DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-12, drawn to a kit for forming a shotgun ejector and an ejector assembly for affixing to the interior surface of a shotgun receiver, classified in F41A 15/16.
II. Claims 13-18, drawn to a kit for forming a shotgun ejector, classified in F41A 15/00.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are directed to related products. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed can have a materially different design, since Invention I need not include a plurality of steps extending from the first base end to the second base end, the steps configured and adapted to enable touching relationship between the second major base side and a curved interior receiver surface of a shotgun. Further, Invention II can have a materially different design than Invention I, since Invention II need not be affixable or affixed to the interior surface of a shotgun receiver. Further, Invention II need not include an assembly absent a tongue-and-groove configuration nor an ejector having a tongue-and-groove configuration. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply: the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification; the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries). A search for Invention I would require text queries specific to tongue-and-groove configurations, e.g., “tongue,” “groove,” “tongue-and-groove,” etc., as well as synonyms thereof and other associated terms, whereas a search for Invention II would not. A search for Invention II would require text queries specific to stepped and curved surfaces, whereas a search for Invention I would not.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Lori P. Sarageno on 13 October 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute Invention I, claims 1-12. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 13-18 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. The remainder of the instant Office Action is directed to claims 1-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin (3619928).
In reference to claim 1, Martin discloses a kit for forming a shotgun ejector, the kit comprising:
an ejector spring (7) and a base member (column 2, line 49, “ejector body”, which includes tracks 13 and 13’),
the ejector spring and base member adapted and configured to engage to form an assembly (column 2, lines 48-50),
the assembly adapted and configured to be affixed to an interior surface of a shotgun receiver to form an ejector (figures 1 and 2, shotgun receiver 2), and
wherein the ejector comprises a tongue-and-groove configuration and the assembly excludes a tongue-and-groove configuration (figures 1 and 2: the “ejector” is formed once the assembly is affixed to the interior surface of the receiver, and the drawings clearly show that a right-hand end portion, i.e., tongue, of spring 7 is sandwiched between the ejector body and the inner wall of the receiver such that a tongue-and-groove configuration is formed, the groove being defined on one side by the inner wall of the receiver and on an opposite side by the ejector body; thus, the “assembly” of the ejector body and spring does NOT include a tongue-and-groove configuration prior to being affixed to the interior surface of the receiver).
In reference to claim 3, Martin discloses the claimed invention (figures 1 and 2).
In reference to claims 10 and 11, Martin discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (also see figures 1 and 2).
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crittendon (2780881).
In reference to claim 1, Crittendon discloses a kit for forming a shotgun ejector, the kit comprising:
an ejector spring (41) and a base member (37),
the ejector spring and base member adapted and configured to engage to form an assembly (figures 1 and 2),
the assembly adapted and configured to be affixed to an interior surface of a shotgun receiver to form an ejector (figures 1 and 2, receiver 1), and
wherein the ejector comprises a tongue-and-groove configuration and the assembly excludes a tongue-and-groove configuration (figures 1 and 2, and column 1, last paragraph; the examiner considers the ejector as only formed once the assembly is affixed to the receiver, including the tongue-and-groove configuration at the right-hand end of element 37, wherein the tongue is a right-hand end portion of element 37 and the groove, i.e., slot, is formed between elements 1 and 2, as clearly shown in figure 2; the examiner considers the assembly as consisting of base 37, spring 41, and the secondary rivet that holds them together, and, thus, the assembly does not include a tongue-and-groove configuration, since said assembly excludes the groove, per se; also, the ejector can be considered as including the primary rivets that affix the base to the receiver, whereas the assembly is not considered as including said primary rivets; the primary rivets are indicated in the marked-up figure 2, below; a secondary rivet is applied through the right-hand primary rivet, as disclosed by Crittendon in the above-cited portion thereof).
Marked-up Figure 2 of Crittendon
In reference to claim 4, Crittendon discloses the claimed invention (figure 2, the primary rivets extend through fastener holes of the base member, as set forth above).
In reference to claims 5 and 6, Crittendon discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above (primary rivets).
In reference to claims 10 and 12, Crittendon discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin.
Martin the claimed invention, except for wherein the spring consists of spring steel. However, it is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to know that spring steel is a suitable material for an ejector spring for a shotgun. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the ejector spring of Martin such that said spring consists of spring steel, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claims 4-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin in view of Swebilius (1578777).
In reference to claim 4, Martin discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the base member defines first and second fastener holes adapted and configured for affixing the base member to the interior surface of the shotgun receiver by engaging first and second fasteners therewith through the receiver of the shotgun. Martin remains silent as to how the ejector body is affixed to the interior surface of the receiver.
Swebilius teaches it is known to provide the base member, like that of Martin, with first and second fastener holes adapted and configured for affixing the base member to the interior surface of a receiver by engaging first and second fasteners therewith through the receiver (figures 1-4, base member 11 clearly shown to have fasteners holes proximate each end with threaded fasteners extending therethrough). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the base member of Martin with first and second fastener holes adapted and configured for affixing the base member to the interior surface of a receiver by engaging first and second fasteners therewith through the receiver, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide a known means for affixing an ejector base member to an interior surface of a receiver.
In reference to claim 5, Martin in view of Swebilius makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above.
In reference to claim 6, Martin in view of Swebilius makes obvious the claimed invention, except for wherein the fasteners are rivets. Swebilius teaches threaded fasteners, as set forth above, but does not explicitly limit them to such. Further, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to use rivets in lieu of screws to attach components of a firearm to one another; the use of rivets mitigates inadvertent loosening. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use rivets in lieu of screws to attach the base member to the receiver, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide predictable attachment of the base member to the receiver in a manner that would mitigate inadvertent loosening.
In reference to claim 7, Martin in view of Swebilius makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above, except Swebilius remains silent as to whether the fastener holes are threaded or not. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to form a hole that accepts a threaded fastener as a threaded hole, in order to provide stronger securement of the fastener to a structure bearing said hole. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the fastener holes as threaded holes, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide stronger securement of the fasteners to the base member.
In reference to claim 8, Martin in view of Swebilius makes obvious the claimed invention (Swebilius: figures 1-4, the fasteners are shown as cap head screws).
In reference to claim 9, Martin in view of Swebilius makes obvious the claimed invention (Swebilius, figure 4).
In reference to claim 12, Martin in view of Swebilius makes obvious the claimed invention, as set forth above.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crittendon.
In reference to claim 2, Crittendon the claimed invention, except for wherein the spring consists of spring steel. However, it is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to know that spring steel is a suitable material for an ejector spring for a shotgun. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the ejector spring of Crittendon such that said spring consists of spring steel, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
In reference to claim 7, Crittendon discloses the claimed invention, except for wherein the first and second fasteners are screws. Crittendon discloses that the first and second fasteners are rivets, as set forth above. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is well-known to use screws in lieu of rivets to attach components of a firearm to one another; the use of screws allows for selective attachment. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use screws in lieu of rivets to attach the base member to the receiver, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide predictable and releasable attachment of the base member to the receiver.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crittendon in view of Swebilius.
Crittendon makes obvious the claimed invention, except for wherein the screws are cap head screws adapted and configured to obtain a flush disposition, as claimed. However, Swebilius teaches it is known to secure an ejector base member to an interior of a receiver using cap head screws adapted and configured to obtain a flush disposition, as claimed, to provide secure and unobtrusive connection between the base member and receiver (see above references to claims 8 and 9). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the screws as cap head screws adapted and configured to obtain a flush disposition, as claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide secure and unobtrusive connection between the base member and receiver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached Notice of References Cited. The relevance of each cited reference is made clear by at least the abstract and/or drawings thereof.
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641