DETAILED ACTION
The following NON-FINAL Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed 10/30/2025 regarding Application 19/374,303. The following is the first action on the merits.
Priority Acknowledgment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim as a Continuation-In-Part of Application 18/110,469 with a priority filing date of 02/16/2023.
Status of Claim(s)
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending and are rejected as follows
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim(s) 1 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,468,997 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations present in Applicant’s claim below are anticipated by the claims provided in the previously granted patent. Support for this determination is given in the citations provided below:.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 –
receiving, using at least a processor, composition data from a user; (Wheelwright: Claim(s) 1 and 10, “receiving, using at least a processor, composition data from a user wherein the composition data comprises…”)
classifying, using the at least a processor, the composition data to one or more composition groups; (Wheelwright: Claim(s) 1 and 10, “…classify composition data into one or more composition groups…”)
determining, using the at least a processor, an action item as a function of the one or more composition groups; and (Wheelwright: Claim(s) 1 and 10, “determining, using the at least a processor, an action item as a function of the one or more composition groups…”)
generating, using the at least a processor, an action strategy as a function of the action item. (Wheelwright: Claim(s) 1 and 10, “generating, using the at least a processor, an action strategy…as a function of the action item…”)
Therefore Claim(s) 1 and 11 of Applicant’s claims are rejected under double
patenting in view of the rationale provided above as the content within Applicant’s claim
limitations are directed to patentably indistinct subject matter from the previously granted patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is/are directed towards a judicial exception (i.e. law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are directed towards an invention for the receiving of composition data, classifying the composition data into one or more groups, determining an action item as a function of the one or more composition groups, and generating an action strategy. These actions fall under a subject matter grouping which the courts have considered ineligible (Mental Process (Observations, Evaluations, Judgments, and Opinions with the aid of pen and paper), and Organizing Human Activity (Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People)). These claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and do not include additional elements that provide an inventive concept (are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea).
Under Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo framework it must be considered whether the claims are
directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention. Claim(s) 1-10 are directed towards a system which falls under the product category. Claim(s) 11-20 are directed towards a method comprising at least one step. Accordingly, the claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention, (method and product) and will be further analyzed under Step 2 of the Alice/Mayo framework)
Under Step 2, Prong One, of the Alice/Mayo framework it must be considered whether
the claims recite an abstract idea.
Independent claims 1 and 11 recite an invention for the receiving of composition data, classifying the composition data into one or more groups, determining an action item as a function of the one or more composition groups, and generating an action strategy which recite the abstract ideas of a Mental Process and Organizing Human Activity in the following limitations:
Receive composition data from a user
Classify the composition data to one or more composition groups
Determine an action item as a function of the one or more composition groups
Generate an action strategy as a function of the action item
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 merely further limit the abstract idea and therefore recite the same abstract ideas listed above.
Under Step 2A, Prong Two, any additional elements are listed
Independent claims 1 and 11 recite:
At least one processor
A memory
Dependent claims 7, 9-10, 17, and 19-20 recite:
A machine-learning model
These additional elements, considered both individually and as an ordered pair do no more than represent mere instructions to implement the abstract idea ("apply it") on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Additionally, the claims represent insignificant extra solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).These elements are recited with a high degree of generality, and the specification sets forth the general purpose nature of the technologies required to implement the invention (emphasis added).
Support for this determination can be found in paragraph(s) [0032], [0090]-[0097], and [0137]-[0146] of Applicant’s specification.
Under Step 2B eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e. whether any additional element, or combination of elements, adds an inventive concept to the claims (MPEP 2106.05). As explained with respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, there are several additional elements. The processor, memory, and machine learning model are at best the equivalent of merely adding the words "apply it" to the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Further, the processor represents insignificant extra solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)), specifically that of mere data gathering which has is known to be well-understood, routine, or conventional within the art (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Insignificant extra solution activity, especially that which is well-understood, routine, or conventional in the art does not provide an inventive concept. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements to are not deemed to be sufficient enough to provide an inventive concept onto the abstract idea, therefore, they are not eligible. (Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 134 S. Ct. at 2389, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (warning against a §101 that turns on "the draftsman's art")).
Dependent claims 2-6, 8, 12-16, and 18 do not provide any further additional elements and are therefore rejected due to their dependency under the same rationale expressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grau (US 2018/0130156 A1).
Claim(s) 1 and 11 –
Grau discloses the following limitations:
at least a processor; (Grau: Paragraph 3, “The present inventions provide methods and systems comprising one or more server computers communicatively coupled to a network and including one or more processors executing instructions in a memory coupled to the server computer, the instructions causing the server computer”)
and a memory communicatively connected to the processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the at least a processor (Grau: Paragraph 3, “The present inventions provide methods and systems comprising one or more server computers communicatively coupled to a network and including one or more processors executing instructions in a memory coupled to the server computer, the instructions causing the server computer”)
receive composition data from a user; (Grau: Paragraph 56, “In order for each user to create a user profile 220 and generate a personalized course profile, server 102 may generate, render and transmit one or more UIs to the user's client computer 104, 106. Each user may access the UI and generate data input, possibly using one or more UI controls as seen in FIG. 3, defining their career goals.”; Paragraph 83, “Server 102 may generate the user's competency score from the assessment described below. For example, database 110 may store, in association with the user profile described above, one or more previous competency scores, such as a GSE score representing the user's results from a previous GSE assessment, or determined from current use of products that determine a GSE score. After the user is authenticated to the system, server 102 may query database 110 to determine the user's most recent or average assessment score, and this score may be used as the starting point of the course length continuum, or may represent a baseline score if the user engages with the assessment described below.”)
classify the composition data to one or more composition groups; (Grau: Paragraph 18, “The exemplary embodiments are described with respect to evaluation of English language proficiency, but it will be understood that the systems and methods may be used to evaluate other job skills using a relevant scoring framework, as desired.”; Paragraph 20, “which measures English language proficiency in each of four functional skills: listening, reading, speaking and writing. The GSE is also used within the disclosed embodiments to indicate proficiency levels and enable skills for grammar and vocabulary. The GSE is psychometrically aligned with the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR). Unlike other frameworks, which describe attainment in wide bands, the GSE identifies what a learner can do in a more granular way at each point (i.e., integer value) on the scale. It is therefore possible to much more precisely show whether a learner—or a learning objective, as described below—is situated toward the top or bottom, or somewhere in the middle, of a comparatively wide-banded level (e.g., the six wide levels of the CEFR).”; Paragraph 42, “As disclosed below, server 102 determines an individual, customized, personalized course profile for each user by selecting only data modules 200, learning objectives, skills, assets 205, and other resources needed to achieve the user's professional goals. As such, server 102 must be able to analyze the user's input, generate the personalized course profile, identify the data modules 200 and/or learning objectives 205 accessible to the user which make up the course profile, calculate a price for the course profile (based on the price per data module and number of data modules), and display the assets 205 associated with each module 200 within the personalized course profile.”)
determine an action item as a function of the one or more composition groups; (Grau: Paragraph 103, “The self-study stage of the course delivery may include individual independent learning activities for practicing the skills needed for the identified learning objective 205. As non-limiting examples, such learning activities may include reviewing assets such as reading materials or topic-relevant video content, writing assignments, etc. The example UI in FIG. 5 demonstrates a non-limiting example of the generated UI, as the user transitions from the self-study stage to the peer-to-peer stage.”)
and generate an action strategy as a function of the action item. (Grau: Paragraph 42, “As such, server 102 must be able to analyze the user's input, generate the personalized course profile, identify the data modules 200 and/or learning objectives 205 accessible to the user which make up the course profile, calculate a price for the course profile (based on the price per data module and number of data modules), and display the assets 205 associated with each module 200 within the personalized course profile.”; Paragraph 104, “In this example embodiment, the user may access all resources needed for the self-study portion of the personalized course. Here, the user is focused on the learning objective 205 “Can response effectively to emails requesting work info.” Server 102 may render the UI, including links or other means of accessing the learning objective 205 and any associated assets. For example, the user, on selecting the Begin Course link, may be provided access to reading materials, video content, virtual reality environments, etc. associated with the learning objective 205.”)
Claim(s) 2 and 12 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11
Grau further discloses the following:
wherein the composition data comprises document data (Grau: Fig. 3; Paragraph 68, “Each user may submit the data from the one or more UIs displayed on the user's client computer 104, 106, possibly by clicking a submit button as seen in FIG. 3. Client computer 104, 106 may transmit all input data to server 102, which may store the data within database 110 in association with the user's profile 220. If the user inputs user data for the first time, server 102 may insert data into database 110, creating a user profile 220, and further store the user's professional goal data in association with the user profile 220.”) Examiner interprets the data submitted through the user interface to be equivalent to document data as recited in Applicant’s specification
Claim(s) 3 and 13 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11
Grau further discloses the following:
receive group training data, wherein the group training data comprises the composition data; and (Grau: Paragraph 84, “Thus, a GSE score representing an appropriate GSE level may be stored in association with each assessment question 225 within database 110. The GSE score for each question 225 may be determined by presenting the question to a group of users, preferably language speakers of a variety of different languages and associated with different GSE levels, and scoring their responses.”; Paragraph 101, “The user's personalized course follows a self-study methodology complemented with peer-to-peer learning and instructor-led group activities. In other words, as noted above, each data module 200 for each learning objective 205 within the user's personalized course may be associated in database 110 with a tag indicating a method of course delivery. Server 102, while generating the ordered list on the UI, may identify the course delivery tag associated with each learning objective 205 data module 200, and group the learning objectives 205 into three lists, each containing the appropriate learning objectives 205 for self-study, peer-to-peer, or instructor-led activities. The list may also indicate a gateway between each stage, notifying each user that they have completed the stage and should move to the next stage.”; Paragraph 118, Server 102 may identify the groups for the peer-to-peer stage of the user's personalized course according to common characteristics or attributes within the user profiles 220 of all users in database 110. For example, the most obvious common characteristic or attribute may include user profiles storing identical, or closely similar modules 200 within their personalized course.”)
classify the group training data to the one or more composition groups. (Grau: Paragraph 101, “The user's personalized course follows a self-study methodology complemented with peer-to-peer learning and instructor-led group activities. In other words, as noted above, each data module 200 for each learning objective 205 within the user's personalized course may be associated in database 110 with a tag indicating a method of course delivery. Server 102, while generating the ordered list on the UI, may identify the course delivery tag associated with each learning objective 205 data module 200, and group the learning objectives 205 into three lists, each containing the appropriate learning objectives 205 for self-study, peer-to-peer, or instructor-led activities. The list may also indicate a gateway between each stage, notifying each user that they have completed the stage and should move to the next stage.”; Paragraph 118, Server 102 may identify the groups for the peer-to-peer stage of the user's personalized course according to common characteristics or attributes within the user profiles 220 of all users in database 110. For example, the most obvious common characteristic or attribute may include user profiles storing identical, or closely similar modules 200 within their personalized course.”)
Claim(s) 4 and 14 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11
Grau further discloses the following:
provide a composition course as a function of the one or more composition groups; (Grau: Paragraph 42, “As disclosed below, server 102 determines an individual, customized, personalized course profile for each user by selecting only data modules 200, learning objectives, skills, assets 205, and other resources needed to achieve the user's professional goals. As such, server 102 must be able to analyze the user's input, generate the personalized course profile, identify the data modules 200 and/or learning objectives 205 accessible to the user which make up the course profile, calculate a price for the course profile (based on the price per data module and number of data modules), and display the assets 205 associated with each module 200 within the personalized course profile.”; Paragraph 44, “As a non-limiting example, mobile applications may be configured to allow a user to “swipe” in any direction to indicate that they like or dislike displayed content within the disclosed embodiments, thereby further customizing their user or course profile, user experience, assessments, preferences, etc. For example, a user may swipe the screen to the left to indicate they like a displayed content, right to indicate they dislike it, up to select A from a multiple choice assessment question, down to select B, etc.”)
Claim(s) 5 and 15 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11
Grau further discloses the following:
wherein determining the action item comprises receiving an item response from the user. (Grau: Paragraph 103, “The self-study stage of the course delivery may include individual independent learning activities for practicing the skills needed for the identified learning objective 205. As non-limiting examples, such learning activities may include reviewing assets such as reading materials or topic-relevant video content, writing assignments, etc. The example UI in FIG. 5 demonstrates a non-limiting example of the generated UI, as the user transitions from the self-study stage to the peer-to-peer stage.”)
Claim(s) 6 and 16 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1, 5, 11, and 15
Grau further discloses the following:
wherein the item response comprises a course response. (Grau: Paragraph 60, “However, any means of emphasizing or deemphasizing specific skills may be employed. For example, a user may select a ranking of each of the listed skills, or respond to a generated survey to determine the importance of each skill to the user, etc.”; Paragraph 88, “The user may input a response for the question 225 and submit the UI for transmission to server 102. Server 102 may receive and score the response. Scores may be weighted according to the type of question. For example, a multiple choice question may carry greater weight in scoring the user's answer than a true false question. Furthermore, a multiple choice may be made up of a best answer, second best answer, third best answer, etc. The weight of the score for a multiple choice question may be scored accordingly. Server 102 may update the user's GSE score to reflect weighted score from their response to the question. The user's overall GSE score may be increased for correct questions, and decreased for incorrect questions.”)
Claim(s) 7 and 17 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1, 5, 11 and 15
Grau further discloses the following:
determining the action item comprises determining an item status of the action item as a function of the item response using a status machine-learning model. (Grau: Paragraph 65, “Server 102 may then use any machine learning or artificial intelligence known in the art to learn from the user's responses and further personalize the user's course. Thus, the user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using any artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”; Paragraph 110, “On an individual level, server 102 may evaluate the user's assignments and assessment responses, as well as the user's general progress through the personalized course, and generate one or more reports indicating the user's performance. As non-limiting examples, the report may include a percentage of completed course goals for the personalized course, their weaknesses in specific skills areas (e.g., vocabulary, grammar, reading, writing, speaking listening), the user's progress through their personalized goals as compared to a class average, and, where the user has provided a preferred timeline, the user's progress according to the timeline. The server may repeat this process for the analogous peer-to-peer and teacher-led learning objectives and assets 205.”; Paragraph 116, “The user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using an artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”)
Claim(s) 8 and 18 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 15, and 17
Grau further discloses the following:
wherein the item status comprises a course status, wherein the course status comprises a completion status of the composition course. (Grau: Paragraph 65, “Server 102 may then use any machine learning or artificial intelligence known in the art to learn from the user's responses and further personalize the user's course. Thus, the user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using any artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”; Paragraph 110, “On an individual level, server 102 may evaluate the user's assignments and assessment responses, as well as the user's general progress through the personalized course, and generate one or more reports indicating the user's performance. As non-limiting examples, the report may include a percentage of completed course goals for the personalized course, their weaknesses in specific skills areas (e.g., vocabulary, grammar, reading, writing, speaking listening), the user's progress through their personalized goals as compared to a class average, and, where the user has provided a preferred timeline, the user's progress according to the timeline. The server may repeat this process for the analogous peer-to-peer and teacher-led learning objectives and assets 205.”; Paragraph 116, “The user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using an artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”)
Claim(s) 9 and 19 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 15, and 17
Grau further discloses the following:
generating, using an action machine-learning model, a first action item, wherein the action machine-learning model is configured to correlate action training data to the action item; (Grau: Paragraph 95, “In addition to defining the length of the user's personalized course from the end point based on the user's career goals, and the start point based on the user's assessment, described above, server 102 may calculate, generate, and store a second dimension to the personalized course profile, referred to in this disclosure as course depth. This course depth may identify specific skills within the learning objectives 205 associated with the learning objectives 205 in course length dimension, which the user prefers to emphasize or deemphasize, and therefore refers to the “depth” of specific skills learned during each learning objective 205.”; Paragraph 107, “Additional links for each of the data modules 200 and/or learning objectives 205 presented to the user may allow users to complete and submit one or more assignments during the self-study portion of the personalized course to prepare for a user assessment at the module's 200 conclusion. As the assignments are completed and submitted, server 102 may generate an assessment of the user's self-study practice activities before proceeding to the peer-to-peer or teacher-led stages of the learning objective. After receiving the user's assignments and responses to the assessment, server 102 may evaluate the user's individual progress.”; Paragraph 111, “In some embodiments, server 102 may analyze the user's performance on assignments and assessments of each data module 200 and/or learning objective 205. Server 102 may then generate and transmit personalized messages to the user to motivate and/or encourage them according to their performance on the assignments and/or assessments, as demonstrated in FIG. 5. For example, WECHAT messaging technology may be used to assess the user's performance and generate appropriate messages.”)
receiving, using the at least a processor, the course response from the user for the first action item; (Grau: Paragraph 95, “In addition to defining the length of the user's personalized course from the end point based on the user's career goals, and the start point based on the user's assessment, described above, server 102 may calculate, generate, and store a second dimension to the personalized course profile, referred to in this disclosure as course depth. This course depth may identify specific skills within the learning objectives 205 associated with the learning objectives 205 in course length dimension, which the user prefers to emphasize or deemphasize, and therefore refers to the “depth” of specific skills learned during each learning objective 205.”; Paragraph 107, “Additional links for each of the data modules 200 and/or learning objectives 205 presented to the user may allow users to complete and submit one or more assignments during the self-study portion of the personalized course to prepare for a user assessment at the module's 200 conclusion. As the assignments are completed and submitted, server 102 may generate an assessment of the user's self-study practice activities before proceeding to the peer-to-peer or teacher-led stages of the learning objective. After receiving the user's assignments and responses to the assessment, server 102 may evaluate the user's individual progress.”)
determining, using the status machine-learning model, the completion status of the composition course; (Grau: Paragraph 65, “Server 102 may then use any machine learning or artificial intelligence known in the art to learn from the user's responses and further personalize the user's course. Thus, the user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using any artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”; Paragraph 110, “On an individual level, server 102 may evaluate the user's assignments and assessment responses, as well as the user's general progress through the personalized course, and generate one or more reports indicating the user's performance. As non-limiting examples, the report may include a percentage of completed course goals for the personalized course, their weaknesses in specific skills areas (e.g., vocabulary, grammar, reading, writing, speaking listening), the user's progress through their personalized goals as compared to a class average, and, where the user has provided a preferred timeline, the user's progress according to the timeline. The server may repeat this process for the analogous peer-to-peer and teacher-led learning objectives and assets 205.”; Paragraph 116, “The user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using an artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”)
and identifying, using the action machine-learning model, a second action item as a function of the completion status of the composition course. (Grau: Paragraph 65, “Server 102 may then use any machine learning or artificial intelligence known in the art to learn from the user's responses and further personalize the user's course. Thus, the user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using any artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”; Paragraph 110, “On an individual level, server 102 may evaluate the user's assignments and assessment responses, as well as the user's general progress through the personalized course, and generate one or more reports indicating the user's performance. As non-limiting examples, the report may include a percentage of completed course goals for the personalized course, their weaknesses in specific skills areas (e.g., vocabulary, grammar, reading, writing, speaking listening), the user's progress through their personalized goals as compared to a class average, and, where the user has provided a preferred timeline, the user's progress according to the timeline. The server may repeat this process for the analogous peer-to-peer and teacher-led learning objectives and assets 205.”; Paragraph 116, “The user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using an artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”)
Claim(s) 10 and 20 –
Grau discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 11
Grau further discloses the following:
wherein at least a processor is further configured to generate a report using a graph machine-learning model, wherein the report comprises a graphically represented item of the composition data and generating the report using the graph machine- learning model further comprises: (Grau: Paragraph 110, “On an individual level, server 102 may evaluate the user's assignments and assessment responses, as well as the user's general progress through the personalized course, and generate one or more reports indicating the user's performance. As non-limiting examples, the report may include a percentage of completed course goals for the personalized course, their weaknesses in specific skills areas (e.g., vocabulary, grammar, reading, writing, speaking listening), the user's progress through their personalized goals as compared to a class average, and, where the user has provided a preferred timeline, the user's progress according to the timeline. The server may repeat this process for the analogous peer-to-peer and teacher-led learning objectives and assets 205.”; Paragraph 113, “Various checkpoints may be established in the rules 215 triggering the evaluation of the user's performance and whether the messages should be transmitted to the user. For example, after each assignment is submitted and evaluated, or at the conclusion of an assessment, server 102 may score the user and/or compare the user's progress with their established timeline. Server may then identify the appropriate message type for the user. For example, if the user scores low or is behind schedule, server 102 may query database 110 to identify data including tags identifying the message as motivating the user to accelerate their work. Such messages may also include tags identifying resources that may help users that scored poorly. The selected messages may be collected and refined as below.”; Paragraph 131, “For example, a report on the learner's achievements may include a percentage of course goals achieved, progress through goals compared to class average (e.g., “You're below average, get your act together”), progress verses time (e.g., Status—red. Your study plan is behind schedule”), weaknesses (e.g., “In Vocab, Grammar, Reading, Writing, Speaking, Listening”), and/or teacher alerts.”)
receiving a graph training data, wherein the graph training data comprises the composition data; and (Grau: Paragraph 113, “Various checkpoints may be established in the rules 215 triggering the evaluation of the user's performance and whether the messages should be transmitted to the user. For example, after each assignment is submitted and evaluated, or at the conclusion of an assessment, server 102 may score the user and/or compare the user's progress with their established timeline. Server may then identify the appropriate message type for the user. For example, if the user scores low or is behind schedule, server 102 may query database 110 to identify data including tags identifying the message as motivating the user to accelerate their work. Such messages may also include tags identifying resources that may help users that scored poorly. The selected messages may be collected and refined as below.”; Paragraph 116, “The user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using an artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”; Paragraph 131, “For example, a report on the learner's achievements may include a percentage of course goals achieved, progress through goals compared to class average (e.g., “You're below average, get your act together”), progress verses time (e.g., Status—red. Your study plan is behind schedule”), weaknesses (e.g., “In Vocab, Grammar, Reading, Writing, Speaking, Listening”), and/or teacher alerts.”)
creating the report as a function of the graph training data set, where in the report comprises the graphically represented item of the composition data. (Grau: Paragraph 113, “Various checkpoints may be established in the rules 215 triggering the evaluation of the user's performance and whether the messages should be transmitted to the user. For example, after each assignment is submitted and evaluated, or at the conclusion of an assessment, server 102 may score the user and/or compare the user's progress with their established timeline. Server may then identify the appropriate message type for the user. For example, if the user scores low or is behind schedule, server 102 may query database 110 to identify data including tags identifying the message as motivating the user to accelerate their work. Such messages may also include tags identifying resources that may help users that scored poorly. The selected messages may be collected and refined as below.”; Paragraph 116, “The user input may be used as training data to indicate that the rules 215 and other software instructions are providing the most accurate data for this feature. The server may receive the user input, and dynamically update/adjust the rules 215 and/or software to provide more accurate data in the next iteration, possibly using an artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies known in the art.”; Paragraph 131, “For example, a report on the learner's achievements may include a percentage of course goals achieved, progress through goals compared to class average (e.g., “You're below average, get your act together”), progress verses time (e.g., Status—red. Your study plan is behind schedule”), weaknesses (e.g., “In Vocab, Grammar, Reading, Writing, Speaking, Listening”), and/or teacher alerts.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Probetts (US 2023/0237582 A1) discloses a method for outcome prediction systems and user interfaces for customizable user plans
Sreenivasan (US 2022/0237700 A1) discloses a method for an artificial intelligence investment platform
Cella (US 2022/0198562 A1) discloses a method for facilitating electronic marketplace transactions
Kasabach (US 2022/0092515 A1) discloses a method for a personal, professional, and cultural insight system
Peters (US 2022/0086393 A1) discloses a method for related concurrent communication sessions
Sanidas (US 2021/0312390 A1) discloses a method for a life plan management platform
Schultz (US 2021/0134170 A1) discloses a method for implementing an individualized education plan
Thornley (US 2021/0089934 A1) disclose a method for improving user adaptability
Sheth (US 2018/0253676 A1) discloses a method for automatic analysis of technical capability
Dufresne (US 2013/0218628 A1) discloses a method for capital budgeting and cost estimation
/Philip N Warner/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624