DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “separation pad holder” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 5,697,604) in view of Kawamura (US 7,588,246).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a sheet conveying apparatus comprising: a separation pad 44; a separation roller 43 which holds at least one sheet fed between itself and the separation pad and conveys the at least one sheet in the conveying direction; and at least one groove C1 which is provided on a surface of the separation pad with which the at least one sheet comes into contact. Tanaka lacks the disclosure of an upstream feed roller which feeds at least one sheet from a sheet feeding tray in a predetermined conveying direction. Kawamura teaches the use of an upstream feed roller 12 which feeds at least one sheet from a sheet feeding tray 6 in a predetermined conveying direction, in order to pick up sheets from a tray. Kawamura, col. 5, lines 35-50. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use an upstream feed roller which feeds at least one sheet from a sheet feeding tray in a predetermined conveying direction, in the device of Tanaka, as taught by Kawamura, in order to pick up sheets from a tray.
Regarding claim 2, the device of Tanaka as modified by Kawamura comprises the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one groove includes a first groove (Tanaka, C2) formed in a straight line along the conveying direction. See Tanaka, Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 3, the device of Tanaka as modified by Kawamura comprises the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 2, wherein on the surface of the separation pad, the first groove and at least one of the second groove (Tanaka,C1), the third groove, or the fourth groove are formed in a direction orthogonal to the conveying direction according to a predetermined rule or irregularly. See Tanaka, Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 6, the device of Tanaka as modified by Kawamura comprises the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sheet includes a first sheet and a second sheet, a plurality of grooves (Tanaka, C2) are provided on the surface of the separation pad, a specification including at least one of a width, a depth, an interval, or a number of the plurality of grooves is such that when the first sheet and the second sheet are fed by the feed roller in an overlapping state, a friction coefficient between the first sheet and the surface of the separation pad is larger than a friction coefficient between the first sheet and the second sheet. See Tanaka, col. 11, lines 6-20: the friction between the sheets is less than the friction between the sheet and the pad, which allows for separation of sheets.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Kawamura and Inoue (JP 2002-114391).
Regarding claim 4, the device of Tanaka as modified by Kawamura comprises the sheet conveying apparatus according to claim 1. Tanaka lacks the disclosure of a plurality of kinds of the separation pads having different specifications of the at least one groove being interchangeable. Inoue teaches the use of interchangeable separation pads in a sheet feeder, in order to adjust the friction coefficient for different types of sheets. Inoue, par. 11. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have a plurality of kinds of the separation pads having different specifications of the at least one groove be interchangeable, in the device of Tanaka, as taught by Inoue, in order to adjust the friction coefficient for different types of sheets.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Tanaka does not teach everything claimed, including a separation pad holder which holds the separation pad, and a conveying guide member which guides a conveyance of the at least one sheet and detachably supports the separation pad holder, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Bokelman (US 7,866,658) discloses a sheet separation device.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759