DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on October 28th, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for divisional priority to application 17/730316 filed April 27th, 2022, and further foreign priority to KR10-2021-0084990 filed June 29th, 2021.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “relatively higher” in claims 7 and 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relatively” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how much higher is relatively higher.
The term “close to a ramp” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear within what distance is considered close to the ramp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1—3, 6-11, 13-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20200354170 (hereinafter, “Priest”) in view of US-20210125507 (hereinafter, “Haider”).
Regarding claim 1 Priest discloses a method for controlling operation of an aerial vehicle in an aerial vehicle control system (see at least Fig. 19), the method comprising:
approving entry of the aerial vehicle into an aerial vehicle operation zone from a take-off and landing facility of a departure location built into the aerial vehicle control system (see at least [0119]; “During preflight, the UAV 50 is configured to communicate with the air traffic control system 300 for approvals (e.g., flight plan, destination, the flying lane 700, etc.) and notification thereof, for verification (e.g., weather delivery authorization, etc.) and the like. The key aspect of the communication during the preflight is for the air traffic control system 300 to become aware of the flying lane 700, to ensure it is open, and to approve the UAV 50 for takeoff,” approving the UAV for takeoff is equivalent to approving the aerial vehicle to enter an aerial vehicle operation zone);
controlling an operation of the aerial vehicle in the aerial vehicle operation zone (see at least [0103]; “The servers 200 are configured to perform air traffic control functionality of the UAV air traffic control system 300. Specifically, the servers 200 are configured to perform separation assurance, navigation, traffic management, landing, and general control of the UAVs 50…the general control can also include automated flight of the UAVs 50 through the UAV air traffic control system 300, such as for autonomous UAVs”); and
approving exit of the aerial vehicle from the aerial vehicle operation zone into a take-off and landing facility of a destination location (see at least [0116]; “the air traffic control system 300 can be configured to provide landing authorization and management in addition to the aforementioned air traffic control functions and package delivery authorization and management…the air traffic control system 300 can control and approve the landing,”),
wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone includes a first operation zone and a second operation zone (see at least [220]; “The plurality of flying lanes can include lanes for entry and exit allowing the one or more UAVs to take off or land, lanes for the intermediate flight which are positioned adjacent to the lanes for entry and exit, and lanes for high speed at a higher altitude than the lanes for intermediate flight,” the intermediate flight lane corresponds to Applicant’s second operation zone, and the high-speed lane corresponds to Applicant’s first operation zone), and the first operation zone is managed as a course above the second operation zone (see at least [0220]; “The plurality of flying lanes can include lanes for entry and exit allowing the one or more UAVs to take off or land, lanes for the intermediate flight which are positioned adjacent to the lanes for entry and exit, and lanes for high speed at a higher altitude than the lanes for intermediate flight,” the intermediate flight lane corresponds to Applicant’s second operation zone, and the high-speed lane corresponds to Applicant’s first operation zone),
wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone comprises a supplementary operation zone set by expanding the aerial vehicle operation zone based on location of an obstacle (see at least [0125]; “During the flight, either the UAV detects an obstacle 710 or the air traffic control system 300 is notified from another source of the obstacle 710 and alerts the UAV 50. Again, the UAVs 50 are flying at lower altitudes, and the obstacle 710 can be virtually anything that is temporary such as a crane, a vehicle, etc. or that is permanent such as a building, tree, etc. The UAV 50 is configured, with assistance and control from the air traffic control system 300 to adjust the flying lane 700 to overcome the obstacle 710 as well as add a buffer amount, such as 35 feet or any other amount for safety,” the rerouted portion of the UAV path is based on where a fixed obstacle such as a building or a tree is located, it would be obvious that the rerouted portion would correspond to the lane extending upward, downward, to the right, or to the left).
Priest does not disclose wherein… the supplementary operation zone is predefined before the aerial vehicle is approved to enter the aerial vehicle operation zone.
Haider, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein…the supplementary operation zone is predefined before the aerial vehicle is approved to enter the aerial vehicle operation zone (see at least [0080]; "the flight highway may be configured to include a "side of the highway shoulder" area, being an area on the side of a flight highway lane, whereby a UAV that needs to leave the flight highway for any reason (e.g., a malfunction, or any other reason) may be moved from a flight highway lane to the shoulder," similar to a ground-vehicle road the highways include pre-defined shoulders for emergency use, which would correspond to Applicant's supplementary operation zone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest with the shoulder of Haider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving efficient travel of the UAVs along the flight highway (see at least Haider [0058]).
Regarding claim 2 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is set based on a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated (see at least [0259]; “The flight plan can include instructing the UAV 50 to follow a road, street, or a highway at a particular altitude for a specific distance and then move to new coordinates once the distance is achieved. The UAV 50 maintaining flight along the road can be achieved by following a specific set of coordinates identifying the path over the road, street or highway and can also be achieved by using cameras to identify the road and to maintain flight above the road until the distance is achieved or until a set of coordinates, signifying the distance has been achieved, is reached…the flying lanes themselves can be defined and standardized in such a way as to be over a road, street, or highway” the flight plan, which comprises an aerial vehicle operation zone may be set based on the road).
Regarding claim 3 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is set at a predetermined height above a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated (see at least [0259]; “The flight plan can include instructing the UAV 50 to follow a road, street, or a highway at a particular altitude for a specific distance and then move to new coordinates once the distance is achieved”).
Regarding claim 6 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Haider, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a first aerial vehicle moving in the first operation zone and a second aerial vehicle moving in the second operation zone are set according to a type of the first aerial vehicle and the second aerial vehicle (see at least [0056]; "The flight highway may incorporate multiple flight highway lanes at one or more layers. Each layer on the flight highway incorporates one or more lanes positioned at a specific distance from the ground level. One or more layers may be designated for travel of a particular type of UAV," depending on the type of UAV it is assigned to a certain layer, which corresponds to Applicant's operation zones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest with the type specific lanes of Haider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving efficient travel of the UAVs along the flight highway (see at least Haider [0058]).
Regarding claim 7 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the first operation zone is set as a relatively higher zone than the second operation zone (see at least [0220]; “The plurality of flying lanes can include lanes for entry and exit allowing the one or more UAVs to take off or land, lanes for the intermediate flight which are positioned adjacent to the lanes for entry and exit, and lanes for high speed at a higher altitude than the lanes for intermediate flight,” the intermediate flight lane corresponds to Applicant’s second operation zone, and the high-speed lane corresponds to Applicant’s first operation zone).
Regarding claim 8 Priest discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein controlling an operation of the aerial vehicle comprises checking a speed of the aerial vehicle (see at least Priest [0102]; “Using triangulation or other location identification techniques (GPS, GLONASS, etc.), the location, altitude speed, and direction or each UAV 50 can be continuously monitored and reports back to the servers 200”).
Priest does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to…set, based on the checked speed, the aerial vehicle operation zone in which the aerial vehicle is to be operated.
Haider, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein controlling an operation of the aerial vehicle comprises … setting, based on the checked speed, the aerial vehicle operation zone in which the aerial vehicle is to be operated (see at least [0058]; “the owner of a UAV may request that a UAV be allowed to travel at a faster speed, such as if an emergency occurs or some other reason occurs mid-flight, and this may require the UAV to be moved to a lane and/or layer that moves at a faster speed,” and [0119]; “Specific lanes in the flight highway, at a single layer or multiple layers, or lanes or portions of lanes, of the flight highway, may be for particular types of travel of UAVs, such as travel in a particular direction, travel at a particular speed, etc.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest with the speed specific lanes of Haider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving efficient travel of the UAVs along the flight highway (see at least Haider [0058]).
Regarding claim 9 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein a location of the supplementary operation zone, a size of the supplementary operation zone, or a shape of the supplementary operation zone is adaptively set based on a type of obstacle in the aerial vehicle operation zone (see at least [0125]; “During the flight, either the UAV detects an obstacle 710 or the air traffic control system 300 is notified from another source of the obstacle 710 and alerts the UAV 50. Again, the UAVs 50 are flying at lower altitudes, and the obstacle 710 can be virtually anything that is temporary such as a crane, a vehicle, etc. or that is permanent such as a building, tree, etc. The UAV 50 is configured, with assistance and control from the air traffic control system 300 to adjust the flying lane 700 to overcome the obstacle 710 as well as add a buffer amount, such as 35 feet or any other amount for safety,” the rerouted portion of the lane is based at least in part on the type of obstacle).
Regarding claim 10 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 9. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the supplementary operation zone is set by expanding the aerial vehicle operation zone either vertically or horizontally when the obstacle is a fixed obstacle (see at least [0125]; “During the flight, either the UAV detects an obstacle 710 or the air traffic control system 300 is notified from another source of the obstacle 710 and alerts the UAV 50. Again, the UAVs 50 are flying at lower altitudes, and the obstacle 710 can be virtually anything that is temporary such as a crane, a vehicle, etc. or that is permanent such as a building, tree, etc. The UAV 50 is configured, with assistance and control from the air traffic control system 300 to adjust the flying lane 700 to overcome the obstacle 710 as well as add a buffer amount, such as 35 feet or any other amount for safety,” the rerouted portion of the UAV path is based on where a fixed obstacle such as a building or a tree is located, it would be obvious that the rerouted portion would correspond to the lane extending upward, downward, to the right, or to the left).
Regarding claim 11 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 10. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the supplementary operation zone is set by selecting one of 8 directions as an optimal evasion zone when the obstacle is a movable obstacle (see at least [0125]; “During the flight, either the UAV detects an obstacle 710 or the air traffic control system 300 is notified from another source of the obstacle 710 and alerts the UAV 50. Again, the UAVs 50 are flying at lower altitudes, and the obstacle 710 can be virtually anything that is temporary such as a crane, a vehicle, etc. or that is permanent such as a building, tree, etc. The UAV 50 is configured, with assistance and control from the air traffic control system 300 to adjust the flying lane 700 to overcome the obstacle 710 as well as add a buffer amount, such as 35 feet or any other amount for safety,” when an obstacle is detected, a UAV is rerouted to avoid the obstacle, this rerouted portion corresponds to a supplementary operation zone, it would be obvious that the rerouting would constitute the path extending either horizontally and vertically).
Regarding claim 13 Priest discloses an apparatus for controlling operation of an aerial vehicle in an aerial vehicle control system (see at least Fig. 17),
the apparatus comprising a processor (see at least [0158]; “In another embodiment, an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) air traffic control and monitoring system for obstruction detection and management includes a network interface and one or more processors communicatively coupled to one another; and memory storing instructions”) configured to,
approve entry of the aerial vehicle into an aerial vehicle operation zone from a take-off and landing facility of a departure location built into the aerial vehicle control system (see at least [0119]; “During preflight, the UAV 50 is configured to communicate with the air traffic control system 300 for approvals (e.g., flight plan, destination, the flying lane 700, etc.) and notification thereof, for verification (e.g., weather delivery authorization, etc.) and the like. The key aspect of the communication during the preflight is for the air traffic control system 300 to become aware of the flying lane 700, to ensure it is open, and to approve the UAV 50 for takeoff,” approving the UAV for takeoff is equivalent to approving the aerial vehicle to enter an aerial vehicle operation zone);
control an operation of the aerial vehicle in the aerial vehicle operation zone (see at least [0103]; “The servers 200 are configured to perform air traffic control functionality of the UAV air traffic control system 300. Specifically, the servers 200 are configured to perform separation assurance, navigation, traffic management, landing, and general control of the UAVs 50…the general control can also include automated flight of the UAVs 50 through the UAV air traffic control system 300, such as for autonomous UAVs”); and
approve exit of the aerial vehicle from the aerial vehicle operation zone into a take-off and landing facility of a destination location (see at least [0116]; “the air traffic control system 300 can be configured to provide landing authorization and management in addition to the aforementioned air traffic control functions and package delivery authorization and management…the air traffic control system 300 can control and approve the landing,”),
wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone includes a first operation zone and a second operation zone (see at least [220]; “The plurality of flying lanes can include lanes for entry and exit allowing the one or more UAVs to take off or land, lanes for the intermediate flight which are positioned adjacent to the lanes for entry and exit, and lanes for high speed at a higher altitude than the lanes for intermediate flight,” the intermediate flight lane corresponds to Applicant’s second operation zone, and the high-speed lane corresponds to Applicant’s first operation zone), and the first operation zone is managed as a course above the second operation zone (see at least [0220]; “The plurality of flying lanes can include lanes for entry and exit allowing the one or more UAVs to take off or land, lanes for the intermediate flight which are positioned adjacent to the lanes for entry and exit, and lanes for high speed at a higher altitude than the lanes for intermediate flight,” the intermediate flight lane corresponds to Applicant’s second operation zone, and the high-speed lane corresponds to Applicant’s first operation zone),
wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone comprises a supplementary operation zone set by expanding the aerial vehicle operation zone based on location of an obstacle (see at least [0125]; “During the flight, either the UAV detects an obstacle 710 or the air traffic control system 300 is notified from another source of the obstacle 710 and alerts the UAV 50. Again, the UAVs 50 are flying at lower altitudes, and the obstacle 710 can be virtually anything that is temporary such as a crane, a vehicle, etc. or that is permanent such as a building, tree, etc. The UAV 50 is configured, with assistance and control from the air traffic control system 300 to adjust the flying lane 700 to overcome the obstacle 710 as well as add a buffer amount, such as 35 feet or any other amount for safety,” the rerouted portion of the UAV path is based on where a fixed obstacle such as a building or a tree is located, it would be obvious that the rerouted portion would correspond to the lane extending upward, downward, to the right, or to the left).
Priest does not disclose wherein… the supplementary operation zone is predefined before the aerial vehicle is approved to enter the aerial vehicle operation zone.
Haider, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein…the supplementary operation zone is predefined before the aerial vehicle is approved to enter the aerial vehicle operation zone (see at least [0080]; "the flight highway may be configured to include a "side of the highway shoulder" area, being an area on the side of a flight highway lane, whereby a UAV that needs to leave the flight highway for any reason (e.g., a malfunction, or any other reason) may be moved from a flight highway lane to the shoulder," similar to a ground-vehicle road the highways include pre-defined shoulders for emergency use, which would correspond to Applicant's supplementary operation zone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest with the shoulder of Haider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving efficient travel of the UAVs along the flight highway (see at least Haider [0058]).
Regarding claim 14 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is set based on a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated (see at least [0259]; “The flight plan can include instructing the UAV 50 to follow a road, street, or a highway at a particular altitude for a specific distance and then move to new coordinates once the distance is achieved. The UAV 50 maintaining flight along the road can be achieved by following a specific set of coordinates identifying the path over the road, street or highway and can also be achieved by using cameras to identify the road and to maintain flight above the road until the distance is achieved or until a set of coordinates, signifying the distance has been achieved, is reached…the flying lanes themselves can be defined and standardized in such a way as to be over a road, street, or highway” the flight plan, which comprises an aerial vehicle operation zone may be set based on the road).
Regarding claim 15 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is set at a predetermined height above a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated (see at least [0259]; “The flight plan can include instructing the UAV 50 to follow a road, street, or a highway at a particular altitude for a specific distance and then move to new coordinates once the distance is achieved”).
Regarding claim 18 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Haider, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a first aerial vehicle moving in the first operation zone and a second aerial vehicle moving in the second operation zone are set according to a type of the first aerial vehicle and the second aerial vehicle (see at least [0056]; "The flight highway may incorporate multiple flight highway lanes at one or more layers. Each layer on the flight highway incorporates one or more lanes positioned at a specific distance from the ground level. One or more layers may be designated for travel of a particular type of UAV," depending on the type of UAV it is assigned to a certain layer, which corresponds to Applicant's operation zones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest with the type specific lanes of Haider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving efficient travel of the UAVs along the flight highway (see at least Haider [0058]).
Regarding claim 19 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the first operation zone is set as a relatively higher zone than the second operation zone (see at least [0220]; “The plurality of flying lanes can include lanes for entry and exit allowing the one or more UAVs to take off or land, lanes for the intermediate flight which are positioned adjacent to the lanes for entry and exit, and lanes for high speed at a higher altitude than the lanes for intermediate flight,” the intermediate flight lane corresponds to Applicant’s second operation zone, and the high-speed lane corresponds to Applicant’s first operation zone).
Regarding claim 20 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the processor is further configured to check a speed of the aerial vehicle (see at least Priest [0102]; “Using triangulation or other location identification techniques (GPS, GLONASS, etc.), the location, altitude speed, and direction or each UAV 50 can be continuously monitored and reports back to the servers 200”).
Priest does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to… set the aerial vehicle operation zone in which the aerial vehicle is to be operated based on the checked speed.
Haider, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to… set the aerial vehicle operation zone in which the aerial vehicle is to be operated based on the checked speed (see at least [0058]; “the owner of a UAV may request that a UAV be allowed to travel at a faster speed, such as if an emergency occurs or some other reason occurs mid-flight, and this may require the UAV to be moved to a lane and/or layer that moves at a faster speed,” and [0119]; “Specific lanes in the flight highway, at a single layer or multiple layers, or lanes or portions of lanes, of the flight highway, may be for particular types of travel of UAVs, such as travel in a particular direction, travel at a particular speed, etc.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest with the speed specific lanes of Haider. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving efficient travel of the UAVs along the flight highway (see at least Haider [0058]).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priest and Haider as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-20200258400 (hereinafter, “Yuan”).
Regarding claim 4 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is set at a predetermined height (see at least [0259]; “The flight plan can include instructing the UAV 50 to follow a road, street, or a highway at a particular altitude for a specific distance and then move to new coordinates once the distance is achieved”).
Priest does not disclose wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is…above a neighboring zone of a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated.
Yuan, in the same field of endeavor teaches a ground-aware UAV flight planning system wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is…above a neighboring zone of a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated (see at least [0087]; “In some embodiments, the flight planner 315 maintains a buffer zone between the UAV's flight path 331 and roads. The flight planner 315 may generate flight paths 331 where a buffer zone is maintained between the flight path 331 and the road. In an embodiment, the cost function may output weights to keep the UAV from traveling too close to a road. It may be desired for a UAV to keep a certain distance from a road, such as 2 feet or 5 feet in terms of distance in the X-Y plane (not considering altitude). In an embodiment, a road buffer distance may be stored as a threshold value and may define the desired buffer distance for a UAV to keep from a road,” the area past the buffer zone would be considered the applicant’s neighboring zone of a road zone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest as modified by Haider with the buffer zone of Yuan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of if the UAV encounters problems and falls to the ground, it would not interfere with the vehicles on the road (see at least Yuan [0058]).
Regarding claim 5 Priest in view of Haider and Yuan renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Yuan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the neighboring zone of the road zone is set as a preset distance zone from the road zone see at least [0087]; “In some embodiments, the flight planner 315 maintains a buffer zone between the UAV's flight path 331 and roads. The flight planner 315 may generate flight paths 331 where a buffer zone is maintained between the flight path 331 and the road. In an embodiment, the cost function may output weights to keep the UAV from traveling too close to a road. It may be desired for a UAV to keep a certain distance from a road, such as 2 feet or 5 feet in terms of distance in the X-Y plane (not considering altitude). In an embodiment, a road buffer distance may be stored as a threshold value and may define the desired buffer distance for a UAV to keep from a road,” the buffer zone corresponds to the applicants preset distance zone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest as modified by Haider with the buffer zone of Yuan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of if the UAV encounters problems and falls to the ground, it would not interfere with the vehicles on the road (see at least Yuan [0058]).
Regarding claim 16 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Priest discloses wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is set at a predetermined height (see at least [0259]; “The flight plan can include instructing the UAV 50 to follow a road, street, or a highway at a particular altitude for a specific distance and then move to new coordinates once the distance is achieved”).
Priest does not disclose wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is…above a neighboring zone of a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated.
Yuan, in the same field of endeavor teaches a ground-aware UAV flight planning system wherein the aerial vehicle operation zone is…above a neighboring zone of a road zone in which a ground-based vehicle is operated (see at least [0087]; “In some embodiments, the flight planner 315 maintains a buffer zone between the UAV's flight path 331 and roads. The flight planner 315 may generate flight paths 331 where a buffer zone is maintained between the flight path 331 and the road. In an embodiment, the cost function may output weights to keep the UAV from traveling too close to a road. It may be desired for a UAV to keep a certain distance from a road, such as 2 feet or 5 feet in terms of distance in the X-Y plane (not considering altitude). In an embodiment, a road buffer distance may be stored as a threshold value and may define the desired buffer distance for a UAV to keep from a road,” the area past the buffer zone would be considered the applicant’s neighboring zone of a road zone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest as modified by Haider with the buffer zone of Yuan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of if the UAV encounters problems and falls to the ground, it would not interfere with the vehicles on the road (see at least Yuan [0058]).
Regarding claim 17 Priest in view of Haider and Yuan renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 16. Additionally, Yuan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the neighboring zone of the road zone is set as a preset distance zone from the road zone see at least [0087]; “In some embodiments, the flight planner 315 maintains a buffer zone between the UAV's flight path 331 and roads. The flight planner 315 may generate flight paths 331 where a buffer zone is maintained between the flight path 331 and the road. In an embodiment, the cost function may output weights to keep the UAV from traveling too close to a road. It may be desired for a UAV to keep a certain distance from a road, such as 2 feet or 5 feet in terms of distance in the X-Y plane (not considering altitude). In an embodiment, a road buffer distance may be stored as a threshold value and may define the desired buffer distance for a UAV to keep from a road,” the buffer zone corresponds to the applicants preset distance zone).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest as modified by Haider with the buffer zone of Yuan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of if the UAV encounters problems and falls to the ground, it would not interfere with the vehicles on the road (see at least Yuan [0058]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priest and Haider as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-20190333390 (hereinafter, “Woodrow”).
Regarding claim 12 Priest in view of Haider renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 1. Priest does not disclose wherein the take-off and landing facility is located close to a ramp section of an expressway or a service facility of the expressway.
Woodrow, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the take-off and landing facility is located close to a ramp section of an expressway or a service facility of the expressway (see at least [0027]; “In particular, the landing zone(s) can be a location (e.g., proximate to an exit ramp of a highway road) for receiving one or more incoming assets, the dropyard(s) can be a location for holding one or more assets located at the transfer hub, and the launch zone(s) can be a location from which one or more assets can depart the transfer hub”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the aerial vehicle system of Priest as modified by Haider with the landing zone location of Woodrow. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of coordinating asset management between different vehicles (see at least Woodrow; [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-10410532 teaches an aerial vehicle traffic system based upon existing ground roads.
/ASHLEIGH NICOLE TURNBAUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
9/15/26