DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In that response, claims 1, 15, and 23 were amended. Claims 1-13, 15-18, and 23 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in the table at para.[0126] the units for amphotericin B and vancomycin are denoted “n/a”. Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term “Cellerate”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: typo in “collagen-base”.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at least 50 wt%” should be “50 wt% to 99.995 wt%” as the former is technically broader than the “25 wt% to 99.995 wt%” in claim 1 due to the “at least”. A “the” or “said” should precede “hydrolyzed” in line 2.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at least 0.005 wt%” should be “0.005 wt% to 50 wt%” as the former is technically broader than the “25 wt% to 99.995 wt%” in claim 1 due to the “at least”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Makeeva (Makeeva, A.A., et al.., Biopolymer Controlled Release Systems Based on Hydrolyzed Collagen: Cryoforming, Structure, and Properties, Moscow University Chemistry Bulletin, Published: 11 July 2024, Vol. 79, No. 3, pp. 175–181).
Makeeva teaches dioxidine/hydrolyzed collagen systems comprising 0.5 g of dioxidine mixed with 0.5 to 5.0 g of hydrolyzed collagen (p.176 Experimental; see entire document including title; abstract). The system was obtained by freeze drying the mixture in distilled water, which removes the water and crosslinks the hydrolyzed collagen. Thus the system comprised various concentrations of hydrolyzed collagen and dioxidine, including 50% hydrolyzed collagen + 50% dioxidine. The system was obtained as a dried film or disk (p.176). Makeeva discusses application of collagen matrices for wound healing, and “targeted delivery and controlled release of” of medicaments such as gentamicin (p.175 rt. col.-p.176 left col.).
Regarding claim 10, for product claims, “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent”. MPEP §2112.01(I). Therefore Makeeva’s composition would have exhibited the kill rate in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 15-18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makeeva (Makeeva, A.A., et al.., Biopolymer Controlled Release Systems Based on Hydrolyzed Collagen: Cryoforming, Structure, and Properties, Moscow University Chemistry Bulletin, Published: 11 July 2024, Vol. 79, No. 3, pp. 175–181, available at https://link.springer.com/article/10.3103/S0027131424700147) in view of Pepito (US 2023/0310538).
Makeeva does not expressly teach the antibiotics in claims 2 and 5-9 or the components in claims 15, 16, 18, and 23.
Pepito teaches including “antibiotics (such as tetracycline, streptomycin, and cephalosporin)…” in a “composition with low molecular weight hydrolyzed collagen” (abstract; see title; paras.0065, 0067; claims 15, 16). Cephalosporin is a beta-lactam, streptomycin is an aminoglycoside. The composition is used for “tissue repair and wound healing” and “take a physical form used in topical administration, such as a …powder…, or a topically applied patch… an injectable liquid or an orally ingestible liquid.” (Para.0048 (emphasis added)). The antibiotics further speed the healing process, decrease scarring and increase tissue strength” (para.0040; see para.0043). The “composition may include about 1% by weight to about 99% by weight hydrolyzed collagen” (para.0035). Other suitable components include those in claims 15, 16, and 23, e.g., chondroitin (paras.0040-41, 0055). Pepito further teaches a gel form comprising about 1 wt.% water (para.0063).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Makeeva and Pepito as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to wound healing compositions comprising hydrolyzed collagen and antibiotic agents, and Pepito teaches further suitable antibiotics and components. The selection of a known material or mechanism based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. MPEP §2144.07 (citations omitted).
Regarding claim 6 it is noted that each antibiotic has a range of therapeutic dose, and the relative amounts to include in a combination would depend on the particular components in the combination, which the claims do not recite. The recited expansive range of ratio among any, unspecified two antibiotics in claim 6 is not considered as overcoming prima facie obviousness.
Regarding claims 7-9 it is noted that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Applicant has not demonstrated any criticality of including multiple antibiotic components by comparative experimental results. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(B)(citations omitted).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makeeva (Makeeva, A.A., et al.., Biopolymer Controlled Release Systems Based on Hydrolyzed Collagen: Cryoforming, Structure, and Properties, Moscow University Chemistry Bulletin, Published: 11 July 2024, Vol. 79, No. 3, pp. 175–181, available at https://link.springer.com/article/10.3103/S0027131424700147) in view of Salamone (US 2016/0101165).
Makeeva does not specifically teach a vicinal diol and a chelating agent in claims 11-13.
Salamone is drawn to debridement compositions for necrotic tissues (title; abstract). Salamone teaches including “biocidal monoalkyl glycol, glycerol alkyl ether, and monoacyl glycerol at a combined concentration of from 0.05 wt % (500 ppm) to 4 wt %...” (para.0086; see paras.0087-89). The compositions “may further comprise a chelating agent at a concentration of from 0.01 weight % to 1 weight %” as an antimicrobial stabilizing agent (paras.0096, 0158).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Makeeva and Salamone and include the vicinal diols and chelating agents as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because Salamone teaches that the vicinal diols are biocidal and chelating agents help stabilize the composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13, 15-18, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614