DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LIU et al; (Publication number: US 2020/0213438 A1), hereafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1:
Liu discloses a client device (Liu 110) comprising:
at least one memory (Liu Figure 6 620); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Liu Figure 6 680) and configured to cause the client device to:
establish a content connectivity session between the client device and a remote display device (implied by Liu Figure 2 201);
receive an input to initiate display of an application depicting digital content, the application configured with one or more settings particular to the client device (Liu Figure 7 S802);
launch, during the content connectivity session, an alternative version of the application configured with one or more settings particular to the remote display device (Liu Figure 7 S802 and Figure 8 803 – large-screen launched prior to display);
and cause digital content depicted by the alternative version of the application to be displayed by the remote display device (Liu Figure 7 S802 and Figure 8 803 – large-screen displayed).
Regarding claim 2:
Liu discloses the client device of claim 1, wherein the application is adapted for use with one or more display, processing, or interface settings of the client device and the alternative version of the application is adapted for use with one or more display, processing, or interface settings of the remote display device (Liu [0164] terminal screen and large-screen window).
Regarding claim 4:
Liu discloses the client device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to determine an operational state of the application and configure the alternative version of the application to match the operational state of the application (Liu [0179] operational state of touchscreen matches state of cursor 123 on large-screen window).
Regarding claim 5:
Liu discloses the client device of claim 4, wherein the application is a video streaming application and the operational state includes display of a digital video at a particular time stamp by the video streaming application (Liu Figure 35 client 110 has video/music application; display apparatus is playing music/video at particular time-stamp as illustrated).
Regarding claim 10:
Liu discloses a method (Liu Figure 7) performed by a client device (Liu 110), the method comprising:
establishing a content connectivity session between the client device and a remote display device (implied by Liu Figure 2 201);
receiving an input to initiate display of an application that depicts digital content, the application configured to the client device (Liu Figure 7 S802);
querying an application repository to detect an alternative version of the application, the alternative version configured to depict the digital content by the remote display device (Liu [0306]);
downloading the alternative version of the application (Liu [0322] storage may be a server); and
launching the alternative version of the application causing the digital content depicted by the alternative version to be displayed by the remote display device as part of the content connectivity session (Liu Figure 7 S802 and Figure 8 803 – large-screen launched prior to display).
Regarding claim 11:
Liu discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the application is optimized for display settings of the client device and the alternative version of the application is optimized for display settings of the remote display device (implied by Liu since large-screen projection mode is optimized for large screen as opposed to display of application optimized for terminal 110).
Regarding claim 12:
Liu discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the application is optimized for processing settings of the client device and the alternative version of the application is optimized for processing settings of the remote display device (implied by Liu since application is optimized for display on terminal device 110 and large-screen mode is optimized for display on the remote device).
Regarding claim 14;
Liu discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: determining an operational state of the application; and configuring the alternative version of the application to match the operational state of the application (Liu [0179] operational state of touchscreen matches state of cursor 123 on large-screen window).
Regarding claim 16:
Liu discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising displaying the digital content depicted by the application in a user interface of the client device while causing the digital content depicted by the alternative version of the application to be displayed by the remote display device during the content connectivity session (Liu Figure 8).
Regarding claim 17:
Liu discloses a system comprising: a remote display device to display digital content received during a content connectivity session (Liu Figure 8 120); and
a client device (Liu Figure 8 110) configured to:
receive an input to initiate display of an application depicting digital content, the application configured for the client device (Liu Figure 7 S802);
determining whether the client device includes an alternative version of the application configured for remote display device (Liu [0306]); and
launch the alternative version of the application causing the digital content depicted by the alternative version of the application to be displayed by the remote display device (Liu Figure 7 S802 and Figure 8 803 – large-screen launched prior to display).
Regarding claim 18:
Liu is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 11.
Regarding claim 19:
Liu discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the client device is configured to: query an application repository to detect an alternative version of the application, the alternative version configured to depict the digital content by the remote display device (Liu [0306]);
download the alternative version of the application from the application repository (Liu [0322] storage may be a server).
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Clavin et al; (Publication number: US 2013/0147686 A1), hereafter Clavin.
Regarding claim 6:
Liu does not disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to terminate execution of the application responsive to the launch of the alternative version of the application.
However, Clavin discloses connecting head mounted displays to external displays and other communication networks. More particularly, Clavin discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to terminate execution of the application responsive to the launch of the alternative version of the application (Clavin Figure 9A 908 – optionally discontinue experience at the source HMD device).
It would have been obvious to modify Liu wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to terminate execution of the application responsive to the launch of the alternative version of the application, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to reduce power consumption at the client device.
Regarding claim 9:
Liu does not disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to hide an icon associated with the application from a user interface of the client device for a duration of the content connectivity session.
However, Clavin discloses connecting head mounted displays to external displays and other communication networks. More particularly, Clavin discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to hide an icon associated with the application from a user interface of the client device for a duration of the content connectivity session (Clavin Figure 9A 908 – optionally discontinue experience at the source HMD device. The icon is hidden with experience is discontinued).
It would have been obvious to modify Liu wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to hide an icon associated with the application from a user interface of the client device for a duration of the content connectivity session, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to reduce power consumption at the client device.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 of the application is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 6.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Khalid et al; (Publication number: US 2010/0299436 A1), hereafter Khalid.
Regarding claim 7:
Liu does not disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to detect a user profile associated with application and associate the user profile with the alternative version of the application.
However, Khalid discloses methods and systems for using external display devices with a mobile computing device. More particularly, Khalid discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to detect a user profile associated with application and associate the user profile with the alternative version of the application (Khalid [0110] wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to detect a user profile associated with application and associate the user profile with the alternative version of the application.).
It would have been obvious to modify Liu wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to detect a user profile associated with application and associate the user profile with the alternative version of the application, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to repurpose the mobile computing device to interact with a resource displayed on the remote display.
Claim(s) 3, 8, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu.
Regarding claim 3:
LIU does not expressly disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to: determine that the client device does not include the alternative version of the application; query an application repository to detect whether the application repository includes the alternative version of the application; and download the alternative version of the application from the application repository.
However, as LIU discloses the storage unit may be implement by a server (Liu [0322] storage may be a server), it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to modify LIU wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to: determine that the client device does not include the alternative version of the application; query an application repository to detect whether the application repository includes the alternative version of the application; and download the alternative version of the application from the application repository, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to rely on online databases which maybe configured to store information on a variety device.
Regarding claim 8:
Liu does not disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to: terminate the content connectivity session and execution of the alternative application; and display the digital content depicted by the application in a user interface of the client device.
However, as the large screen projection mode is initiated based on connectivity between the client device and display 120 it would have been obvious to modify Liu wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the client device to: terminate the content connectivity session and execution of the alternative application; and display the digital content depicted by the application in a user interface of the client device, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to allow the user to maintain the user interface on the client device, thereby allowing the freedom to move about.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 3.
Conclusion
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 5 August 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622