DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “splitter” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 line 4 recites: “a splitter”. It is ambiguous that Applicant just simply recites “ a splitter” but no further describes the structure of this splitter as claimed in claim 8 nor in drawings that how is this “a splitter” configured to couple both the first and second receptacle as recited; and perform the functionality as claimed. Further, clarification is required.
Therefore, claim 9 is also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feliss et al. (US 2009/0167537).
As per claim 1: Feliss et al. discloses an apparatus comprising: a plurality of wire 304 connections collectively configured to receive a 220 to 277 volt alternating current (VAC) input power (see Abstract); a plurality of bus bars (not label, see fig. 4, wherein the power conductors 304 connected to the bus bars of the outlet 302); at least one temperature sensor 312 coupled to at least one bus bar of the plurality of bus bars (as shown in figs. 3-4); at least one switch (see Para. [0024]; which delivers a signal from the temperature sensor directly to the controller 318, which can deliver a signal to the power supply to adjust the power (e.g. lower the current or interrupt the circuit) delivered to the outlet and to the device being powered (not shown) in the event that a temperature increase (or other circuit data) indicates degradation of the power outlet circuit (not shown));
an electrical receptacle 302 electrically coupled to the plurality of bus bars (see fig. 4) and comprising a plurality of terminals collectively configured for providing a 220 to 277 VAC output power (see abstract), wherein the plurality of terminals comprises: a first power terminal; a second power terminal; and a ground terminal (not label, see fig. 4, wherein the power outlet 302); and a controller 318 configured to selectively provide the 220 to 277 VAC output power to the plurality of terminals (to the power outlet 302) by:
receiving, from the at least one temperature sensor 312, an indication of a temperature at the at least one bus bar (see Para. [0024]); and
based on the indicated temperature satisfying a condition, controlling the at least one switch to disconnect a plurality of electrical connections between the 220 to 277 VAC input power and the plurality of terminals (wherein a temperature signal is delivered from the power plug 302 to a temperature sensor 312. The temperature sensor 312 is in communication with the controller 318. One or a pair of leads 402, 404 delivers a signal from the temperature sensor directly to the controller 318, which can deliver a signal to the power supply to adjust the power (e.g. lower the current or interrupt the circuit) delivered to the outlet and to the device being powered (not shown) in the event that a temperature increase (or other circuit data) indicates degradation of the power outlet circuit (not shown)).
Claim(s) 1, 3,6-7, and 10-12 are as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daoura et al. (US 2022/0297558).
As per claim 1: Daoura et al. discloses an apparatus (see fig. 6C) comprising: a plurality of wire connections (632/633/634/635) collectively configured to receive a 220 to 277 volt alternating current (VAC) input power (see Para. [0006], where 240 VAC voltages are required); a plurality of bus bars (not label, see fig. 6, wherein the circuit breaker/plug combination body is configured to be connectedly mounted to a hot bus bar inside the load panel and the plug receptacle is configured to receive a detachable cord-mounted plug for conveying AC current to an appliance or tool (generically a “load”) in need of power): at least one temperature sensor 637 coupled to at least one bus bar of the plurality of bus bars (as shown in fig. 6C); at least one switch 640 ;
an electrical receptacle 502 electrically coupled to the plurality of bus bars and comprising a plurality of terminals collectively configured for providing a 220 to 277 VAC output power (see Para. [0127]), wherein the plurality of terminals comprises: a first power terminal; a second power terminal; and a ground terminal (not label, see fig. 6C, from plug receptacle 502); and
a controller 630 configured to selectively provide the 220 to 277 VAC output power to the plurality of terminals (see Para. [0201]; wherein MCU can be linked to a single solid state breaker and will react to any of a plurality of fault conditions detected by the one or more sensors by tripping the breaker and generating an alarm notification. Switch state of user interface switches 2702,2703 is considered to be sensor data, and user commands entered on the user interface are processed according to instructions that are generally stored in local memory) by:
receiving, from the at least one temperature sensor 637, an indication of a temperature at the at least one bus bar (see Para. [0201]; and
based on the indicated temperature satisfying a condition, controlling the at least one switch to disconnect a plurality of electrical connections between the 220 to 277 VAC input power and the plurality of terminals (see Para. [0201], wherein circuit may include one or more analog or digital sensors. Sensor data outputs may include data indicative of temperature, short, arc, ground leakage, open neutral, current, voltage, inductance and impedance, for example. When networked, a server or local smart device can be programmed to detect patterns in the voltage and current data indicative or predictive of the performance condition of the circuit breakers. Sensor data is linked locally to breaker operation by a watchdog circuit with a processor and an instruction set that operates the breaker. The MCU can be linked to a single solid state breaker and will react to any of a plurality of fault conditions detected by the one or more sensors by tripping the breaker and generating an alarm notification).
As per claims 3, 6-7, 10-12: Daoura et al. discloses the apparatus (see fig. 6C), wherein further comprises a power converter 642 (see fig. 6C, Para. [0141], wherein Power to the device is drawn from AC line feed, which is rectified and converted to DC power for the digital microelectronics by power supply 642) configured to convert the 220 to 277 VAC input power to a direct current (DC) power, and wherein the controller 630 is configured to receive the DC power to selectively provide the 220 to 277 VAC output power to the plurality of terminals (see Para. [0141]); and
further comprises wherein the apparatus further comprises a wall mountable enclosure 101 (see fig. 6B) that is configured to enclose at least one of: the at least one temperature sensor 637; the at least one switch 640; the plurality of bus bars (not label, see fig. 6, wherein the circuit breaker/plug combination body is configured to be connectedly mounted to a hot bus bar inside the load panel); at least three sides of the electrical receptacle 502; and the controller 630; and
wherein the plurality of bus bars comprises: a first bus bar electrically coupled to the first power terminal; a second bus bar electrically coupled to the second power terminal; and a third bus bar electrically coupled to the ground terminal (see Para. [0081]); and
wherein the controller is further configured to selectively provide the 220 to 277 VAC output power to the plurality of terminals by: reconnecting the plurality of electrical connections between the 220 to 277 VAC input power and the plurality of terminals based on at least manual engagement of a reset switch (see Para. [0198]; wherein If a breaker trips, switch 2702 allows the user to reset the device manually so that the plug-receptacle goes live again and indicator 2701 illuminates as a green light if the circuit and any plug-in appliance is clear of any fault condition or test event that tripped the breaker); and
further comprising: a current sensor 638; and a ground-fault circuit interrupt (GFCI) configured to: receive at least one indication of at least one current measurement from the current sensor 638; and cause the at least one switch to interrupt a flow of electrical power from the 220 to 277 VAC input power to the electrical receptacle (see Para. [0140]); and
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daoura et al. (US 2022/0297558).
As per claim 2: Daoura et al. discloses the apparatus (see fig. 6C), and plurality of wire connections (632/633/634/635), and the switch 640 (as shown in fig. 6C). However, Daoura does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of wire connections comprises at least one of a wire feed or a terminal block, wherein the at least one of the wire feed or the terminal block is configured to: receive a first power wire, a second power wire, and a ground wire; and electrically couple the 220 to 277 VAC input power, directly or indirectly, to the at least one switch.
On the other hand, Daoura et al. mentioned there is a typical black and red wires that feed into a load panel and are connected at hot bus bars and indirectly connected to the switch (as shown in fig. 6C). However, a person having ordinary skill the art would know that having plurality of wire connections comprises at least one of a wire feed to receive a first power wire, a second power wire, and a ground wire; and electrically couple the 220 to 277 VAC input power, directly or indirectly, to the at least one switch is well known, common knowledge and commonly used in the art of connector to further provide a secure, stable, organized wiring for easy to troubleshooting as well as safety and reliability in connection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the apparatus of Daorura et al. by having the plurality of wire connections comprises at least one of a wire feed or a terminal block, wherein the at least one of the wire feed or the terminal block is configured to: receive a first power wire, a second power wire, and a ground wire; and electrically couple the 220 to 277 VAC input power, directly or indirectly, to the at least one switch as taught by the instant invention to further enhance a secure, stable, organized wiring for easy to troubleshooting as well as safety and reliability in connection. Further, having a wire feed or a terminal block in an electrical connector is well known, common knowledge and commonly used in the art of connector.
As per claim 13: Daoura et al. discloses the apparatus (see fig. 6C). however, Daoura et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the 220 to 227 VAC input power is 240 VAC with a tolerance of +/- 5%, and wherein the 220 to 277 VAC output power is 240 VAC with a tolerance of +/-5%.
On the other hand, Daoura et al. mentioned wherein the system is built around a 240 VAC and operates with 240 VAC, and the data collection may include response time, sensitivity, tolerance, and cutoff thresholds, for example. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that the 220 to 227 VAC input power is 240 VAC with a tolerance of +/- 5%, and wherein the 220 to 277 VAC output power is 240 VAC with a tolerance of +/-5% can only deal with optimum range because such modification still would not change the function of the apparatus after all but to further ensuring circuit accuracy as well as to maintain the stability and reliability in the circuit. Since, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the apparatus of Daorura et al. by having the 220 to 227 VAC input power is 240 VAC with a tolerance of +/- 5%, and wherein the 220 to 277 VAC output power is 240 VAC with a tolerance of +/-5% as taught by the instant invention to further ensuring circuit accuracy as well as to maintain the stability and reliability in the circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 4-5, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: with regards to claim 15, neither the prior art of Feliss et al. (US 2009/0167537) nor Daoura et al. (US 2022/0297558) teaches: “wherein electrically connect the 220 to 277 VAC input power to the plurality of terminals, if the at least one temperature sensor indicates a temperature at the at least one bus bar is less than a threshold; and electrically disconnect the 220 to 277 VAC input power to the plurality of terminals, if the at least one temperature sensor indicates a temperature at the at least one bus bar is greater than or equal to the threshold”. The above noted structure in combination with other recitations within the claims is not shown by a single prior art document and the examiner knows of no reasonable rational to combine the prior art of record such that the claimed invention would have been obvious at prior to the filing of this application.
Claims 16-17 are dependent on claim 15 and are therefore allowable.
with regards to claim 18, neither the prior art of Feliss et al. (US 2009/0167537) nor Daoura et al. (US 2022/0297558) teaches: “wherein electrically connect the 220 to 277 VAC input power to the plurality of terminals, if the at least one temperature sensor indicates a temperature at the at least one bus bar is less than a threshold; and electrically disconnect the 220 to 277 VAC input power to the plurality of terminals, if the at least one temperature sensor indicates a temperature at the at least one bus bar is greater than or equal to the threshold”. The above noted structure in combination with other recitations within the claims is not shown by a single prior art document and the examiner knows of no reasonable rational to combine the prior art of record such that the claimed invention would have been obvious at prior to the filing of this application.
Claims 19-20 are dependent on claim 18 and are therefore allowable.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831