DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on October 6, 2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
As a result of the Response to Restriction and Amendment filed on October 6, 2026, claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 9-21 are canceled or were previously canceled.
As a result of a previous Preliminary Amendment on May 12, 2026, the Specification has been amended to make cross-reference to related Applications.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Korean parent Applications Nos. KR10-2024-0150246, filed on October 30, 2024 and KR10-2025-0125342, filed on September 4, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 28, 2025 and April 3, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2026/0011288 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a pixel unit implementing a pixel of a display panel (Figs. 1-2, generally, Summary), the pixel unit comprising:
a memristor device including a resistance-forming layer that forms a resistance state based on an electrical signal (Fig. 2, first diode, D1; Detailed Description, [0068-0072], “The first diode D1 may adjust characteristics of the pixel circuit PXC (or characteristics of the first transistor T1, e.g., current-voltage characteristics). For example, a resistance component of the first diode D1 may vary due to the bias voltage V_BULK applied to the lower electrode of the first diode D1. The current-voltage characteristics of the first transistor T1 may vary due to the resistance component.”);
a light-emitting element electrically connected to one end of the memristor device (Fig. 2, LD; Detailed Description, [0064]); and
a transistor having a first terminal electrically connected to a node formed between the memristor device and the light-emitting element (Fig. 2, PXC and T2; Detailed Description, [0067-0070][0094-0100], “The pixel circuit PXC may be connected between a second node N2 and the first node N1. The pixel circuit PXC may include a first transistor T1 (or a driving transistor). The first transistor T1 may control current (or the amount of current) flowing from the second node N2 to the first node N1 in response to a data signal provided through the data line DLj…. The second transistor T2 may be connected between the data line DLj and the fourth node N4. A gate electrode of the second transistor T2 may be connected to a 2i-th scan line SL2i (or a second scan line). ),
wherein the light-emitting element is configured to adjust brightness in accordance with the resistance state (Figs. 2-3, Detailed Description, [0068-0075], “The first diode D1 may adjust characteristics of the pixel circuit PXC (or characteristics of the first transistor T1, e.g., current-voltage characteristics). For example, a resistance component of the first diode D1 may vary due to the bias voltage V_BULK applied to the lower electrode of the first diode D1. The current-voltage characteristics of the first transistor T1 may vary due to the resistance component….Referring to the second curve CURVE2, in the case where the first diode D1 of FIG. 2 is added, current variation for the same voltage may decrease due to the resistance component of the first diode D1, and subthreshold swing may increase. The voltage range of the data signal provided to the pixel PXij of FIG. 2 may correspond to a second voltage range VR2. The second voltage range VR2 may be set greater than the first voltage range VR1. In other words, the voltage range may be increased by the first diode D1, thereby allowing the pixel PXij of FIG. 2 to reliably express or achieve the desired luminance.”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the resistance state is derived in accordance with a shape of a filament included in the resistance-forming layer (Figs. 2-3, Detailed Description, [0066-0076]’ See also Fig. 6 and Detailed Description, [0109-0116]; Examiner’s note—it is inherent the effective resistance amount is based on the filament shape).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein a gate voltage for switching the transistor is applied to a second terminal of the transistor (Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, T2; Detailed Descriptum, [0095-0100], “The second transistor T2 may be connected between the data line DLj and the fourth node N4. A gate electrode of the second transistor T2 may be connected to a 2i-th scan line SL2i (or a second scan line).”; GW switches T2), a data voltage for selecting whether to drive the pixel unit is applied to a third terminal of the transistor (Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, Detailed Description, [0063-0075][0095-0100], “Referring to FIG. 2, the pixel PXij may be connected to corresponding signal lines DLj, ELi, and SLi. For example, the pixel PXij may be connected to a j-th data line DLj (hereinafter, referred to as “data line”), an i-th emission control line EL1 (hereinafter, referred to as “emission control line”), and an i-th scan line SLi (hereinafter, referred to as “scan line”).”; VDATA is the data voltage), the transistor is turned on based on the gate voltage (Detailed Description, [0063-0070][0095-0100]; Figs. 2 and 5 shows T2 would be turned on based on the scan signal SL2i), and the resistance state is formed based on a power supply voltage (Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, VDD and VBULK; Detailed Description,. [0068-0070]) and the data voltage.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein, when a supply of the gate voltage is stopped, the transistor is turned off, and the power supply voltage is supplied to the light-emitting element (Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, Detailed Description, [0063-0075][0095-0100] “The second transistor T2 may be connected between the data line DLj and the fourth node N4. A gate electrode of the second transistor T2 may be connected to a 2i-th scan line SL2i (or a second scan line). The 2i-th scan line SL2i and a 1i-th scan line SL1i may be included in the scan line SLi of FIG. 2. When a second enable scan signal GW (or a second scan signal) is supplied to the 2i-th scan line SL2i, the second transistor T2 may be turned on to connect the data line DLj to the fourth node N4.”; when GW is off then the power supply voltage is supplied to the LD instead of VDATA).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the gate voltage is a voltage having a magnitude equal to or greater than a threshold voltage corresponding to the transistor (Fig. 7, Detailed Description, [0118]; See also Detailed Description, [0070-0075] on threshold voltages)
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the resistance state is formed in accordance with a magnitude of the gate voltage (Figs. 2-3 and 5-7; Detailed Description, [0063-0075], “For example, a resistance component of the first diode D1 may vary due to the bias voltage V_BULK applied to the lower electrode of the first diode D1. The current-voltage characteristics of the first transistor T1 may vary due to the resistance component. For instance, in the case where the resistance component of the first diode D1 is relatively large, variations in current with respect to changes in threshold voltage of the first transistor T1 may be reduced.”; See also Detailed Description, [0109-0120]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein a magnitude of the data voltage is smaller than that of an operating voltage at which the light-emitting element is turned on (Fig. 7, Detailed Description, [0118-0120], “…the second transistor T2 may be turned on in response to the second enable scan signal GW, a data signal VDATA (or a data voltage) may be supplied from the data line DLj to the fourth node N4, and the data signal VDATA may be stored in the storage capacitor Cst….the current may correspond to the data signal VDATA stored in the storage capacitor Cst.”; See also Detailed Description, [0065-0007], “ The light emitting element LD may generate light of a certain luminance corresponding to the amount of current that is supplied from the first power line PL1 to the second power line PL2 via the first diode D1 and the pixel circuit PXC.”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses wherein the light-emitting element is any one of a micro light emitting diode (micro LED) (Detailed Description, [0066], “An organic light emitting diode may be selected as the light emitting element LD. Furthermore, an inorganic light emitting diode such as a micro light emitting diode (LED) or a quantum dot light emitting diode may be selected as the light emitting element L”) and a mini organic light emitting diode (mini OLED).
Other References
The following references are also cited as pertinent on the PTO-892 but may not be specifically relied upon within this Action: Park et al. (US 2025/0265990 A1); Chen (CN 119207286 A1); Zhan et al. (CN 101339739 A).
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626