Description, [0090-0100]), wherein the first electrodes comprise electrode portions arranged separately in the pixel regions (see embodiment of Fig. 9, electrodes, #62; conductive members, #64; Detailed Description, [0132-0145]), the pixel defined layers comprise protrusions partially covering the electrode portions (Figs. 6-9, conductive members, #764; See alternatively, conductive members, #32).
Wang does not explicitly at least two of the protrusions have different maximum vertical heights.
However, Wang does provide suggestion of differently sized protrusions (see Wang, Detailed Description, [0103-0105][0121-123])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the heights of the protrusions within Wang to provide at least two of the protrusions have different maximum vertical heights. Such a modification is a matter of design choice and change in size/proportion and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill without undue influence, as a variety of differing heights are known and already suggested by the reference. (See also MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 6, Wang as modified discloses or suggests every element of claim 5, and Wang further discloses wherein the protrusions comprise an organic material (Detailed Description, [0124-0125]).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have modified Wang as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, this is met by the modification to Wang as set forth in claim 5 on different maximum vertical height of protrusions.
Regarding claim 11, this is met by the modification to Wang as set forth in claim 5 on different maximum vertical height of protrusions wand the modification to Wang as set forth in claim 3 on differing thicknesses of two of the first organic light-emitting layers
Regarding claim 13, this is met by the rejection to claim 3 on differing thicknesses of three of the organic light-emitting layers of a same color.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the organic light-emitting element further comprising
comprising pixel regions arranged in matrices along a first direction and a second direction, wherein each of the pixel regions comprises at least three of the organic light-emitting units of different colors of light (Figs. 1-6, See also Fig. 25, showing a grid pattern and detailed description, [0206]),
Wang does not explicitly disclose the organic light-emitting units of at least two of the pixel regions arranged along the first direction or the second direction comprise organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses.
However, Wang does provide the suggestion of a variety of different thicknesses of the light-emitting layers (Detailed Description, [0112-0114], “The light-emitting material may be dispersed in a matrix of another material, with or without an additive, but typically forms a layer alone. In one embodiment, each of the organic active layers 54, 56, and 58 generally has a thickness in the range of approximately 40 to 100 nm.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the thickness of the organic light-emitting units to utilize the suggestions within Wang to provide wherein at least two of the pixel regions arranged along the first direction or the second direction comprise organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses. Such a modification is a matter of design choice and would have been pursued by one of ordinary skill without undue influence, as a variety of differing thicknesses are known and already suggested by the reference. Furthermore, Wang also discloses particular colors of the organic light-emitting units, which also makes it obvious to try from a limited set of finite thickness possibilities that are identified in the prior art with predictable solutions (See MPEP 2143 and Wang, Detailed Description, [0117]).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2025/0316212 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Wang as modified discloses or suggests every element of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein under a same driving current, at least two of the organic light-emitting units emitting a same color of light among the organic light-emitting units have different luminances.
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, discuses an organic light-emitting element wherein under a same driving current, at least two of the organic light-emitting units emitting a same color of light among the organic light-emitting units have different luminances (Kim, Detailed Description, [0234-0245] and Fig. 10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have modified the driving scheme of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kim in such a way to provide wherein under a same driving current, at least two of the organic light-emitting units emitting a same color of light among the organic light-emitting units have different luminances. The motivation to combine these arts is to control the luminance and gray level through the individual pixels based on characteristics of the subpixels (See Kim, Detailed Description, [0240-0245]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses every element of claim 1 and further discloses the portion of the organic light-emitting units is arranged in a sloped line or an arc (Figs. 4-9, #64 has sloped portion in middle; Detailed Description, [0117-0120]).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein under a same grayscale value, a portion of the organic light-emitting units emitting the same color of light among the organic light-emitting units has a same luminance
Kim, in a similar field of endeavor, discuses an organic light-emitting element wherein under a same grayscale value, a portion of the organic light-emitting units emitting the same color of light among the organic light-emitting units has a same luminance (Kim, Detailed Description, [0234-0245] and Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have modified the driving scheme of Wang to incorporate the teachings of Kim in such a way to provide wherein under a same grayscale value, a portion of the organic light-emitting units emitting the same color of light among the organic light-emitting units has a same luminance. The motivation to combine these arts is to control the luminance and gray level through the individual pixels based on characteristics of the subpixels (See Kim, Detailed Description, [0240-0245]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang as modified combined with Kim discloses every element of claim 9, and Wang discloses wherein the portion of the organic light-emitting units having the same luminance comprises the organic light-emitting layers having a same thickness (Detailed Description, [0104-0129]).
Thus, this is met by the rejection by claim 9 with the modification and combination of wang and Kim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record does not disclose a method for correcting pixel luminance values of an organic light-emitting element, comprising:
providing an organic light-emitting element, wherein the organic light-emitting element comprises pixels and a pixel driving circuit, and the pixel driving circuit comprises driving transistors configured to provide driving currents to respective one of the pixels, wherein each of the pixels comprises an organic light-emitting unit over a substrate, and the organic light-emitting unit comprises an organic light-emitting layer between a first electrode and a second electrode, one of the first electrode and the second electrode comprises a transparent conductive material, wherein at least two organic light-emitting units of the same color of light among the organic light-emitting units comprise the organic light-emitting layers having different thicknesses;
applying the driving currents to the respective pixels by the driving transistors;
obtaining a grayscale image to be processed of the pixels;
calculating a balance luminance value of the grayscale image to be processed;
determining a luminance difference between a luminance value of each of the pixels and the balance luminance value; and
adjusting the driving currents to the respective pixels to compensate for the luminance difference.
The relevant references do not show the entirety of the structural and functional features of independent claim 15. Claims 16-19 are dependent off of claim 15 and are allowed as a result of their dependencies. Further reasons for allowance may be furnished in a Notice of Allowance.
Claims 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The relevant references do not show nor render obvious the particular relational and structural features recited in claim 12, specifically the aspects of the organic light emitting element having a first side edge and a second side edge, wherein the second side edge is opposite to the first side edge, and two of the organic light-emitting units comprising the organic light-emitting layers of the same color of light but different thicknesses are located in a horizontal direction and are respectively adjacent to the first side edge and the second side edge.
Further reasons for allowance may be furnished subsequently in a Notice of Allowance.
Other References
The following references are also cited as pertinent but may not be relied upon within this Action: Baek (DE 10201910733); Lee et al. (US 2024/0304146 A1)
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626