DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed10/05/2026. Claims 1 and 21 are amended, and claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12482377. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the distinguishing feature recited in the instant application is drawn to non-functional descriptive matter that does not patentably distinguish an apparatus. While the amended language recites “the scale comprising at least eight visible marks uniformly disposed about the entire periphery of the least one of the ninth side and the tenth side, wherein the visible marks describe the rotational orientation of the polyhedral optical conduit and the optical device” there is no meaningful functional relationship between the indicators and the substrate to which they are disposed. Whether the scale was embodied as the words “This Way Up” or a 1-dimensional array of hashmarks or markings shown in the cited reference US Pat. No. 7,801,401, eight visible marks generally describing rotational orientation is not a meaningful functional relationship with the substrate. It is acknowledged that rotationally-symmetric markings would not have performed the function of describing rotational symmetry, but the whole set of non-rotationally symmetric markings would perform the generic function claimed. Rather than being related to the structure of the apparatus, the claimed scale is drawn to the method of using the apparatus only. In re Bryan, 323 Fed. App'x 898 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (unpublished)
As there is ongoing disagreement as to whether the scale patentably distinguishes the apparatus over the patents apparatus absent a printed marking, it is also held that the claims 1-15 are unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12482377 in view of US Pat. No. 7,801,401 to Morioka, et al. (hereinafter Morioka). In Morioka, Fig. 6 depicts four distinct patterns with at least eight visible markings “uniformly disposed about the entire periphery of the least one of the ninth side and the tenth side, wherein the visible marks describe the rotational orientation of the polyhedral optical conduit and the optical device”. Were the markings to have been present on the US Pat. 12482377, the markings would describe rotational orientation as claimed (See Below).
US Ser. 19374084Claim
US Patent 12482377Claim
Differing Language
1
1
“at least one angular scale disposed adjacent to at least one of the ninth side and the tenth side”
2
2
N/A
3
3
N/A
4
4
N/A
5
5
N/A
6
6
N/A
7
7
N/A
8
8
N/A
9
9
N/A
10
10
N/A
11
11
N/A
12
12
N/A
13
13
N/A
14
14
N/A
15
15
N/A
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 63/338,841, 29/843,646, and 18/310,776, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. There are no angular scales nor any indicia on the corresponding faces to indicate angular scale. Accordingly, claims 1-15 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. 2024/0144843 to Brunschwig (hereafter Brunschwig) in view of US. Pat. 7,801,401 to Morioka, et al. (hereinafter Morioka).
Regarding claim 1, Brunschwig discloses a polyhedral optical conduit, comprising: a longitudinal axis (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1), a first transverse axis (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and a second transverse axis perpendicular to both the longitudinal axis and the first transverse axis; a first side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1) parallel to a second side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1), each side having two longitudinal edges and two transverse edges; a third side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1) parallel to a fourth side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1), each side having two longitudinal edges and two transverse edges; a fifth side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1) parallel to a sixth side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1), each side having two longitudinal edges and two transverse edges; a seventh side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1) parallel to an eighth side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1), each side having two longitudinal edges and two transverse edges; a ninth side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1) parallel to a tenth side (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1), each side having a plurality of transverse edges; wherein: the first side and the third side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at a first angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the third side and the fifth side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at a second angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the fifth side and the seventh side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at a third angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the seventh side and the second side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at a fourth angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the second side and the fourth side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at a fifth angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the fourth side and the sixth side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at a sixth angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the sixth side and the eighth side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at a seventh angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the ninth side is joined to at least one of the first through eighth sides along one of the transverse edges of each of the at least one of the first through eighth sides at a ninth angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the tenth side is joined to at least one of the first through eighth sides along the second of the transverse edges of each of the at least one of the first through eighth sides at a tenth angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the ninth side defining a first opening, the first opening in a first plane defined by the first transverse axis and the second transverse axis; the tenth side defining a second opening, the second opening in a second plane defined by the first transverse axis and the second transverse axis (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); the polyhedral optical conduit defines a passageway having a length between the first opening and the second opening, the passageway oriented along the longitudinal axis and through which electromagnetic radiation travels to be manipulated (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); and further comprising: at least one optical device (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1) having a thickness and a defined orientation disposed in the passageway and positioned in the plane defined by the first transverse axis and the second transverse axis so as to manipulate the electromagnetic radiation (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1); wherein the length of the passageway is greater than the thickness of the optical device (Figs. 1-5; Claim 1).
Brunschwig discloses the claimed invention as cited above though does not explicitly disclose at least one angular scale disposed adjacent to at least one of the ninth side and the tenth side.
Morioka discloses a scale disposed adjacent to at least one of the ninth side and tenth side, the scale comprising at least eight visible marks uniformly disposed about the entire periphery of the least one of the ninth side and the tenth side, wherein the visible marks describe the rotational orientation of the polyhedral optical conduit and the optical device (marks 12 and 14 and unlabeled open-circle mark of Fig. 6).
The scale is directed to visible marks and thus printed matter. The printed material limitation does not provide a functional relationship with the substrate (i.e. optical conduit), but rather guides the method of use of the apparatus. As in Morioka, the markings could be used to orient the optical device to which the markings are applied but the markings are not related to the functioning of the optical device. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) In the instant case, duplications of the Morioka markings would duplicate the ability to orient unique markings at particular positions that are easily detectable by the human eye. This is not to say that infinite duplication is an obvious modification of Morioka as a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that angular orientation has resolvable limitations for the human eye.
While it can be said that Morioka only discloses four markings oriented around a plane and at positioned 90⁰ about the optical axis relative to most-adjacent marks, it can also be said that those markings are composed of further markings totally eight or more. Additionally, providing additionally elements has been found to be an obvious modification of prior art structures. See possible embodiment of mere duplication of Morioka’s markings below.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide an angular scale as taught by Morioka with the system as disclosed by Brunschwig. The motivation would have been to rotate and adjust the optical element for control of the optical effect (col. 2, ll. 17-56).
Regarding claim 2, Brunschwig discloses the eighth side and the first side are joined along one of their respective longitudinal edges at an eighth angle (Figs. 1-5; Claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Brunschwig discloses each of the first through eighth angles is approximately 45 degrees (Figs. 1-5; Claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Brunschwig discloses each of the ninth and tenth angles is approximately 90 degrees (Figs. 1-5; Claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Brunschwig discloses the polyhedral optical conduit is in the form of a decahedron (Figs. 1-5; Claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Brunschwig discloses the at least one optical device comprises a polarizer (Figs. 1-5; Claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, Brunschwig discloses the at least one optical device comprises a waveplate (Figs. 1-5; Claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Brunschwig discloses the waveplate comprises a half-wave waveplate (Figs. 1-5; Claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Brunschwig discloses the waveplate comprises a quarter-wave waveplate (Figs. 1-5; Claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, Brunschwig discloses the orientation of the optical device is approximately 45 degrees relative to at least one of the axes of the polyhedral optical conduit (Figs. 1-5; Claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, Brunschwig discloses the orientation of the optical device is approximately 0 degrees relative to at least one of the axes of the polyhedral optical conduit (Figs. 1-5; Claim 11).
Regarding claim 12, Brunschwig discloses at least one of the sides comprises marking related to the orientation of the optical device (Figs. 1-5; Claim 12).
Regarding claim 13, Brunschwig discloses the marking comprises Dirac bra-ket notation (Figs. 1-5; Claim 13).
Regarding claim 14, Brunschwig discloses the optical device is fixed relative to the longitudinal axis, the first transverse axis, and the second transverse axis (Figs. 1-5; Claim 14).
Regarding claim 15, Brunschwig discloses the optical device is movable relative to a least one of the longitudinal axis, the first transverse axis, and the second transverse axis (Figs. 1-5; Claim 15).
Response to Arguments
Amendments have rendered some previously presented rejections moot.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that amended Claim 1 provides a structural distinction over Brunschwig on account of the claimed function of the scale as describing angular orientation of the conduit. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, were printed matter to permitted patentably distinguish inventions by way of merely describing angular orientation of the substrate, then all printed matter would patentably distinguish inventions. A marking necessarily describes the orientation of the substrate to which it is disposed. A rotationally symmetric marking on Applicant’s optical conduit may not describe the angular orientation orthogonal to the optical axis, but would describe the axial orientation as it would either mark the ninth side or the tenth side. Absent the distinct geometry of the housing, Applicant’s scale embodiment (Fig. 1) does not describe the orientation in a global reference frame beyond three distinct states (See Below). Absent any other markings, the scale shown in Fig. 1 provides three repeating global patterns (1) a first at 0⁰, 90⁰, 180⁰, and 270⁰, (2) a second at 45⁰ and 225⁰, and (3) a third at 135⁰ and 315⁰.
While the scale is recited as disposed on the ninth or tenth sides, the markings on the first through eighth sides provide analogous, though improved, angular orientation description.
On pages 8-9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that the amended claims differentiate the invention over the prior art combination of Brunschwig in view of Morioka. Applicant argues that reentrant mark 14 is not a mark. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the naming of the depression 14 as a “mark” and the depiction of the mark in Fig. 6 anticipate the claimed visible mark. In light of the Specifications, which is absent a description of the physical embodiment of the lines of scale 122, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a “visible mark” would be understood as commensurate in scope with the plain meaning. In this case, a mark is an object that is visually distinct from its surroundings. Applicant further argues that “Morioka et al. teaches the use of one or three marks that are oriented in the same direction as the diffraction grating 9”. Examiner respectfully disagrees as there are four large-scale marks in Fig. 6 (e.g. circles) uniformly distributed and several small-scale marks (e.g. triangles and lines) within the large-scale marks that together provide global orientation in more than just the direction of the diffraction grating. This is shown in the Claim 1 rejection above. The rejection further contends that the mere duplication of marks to distinguish angular orientation would have been an obvious modification of the prior art.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pat 9541258, 9541257, 10408429 disclose visible indicators to aid in angular orientation of a polyhedral optical structure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872