DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 15 August 2026. Applicant argues that the Requirement does not identify the particular claimed features that allegedly render the respective embodiments patentably distinct, nor does it specifically explain the distinct search or examination burden associated with the numerous identified species, sub-species, and sub-sub-species. The examiner respectfully points out that the Requirement clearly identified the figure(s) that apply to each respective species and also pointed to specific features/configurations that patentably differentiate the identified species. For example, the Requirement clearly points out that there are embodiments directed to fan modules or portable fans, clip fan, neck fan, hand held fan, different connecting members, control circuitry. By the Requirement pointing to the specific figure(s) that apply to each respective species and the provided examples of the different embodiments, it has been identified what particular features render the respective species patentably distinct. As an example, Species A includes Sub-Species A1 and A2 which are directed to fan modules and when the identified figure(s) are compared, patentably distinct features/configurations are contrasted between said two sub-species. Similarly, the same approach applies to each different identified species, sub-species and sub-sub-species. Furthermore, with respect to the argument that the Requirement does not specifically explain the distinct search or examination burden associated with the numerous species, sub-species and sub-sub-species, the examiner points out that the Requirement clearly stated that different fields of search, which could include different classes/sub-classes, and/or different strategies or search queries, are required for the identified species. Note as a non-limiting example for Sub-Species A1 and A2, different search strategies would be required to search for an inner diameter of an annular wall structure gradually decreasing (Species A1) and to search for a grille (Species A2).
For these reasons the arguments are not persuasive and the Election Requirement is made final.
Priority
The claimed subject matter of the elected species has support in the disclosure of the instant Continuation in Part application, therefore, claims 1-10 are being examined with an effective filing date of 30 October 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 8 recites “an central connecting part” and should recite “a central connecting part”.
Claim 9 recites “a plurality of first air outlets” and also recites “the first air outlet”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the claim should recite “the first air outlets”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control assembly” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of first air-guiding vanes” and also recites “a plurality of first air-guiding vanes”; it is not clear if the second recitation of a plurality of first air-guiding vanes refers to the first recitation of a plurality of first air-guiding vanes or to different and additional ones.
Claims 2-8 and 10 depend from or include all the limitations of claim 1 and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Clarification and/or amendment is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He (US 20240301894 A1; also US 12,180,997 B2).
Regarding claim 1, He teaches a fan module (Fig.1-6), comprising:
a fan shell (1/2/3), comprising a surrounding wall structure (walls of 1/2/3) and a plurality of first air-guiding vanes (34); the surrounding wall structure encloses an air duct (air duct defined by 3), one side of the air duct is provided with at least one first air inlet (31), a plurality of first air-guiding vanes (34) are located on the other side of the air duct (32), and two adjacent first air-guiding vanes enclose one of a plurality of first air outlets (Fig.1/6); and
a fan blade assembly (4), arranged the air duct and configured to guide air from the at least one first air inlet through the air duct to the first air outlets (¶25);
wherein, at least part of the surrounding wall structure adjacent to the first air outlets has an inner diameter gradually decreasing along an air outlet direction of the fan shell to pressurize air outputted by the fan shell (inner diameter of surrounding wall structure part defined by 1).
Regarding claim 2, He further teaches the surrounding wall structure comprises a sidewall structure (defined by 3) and an annular wall structure (defined by 1/2), the sidewall structure encloses the air duct; the plurality of first air-guiding vanes are connected to an inner side of the sidewall structure (Fig.1-6); the annular wall structure is connected to an air outlet side of the sidewall structure (Fig.1-6); and at least part of the annular wall structure has an inner diameter gradually decreasing along the air outlet direction to pressurize the air outputted by the fan shell (inner diameter of surrounding wall structure part defined by 1).
Regarding claim 3, He further teaches the fan shell further comprises a plurality of second air-guiding vanes (23), the plurality of second air-guiding vanes are connected to an inner side of the annular wall structure (Fig.1/2/6); two adjacent second air-guiding vanes enclose one of a plurality of second air outlets (Fig.1/2/6); and the plurality of second air-guiding vanes are configured to guide air out from the plurality of first air-guiding vanes (¶25).
Regarding claim 4, He further teaches a part of the annular wall structure connected to the second air-guiding vanes has an inner diameter that gradually decreases along the air outlet direction to pressurize the air outputted by the fan shell (see 24).
Regarding claim 6, He further teaches an angle between the plurality of first air-guiding vanes are inclined at an angle relative to a radial direction of the surrounding wall structure to guide air out from the fan blade assembly (¶26); and the plurality of second air-guiding vanes extend substantially along the radial direction and are configured to further direct air out from the plurality of first air-guiding vanes towards the air outlet direction (¶27).
Regarding claim 7, He further teaches the annular wall structure comprises a first part (2) connected to the sidewall structure and a second part (1) connected to a side of the first part opposite to the sidewall structure (Fig.1-6); the plurality of second air-guiding vanes are connected to an inner side of the first part (at 24); and at least part of the second part has an inner diameter gradually decreasing along the air outlet direction to pressurize the air outputted by the fan shell (inner wall of 1).
Regarding claim 8, He further teaches the fan shell further comprises a pressurization structure (24) arranged on an air outlet side of the plurality of second air-guiding vanes (Fig.1/2/6); the plurality of second air-guiding vanes are arranged in a ring shape and are all connected to a central connecting part (22); the pressurization structure is arranged corresponding to the central connecting part (Fig.1/2/6), the second part is located on a periphery of the pressurization structure (Fig.1/6), and a diameter of the pressurization structure gradually decreases along the air outlet direction (Fig.1/6).
Regarding claim 9, He further teaches a fan module (Fig.1-6), comprising:
a fan shell (1/2/3), comprising a surrounding wall structure (walls of 1/2/3), a plurality of first air-guiding vanes (34), and a plurality of second air-guiding vanes (23), the surrounding wall structure encloses an air duct (air duct defined by 3), one side of the air duct is provided with at least one first air inlet (31), the plurality of second air-guiding vanes and the plurality of first air-guiding vanes are arranged sequentially (Fig.1/6) along an air outlet direction (32), two adjacent first air-guiding vanes enclose one of a plurality of first air outlets (Fig.1/6); and
a fan blade assembly (4), arranged in the air duct and configured to guide air from the at least one first air inlet through the air duct to the first air outlet (¶25);
wherein, the plurality of first air-guiding vanes are inclined at an angle relative to a radial direction of the surrounding wall structure to guide the air out from the fan blade assembly (¶26); and the plurality of second air-guiding vanes extend substantially along the radial direction and are configured to further direct the air out from the plurality of first air-guiding vanes towards the air outlet direction (¶27).
Regarding claim 10, He further teaches portable fan (¶1-2), comprising:
a fan housing (inherent feature of a portable fan); and
at least one fan module as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above) mounted in the fan housing (inherent configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Chen (US 20260177078 A1).
Regarding claim 5, He teaches all the limitations of claim 3, see above, and further teaches the plurality of first air-guiding vanes are connected to a central connecting part (33), the fan blade assembly is arranged on the central connecting part (¶25), a control assembly (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a control button, circuit board and battery to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. He teaches a control circuit and power supply that achieves the control function, ¶30); however, does not explicitly teach the surrounding wall structure has a gap configured to allow the wire connecting the fan blade assembly to pass through to be connected to the control assembly.
Chen teaches a fan assembly, fan head, and portable fan (¶2; Fig.5-15). Chen further teaches a plurality of first air-guiding vanes (131) connected to a central connecting part (1342), the fan blade assembly is arranged on the central connecting part (Fig.15); a surrounding wall structure (defined by 134) has a gap (1362) configured to allow a wire connecting the fan blade assembly to pass through to be connected to a circuit board (¶70). This configuration provides an electric wiring route to allow control of the fan by a user without intervening with the rotating components of said fan.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan module of He by having the surrounding wall structure has a gap configured to allow the wire connecting the fan blade assembly to pass through to be connected to the control assembly based on the teachings of Chen because this configuration provides an electric wiring route to allow control of the fan by a user without intervening with the rotating components of said fan.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745