DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the example of Figure 8, with thickness of the color filter considered to extend in the indicated z–direction, color filter thickness in a region overlapping exposed first electrode (Comprising 261) portions is greater than color filter thickness in an overlapping portion (overlapping with black matrix BM).
By virtue of there being no illustrated example of the claimed configuration, wherein said thickness in the overlapping portion is the greater of the two thicknesses, this will be the interpretation imparted to the claim limitation. Please confirm whether this is consistent with Applicant’s intended scope of the claim.
---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (2016/0378224; hereinafter Kwon; cited in Applicant’s 29 January 2026 IDS) in view of Kwon et al. (2017/0059752; hereinafter Jaejoong; cited in Applicant’s 29 January 2026 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a display device [0003] comprising:
a substrate (Figure 4 – 6B: Comprising SUB);
a first transistor (Comprising one of TR1, TR2) including a silicon-based semiconductor material [0113] and a second transistor (Comprising other one of TR1, TR2) including an oxide-based semiconductor material [0113], the first and second transistors being disposed on the substrate (Comprising SUB);
a planarization layer (Comprising 16) on the first transistor and the second transistor (Comprising TR1, TR2);
a first electrode (Comprising AE) on the planarization layer (Comprising 16);
a bank (Comprising PXL) on the first electrode (Comprising AE) and exposing a portion of the first electrode (Comprising AE) to define a first subpixel, a second subpixel, and a third subpixel (PXA comprising PXA–R, PXA–G, PXA–B), the first, second, and third subpixels emitting different colors of light [0108];
a light emitting layer (Comprising at least one of HCL, EML, ECL) on the first electrode (Comprising AE);
a second electrode (Comprising CE) on the light emitting layer (Comprising at least one of HCL, EML, ECL);
an encapsulation layer (Comprising TFE) on the second electrode (Comprising CE), the encapsulation layer including a first inorganic film, an [282] organic film, and a second inorganic film sequentially stacked [0126];
touch electrodes (Figures 33I, 34B: Comprising SP1–L, SP2–C) on the encapsulation layer (Comprising TFE); and
a color filter layer (Comprising CF) on the encapsulation layer (Comprising TFE), the color filter layer including a first color filter, a second color filter, and a third color filter [0186] respectively corresponding to the first, second, and third subpixels [0109].
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the bank is black.
In the same field of endeavor, Jaejoong discloses a display ([0003], Figure 6) wherein the bank (Comprising 40) includes materials that may be at least one of light absorbent or opaque [0104]. This is among measures implemented to overcome [0029] existing limitations of long and complicated processing that is not suitable for high resolution displays [0007].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kwon to be modified with a black bank, in view of the teaching of Jaejoong, to simplify manufacturing a high resolution display.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 1. Kwon discloses the device (Figures 33I, 34B) wherein at least two of the first, second, and third color filters (Comprising CF) overlap each other at an overlapping portion (Comprising CF–E; [0237]), and the overlapping portion (Comprising CF–E) overlaps the bank (Figures 33I, 34B: Comprising PXL).
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the bank is black.
In the same field of endeavor, Jaejoong discloses a display ([0003], Figure 6) wherein the bank (Comprising 40) includes materials that may be at least one of light absorbent or opaque [0104]. This is among measures implemented to overcome [0029] existing limitations of long and complicated processing that is not suitable for high resolution displays [0007].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kwon to be modified with a black bank, in view of the teaching of Jaejoong, to simplify manufacturing a high resolution display.
Regarding claim 3, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 2. Kwon discloses the device (Figures 33I, 34B) wherein the bank (Comprising PXL) overlaps the touch electrodes (Comprising SP1–L, SP2–C).
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the device wherein the bank is black.
In the same field of endeavor, Jaejoong discloses a display ([0003], Figure 6) wherein the bank (Comprising 40) includes materials that may be at least one of light absorbent or opaque [0104]. This is among measures implemented to overcome [0029] existing limitations of long and complicated processing that is not suitable for high resolution displays [0007].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the device of Kwon to be modified with a black bank, in view of the teaching of Jaejoong, to simplify manufacturing a high resolution display.
Regarding claim 4, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses he display device of claim 2. Kwon discloses the device wherein the first, second, and third color filters [0186] are sequentially stacked in the overlapping portion [0237].
Regarding claim 5, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 2. Kwon discloses the device wherein at least two of the first, second, and third color filters [0186] are in contact with each other at the overlapping portion ([0237]: Color filter edge portions disposed on one another).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 2. Kwon discloses the device wherein at least one of the first, second, and third color filters [0186] has an island shape at the overlapping portion (Figure 33I: CF–E comprising portion of lesser thickness in the DR3 direction).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 2. Kwon discloses the device wherein a thickness of the color filter layer (Figure 33I: Comprising CF) at the overlapping portion (Comprising CF–E) is greater (In DR3 direction) than a thickness of the color filter layer (Comprising CF–C) overlapping the exposed portion of the first electrode (Comprising AE).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 1. Kwon discloses the device wherein the substrate includes a plastic film [0113].
Regarding claim 9, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 1. Kwon discloses the device wherein the light emitting layer (Figures 33I, 34B: Comprising at least one of HCL, EML, ECL) comprises: an organic light emitting layer formed in the first, second, and third subpixels in common [0109].
Regarding claim 10, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 9. Kwon discloses the device wherein the organic light emitting layer (Figures 33I, 34B: Comprising at least one of HCL, ECL) is disposed continuously in the first, second, and third subpixels [0122].
Regarding claim 11, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 9. Kwon discloses the device wherein the organic light emitting layer further includes a white light emitting layer [0109].
Regarding claim 12, Kwon in view of Jaejoong discloses the display device of claim 1. Kwon discloses the device (Figure 33I) further comprising: an overcoat layer (Comprising TS–OC) disposed on the color filter layer (Comprising CF).
Conclusion
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621