DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10, 13-14,
“Processing circuitry configured to”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (Pub. No.: US 2009/0143676) in view of Choi et al (Pub. No.: US 2016/0287215)
Regarding claims 1, 15, Matsumura discloses an ultrasonic image display apparatus, comprising:
processing circuitry configured to
perform an ultrasonic scanning of a subject [see figs 26A-B]
calculate, at each of a plurality of positions in a scanning region subjected to the ultrasonic scanning [see claim 18, figs 26A-B], an index representing a reliability of a tissue characterization parameter [see 0060, fig 2]
display at least both of a superimposition image and scale information, the superimposition image being an image in which a color corresponding to the index representing the reliability is superimposed at least one position of an ultrasonic image representing the subject [see 0060]
the scale information representing a relationship between the color and the index representing the reliability [see 0060]
Matsumura discloses outputting and displaying the evaluation results of the tissue property, thus further improving the reliability in the tissue identification [see 0112]
Matsumura doesn’t disclose calculate an index representing a reliability of a tissue characterization parameter.
Nonetheless, Choi et al disclose output a user interface screen that enables a user to recognize a reliability value, or a reliability value and a quality value more intuitively [see 0120, 0204, figs 4, 12, 20]
Choi et al disclose the display 320 may display each of an elasticity value and a reliability value as a respective numerical value. In this aspect, the reliability value may be equal to or greater than zero (0) and equal to or less than one (1). According to an exemplary embodiment, the display 320 may display a graph that represents a magnitude of a reliability value. Further, according to an exemplary embodiment, the display 320 may display an elasticity value by using a color that corresponds to a magnitude of a reliability value. As described above, when a reliability value is equal to or greater than about 0.7, the display 320 may display an elasticity value as a green letter, and when a reliability value is less than about 0.7, the display 320 may display an elasticity value as a red letter. Alternatively, the display 320 may display at least one from among an image, a letter, an icon, and a symbol that corresponds to a magnitude of a reliability value [see 0120].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Matsumura and Choi et al by calculating an index representing a reliability of a tissue characterization parameter; to enable the user to easily determine whether the elasticity value is an appropriate value [see abstract, Choi et al].
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura doesn’t disclose wherein, in the scale information, the index representing the reliability comprises a plurality of ranges and the color varies according to the ranges.
Nonetheless, Choi et al disclose in the scale information, the index representing the reliability comprises a plurality of ranges and the color varies according to the ranges [see 0120] by disclosing a method for displaying an elasticity value and a reliability value may vary [see 0120, 0137, 0167, figs 4, 12, 18].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Matsumura and Choi et al by using in the scale information, the index representing the reliability comprises a plurality of ranges and the color varies according to the ranges; to accurately present the reliability as the color varies.
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura doesn’t disclose wherein, in the scale information, the color continuously varies according to the relationship between the color and the index representing the reliability.
Nonetheless, Choi et al disclose in the scale information, the color continuously varies according to the relationship between the color and the index representing the reliability [see 0120, 0137, 0167].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Matsumura and Choi et al by in the scale information, the color continuously varies according to the relationship between the color and the index representing the reliability; to accurately present the reliability as the elasticity varies.
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura discloses wherein, in the superimposition image, the color is superimposed at least one position of the ultrasonic image at a predetermined opacity or transparency [see 0133-0134].
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to display the superimposition image and the scale information side by side [see figs 6-14, 19-24].
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura discloses wherein the ultrasonic image is a B-mode image acquired by a scanning differing (via scan converter) from the ultrasonic scanning [see 0013, 0055, 0165] by disclosing the tomographic image in the tomographic site generated based on the ultrasonic tomographic data, the elastic image, and the histogram may be displayed on the same screen [see 0013].
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura discloses the ultrasonic image, the superimposition image, the scale information constitutes a first ultrasonic image, a first superimposition image, and first scale information, respectively [see figs 9, 19-21];
the processing circuitry is further configured to
calculate, at each of the plurality of positions in the scanning region subjected to the ultrasonic
scanning, an index representing tissue characterization [see 0060, figs 6, 8-9];
display at least both of a second superimposition image and second scale information [see figs 9, 19-21];
the second superimposition image being an image in which a color corresponding to the index representing the tissue characterization is superimposed on a second ultrasonic image representing the subject [see figs 9, 19-21];
the second scale information representing a relationship between the color and the index representing the tissue characterization [see figs 9, 19-21, 0060].
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura discloses identify a position of a structure based on the index representing the tissue characterization and a predetermined threshold, and not display the position of the structure or mask the position of the structure with a predetermined color in the second superimposition image [see 0168-0169].
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura discloses, wherein, in the second scale information:
the index representing the tissue characterization comprises a plurality of ranges [see figs 9, 19-21, 0060, 0081];
the color varies according to the ranges [see figs 8-9, 19-21, 0060, 0081].
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura discloses wherein, in the second scale information, the color continuously varies according to the relationship between the color and the index representing the tissue characterization [see figs 8-9, 19-21, 0060, 0081].
Regarding claim 13, Matsumura discloses acquire, as the index representing the tissue characterization, at least one of a viscosity index representing a tissue viscosity or an elasticity index representing a tissue elasticity [see abstract, 0058];
display, in a region of the second superimposition image that does not include a structure, a color according to at least one of the viscosity index or the elasticity index [see figs 8-9, 19-21].
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (Pub. No.: US 2009/0143676) in view of Choi et al (Pub. No.: US 2016/0287215) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Matsumura (Pub. No.: US 2010/0220901) referred herein as Matsumura 901
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura and Choi et al don’t disclose calculate the index representing the reliability based on a pixel value corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of positions in the scanning region subjected to the ultrasonic scanning.
Nonetheless, Matsumura 901 discloses calculate the index representing the reliability based on a pixel value corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of positions in the scanning region subjected to the ultrasonic scanning [see 0055, 0076-0077, 0089-0090]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Matsumura and Choi et al and Matsumura 901 by calculating the index representing the reliability based on a pixel value corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of positions in the scanning region subjected to the ultrasonic scanning; to enable the user to easily determine whether the elasticity value is an appropriate value [see abstract, Choi et al].
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura discloses calculate, as the index representing the reliability, a variance ratio based on a variance value and a mean value of the pixel value [see 0111 and fig 6]
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura (Pub. No.: US 2009/0143676) in view of Choi et al (Pub. No.: US 2016/0287215) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kanayama et al (Pub. No.: US 2014/0114189)
Regarding claim 14, Matsumura and Choi et al don’t disclose acquire, as the index representing the tissue characterization, an attenuation index representing ultrasonic wave attenuation,
display, in a region of the second superimposition image that does not include a structure, a color according to the attenuation index.
Nonetheless, Kanayama et al disclose acquire, as the index representing the tissue characterization, an attenuation index representing ultrasonic wave attenuation [see 0043-0049, 0056 and fig 6];
display, in a region of the second superimposition image that does not include a structure, a color according to the attenuation index [see 0043-0049, 0073 and fig 6].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Matsumura and Choi et al and Kanayama et al by acquiring as the index representing the tissue characterization, an attenuation index representing ultrasonic wave attenuation and displaying in a region of the second superimposition image that does not include a structure, a color according to the attenuation index; non-invasive and widely accessible; quantitative assessment.
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797