DETAILED ACTION
Continuity Data
This application has convoluted continuity data. To the best of the examiner’s ability, the mobile phone limitations appear to extend to 13/858,114 with provisional application 61/752,895 filed 1/15/2013. The CIP above 13/858,114 in the continuity data tree, 13/603,799, does not contain the “mobile device” limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “about” in claims 25, 36, 41, and 42 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The applicant should remove the phrase “about” in claims 25, 36, 41, and 42 to overcome this rejection. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is interpreting these claims as if the phrase “about” has been removed.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 22-42 of U.S. Patent No. 10,874,857, claims 19-40 of US Patent No. 11,020,591, 19-36 of US Patent No. 11,260,225, claims 27-45 of US Patent No. 11,446,491, claims 15-27 and 40-49 of US Patent No. 11,679,258, and claims 20-32 of US Patent No. 12,472,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are all directed towards the same one or more electrodes, stimulator is configured to transmit an electrical impulse from the electrodes through the outer skin surface to a target site, and software application coupled to the stimulator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 17, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Armurthur et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0288016 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Armurthur”.
Regarding claim 15, Amurthur discloses a system (e.g. see figure 6 element 615, [0039]) comprising: one or more electrodes (e.g. see figure 6 element 621, [0040]) configured for contacting an outer skin (e.g. see [0040]) surface of a patient; a stimulator (e.g. see figure 6 elements 616/617, [0039]) coupled to the one or more electrodes, wherein the stimulator (e.g. see figure 6 elements 616/617, [0039]) is configured to transmit an electrical impulse from the electrodes through the outer skin surface to a target site within a patient (e.g. see [0040]); and a computer readable media (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042]) comprising non-transitory computer executable instructions (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042]), wherein the stimulator is configured for coupling to the computer readable media (e.g. see figure 6 elements 616, 617, 618, [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Amurthur discloses the stimulator comprises a housing (e.g. see figure 2A element 203, [0029]-[0032]) and the one or more electrodes are attached to the housing (e.g. see [0029], [0032]).
Regarding claim 20, Amurthur discloses the computer readable media comprises non-transitory computer executable instructions (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042], “computer-readable instructions”) that, when executed by a processor, transmits parameters of the electrical impulse to the stimulator (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042], “programmed neural stimulation therapies”).
Regarding claim 21, Amurthur discloses the computer readable media comprises a storage device (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042]) that includes data and the stimulator is configured to receive the data from the storage device, the data comprising a therapy regimen for treating a medical condition in the patient (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042], “anti-hypertensive and cardiac function improvement therapies”).
Regarding claim 22, Amurthur discloses the computer readable media comprises non-transitory computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, adjusts a parameter of the electrical impulse (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042], Note: The “anti-hypertensive and cardiac function improvement therapies” will have different parameters as they are different therapies).
Regarding claim 23, Amurthur discloses the computer readable media comprises non-transitory computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, controls operation of the stimulator (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042]).
Regarding claim 24, Amurthur discloses the electrical impulse is sufficient to modulate a nerve in a patient (e.g. see [0028], [0029], [0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amurthur in view of Tahmasian et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0215285 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Tahmasian”.
Regarding claim 18, Amurthur discloses the invention but is silent as to the computer readable media comprises a software application downloadable onto a mobile device. Tahmasian teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0019], [0024] to eliminate the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device (e.g. see [0019]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the software application being downloadable on a mobile device as taught by Tahmasian in the system of Amurthur, since said modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amurthur in view of Lesser et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0208266 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Lesser”.
Regarding claim 19, Amurthur discloses the pulse generator for generating the electrical impulse (e.g. see figure 6 elements 616, 617, and 625, [0039], [0042]) but is silent as to an energy source within the stimulator. Lesser teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0047] to provide power to the generator to generate the pulses. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an energy source connected to the pulse generator as taught by Lesser in the system of Amurthur, since said modification would provide the predictable results of providing power to the generator to generate the pulses.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amurthur in view of Craig (Pub. No.: US 2007/0233193 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Amurthur discloses the invention but is silent as to the electrical impulse comprises pulses having a frequency of about 1 kHz to about 20 kHz. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0061]-[0063] to provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur (e.g. see [0060]) (Note: Craig discloses in [0061] that pulse duration maybe as little as 2 milliseconds per microburst for 2-25 pulses. That produces a frequency of 2 pulses per 0.002 seconds which is 1kHz. Similarly, 25 pulses per 0.002 seconds is 12.5 kHz. 1 kHz and 12.5 kHz are within the range disclosed by the applicant. Craig further discloses in [0061] “Suitable ranges for these parameters may comprise a variety of values” and in [0013] “In addition to the on-time and off-time, the other parameters defining the electrical signal in conventional VNS may be programmed over a range of values”. Because the prior art recognizes stimulation duration is a result effective variable, it would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable range(s)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use pulses having a frequency of about 1 kHz to about 20 kHz as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, since said modification would provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur.
Claim(s) 26-31, 44, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amurthur in view of Tahmasian and Lesser.
Regarding claim 26, Amurthur discloses a housing (e.g. see figure 2A element 203, [0029]-[0032]); one or more electrodes (e.g. see figure 6 element 621, [0040]) coupled to the housing (e.g. see [0029], [0032]) and configured for contacting an outer skin (e.g. see [0040]) surface of a patient; wherein the stimulator (e.g. see figure 6 elements 616/617, [0039]) is configured to transmit the electrical impulse from the electrodes through the outer skin (e.g. see [0040]) surface to a nerve (e.g. see [0028], [0029], [0044]) within a user.
Amurthur discloses the pulse generator for generating the electrical impulse (e.g. see figure 6 elements 616, 617, and 625, [0039], [0042]) but is silent as to an energy source within the stimulator. Lesser teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0047] to provide power to the generator to generate the pulses. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an energy source connected to the pulse generator as taught by Lesser in the system of Amurthur, since said modification would provide the predictable results of providing power to the generator to generate the pulses.
Amurthur and Lesser disclose the invention but is silent as to the stimulator is configured for coupling to a mobile device configured to receive a wireless signal. Tahmasian teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0019], [0024] to eliminate the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device (e.g. see [0019]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the stimulator is configured for coupling to a mobile device configured to receive a wireless signal as taught by Tahmasian in the system of Amurthur and Lesser, since said modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device.
Regarding claim 27, Amurthur and Tahmasian disclose the pulse generator for generating the electrical impulse (e.g. see figure 6 elements 616, 617, and 625, [0039], [0042]) but is silent as to an energy source within the stimulator. Lesser teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0047] to provide power to the generator to generate the pulses. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an energy source connected to the pulse generator as taught by Lesser in the system of Amurthur and Tahmasian, since said modification would provide the predictable results of providing power to the generator to generate the pulses.
Regarding claim 28, Amurthur and Lesser disclose the invention but is silent as to a software program configured for wireless downloading onto the mobile device, wherein the software program receives data from the stimulator. Tahmasian teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0044] ([0044] discloses the battery status of the stimulator and current program of the stimulator are displayed on figure 9. Both of these will read on “receives data from the stimulator”) to eliminate the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device (e.g. see [0019]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a software program configured for wireless downloading onto the mobile device, wherein the software program receives data from the stimulator as taught by Tahmasian in the system of Amurthur and Lesser, since said modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device.
Regarding claim 29, Amurthur discloses the invention but is silent as to the software program transmits a parameter of the electrical impulse to the mobile device. Tahmasian teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0044] ([0044] discloses “The patient may increase or decrease the stimulation strength using the plus or minus buttons”) to eliminate the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device (e.g. see [0019]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the software program transmits a parameter of the electrical impulse to the mobile device as taught by Tahmasian in the system of Amurthur, since said modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need for a patient to carry a separate external controller otherwise provided by the manufacturer of the implantable medical device.
Regarding claim 30, Armurthur discloses the software program (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042]) is configured to adjust an amplitude (e.g. see figure 6 element 625, “amplitude”) of the electrical impulse.
Regarding claim 31, Armurthur discloses the software program (e.g. see figure 6 element 618, [0042]) is configured to adjust a duration (e.g. see figure 6 element 625, “burst frequency/duration”) of the electrical impulse.
Regarding claim 44, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser disclose the claimed invention except for the one or more electrodes are configured to contact an outer skin surface of a neck of the user and the nerve is a vagus nerve. Lesser teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in figure 2 elements 40, 42 [0046]-[0047] to non-invasively stimulate both the left and right vagus nerves (e.g. see [0046]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the one or more electrodes are configured to contact an outer skin surface of a neck of the user and the nerve is a vagus nerve as taught by Lesser in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the predictable results of non-invasively stimulating both the left and right vagus nerves.
Regarding claim 45, Armurthur discloses the nerve is a vagus nerve (e.g. see [0019], [0024], [0026], [0027]).
Claim(s) 32-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amurthur in view of Tahmasian and Lesser as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Craig.
Regarding claim 32, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser discloses using pulse bursts (e.g. see [0038] of Amurthur) but are silent as to the electrical impulse comprises bursts of pulses, wherein each of the bursts comprises a burst period and a constant period, wherein the electrical impulses comprises 2 to 20 pulses during each burst period and zero pulses during each constant period. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0061] to provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur (e.g. see [0060]) (Note: Craig discloses in [0061] that there is preferably 2-15 pulses per microburst and off times with zero pulses between microbursts. Craig further discloses in [0061] “Suitable ranges for these parameters may comprise a variety of values” and in [0013] “In addition to the on-time and off-time, the other parameters defining the electrical signal in conventional VNS may be programmed over a range of values”. Because the prior art recognizes stimulation duration is a result effective variable, it would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable range(s)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the electrical impulse comprises bursts of pulses, wherein each of the bursts comprises a burst period and a constant period, wherein the electrical impulses comprises 2 to 20 pulses during each burst period and zero pulses during each constant period as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur.
Regarding claim 33, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser disclose using pulse bursts (e.g. see [0038] of Amurthur) but are silent as to the bursts have a frequency of 15 Hz to 100 Hz. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0013] to enhance and optimize neurostimulation (e.g. see [0014]) (Note: Craig discloses in [0013] “number of pulses in a pulse burst is typically set by programming a frequency in a range of about 20-150 Hz (i.e., 20 pulses per second to 150 pulses per second)”. Craig further discloses in [0061] “Suitable ranges for these parameters may comprise a variety of values” and in [0013] “In addition to the on-time and off-time, the other parameters defining the electrical signal in conventional VNS may be programmed over a range of values”. Because the prior art recognizes stimulation duration is a result effective variable, it would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable range(s)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the bursts have a frequency of 15 Hz to 100 Hz as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the predictable results of enhanced and optimize neurostimulation.
Regarding claims 34-36, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser disclose the invention but is silent as to the pulses have a frequency of 1 kHz to 20 kHz, the pulses have a frequency of 2.5 kHz to 10 kHz, and the pulses have a frequency of about 5 kHz. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0061]-[0063] to provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur (e.g. see [0060]) (Note: Craig discloses in [0061] that pulse duration maybe as little as 2 milliseconds per microburst for 2-25 pulses. That produces a frequency of 2 pulses per 0.002 seconds which is 1kHz. Similarly, 25 pulses per 0.002 seconds is 12.5 kHz. 1 kHz and 12.5 kHz are within the range disclosed by the applicant. Craig further discloses in [0061] “Suitable ranges for these parameters may comprise a variety of values” and in [0013] “In addition to the on-time and off-time, the other parameters defining the electrical signal in conventional VNS may be programmed over a range of values”. Because the prior art recognizes stimulation duration is a result effective variable, it would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable range(s)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use pulses have a frequency of 1 kHz to 20 kHz, the pulses have a frequency of 2.5 kHz to 10 kHz, and the pulses have a frequency of about 5 kHz as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur.
Regarding claims 37 and 38, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser disclose using pulse bursts (e.g. see [0038] of Amurthur) but are silent as to each burst period comprises 2 to 10 pulses and each burst period comprises 5 pulses. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0061] to provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur (e.g. see [0060]) (Note: Craig discloses in [0061] that there is preferably 2-15 pulses per microburst and off times with zero pulses between microbursts. Craig further discloses in [0061] “Suitable ranges for these parameters may comprise a variety of values” and in [0013] “In addition to the on-time and off-time, the other parameters defining the electrical signal in conventional VNS may be programmed over a range of values”. Because the prior art recognizes stimulation duration is a result effective variable, it would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable range(s)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use each burst period comprises 2 to 10 pulses and each burst period comprises 5 pulses as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur.
Regarding claim 39, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser disclose using pulse bursts (e.g. see [0038] of Amurthur) but are silent as to the pulses alternate between a negative voltage and positive voltage within each burst period. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0066] (“the pulses comprise a square, biphasic waveform in which the second phase is a charge-balancing phase of the opposite polarity to the first phase”) to enhance and optimize neurostimulation (e.g. see [0014]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the pulses alternate between a negative voltage and positive voltage within each burst period as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the predictable results of enhanced and optimize neurostimulation.
Regarding claim 41, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser disclose using pulse bursts (e.g. see [0038] of Amurthur) but are silent as to each constant period has a longer duration than each burst period. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0061] to enhance and optimize neurostimulation (e.g. see [0014]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use each constant period has a longer duration than each burst period as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the predictable results of enhanced and optimize neurostimulation.
Regarding claims 41-43, Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser disclose using pulse bursts (e.g. see [0038] of Amurthur) but are silent as to a duration of each burst period is less than about 20,000 microseconds, a duration of each burst period is about 400 microseconds to about 2,000 microseconds, and the pulses each have a duration of 100 microseconds to 400 microseconds. Craig teaches it is known to use such a modification as set forth in [0061]-[0062] to provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur (e.g. see [0060]) (Note: Craig discloses in [0061] “Suitable microburst durations may range from about 2 msec to about 1 sec, preferably less than about 100 msec, more preferably from about 5 msec to about 100 msec, and even more preferably from about 10 msec to about 80 msec”. Craig further discloses in [0061] “Suitable ranges for these parameters may comprise a variety of values” and in [0013] “In addition to the on-time and off-time, the other parameters defining the electrical signal in conventional VNS may be programmed over a range of values”. Because the prior art recognizes stimulation duration is a result effective variable, it would therefore have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum workable range(s)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a duration of each burst period is less than about 20,000 microseconds, a duration of each burst period is about 400 microseconds to about 2,000 microseconds, and the pulses each have a duration of 100 microseconds to 400 microseconds as taught by Craig in the system of Amurthur, Tahmasian, and Lesser, since said modification would provide the required time for transmembrane proteins to return sodium and potassium ions to their starting intra- and extracellular concentrations and allow a subsequent action potential to occur.
Conclusion
/P.C.E/Examiner, Art Unit 3792 /AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792