Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7,8, 14-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (WO 2023167742).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a mounting portion (400,414,412) comprising: a base (400) having a first surface (lower surface, opposite 412,414) configured to attach to a natural nail and a second surface (upper surface of 400 from which 412,414 project) opposite the first surface; and one or more projections (projection forming 412,414) extending outwardly from the second surface of the base, wherein an end (one of right and left ends of 414,412 which curve from the flat upper surface toward the second surface, Refer to Figures 2A, 2D and 2E) of at least one of the one or more projections curves into and contacts the second surface of the base, wherein the one or more projections define a first connector interface configured to engage with a second connector interface of an extension portion to releasably secure the extension portion to the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses the mounting portion comprises: a first end (end of 400 disposed closer to cuticle, Refer to Figures 2A) opposite a second end (end of 400 disposed closer to the free end of the natural nail, Refer to Figure 2A) configured to attach adjacent to a cuticle region of the natural nail.
Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses the one or more projections (projection forming 414,412) extend along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end of the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses the one or more projections (projection forming 414,412) comprise: a single projection (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 7, Smith discloses each of the one or more projections comprise a top surface (top surface of 114) and opposing sidewalls (angled walls) that taper towards the base (Refer to Figures 2A, 2D and 2E).
Regarding claim 8, Smith discloses the one or more projections include a flange (right and left sides of 414, form flanges, Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses an artificial nail assembly system comprising: a mounting portion (400,414,412) comprising: a base (400) having a first surface (lower surface, opposite 412,414) configured to attach to a natural nail and a second surface (upper surface of 400 from which 412,414 project) opposite the first surface; a first connector interface comprising one or more projections (projection forming 412,414,) disposed on the base, wherein an end (one of right and left ends of 414,412 which curve from the flat upper surface toward the second surface, Refer to Figures 2A, 2D and 2E) of at least one of the one or more projections curves into and contacts the second surface of the base; and an extension portion (110,112,114) comprising: a nail body (110), and a second connector interface comprising one or more female portions (112,114) configured to engage with the first connector interface of the mounting portion to releasably secure the extension portion to the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 15, Smith discloses the one or more projections (protrusion forming 412,414) extend outwardly from the second surface of the base (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 16, Smith discloses the one or more projections (412,414) taper in a direction towards the base (Refer to Figures 2A, 2D and 2E).
Regarding claim 17, Smith discloses at least one of the one or more projections includes a flange (right and left sides of 414 form flanges) configured to retain the extension portion on the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 18, Smith discloses the one or more projections are concealed beneath the extension portion when the extension portion is engaged with the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 21, Smith discloses the one or more female portions (112,114) are recessed within the nail body of the extension portion (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 22, Smith discloses an exterior surface of the nail body of the extension portion substantially conceals the mounting portion when the extension portion is engaged with the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 14-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glass (US 201400296914).
Regarding claim 1, Glass discloses a mounting portion (13) comprising: a base (20) having a first surface (lower surface of 13 opposite 16) configured to attach to a natural nail and a second surface (upper surface of 13 from which 16 projects) opposite the first surface; and one or more projections (16) extending outwardly from the second surface of the base, wherein an end (one of proximal end, right end and left end of 414,412 which curves into and contacts the second surface, Refer to Figures 2, 4, 5 and 7) of at least one of the one or more projections curves into and contacts the second surface of the base, wherein the one or more projections define a first connector interface configured to engage with a second connector interface of an extension portion to releasably secure the extension portion to the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, Glass discloses the mounting portion comprises: a first end (end of 13 near 16 and disposed closer to cuticle, Refer to Figures 2, 3, 5 and 7) opposite a second end (end of 13 near 14 disposed closer to the free end of the natural nail, Refer to Figures 2, 3, 5 and 7) configured to attach adjacent to a cuticle region of the natural nail.
Regarding claim 4, Glass discloses the one or more projections (16) comprise: a single projection (Refer to Figures 2, 3, 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Glass discloses the one or more projections (16) are shorter than a length of the base along a longitudinal axis (Refer to Figures 2, 3, 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 8, Glass discloses the one or more projections (16) include a flange (portion of 16 directly above 19 forms a flange/rim/rib, Refer to Figures 2-5, and 7).
Regarding claim 14, Glass discloses an artificial nail assembly system comprising: a mounting portion (13) comprising: a base (20) having a first surface (lower surface of 13 opposite 16) configured to attach to a natural nail and a second surface (upper surface of 13 from which 16 projects) opposite the first surface; a first connector interface comprising one or more projections (16) disposed on the base, wherein an end (one of proximal, right and left ends of 16 which curve into and contact the second surface, Refer to Figures 2, 4, 5 and 7) of at least one of the one or more projections curves into and contacts the second surface of the base; and an extension portion (10) comprising: a nail body (portion of 10 excluding 11,12), and a second connector interface comprising one or more female portions (recesses above 11 and adjacent 11 which engage with corresponding portions of 16 and 13 of the mounting portion) configured to engage with the first connector interface of the mounting portion to releasably secure the extension portion to the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Regarding claim 15, Glass discloses the one or more projections (16) extend outwardly from the second surface of the base (Refer to Figures 2, 4, 5 and 7)
Regarding claim 16, Glass discloses the one or more projections (16) taper in a direction towards the base (16 tapers in thickness as it gets closer to the second surface of the base, Refer to Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 17, Glass discloses at least one of the one or more projections includes a flange (portion of 16 directly above 19 forms a flange/rim/rib, Refer to Figures 2-5, and 7) configured to retain the extension portion on the mounting portion.
Regarding claim 22, Glass discloses an exterior surface of the nail body of the extension portion substantially conceals the mounting portion when the extension portion is engaged with the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith and Chang (US 6394100).
Regarding claim 9, Smith discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above; however, Smith does not disclose the first surface of the base includes a texture configured to promote adhesion to the natural nail. It is well-known and conventional in the art to provide a texture on the surface which is adhered to a natural nail in such artificial nail systems in order to improve adhesion as demonstrated by Chang (textured portion 19, Refer to Figure 3 and col. 3 lines 11-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to modify the first surface of the base of Smith to include a texture which promotes adhesion as taught by Chang in order to improve adhesion of the base to the natural nail and provide greater peel strength of the adhesive against the base as compared to the natural nail.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass and Chang (US 6394100).
Regarding claim 9, Glass discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above; however, Glass does not disclose the first surface of the base includes a texture configured to promote adhesion to the natural nail. It is well-known and conventional in the art to provide a texture on the surface which is adhered to a natural nail in such artificial nail systems in order to improve adhesion as demonstrated by Chang (textured portion 19, Refer to Figure 3 and col. 3 lines 11-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to modify the first surface of the base of Glass to include a texture which promotes adhesion as taught by Chang in order to improve adhesion of the base to the natural nail and provide greater peel strength of the adhesive against the base as compared to the natural nail.
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith and Chen (US 20250359645).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 19 and 20, Smith discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claims 1 and 14 above, wherein the first surface of the base is glued to a user’s natural nail during use (Refer to paragraphs 0011, 0017, 0021); however, Smith does not disclose the first surface comprises an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin. Chen discloses a similar artificial nail assembly where a base is adhered to the user’s natural nail and an extension is detachably coupled to the base (Refer to Figures 1-13B). Chen teaches the first surface (8, 108, 208) of the base is coated with adhesive (Refer to paragraphs 0198,0227 and 0240) where the adhesive may be various types of adhesives such as peel-off gel, nail glue, double sided tape, non-wipe peel-off gel, a gel sticker required curing with an LED lamp, etc. (Refer to paragraphs 0202, 0217 and 0241). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive layer on the first surface where the adhesive layer include one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin as Smith explains the first surface is adhered to a natural nail during use and Chen demonstrates it is well-known and conventional to provide an adhesive layer with the claimed adhesives.
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass and Chen (US 20250359645).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 19 and 20, Glass discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claims 1 and 14 above, wherein the first surface of the base is glued to a user’s natural nail during use (Refer to paragraphs 0013, 0015 and 0027); however, Glass does not disclose the first surface comprises an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin. Chen discloses a similar artificial nail assembly where a base is adhered to the user’s natural nail and an extension is detachably coupled to the base (Refer to Figures 1-13B). Chen teaches the first surface (8, 108, 208) of the base is coated with adhesive (Refer to paragraphs 0198,0227 and 0240) where the adhesive may be various types of adhesives such as peel-off gel, nail glue, double sided tape, non-wipe peel-off gel, a gel sticker required curing with an LED lamp, etc. (Refer to paragraphs 0202, 0217 and 0241). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive layer on the first surface where the adhesive layer include one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin as Glass explains the first surface is adhered to a natural nail during use and Chen demonstrates it is well-known and conventional to provide an adhesive layer with the claimed adhesives.
Claims 10, 11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith and Lotti (US 11330888).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 19 and 20, Smith discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claims 1 and 14 above, wherein the first surface of the base is glued to a user’s natural nail during use (Refer to paragraphs 0011, 0017, 0021); however, Smith does not disclose the first surface comprises an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin. It is well-known and conventional in the art to provide the adhesive as a layer applied to the respective surface intended to contact the natural nail and for the adhesive to be light-curable resin/adhesive as demonstrated by Lotti (Refer to Figures 1B, 1D, 4A-5A and col. 10 lines 65-67, col. 11 lines 1-20, 48-58, col. 15 lines 52-62, and col. 16 lines 23-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive layer on the first surface where the adhesive layer include one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin as Smith explains the first surface is adhered to a natural nail during use and Lotti demonstrates it is well-known and conventional to provide an adhesive layer with the claimed adhesives.
Claims 10, 11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glass and Lotti (US 11330888).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 19 and 20, Glass discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claims 1 and 14 above, wherein the first surface of the base is glued to a user’s natural nail during use (Refer to paragraphs 0013, 0015 and 0027); however, Smith does not disclose the first surface comprises an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin. It is well-known and conventional in the art to provide the adhesive as a layer applied to the respective surface intended to contact the natural nail and for the adhesive to be light-curable resin/adhesive as demonstrated by Lotti (Refer to Figures 1B, 1D, 4A-5A and col. 10 lines 65-67, col. 11 lines 1-20, 48-58, col. 15 lines 52-62, and col. 16 lines 23-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive layer on the first surface where the adhesive layer include one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin as Glass explains the first surface is adhered to a natural nail during use and Lotti demonstrates it is well-known and conventional to provide an adhesive layer with the claimed adhesives.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 14-16, 18, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Smith (WO 2023167742) and Chen (US 5893377).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a mounting portion (600,610,620,630) comprising: a base (600) having a first surface (lower surface, opposite 610,620,630) configured to attach to a natural nail and a second surface (upper surface of 600 from which 610,620,630project) opposite the first surface; and one or more projections (610,620,630) extending outwardly from the second surface of the base, wherein the one or more projections define a first connector interface configured to engage with a second connector interface of an extension portion to releasably secure the extension portion to the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 3A-3E). However, Smith does not disclose an end of at least one of the one or more projections curves into and contacts the second surface of the base. Although Smith depicts the projections as cylindrical in shape (Refer to Figure 3A), this is just an example and one of ordinary skill in the art understands the shape of the projections can be changed as it is well-known and conventional for projections to have many different shapes. Chen discloses a similar coupling mechanism where a projection releasably engages a recess. As best shown in Figures 7A and 7D of Chen, the projections can have different shapes; for example, in Figure 7D the projection is a pin having a substantially cylindrical shape while in Figure 7A the projection is bulbous or spherical, where such a spherical shape provides a projection, where the ends of the projection curve into and contacts the surface from which they project. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the projections of Smith to be spherical/bulbous, and thereby provide an end that curves into and contacts the second surface of the base, as Chen demonstrates this projection shape is well-known and suitable for performing the fastening function.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the mounting portion of claim 1 above, Smith further discloses the mounting portion comprises: a first end (end of 600 disposed closer to cuticle, Refer to Figure 3A) opposite a second end (end of 600 disposed closer to the free end of the natural nail, Refer to Figure 3A) configured to attach adjacent to a cuticle region of the natural nail.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the mounting portion of claim 1 above, Smith further discloses the one or more projections (610,620,630) extend along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end of the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 3A-3E).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the mounting portion of claim 1 above, Smith further discloses the one or more projections (610,620,630) are shorter than a length of the base along a longitudinal axis (Refer to Figures 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the mounting portion of claim 1 above, Smith further discloses the one or more projections (610,620,630) comprise a plurality of projections disposed in a spaced relation across the second surface of the base (Refer to Figures 3A-3B).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the mounting portion of claim 1 above, wherein each of the one or more projections (610,620,630) comprise a top surface (surface defined by at least a portion of an upper half of the spherically shaped projections per modification explained in claim 1) and opposing sidewalls (downwardly extending sidewalls) that taper towards the base.
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses an artificial nail assembly system comprising: a mounting portion (600,610,620,630) comprising: a base (600) having a first surface (lower surface, opposite 610,620,630) configured to attach to a natural nail and a second surface (upper surface of 600 from which 610,620,630 project) opposite the first surface; a first connector interface comprising one or more projections (610,620,630) disposed on the base; and an extension portion (110,112,114) comprising: a nail body (110), and a second connector interface comprising one or more female portions (510,520,530) configured to engage with the first connector interface of the mounting portion to releasably secure the extension portion to the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 3A-3E). However, Smith does not disclose an end of at least one of the one or more projections curves into and contacts the second surface of the base. Although Smith depicts the projections as cylindrical in shape (Refer to Figure 3A), this is just an example and one of ordinary skill in the art understands the shape of the projections can be changed as it is well-known and conventional for projections to have many different shapes. Chen discloses a similar coupling mechanism where a projection releasably engages a recess. As best shown in Figures 7A and 7D of Chen, the projections can have different shapes; for example, in Figure 7D the projection is a pin having a substantially cylindrical shape while in Figure 7A the projection is bulbous or spherical, where such a spherical shape provides a projection, where the ends of the projection curve into and contacts the surface from which they project. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the projections of Smith to be spherical/bulbous, and thereby provide an end that curves into and contacts the second surface of the base, as Chen demonstrates this projection shape is well-known and suitable for performing the fastening function.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above, where the one or more projections (610,620,630) extend outwardly from the second surface of the base (Refer to Figures 2A-2E).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above, where the one or more projections (610,620,630) taper in a direction towards the base (as modified in the rejection of claim 14 above, the projections taper toward the base due to their spherical shape).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above, where the one or more projections are concealed beneath the extension portion when the extension portion is engaged with the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 3A-3E).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above, Smith further discloses the one or more female portions (510,520,530) are recessed within the nail body of the extension portion (Refer to Figures 3A-3E).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Smith and Chen disclose the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above, Smith further discloses an exterior surface of the nail body of the extension portion substantially conceals the mounting portion when the extension portion is engaged with the mounting portion (Refer to Figures 3A-3E).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Smit and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chang (US 6394100).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Smit and Chen discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claim 1 above; however, the combination does not disclose the first surface of the base includes a texture configured to promote adhesion to the natural nail. It is well-known and conventional in the art to provide a texture on the surface which is adhered to a natural nail in such artificial nail systems in order to improve adhesion as demonstrated by Chang (textured portion 19, Refer to Figure 3 and col. 3 lines 11-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention to modify the first surface of the base of the combination of Smit and Chen to include a texture which promotes adhesion as taught by Chang in order to improve adhesion of the base to the natural nail and provide greater peel strength of the adhesive against the base as compared to the natural nail.
Claims 10-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Smith and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20250359645).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 19 and 20, the combination of Smith and Chen discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claims 1 and 14 above, wherein Smithe discloses the first surface of the base is glued to a user’s natural nail during use (Refer to paragraphs 0011, 0017, 0021); however, Smith does not disclose the first surface comprises an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin. Chen discloses a similar artificial nail assembly where a base is adhered to the user’s natural nail and an extension is detachably coupled to the base (Refer to Figures 1-13B). Chen teaches the first surface (8, 108, 208) of the base is coated with adhesive (Refer to paragraphs 0198,0227 and 0240) where the adhesive may be various types of adhesives such as peel-off gel, nail glue, double sided tape, non-wipe peel-off gel, a gel sticker required curing with an LED lamp, etc. (Refer to paragraphs 0202, 0217 and 0241). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the combination of Smith and Chen to provide an adhesive layer on the first surface where the adhesive layer include one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin as Smith explains the first surface is adhered to a natural nail during use and Chen demonstrates it is well-known and conventional to provide an adhesive layer with the claimed adhesives.
Claims 10, 11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Smith and Chen as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Lotti (US 11330888).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 19 and 20, the combination of Smith and Chen discloses the artificial nail assembly system of claims 1 and 14 above, Smith further discloses the first surface of the base is glued to a user’s natural nail during use (Refer to paragraphs 0011, 0017, 0021); however, Smith does not disclose the first surface comprises an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer comprises one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin. It is well-known and conventional in the art to provide the adhesive as a layer applied to the respective surface intended to contact the natural nail and for the adhesive to be light-curable resin/adhesive as demonstrated by Lotti (Refer to Figures 1B, 1D, 4A-5A and col. 10 lines 65-67, col. 11 lines 1-20, 48-58, col. 15 lines 52-62, and col. 16 lines 23-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive layer on the first surface where the adhesive layer include one or more of a light-curable adhesive, a pressure-sensitive adhesive, a heat-activatable adhesive, or a resin as Smith explains the first surface is adhered to a natural nail during use and Lotti demonstrates it is well-known and conventional to provide an adhesive layer with the claimed adhesives.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: Smith is silent with regard to at least one of the one or more projections curving into and contacting the second surface of the base.
Response: With regard to the embodiment of Figures 2A-2E, the projection has right and left ends which curve into and contact the second surface of the base.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TATIANA L NOBREGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799