DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ALLONBY (US 5,882,272).
Regarding claim 1, ALLONBY discloses locking differential comprising a gear train operatively coupling an input shaft (14c) to first (28) and second (30) output shafts, the gear train comprising first (24) and second (26) spur gears fixed to the respective first and second output shafts such that the spur gears are permitted to rotate at different speeds when the differential is in an unlocked condition and are restricted to rotate at the same speed when the differential is in a locked condition.
Regarding claim 2, ALLONBY discloses the gear train includes a plurality of gears each transmitting power from the input shaft to the first and second spur gears, each gear of the plurality of gears being a spur gear.
Regarding claim 3, ALLONBY discloses a first set of planetary gears including the first spur gear (24) as a first sun gear and including a first planet gear (20) intermeshed with the first sun gear (24); a second set of planetary gears including the second spur gear (26) as a second sun gear and including a second planet gear (22) intermeshed with the second sun gear (26); and a carrier (18) operatively coupled with the input shaft (14c), wherein the carrier carries the first and second planet gears in orbit about an output axis of the differential when the input shaft rotates about an input axis of the differential, wherein the first planet gear is intermeshed with the second planet gear, and wherein each planet gear is a spur gear.
Regarding claim 4, ALLONBY discloses a lock (36) that is movable between an unlocked position, in which the first and second sun gears are permitted to rotate about the output axis independently from the carrier, and a locked position, in which the first (24) and second (26) sun gears are restricted to rotate about the output axis with the carrier.
Regarding claim 12, ALLONBY discloses a shifter (100) that moves the lock between the unlocked and locked position, wherein the lock (36) rotates with the carrier and the shifter (100) does not rotate with the lock or carrier.
Regarding claim 13, ALLONBY discloses the lock (36) is a locking plate and the shifter is located at a perimeter of the locking plate and engages the locking plate at the perimeter to move the locking plate between the unlocked and locked positions.
Regarding claim 14, ALLONBY discloses the shifter has a C-shape (@138) when viewed in an axial direction of the output shafts and extends circumferentially around a portion of the perimeter of the locking plate.
Regarding claim 15, ALLONBY discloses a radially inner portion (138) of the shifter is received in a groove (140) extending along the perimeter of the locking plate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DEREK D KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655