DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 13, 18-21, 23, 27-31 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Czech et al. (US 2022/0335919 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Czech et al. teaches a ceiling baffle, comprising:
a first panel (40); a second panel (41); a cavity (figure 3; between panels 40 and 41) defined between the first panel (40) and the second panel (41), wherein the cavity is further defined by:
a support wall (20); and
an open end (where 43 is positioned) opposite the support wall (20);
a strip comprising light emitting diodes (LED board 30), wherein the strip is attached to the support wall (20); and
a lens (43) engaged with the first panel (40) and the second panel (41), wherein the lens (43) is positioned intermediate the strip and the open end of the cavity (see figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, further comprising an intermediate panel (see figure 3) positioned intermediate the first panel (40) and the second panel (41), wherein the intermediate panel (40) comprises the support wall (20).
Regarding claim 3, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, further comprising a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end (see figure 9 and 10), wherein the support wall (20) extends between the first longitudinal end and the second longitudinal end along a longitudinal axis (see figure 9 and 10).
Regarding claim 11, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, further comprising a metal substrate (see paragraph [0066] where metal housings disclosed) positioned intermediate the strip and the support wall (support structure 20; paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, wherein the lens (43) comprises a diffused transmission material (see paragraph [0063] where diffusion material is disclosed).
Regarding claim 18, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, wherein the first panel (40) comprises a first bottom surface (see bottom portion of 40 in figure 3) and the second panel (41) comprises a second bottom surface (see bottom portion of 41 in figure 3), and wherein the lens (43) is recessed with respect to the first bottom surface and the second bottom surface (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, wherein the first panel (40) comprises a first bottom surface and the second panel (41) comprises a second bottom surface, and wherein the lens (43) extends downwardly with respect to the first bottom surface (bottom of 40) and the second bottom surface (bottom of 41).
Regarding claim 20, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, wherein the lens comprises a concave cavity (see inner surface of lens 43) defined in a backside thereof that faces the strip (30).
Regarding claim 21, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 20, wherein at least a portion of the strip (30) and at least a portion of each light emitting diode (LEDs on board 31) is positioned in the concave cavity (inner portion of lens 43).
Regarding claim 23, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, wherein the first panel (40) comprises a first retention slot (groove 42), wherein the second panel (41) comprises a second retention slot (see groves in panel 41), and wherein the lens (43) is positioned in and retained between the first retention slot and the second retention slot (see figure 2 where the lens 43 is retained in slots 42 of panels 40 and 41).
Regarding claim 27, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 3, wherein the cavity is further defined by a second open end (see figure 6, where multiple openings formed by 42) at the first longitudinal end and a third open end at the second longitudinal end (see figure 6), and wherein the ceiling baffle further comprises: a second lens (see paragraph [0063] where multiple lenses disclosed) engaged with the first panel and the second panel (40,41), wherein the second lens is positioned intermediate the strip (see figure 6) and the second open end of the cavity (see figure 6); and a third lens (91) engaged with the first panel and the second panel, wherein the third lens (91) is positioned intermediate the strip and the third open end of the cavity.
Regarding claim 28, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, wherein the cavity is further defined by a second open (see figure 6 where multiple openings are formed by 42) end at a first longitudinal end of the ceiling baffle and a third open end at a second longitudinal end of the ceiling baffle (see figure 6), and wherein the ceiling baffle further comprises:
a second lens (paragraph [0063] where multiple lenes are disclosed) engaged with the first panel and the second panel (40 and 41), wherein the second lens is positioned intermediate the strip and the second open end of the cavity (see figure 6); and
a third lens (91) engaged with the first panel and the second panel (40 and 41), wherein the third lens (91) is positioned intermediate the strip and the third open end of the cavity.
Regarding claim 29, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, wherein the first panel (40) comprises a first enclosure defined by walls comprised of felt (see paragraph [0059] where multiple materials disclosed), and wherein the second panel (41) comprises a second enclosure defined by walls comprised of felt (see paragraph [0059] where multiple materials disclosed).
Regarding claim 30, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, further comprising a second strip comprising light emitting diodes (upper LED board 31; figure 4), wherein the second strip (31) is attached to the support wall (see figure 4 where 31 is supported by inner wall) .
Regarding claim 31, Czech et al. teaches a baffle, comprising:
a first wall (40);
a second wall (41);
a chamber (area between first and second walls 40 and 41, respectively) defined between the first wall (40) and the second wall (41), wherein the chamber is further defined by:
a back wall (end cap 46); and
an opening opposite the back wall (end cap 46);
an arrangement of light emitting diodes (30, 31), wherein the arrangement of light emitting diodes (30,31) is supported by the first wall (40) and the second wall (41); and
a diffusion plate (43) positioned intermediate the first wall (40) and the second wall (41), wherein the diffusion plate (43) is positioned intermediate the arrangement of light emitting diodes (30) and the opening (inner surface between 40 and 41).
Regarding claim 37, Czech et al. teaches a baffle, comprising:
a first wall (40);
a second wall (41);
a chamber (opening between wall 40 and 41) defined between the first wall (40) and the second wall (41);
a light assembly (LEDs on LED light board 31 disclosed in paragraph [0064]); and
a diffuser (43; paragraph [0063] discloses lens 43 is frosted to promote diffusion of light) positioned intermediate the first wall (40) and the second wall (41), wherein the diffuser (43) is positioned intermediate the light assembly (30) and the opening (area between 40 and 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czech et al. (US 2022/0335919 A1) in view of Yeo et al. (US 12,460,413 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising:
a first reflective sheet attached to the first panel intermediate the strip and the lens; and a second reflective sheet attached to the second panel intermediate the strip and the lens.
Yeo et al. teaches a first reflective sheet (509left) attached to the first panel intermediate the strip (507) and the lens (508); and a second reflective sheet (509right) attached to the second panel intermediate the strip (507) and the lens (508).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Czech et al. to include a first and second reflective sheet as taught by Yeo et al. to efficiently direct light out of the housing (see column 24, lines 62-65 of Yeo et al.).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czech et al. (US 2022/0335919 A1) in view of Conrad (US 2018/0306972 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Czech et al. teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 13, wherein the diffused transmission material (see paragraph [0063] where diffusion material is disclosed) comprises:
a bottom surface (see outer bottom surface of 43; figure 3));
a first side surface (see left side of lens 43); and
a second side surface (see right side of lens 43) , but does not explicitly teach wherein the first side surface and the second side surface form a triangular shape.
Conrad teaches a diffuser (136; paragraph [0520]) comprising a first side surface and second side surface form a triangular shape (see paragraph [0520] where diffuser 136 may have a triangular shape).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Czech et al. to shape the diffused transmission material in a triangular shape as taught by Conrad to receive and radiate light in a way to achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0400] and [0520] of Conrad).
Regarding claim 15, Czech et al. modified by Conrad teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 14, and Czech et al. teaches further comprising a first connector (24d; figure 3) attached to the first side surface (43b) of the diffused transmission material (43) and a second connector (24c) attached to the second side surface (43a) of the diffused transmission material (43), wherein the first connector (24d) is engaged with the first panel (40), and wherein the second connector (24c) is engaged with the second panel (41).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czech et al. (US 2022/0335919 A1) in view of Conrad (US 2018/0306972 A1) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Yuan et al. (US 2023/0176275 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Czech et al. modified by Conrad teaches the ceiling baffle of claim 15, and Czech et al. further teaches wherein the first connector (24d) and the second connector (24c) are comprised of an opaque material (see paragraph [0059] where opaque material is disclosed), but does not explicitly teach wherein the diffused transmission material is comprised of silicone.
Yuan et al. teaches a diffusive layer 1376 comprising a silicone material (see paragraph [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Czech et al. to include a diffusion transmission material comprised of silicone as taught by Yuan et al. to increase the color uniformity and intensity uniformity of the light emitting from the ceiling baffle (see paragraph [0103] of Yuan et al.).
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875