DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because line 3 recites “a pressing area” when it should recite –the cylindrical pressing area” since the area has already been recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps
involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For example, a claim which read: "[a] process for using
monoclonal antibodies of claim 4 to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon" was held to
be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this
use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986). Claim 8 recites “A method for producing” without reciting any steps for said method, and claim 14 recites “A method for manufacturing” without reciting any steps for said method and thus are indefinite.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jaggi (DE29823678U1).
In regards to claim 1, Jaggi discloses a press sleeve (10) for a press fitting of a pipe connection, comprising
a cylindrical pressing area (12, 13)
an end flange (see top end of sleeve in fig.) projecting outwards beyond a pressing area at a first end of the press sleeve in a radial direction with respect to a longitudinal centre axis of the press sleeve, and
a latching collar (see bottom end of sleeve in fig. 1) projecting inwards in the radial direction at a second end of the press sleeve for latching with a fitting body and/or a stop ring of the press fitting,
wherein at the second end of the press sleeve a contact projection (see at bottom end of sleeve in fig.) projecting outwards in the radial direction and forming together with the latching collar an end side of the press sleeve is configured for contact with the stop ring (the fig. shows this capability).
In regards to claim 2, Jaggi further discloses the latching collar, and the contact projection are arranged on a latching area of the press sleeve adjoining the pressing area and a wall thickness of the press sleeve changes in the latching area starting from the pressing area (shown in the fig.).
In regards to claim 3, Jaggi further discloses a change in the wall thickness of the press sleeve is brought about by a bead (see at bottom end in fig.) produced on an outer circumference of the press sleeve.
In regards to claim 4, Jaggi further discloses in longitudinal section, an inner circumference of the press sleeve expands from a direction of the pressing area in a direction of the end side and then reduces again to form the latching collar (shown in fig.).
In regards to claim 5, Jaggi further discloses the outer circumference of the press sleeve has a greater pitch, at least in some areas, than the inner circumference (shown in fig.).
In regards to claim 6, Jaggi further discloses the outer circumference and the inner circumference of the press sleeve run in a same direction adjacent to the pressing area to form the contact projection (shown in fig.), so that both the outer circumference and the inner circumference widen from the direction of the pressing area in the direction of the end side (shown in fig.).
In regards to claim 7, Jaggi further discloses the end side has a flat end face which merges outwards in the radial direction into the contact projection and inwards in the radial direction into the latching collar (shown in the fig.).
In regards to claim 8, Jaggi discloses a method for producing the press sleeve according to claim 1 (see above).
In regards to claim 9, Jaggi further discloses forming a workpiece into a semi-finished product by means of a first forming process and then forming the latching collar by means of a second forming process and/or by machining (it is inherent that it is formed by a second process, e.g. by the sleeve 9).
In regards to claim 10, Jaggi discloses a press fitting (2) for a pipe connection, comprising
a fitting body (1),
a press sleeve (10) fixed to the fitting body, and
a stop ring (9),
wherein the press sleeve has
a cylindrical pressing area (12, 13),
an end flange (see at top end in fig.) projecting outwards beyond the pressing area at a first end of the press sleeve in the radial direction with respect to a longitudinal centre axis of the press sleeve, and
a latching collar (see at bottom end of fig.) projecting inwards in the radial direction at a second end of the press sleeve for latching with the fitting body and/or the stop ring of the press fitting,
wherein at the second end of the press sleeve a contact projection (see at bottom end of fig.) projecting outwards in the radial direction and forming together with the latching collar an end side of the press sleeve is configured for contact with the stop ring (shown in fig.).
In regards to claim 14, Jaggi discloses a method for manufacturing the press fitting according to claim 10 (see above).
In regards to claim 15, Jaggi further discloses the latching collar is positively arranged in a latching recess of the stop ring (shown in fig.) and the stop ring is positively arranged with a latching projection in a latching recess of the fitting body (shown in fig.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaggi as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Schneider at al. (US 2020/0378530 hereinafter “Schneider”).
In regards to claim 11, Jaggi discloses the press fitting of claim 10 but does not disclose the stop ring has an outer ring and an inner ring connected to the outer ring via a connecting web arrangement, the outer ring and the inner ring being arranged on opposite sides of the contact projection and the latching collar when viewed in the axial direction, so that the stop ring is held positively on the press sleeve in the axial direction.
However, Schneider teaches a similar press fitting (see figs. 5-9) wherein a stop ring (24) has an outer ring (at 24) and an inner ring (at 29) connected to the outer ring via a connecting web arrangement (shown in fig. 6), the outer ring and the inner ring being arranged on opposite sides of a contact projection and a latching collar (see fig. 6( when viewed in the axial direction, so that the stop ring is held positively on the press sleeve in the axial direction.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the stop ring of Jaggi as having an outer and inner ring connected by a web arrangement, in order to create two circumferential limits to guide a pressing tool through the sleeve and the stop ring, thus axially limiting the pressing section on both sides, as taught by Schneider at paragraph [0055].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art each shows a similar press fitting.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
08/27/2026