DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 1, in paragraph 0001, line 2: The phrase --now U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529,-- should be inserted after the phrase “filed April 17, 2024,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
1) In claim 1, section A, subsection (3), line 17: The last instance of the term “the” should be deleted.
2) In claim 1, section B, subsection (2), line 1 and subsection (3), line 1: The last instance of the term “a” should be changed to --the--.
3) In claim 2, line 4: The term --flexible-- should be inserted after the term “first”.
4) In the last line of claim 9: The term --torso-- should be inserted before the term “belt”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 11-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Dependent claims 11-14 and 18-20 are considered to recite positively a human organism since the last three lines of claims 11 and 13 contain the limitation of the or each “torso belt slot facilitating expansion of slotted segments of the torso belt along the transverse axis and substantially parallel to the spine of the patient”, whereas the last three lines of claims 18 and 19 contain the limitation of the or each “leg belt slot facilitating expansion of slotted segments of the leg belt along the transverse axis and substantially parallel to the leg of the patient.” (The examiner respectfully suggests changing the term “facilitating” in each of claims 11, 13, 18 and 19 to the phrase --configured to facilitate-- in order to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101.)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 10, 12-14, 16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,321,972 to Vetter. Claims 1, 9, 10, 12-14, 16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 are considered to disclose all of the limitations as recited in claims 1-8 except for the use of a second strap coupling mechanism disposed at the second end of the anchor strap
which is configured to operatively couple the second end of the anchor strap to a second anchor strap terminal of a second flexible handle assembly. Vetter provides the basic teaching of a flexible lift assist harness (10) comprising a torso belt (12) (as shown in Figures 1 & 2 and as described in column 5, lines 52-54 and in column 7, lines 18-21); a plurality of flexible handle assemblies (22, 23’, 23”) disposed on the torso belt (12) (also as shown in Figures 1 & 2 and as described in column 5, lines 56-66; column 6, lines 10-15 and in column 7, lines 24-33); and at least one anchor strap assembly comprising an anchor strap (14, 15) comprising a flexible resilient material having an elongate configuration, a first end and a second end, a first strap coupling mechanism (60) disposed at the first end of the anchor strap (14, 15) which is configured to operatively couple the first end of the anchor strap to a first flexible handle assembly (22, 23’, 23”), and a second strap coupling mechanism (60) disposed at the second end of the anchor strap (14, 15) which is configured to operatively couple the second end of the anchor strap to a second flexible handle assembly (22, 23’, 23”) (also as shown in Figures 1 & 2 and as described in column 5, lines 60-67; column 6, lines 1-15; column 7, lines 49-52 and in column 8, lines 2-6). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flexible lift assist harness disclosed in claims 1, 9, 10, 12-14, 16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 with the second strap coupling mechanism taught in Vetter with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing an additional lifting handle “whereby a [caregiver] can select a handle position that is most conducive to their, and the [patient’s] body position” as taught by Vetter (column 1, lines 29-32 and column 2, lines 11-17).
Claims 9, 15 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 9, 15 and 16 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529. In other words, claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 fully encompass the subject matter of claims 9, 15 and 16 and therefore anticipate claims 9, 15 and 16. Since claims 9, 15 and 16 are anticipated by claims 1, 18 and 19 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from claims 1, 18 and 19. Thus the invention of claims 1, 18 and 19 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 9, 15 and 16. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 9, 15 and 16 anticipated (fully encompassed) by claims 1, 18 and 19 of the patent, claims 9, 15 and 16 are not patentably distinct from claims 1, 18 and 19, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claims 1, 18 and 19.
Claims 10-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,905,678 to Cumins et al. Claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 do not specifically disclose conditions wherein the torso belt is comprised of a continuous material layer, wherein the torso belt includes a plurality of torso belt slots, and wherein the torso belt includes from about 2 to about 6 torso belt slots. Cumins et al. provide the basic teaching of a support belt
assembly (11) comprising a torso belt (23) which is made of a continuous material layer (as shown in Figures 1-3 & 5-7 and as described in column 3, lines 27-40) and which comprises a pair of torso belt slots (39) (as shown in Figure 5 and as described in column 3, lines 63-66 and in column 4, lines 1-3). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flexible lift assist harness disclosed in claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 with the torso belt and torso belt slots taught in Cumins et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing a simple adjusting means for readily accommodating patients of different sizes as taught by Cumins et al. (column 4, lines 3-9).
Claims 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0283102 to Schwenn et al. Claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 do not specifically disclose conditions wherein the leg belt is comprised of a continuous material layer, wherein the leg belt includes a plurality of leg belt slots, and wherein the leg belt includes from about 2 to about 4 leg belt slots. Schwenn et al. ‘102 provides the basic teaching of a support belt assembly (200) comprising a leg belt (62) which is made of a continuous material layer (66) (as shown in Figures 1-4 and as described on page 3, in paragraph 0044 and on page 4, in paragraph 0054) and which comprises two pairs of leg belt slots (82, 84) (as shown in Figures 3 & 4 and as described on page 4, in paragraph 0055 and on page 5, in paragraph 0061). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flexible lift assist harness disclosed in claims 1, 18 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,478,529 with the leg belt and leg belt slots taught in Schwenn et al. ‘102 with a reasonable expectation of success because this would have achieved the desirable result of providing “a universal [leg] support member…thereby avoiding a requirement of providing separate right and left [leg] members and an unnecessary duplication of inventory” as taught by Schwenn et al. ‘102 (page 4, paragraph 0055).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,073,280 to Farnum. Farnum ‘280 shows the claimed limitations of a flexible lift assist harness comprising: A. a flexible belt assembly (10) comprising: (1) a torso belt (12)
configured to suitably comply with the contours of the torso of a human patient, and configured with elongation elasticity properties which allow the belt (12) to be comfortably secured to the torso of the patient and to be used as a platform for assisting the patient (as shown in Figures 1-3 and as described in column 1, lines 48-57 & 66-67 and in column 2, lines 1-5); (2) a torso belt fixation mechanism (14a, 14b) configured to releasably secure a first end of the torso belt (12) to a second end of the torso belt at a plurality of secured circumferences of the torso belt (as shown in Figures 2 & 3 and as described in column 1, lines 60-67 and in column 2, lines 1-2); B. at least one reinforcement mechanism (19, 34) configured to suitably comply with the contours of the human body and secured to on an outer surface of the torso belt (12) (as shown in Figures 2 & 3 and as described in column 2, lines 6-43); and C. at least one flexible handle (15, 16, 32 & 33) configured to be resilient and to suitably comply with the contours of the human torso and operatively coupled to the at least one reinforcement mechanism (19, 34), with the at least one reinforcement mechanism configured to distribute tension applied to the at least one flexible handle (15, 16, 32 & 33) over a surface area of the torso belt (12) thereby reducing tenting of the belt away from the body (as shown in Figures 1-3 and as described in column 2, lines 38-48); and wherein the torso belt (12) is comprised of a continuous material layer (as shown in Figures 1-3 and as described in column 1, lines 51-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
The examiner respectfully asserts that none of the limitations of the flexible lift assist harness as currently recited in claims 1-8 can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. §§§ 102, 103 and 112;
accordingly, claims 1-8 are considered as being allowable if the claim objections and the double patenting rejections indicated above were fully overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0047970 is the patent application publication for this case, whereas U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0312216 also discloses the use of a flexible assist harness and has a common applicant and inventors. Lastly, U.S. Patent No. 7,473,235 to Schwenn et al. discloses the use of a flexible waist and leg support assembly comprising a plurality of leg belt slots, whereas all of the remaining patent documents to Main et al. and Oja as cited in the attached PTO-892 form disclose the use of a support belt assembly comprising a plurality of reinforcement mechanisms which are operatively and respectively coupled to a plurality of flexible handles.
/ROBERT G SANTOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673