Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12462279. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent patent claims 1 and 7 of US. Patent No. 12462279 recite all of the limitations of independent claims 1 and 7 of the present claims, in addition to reciting additional imitations that further limit the patented claims. Therefore claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12462279 are in essence “species” of the generic invention of claims 1-20 of the present application. It has been held that a generic invention is "anticipated" by a "species" within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
receiving a mapping of multimedia assets to a display in at least one site plan;
receiving metadata for the set of multimedia assets;
receiving personal interest data for a plurality of non-profit venue visitors;
receiving preference data relating to a prospective visitor;
analyze the metadata, the data indicating personal interests of the visitor, the personal interest data for the plurality of non-profit venue visitors, and the preference data relating to the prospective visitor; and
generating a selection or sequence of non-profit venue location recommendations for the prospective visitor.
As noted above, these limitations fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Specifically, these limitations fall within the group Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (i.e., fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk; commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). That is, the limitations recited above describe a method of selecting non-profit venue location recommendations to a prospective visitor by analyzing asset metadata and visitor interests and preferences (i.e., a marketing activity) which is a method of organizing human activities. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Per step 2A Prong 2, the Examiner finds that the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional limitations of:
providing a management interface for management of a set of multimedia assets;
providing an interface for receiving data indicating personal interests of a visitor to a non-profit venue, wherein the data indicating personal interests of the visitor to the non-profit venue includes visitor-provided preference data and passively-collected visitor interaction data; and
applying a machine learning system to analyze the metadata, the data indicating personal interests of the visitor, the personal interest data for the plurality of non-profit venue visitors, and the preference data relating to the prospective visitor.
The additional limitations when viewed individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because each of the additional elements are recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it) or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Specifically, with respect to the limitations providing a management interface for management of a set of multimedia assets and providing an interface for receiving data indicating personal interests of a visitor to a non-profit venue, wherein the data indicating personal interests of the visitor to the non-profit venue includes visitor-provided preference data and passively-collected visitor interaction data, Examiner notes that these limitations are described at a high of generality and describe a generic interface to manage multimedia assets and receive information. There are no specific details as to how the management interface facilitates the management of the media assets or how the interface for receiving interest data is configured. At this level of generality the interfaces only generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
With respect to the limitation applying a machine learning system to analyze the metadata, the data indicating personal interests of the visitor, the personal interest data for the plurality of non-profit venue visitors, and the preference data relating to the prospective visitor, wherein applying the machine learning system comprises generating a plurality of generic visitor profiles and a corresponding plurality of selection or sequence of non-profit venue location recommendations, Examiner notes that this limitation is described at a very high level of generality. Specifically, Examiner notes that there is no disclosure of a specific algorithm used, the specific input to the algorithm (only metadata and interest data generally), the output of the algorithm, or how the algorithm is trained. At this level of generality, this limitation only recites the idea of a solution (using machine learning to generate generic visitor profiles without reciting the steps of performing the solution. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Also, the claim invokes a generic machine learning system as a tool for making generate generic visitor profiles rather than purporting to improve the technology or a computer. Therefore this limitation only generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
With respect to the limitation applying a machine learning system [to analyze the metadata, the data indicating personal interests of the visitor, the personal interest data for the plurality of non-profit venue visitors, and the preference data relating to the prospective visitor], Examiner notes that this limitation is described at a very high level of generality. Specifically, Examiner notes that there is no disclosure of a specific algorithm used, the specific input to the algorithm (only metadata and interest/preference data generally), the output of the algorithm, or how the algorithm is trained. At this level of generality, this limitation only recites the idea of a solution (using machine learning analyze data) without reciting the steps of performing the solution. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Additionally, see Recentive Analytics, Inc. v. Fox Corp. et al., No. 2023-2437, slip op. at 18 (Fed. Cir. Apr. 18, 2025) holding that claims “that do no more than claim the application of generic machine learning to new data environments, without disclosing improvements to the machine learning models to be applied, are patent ineligible under § 101.” Here, Examiner takes the position that applying a machine learning system to analyze the metadata, the data indicating personal interests of the visitor, the personal interest data for the plurality of non-profit venue visitors, and the preference data relating to the prospective visitor is the mere application of generic machine learning to a new data environment. Because no improvement to the underlying machine learning models is disclosed, this limitation does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it) or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception in a particular technological environment cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Independent machine claim 7 is also rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 for substantially the same reasons as independent system claim 1. The differences between claims 1 and 7 only relate to the data received and used to generate recommendations which describe the abstract idea. Claim 7 includes the same additional limitations which have been found do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-6 and 8-20 are rejected on a similar rational to the claims upon which they depend. Specifically,
Dependent claim 2 recites “wherein the machine learning system assembles a sequence or selection based at least in part on visitor selections made at the non-profit venue.” Examiner notes that this limitation is described at a very high level of generality. Specifically, Examiner notes that there is no disclosure of a specific algorithm used, the specific input to the algorithm (visitor selections generally), the output of the algorithm, or how the algorithm is trained. At this level of generality, this limitation only recites the idea of a solution (using machine learning to assemble a sequence or selection based at least in part on visitor selections made at the non-profit venue. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Therefore this limitation only generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 recites “wherein the machine learning system generates recommendations based at least in part on a donation history of the prospective visitor and at least in part on a donation history of visitors with similar interests to the prospective visitor.” Examiner notes that this limitation is described at a very high level of generality. Specifically, Examiner notes that there is no disclosure of a specific algorithm used, the specific input to the algorithm (only donation history generally), the output of the algorithm, or how the algorithm is trained. At this level of generality, this limitation only recites the idea of a solution (using machine learning to generate recommendations. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Therefore this limitation only generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., machine learning) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 recites “wherein the management interface further provides an interface for creating an interactive campaign, wherein information about the interactive campaign is displayed at multiple locations or sites, wherein the information about the interactive campaign is displayed simultaneously at the multiple locations or sites, and wherein a visitor at one of the multiple locations or sites can interact or communicate with at least one other visitor at least one other location or site in real time.” Examiner respectfully notes that this limitation is recited at a high level of generality. Specifically, the management interface is recited at a high level of generality and only generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Further, the claim recites that information is displayed at multiple sites and that visitors at different sites can communicate with each other in real time. Examiner notes that there is no disclosure of how visitors communicate between locations. At this level of generality, this limitation only recites the idea of a solution (facilitating real-time communication between users at different sites). See MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Therefore this limitation only generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., real-time communication) and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Moreover, Examiner notes that allowing a visitor to interact with another visitor at a different location could be considered insignificant extra-solution activity under step 2A, prong under.
Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, wherein a visitor at one of the multiple locations or sites can interact or communicate with at least one other visitor at least one other location or site in real time treated was insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus must be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Examiner notes dependent claim 5 provides high level examples of real-time communication including audio conference and that real-time communication between different locations (such as via audio/video conferencing) is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 20070064112 (“Chatting”) paragraph [0002] which discloses “video-conferencing services are also well-known in the art” and US Patent Number 10491979 (“Stradley”) [col. 10, lines 27-33] which recites “video conferences, which are well-known in the art, such as provided through third-party vendors like Skype™ and ZOOM™”). Accordingly, a conclusion that a visitor at one of the multiple locations or sites can interact or communicate with at least one other visitor at least one other location or site in real time is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 3.
Dependent claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons as dependent claim 4 (i.e., video conference is well-understood, routine and conventional in the art as evidenced above).
Dependent claim 6 recites “wherein the non-profit venue locations are associated with corresponding wireless beacons.” Examiner notes that limitation is recited at a high level of generality and the claims do not specify how the wireless beacons are utilized. At this level of generality, this limitation merely generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (locations with wireless beacons).
Dependent claims 7-10, 12, and 15-16 merely further narrow the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 11 recites “wherein the preference data for the prospective visitor is collected using a mobile application” which merely generic links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e. a mobile device to collect preference data).
Dependent claim 13 recites “wherein the indications of interest are collected through gaze analysis” which recites insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, “wherein the indications of interest are collected through gaze analysis” was considered insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus must be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field.” Examiner notes that determining user interest via gaze analysis is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 20210134033 (“Anttila”) paragraph [0070] which recites “tracking the gaze directions of the user's eyes (commonly referred to as an “eye tracker”, a “gaze-tracking unit”, and the like) are well-known in the art”; US Patent Application Publication Number 20150085056 (“Van Broeck”) paragraph [0061] which recites “[e]ye gaze tracking means are known in the art”; and US Patent Application Publication Number 20180075461 (“Hirakawa”) paragraph [0003] “a technique is known in the related art in which images photographed by a plurality of cameras installed in a store are analyzed to acquire the customer's location in the store, the time spent therein, and the orientation of the customer's face and this information is used to acquire information related to the product to which the customer is paying attention.” Accordingly, a conclusion that wherein the indications of interest are collected through gaze analysis is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 3.
Dependent claim 14 recites “wherein the indications of interest are collected through visual analysis via a plurality of cameras” which merely amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the limitation “wherein the indications of interest are collected through visual analysis via a plurality of camera” as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 20180075461 (“Hirakawa”) paragraph [0003] which discloses “a technique is known in the related art in which images photographed by a plurality of cameras installed in a store are analyzed to acquire the customer's location in the store, the time spent therein, and the orientation of the customer's face and this information is used to acquire information related to the product to which the customer is paying attention”; and US Patent Application Publication Number 20170301001 paragraph [0249] (“Wilkinson”) which discloses “customer's interest in a product can be evidenced by the subject of the customer's gaze. Gaze tracking constitutes a known area of prior art endeavor that requires no further description or elaboration here.” Accordingly, a conclusion that the indications of interest are collected through visual analysis via a plurality of cameras is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 3.
Dependent claim 17 recites “wherein the visitor route data is collected using a mobile application” which merely generic links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e. a mobile device to collect preference data) or amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, “wherein the visitor route data is collected using a mobile application” was insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus must be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Examiner notes that collecting visitor route data via a mobile application is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 20190394617 (“Scully”) paragraph [0002] which states “it is known to use a software application running on a mobile computing device to track a user's location and ultimately to report that location to a remote computer system.” Accordingly, a conclusion that wherein the visitor route data is collected using a mobile application is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 3.
Dependent claim 18 recites “wherein the visitor route data is collected using wireless beacons and wherein the visitor route data is collected using a sensor network” which merely amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, “wherein the visitor route data is collected using wireless beacons and wherein the visitor route data is collected using a sensor network” was insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus must be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Examiner notes that collecting visitor route data via beacons/sensors is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 20180154962 (“Hamid”) paragraph [0123] which discloses “Bluetooth beacon connection/identity, or other location detecting means as known within the art and US Patent Application Publication Number 20200033882 (“Zysk”) paragraph [0030] which discloses “combine distances from multiple beacons to determine the location of the user device, e.g., using known triangulation algorithms.” Accordingly, a conclusion that wherein the visitor route data is collected using wireless beacons and wherein the visitor route data is collected using a sensor network is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 3.
Dependent claim 19 recites “wherein the visitor route data is collected using cameras and wherein the visitor route data is collected using biometric sensors” which merely amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Here, the limitation “wherein the visitor route data is collected using cameras and wherein the visitor route data is collected using biometric sensors” is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 20180154962 (“Graziano”) paragraph [0157] which discloses “track locations of team members via analysis of images generated by camera or via locations of user devices determined via wireless triangulation as known in the art; and US Patent Application Publication Number 20180075461 (“Hirakawa”) paragraph [0003] which discloses “a technique is known in the related art in which images photographed by a plurality of cameras installed in a store are analyzed to acquire the customer's location in the store, the time spent therein, and the orientation of the customer's face and this information is used to acquire information related to the product to which the customer is paying attention.” Accordingly, a conclusion that wherein the visitor route data is collected using cameras and wherein the visitor route data is collected using biometric sensors is collected using a sensor network is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 3.
Dependent claim 20 recites “wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor interaction with non-profit venue displays and wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor use of a non-profit venue guide device” which only generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (a generic display device and generic “guide” device) or amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity. Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. Here, the limitation “wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor interaction with non-profit venue displays and wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor use of a non-profit venue guide device” is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 20170270827 paragraph [0035] which discloses “determining user location by sensed interaction with the peripheral device are contemplated as part of this disclosure, as known in the art.” Accordingly, a conclusion that wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor interaction with non-profit venue displays and wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor use of a non-profit venue guide device is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 20190095454 (“Sahadi”) in view of US Patent Application Number 20120109954 (“White”).
Claim 1
As per claim 1 Sahadi teaches a method for providing personalized non-profit venue ([0019] “venues are hosted by parties such as . . . non-profit entities) visit recommendations to a visitor at a non-profit venue, comprising:
providing a management interface for management of a set of multimedia assets (“[0048] “user interfaces for a human user to assemble an experience” where “components that comprise the experience, such as content . . . including multimedia content.” And, [0051]) “various interfaces and dashboards to create, recommend, assemble, deliver and manage experiences, as well as to govern automated activities.” And, [0049] “content management system, which may be used to manage various content that is used to design, create, assemble, deliver, and recommend experiences, such as multimedia content from various content libraries.” Examiner interprets the user interface/dashboard as a management interface. And, [0038].);
receiving a mapping of multimedia assets to a display in at least one site plan ([0029] “dynamic mapping that utilizes branding, including hyper-local marketing.” And, [0038] “a dynamic map including markers corresponding to various captured photos, recorded videos.” [0039] “[t]he physical world content management system can include a dynamic venue map and various elements of a venue systems infrastructure.” And, [0049] “physical world content management system, which may be used to manage various content that is used to design, create, assemble, deliver, and recommend experiences, such as multimedia content from various content libraries (e.g., branded content about products and services, attractions and the like, video content about experiences . . . points of interest including . . . displays.” And, [0056] “dynamic venue map, such as presenting the map on a user device to show the venue, to guide visitors to experiences, to show content about points of interest, to show offers or promotions, to show sponsored content, or the like.”);
receiving metadata for the set of multimedia assets ([0072] “interest data or metadata associated with a location or point on the dynamic map.” And, [0072] “the point of interest data or map point metadata for one or more destinations can be pulled and updated among the users.” And, [0048] “on metrics indicating satisfaction by visitors with assembled experiences.” And, [0049] “content about points of interest (including location data, opening hours, mapping of infrastructure elements, such as beacons and displays, etc.)” and “machine-learning models that infer such factors based on other factors, such as time of day, weather, the consumption foods.”);
receiving data indicating personal interests of a visitor to a non-profit venue ([0047] “user interests) wherein the data indicating personal interests of the visitor to the non-profit venue includes visitor-provided preference data ([0047] “user profile can also account for user interests, including . . . interests in attractions (such as thrill rides, water rides, arts, fireworks, fountains, historical information, and many others).” And, [0067] provides an example where a visitor “indicates . . . no ride preferences and prefers healthy eating options. And, [0047] “user profile can also account for . . . preferences in music, dancing, magic shows, animal shows, and many others.”) and passively-collected visitor interaction data ([0046] “the user profile can accumulate, and reflect, the user's experience with a theme park, with theme parks of a particular type, with a cruise ship, with visits to locations within venues or around the world, and the like. Among other things, the user experience can keep track of what a user has done during past visits, including capturing positive and negative ratings, so that positive past experiences can be added to an itinerary or recommended at appropriate times during a subsequent visit, or so that similar experiences can be recommended or added to an itinerary at a new venue.”);
receiving personal interest data for a plurality of non-profit venue visitors ([0006] “a plurality of venue attendee profiles” And, [0047] “user profile can also account for user interests, including . . . interests in attractions (such as thrill rides, water rides, arts, fireworks, fountains, historical information, and many others).”);
receiving preference data relating to a prospective visitor ([0061] “expressed preferences.” And, [0047] “user profile can also account for . . . preferences in music, dancing, magic shows, animal shows, and many others.”);
applying a machine learning system ([0021] “machine learning to automate . . . generation of relevant recommendations, customization of communications, optimization of monetization, optimization of experiences”) to analyze the metadata, the data indicating personal interests of the visitor, the personal interest data for the plurality of non-profit venue visitors, and the preference data relating to the prospective visitor ([0048] “machine-based experience assembly capability may use feedback (such as based on metrics indicating satisfaction by visitors with assembled experiences or indicating profitability or per-visitor yield for experiences).” And, [0049] “visitors might provide feedback about . . . interest that may be used to refine machine-learning models” and “machine-learning models that infer such factors based on other factors, such as time of day, weather, the consumption foods.” And, [0064] “machine learning, can constantly update . . . accounting for changes. Changes can include . . . changes in the inventory of tickets, goods, services, or the like near the user's location or at other locations.” And, [0047]).);
and generating a selection or sequence of non-profit venue location recommendations for the prospective visitor ([0005] “selecting a recommended point of interest for the first venue attendee from the plurality of points of interest,” And, [0066] “itinerary includes recommendations based on the personal user profiles.”).
Sahadi teaches receiving data indicating personal interests of a visitor to a non-profit venue ([0047]) but does not explicitly teach the following feature taught by White:
providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor ([0018] “the visitor with the device can register interest in a particular display by providing input to an input interface on the specialized device when the identification and description for the particular display is shown on an output interface of the specialized device.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor as taught by White “enabling visitors to selectively register interest in items of information among numerous items of information” (White [0018]) resulting in better targeting of non-profit venue points of interest.
Claim 2
As per claim 2, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the machine learning system assembles a sequence or selection based at least in part on visitor selections made at the non-profit venue ([0021] “machine learning to automate . . . generation of relevant recommendations, customization of communications, optimization of monetization, optimization of experiences.” And, [0048] “machine-based experience assembly capability may use feedback (such as based on metrics indicating satisfaction by visitors with assembled experiences or indicating profitability or per-visitor yield for experiences).” And, [0049] “visitors might provide feedback about . . . interest that may be used to refine machine-learning models” and “machine-learning models that infer such factors based on other factors, such as time of day, weather, the consumption foods.” And, [0064] “machine learning, can constantly update . . . accounting for changes. Changes can include . . . changes in the inventory of tickets, goods, services, or the like near the user's location or at other locations.” And, [0047]).
Claim 6
As per claim 6, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the non-profit venue locations are associated with corresponding wireless beacons
[0031] “terminals alike may include or be connected to beacon devices using short-range wireless communication transceivers to communicate with the mobile and wearable devices.” And, [0019] “short-range wireless beacon devices.”).
Claim 7
As per claim 7 Sahadi teaches a method for developing recommendations for a personalized non-profit venue visit ([0019] “venues are hosted by parties such as . . . non-profit entities) at a non-profit venue, comprising:
providing a management interface for management of a set of multimedia assets (“[0048] “user interfaces for a human user to assemble an experience” where “components that comprise the experience, such as content . . . including multimedia content.” And, [0051]) “various interfaces and dashboards to create, recommend, assemble, deliver and manage experiences, as well as to govern automated activities.” And, [0049] “content management system, which may be used to manage various content that is used to design, create, assemble, deliver, and recommend experiences, such as multimedia content from various content libraries.” Examiner interprets the user interface/dashboard as a management interface. And, [0038].);
receiving a mapping of multimedia assets to a display in at least one site plan ([0029] “dynamic mapping that utilizes branding, including hyper-local marketing.” And, [0038] “a dynamic map including markers corresponding to various captured photos, recorded videos.” [0039] “[t]he physical world content management system can include a dynamic venue map and various elements of a venue systems infrastructure.” And, [0049] “physical world content management system, which may be used to manage various content that is used to design, create, assemble, deliver, and recommend experiences, such as multimedia content from various content libraries (e.g., branded content about products and services, attractions and the like, video content about experiences . . . points of interest including . . . displays.” And, [0056] “dynamic venue map, such as presenting the map on a user device to show the venue, to guide visitors to experiences, to show content about points of interest, to show offers or promotions, to show sponsored content, or the like.”);
receiving metadata for the set of multimedia assets ([0072] “interest data or metadata associated with a location or point on the dynamic map.” And, [0072] “the point of interest data or map point metadata for one or more destinations can be pulled and updated among the users.” And, [0048] “on metrics indicating satisfaction by visitors with assembled experiences.” And, [0049] “content about points of interest (including location data, opening hours, mapping of infrastructure elements, such as beacons and displays, etc.)” and “machine-learning models that infer such factors based on other factors, such as time of day, weather, the consumption foods.”);
receiving data indicating personal interests of a visitor to a non-profit venue ([0047] “user interests), wherein the data indicating personal interests of the visitor to the non-profit venue includes a set of data selected from among visitor provided preference data ([0047] “user profile can also account for user interests, including . . . interests in attractions (such as thrill rides, water rides, arts, fireworks, fountains, historical information, and many others).” And, [0067] provides an example where a visitor “indicates . . . no ride preferences and prefers healthy eating options. And, [0047] “user profile can also account for . . . preferences in music, dancing, magic shows, animal shows, and many others.”), passively-collected visitor interaction data ([0046] “the user profile can accumulate, and reflect, the user's experience with a theme park, with theme parks of a particular type, with a cruise ship, with visits to locations within venues or around the world, and the like. Among other things, the user experience can keep track of what a user has done during past visits, including capturing positive and negative ratings, so that positive past experiences can be added to an itinerary or recommended at appropriate times during a subsequent visit, or so that similar experiences can be recommended or added to an itinerary at a new venue.”), and visitor route data ([0082] “The recommended POI is recommended based on its location being along an existing route (from the user's current location to selected POI.” And, [0123] “recommended POI is recommended based on its location being along an existing or planned route.”);
receiving personal interest data for a plurality of non-profit venue visitors ([0006] “a plurality of venue attendee profiles” And, [0047] “user profile can also account for user interests, including . . . interests in attractions (such as thrill rides, water rides, arts, fireworks, fountains, historical information, and many others).”);
receiving preference data relating to a prospective visitor ([0061] “expressed preferences.” And, [0047] “user profile can also account for . . . preferences in music, dancing, magic shows, animal shows, and many others.”);
applying a machine learning system ([0021] “machine learning to automate . . . generation of relevant recommendations, customization of communications, optimization of monetization, optimization of experiences”) to analyze the metadata, the data indicating personal interests of the visitor, the personal interest data for the plurality of non-profit venue visitors, and the preference data relating to the prospective visitor ([0048] “machine-based experience assembly capability may use feedback (such as based on metrics indicating satisfaction by visitors with assembled experiences or indicating profitability or per-visitor yield for experiences).” And, [0049] “visitors might provide feedback about . . . interest that may be used to refine machine-learning models” and “machine-learning models that infer such factors based on other factors, such as time of day, weather, the consumption foods.” And, [0064] “machine learning, can constantly update . . . accounting for changes. Changes can include . . . changes in the inventory of tickets, goods, services, or the like near the user's location or at other locations.” And, [0047]).);
and generating a selection or sequence of non-profit venue location recommendations for the prospective visitor ([0005] “selecting a recommended point of interest for the first venue attendee from the plurality of points of interest,” And, [0066] “itinerary includes recommendations based on the personal user profiles.”).
Sahadi teaches receiving data indicating personal interests of a visitor to a non-profit venue ([0047]) but does not explicitly teach the following feature taught by White:
providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor ([0018] “the visitor with the device can register interest in a particular display by providing input to an input interface on the specialized device when the identification and description for the particular display is shown on an output interface of the specialized device.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor as taught by White “enabling visitors to selectively register interest in items of information among numerous items of information” (White [0018]) resulting in better targeting of non-profit venue points of interest.
Claim 8
As per claim 8, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the personal interest data is collected from visitor visits across a plurality of non-profit venues ([0019] “venues are hosted by parties such as . . . non-profit entities.” And, ([0047] “user profile can also account for user interests, including . . . interests in attractions (such as thrill rides, water rides, arts, fireworks, fountains, historical information, and many others).” And, [0067] provides an example where a visitor “indicates . . . no ride preferences and prefers healthy eating options. And, [0047] “user profile can also account for . . . preferences in music, dancing, magic shows, animal shows, and many others.” And, [0046] “the user profile can accumulate, and reflect, the user's experience with a theme park, with theme parks of a particular type, with a cruise ship, with visits to locations within venues or around the world, and the like. Among other things, the user experience can keep track of what a user has done during past visits, including capturing positive and negative ratings, so that positive past experiences can be added to an itinerary or recommended at appropriate times during a subsequent visit, or so that similar experiences can be recommended or added to an itinerary at a new venue.”).
Claim 9
As per claim 9, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the preference data relating to the prospective visitor is collected for multiple non-profit venues and wherein the preference data relating to the prospective visitor is collected at a non-profit venue ([0019] “venues are hosted by parties such as . . . non-profit entities.” And, ([0047] “user profile can also account for user interests, including . . . interests in attractions (such as thrill rides, water rides, arts, fireworks, fountains, historical information, and many others).” And, [0067] provides an example where a visitor “indicates . . . no ride preferences and prefers healthy eating options. And, [0047] “user profile can also account for . . . preferences in music, dancing, magic shows, animal shows, and many others.”). And, [0046] “the user profile can accumulate, and reflect, the user's experience with a theme park, with theme parks of a particular type, with a cruise ship, with visits to locations within venues or around the world, and the like. Among other things, the user experience can keep track of what a user has done during past visits, including capturing positive and negative ratings, so that positive past experiences can be added to an itinerary or recommended at appropriate times during a subsequent visit, or so that similar experiences can be recommended or added to an itinerary at a new venue.”).
Claim 16
As per claim 16, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the preference data for the prospective visitor is generated from visitor information collected from a visitor unrelated to the non-profit venue. ([0056] “the visitor's history (such as recent activities or transactions, or longer-term activities that may indicate an interest in a type of activity.” Examiner interprets the longer term activities are unrelated to the non-profit venue.).
Claim 18
As per claim 18, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the visitor route data is collected using wireless beacons and wherein the visitor route data is collected using a sensor network ([0082] “The recommended POI is recommended based on its location being along an existing route (from the user's current location to selected POI.” And, [0123] “recommended POI is recommended based on its location being along an existing or planned route.” And, [0030] “make use of sensors and receivers of the respective mobile and wearable devices 110 to generate customer engagement data and then share that customer engagement data as the information to the application server(s). The customer engagement data/information may include, for example, current and prior physical locale within a venue as well as wait times and travel times (e.g., how long was a customer at a particular point in a venue and how long did it take the customer to travel to a further point in a venue).” And, [0019] “short-range wireless beacon devices.” And, [0029] “mobile/wearable devices 100 and beacons that emit short-range wireless signals (e.g., Bluetooth®, Bluetooth® LE, iBeacon, NFC, RFID, WiFi, radio).”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 20190095454 (“Sahadi”) in view of US Patent Application Number 20120109954 (“White”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20160063488 (“Gary”).
Claim 3
As per claims 3, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the machine learning system generates recommendations ([0021] “machine learning to automate . . . generation of relevant recommendations, customization of communications, optimization of monetization, optimization of experiences.” And, [0048] “machine-based experience assembly capability may use feedback (such as based on metrics indicating satisfaction by visitors with assembled experiences or indicating profitability or per-visitor yield for experiences).” And, [0049], [0064], [0047]).);
Sahadi does not explicitly teach but Gary teaches:
recommendations based at least in part on a donation history of the prospective visitor and at least in part on a donation history of visitors with similar interests to the prospective visitor ([0080] “[t]his communication may also suggest additional items from the same or different classes that can also be donated. This suggestion may be generated, in part, based on the beneficiary's, the donor's, or other donors' donation history in step 144.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include recommendations based at least in part on a donation history of the prospective visitor and at least in part on a donation history of visitors with similar interests to the prospective visitor as taught by Gary in order to “suggest additional items from the same or different classes that can also be donated” likely to be of interest based on “other donors' donation history” (Gary [0080]) resulting in increased visitor donations.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 20190095454 (“Sahadi”) in view of US Patent Application Number 20120109954 (“White”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent Publication Number 9064282 (“Carpenter”).
Claim 4
As per claim 4, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the management interface further provides an interface for creating an interactive campaign ([0051]) “various interfaces and dashboards to create, recommend, assemble, deliver and manage experiences, as well as to govern automated activities.” And, [0049] “content management system, which may be used to manage various content that is used to design, create, assemble, deliver, and recommend experiences, such as multimedia content from various content libraries.” Examiner interprets the “experiences” as interactive campaigns.).
Sahadi does not explicitly but Carpenter teaches:
wherein information about the interactive campaign is displayed at multiple locations or sites ([col. 13, lines 49-60] “[t]he same screen may be provided on multiple display devices in the auction room or around the auction venue” wherein the information about the interactive campaign is displayed simultaneously at the multiple locations or sites ([col. 13, lines 49-60] “[t]he screen is provided with substantially instantaneous or substantially real time data and results of the live auction from the auction system.”).
Sahadi does not explicitly but Carpenter teaches:
wherein a visitor at one of the multiple locations or sites can interact or communicate with at least one other visitor at at least one other location or site in real time ([col. 13, lines 51-60] “a live chat feature may be provided for providing instant communication between the auction host administrators or personnel and the remote participants. This may be communications to all the remote participants or only those selected by the auction host. The remote participant may also initiate the chat communications.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include wherein information about the interactive campaign is displayed at multiple locations or sites, wherein the information about the interactive campaign is displayed simultaneously at the multiple locations or sites, and wherein a visitor at one of the multiple locations or sites can interact or communicate with at least one other visitor at at least one other location or site in real time as taught by Carpenter so that visitors are “continuously updated in substantially real time . . . with up to date information” ([col. 6, line 47-51]) improving the visitor experience.
Claim 5
As per claim 5, Sahadi does not explicitly teach but Carpenter teaches:
wherein the real-time communication is selected from a group consisting of audio conferencing, video conferencing, virtual reality conferencing, collaborative text chat, holographic conferencing, and combinations thereof ([col. 13, lines 51-60] “a live chat feature may be provided for providing instant communication between the auction host administrators or personnel and the remote participants. This may be communications to all the remote participants or only those selected by the auction host. The remote participant may also initiate the chat communications.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include wherein the real-time communication is selected from a group consisting of audio conferencing, video conferencing, virtual reality conferencing, collaborative text chat, holographic conferencing, and combinations thereof as taught by Carpenter so that visitors are “continuously updated in substantially real time . . . with up to date information” ([col. 6, line 47-51]) improving the visitor experience.
Claims 10, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 20190095454 (“Sahadi”) in view of US Patent Application Number 20120109954 (“White”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent Publication Number 20140358437 (“Fletcher”).
Claim 10
As per claim 10, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the preference data relating to the prospective visitor is derived from information collected on the prospective visitor based on a prior visit by the prospective visitor to a non-profit venue ([0046] “the user profile can accumulate, and reflect, the user's experience with a theme park, with theme parks of a particular type, with a cruise ship, with visits to locations within venues or around the world, and the like. Among other things, the user experience can keep track of what a user has done during past visits, including capturing positive and negative ratings, so that positive past experiences can be added to an itinerary or recommended at appropriate times during a subsequent visit, or so that similar experiences can be recommended or added to an itinerary at a new venue.”).
Sahadi does not explicitly teach but Fletcher teaches:
wherein the preference data relating to the prospective visitor is derived from information collected on the prospective visitor based on the route data of the prospective visitor through a nonprofit venue during a previous visit to the non-profit venue ([0037] “The passive learning mode may be used to obtain and collect data on a user's trip habits/behaviors and preferences, such as, departure time, destination(s), preferred travel route . . . The learning mode of method 300 may use the collected data in an algorithm to calculate the user's predicted trip preferences.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor as taught by Fletcher in order to recommend “the best route [which] may be based on several factors including the user's . . . preferences and/or also may allow user adjustment of which characteristics should be considered in determining the best route” improving the experience of the user (Fletcher [0029]).
Claim 11
As per claim 11, Sahadi does not explicitly teach but Fletcher teaches:
wherein the preference data for the prospective visitor is collected using a mobile application ([0037] “a passive learning mode of an electronic device application, such as a mobile application stored on an electronic device 203. The passive learning mode may be used to obtain and collect data on a user's trip habits/behaviors and preferences, such as, departure time, destination(s), preferred travel route, types of road avoided, etc. and any other travel information. The learning mode of method 300 may use the collected data in an algorithm to calculate the user's predicted trip preferences.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor as taught by Fletcher in order to recommend “the best route [which] may be based on several factors including the user's . . . preferences and/or also may allow user adjustment of which characteristics should be considered in determining the best route” improving the experience of the user (Fletcher [0029]).
Claim 17
As per claim 17, Sahadi does not explicitly teach but Fletcher teaches:
wherein the visitor route data is collected using a mobile application ([0037] “a passive learning mode of an electronic device application, such as a mobile application stored on an electronic device 203. The passive learning mode may be used to obtain and collect data on a user's trip habits/behaviors and preferences, such as, departure time, destination(s), preferred travel route, types of road avoided, etc. and any other travel information. The learning mode of method 300 may use the collected data in an algorithm to calculate the user's predicted trip preferences.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor as taught by Fletcher in order to recommend “the best route [which] may be based on several factors including the user's . . . preferences and/or also may allow user adjustment of which characteristics should be considered in determining the best route” improving the experience of the user (Fletcher [0029]).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 20190095454 (“Sahadi”) in view of US Patent Application Number 20120109954 (“White”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent Publication Number 20160364012 (“Govezensky”).
Claim 12
As per claim 12, Sahadi teaches determining user preferences but does not explicitly teach the following feature taught by Govezensky:
wherein the preference data for the prospective visitor is collected based on indications of interest ([0047] “[b]ased on the determined gaze points, objects of interest to users in the view of content may be identified.” And, [0023] “User response to the displayed view of content may include different forms, such as a change in the user's eye gaze focused on a particular object.” And, [0061] “the user response analysis module 122 may access the broadcast history information 226 to analyze users' behavior (e.g., interests, preferences, and the like) in relation to content with similar characteristics (e.g., a game with the same participant team or teams, game in the same arena, and the like). User behavior may include, for example, a specific facial expression, head movement, eye-gaze change.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include providing an interface for receiving the data indicating personal interests of the visitor as taught by Govezensky in order “to provide specialized and tailored views of the content to users” resulting an improved user experience (Govezensky [0042]).
Claim 13
As per claim 13, Sahadi teaches determining user preferences but does not explicitly teach the following feature taught by Govezensky:
wherein the indications of interest are collected through gaze analysis ([0047] “[b]ased on the determined gaze points, objects of interest to users in the view of content may be identified.” And, [0023] “User response to the displayed view of content may include different forms, such as a change in the user's eye gaze focused on a particular object.” And, [0061] “the user response analysis module 122 may access the broadcast history information 226 to analyze users' behavior (e.g., interests, preferences, and the like) in relation to content with similar characteristics (e.g., a game with the same participant team or teams, game in the same arena, and the like). User behavior may include, for example, a specific facial expression, head movement, eye-gaze change.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include wherein the indications of interest are collected through gaze analysis as taught by Govezensky in order “to provide specialized and tailored views of the content to users” resulting an improved user experience (Govezensky [0042]).
Claim 14
As per claim 14, Sahadi teaches determining user preferences but does not explicitly teach the following feature taught by Govezensky:
wherein the indications of interest are collected through visual analysis via a plurality of cameras ([0022] “the adaptive content provision module 118 may include a content provision module to generate and provide for display a view (e.g., first view) of content captured by one or more of a plurality of cameras.” And, [0047] “[b]ased on the determined gaze points, objects of interest to users in the view of content may be identified.” And, [0023] “User response to the displayed view of content may include different forms, such as a change in the user's eye gaze focused on a particular object.” And, [0061] “the user response analysis module 122 may access the broadcast history information 226 to analyze users' behavior (e.g., interests, preferences, and the like) in relation to content with similar characteristics (e.g., a game with the same participant team or teams, game in the same arena, and the like). User behavior may include, for example, a specific facial expression, head movement, eye-gaze change.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include wherein the indications of interest are collected through visual analysis via a plurality of cameras as taught by Govezensky in order “to provide specialized and tailored views of the content to users” resulting an improved user experience (Govezensky [0042]).
Claim 15
As per claim 15, Sahadi further teaches:
wherein the indications of interest are provided by the prospective visitor ([0056] “the visitor's history (such as recent activities or transactions, or longer-term activities that may indicate an interest in a type of activity.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 20190095454 (“Sahadi”) in view of US Patent Application Number 20120109954 (“White”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent Publication Number 20140279012 (“Scofield”).
Claim 19
As per claim 19, Sahadi does not explicitly teach but Scofield teaches:
wherein the visitor route data is collected using cameras and wherein the visitor route data is collected using biometric sensors ([0037] “the tracking of routes of individuals may be achieved through various machine vision techniques. As a first example, a stationary or mobile camera may be equipped with optical character recognition (OCR) technology that enables an automated recognition of a license plate or other identifier of the vehicle of the user, and the locations of such cameras at the time of recognizing the vehicle of the individual may reveal the route of the individual. As a second example, a stationary or mobile camera may include object recognition techniques that enable an identification and tracking (periodically or continuously) a vehicle of the individual during transit along the route. As a third example, a stationary or mobile camera may be equipped with biometric sensors, and may personally identify the individual according to various face, gait, or other biometric recognition techniques.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include wherein the visitor route data is collected using cameras and wherein the visitor route data is collected using biometric sensors as taught by Scofield in order “to identify traits relating to the individuals who are likely to view an advertisement opportunity, and to present targeted advertisements relating to those traits” (Scofield [0001]) increasing advertisement effectiveness and associated donations in the non-profit venue.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Number 20190095454 (“Sahadi”) in view of US Patent Application Number 20120109954 (“White”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent Publication Number 20170307382 (“Kim”).
Claim 20
As per claim 20, Sahadi not does explicitly teach but Kim teaches:
wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor interaction with non-profit venue displays and wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor use of a non-profit venue guide device ([0028] “receiving information on a user selection of on at least one specific exhibit in the venue from the user interacting with a user interface provided in the route guidance apparatus.” Examiner interprets the route guidance apparatus as a non-profit venue guide device. And, [0034] “the information providing device is adapted to calculate a recommended route that passes through at least one common point of interest starting from the current location of each of the route guidance apparatuses, based on the information on the current locations of the plurality of route guidance apparatuses and the information on the current distribution of the visitors at respective places in the venue, and to provide the recommended route.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Sahadi to include wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor interaction with non-profit venue displays and wherein the visitor route data is collected by tracking visitor use of a non-profit venue guide device as taught by Kim “allowing the visitors to view exhibits more efficiently, while offering a positive guidance for the visitors to view some exhibits or one-off shows which might otherwise be missed out” (Kim [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 20170228804 (“Soni”) discloses identifying a visitor to a real-world venue based on tracked physical actions and a profile including previously collected visitor information associated with the venue and providing tailored content to the visitor based on previously collected information.
US Patent Application Publication 20190279096 (“Nijs”) recommending points of interest to a plurality of users based on a type of each user as well as constraints associated with the points of interest including user preferences based on the user type.
/ALLAN J WOODWORTH, II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622