DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 124 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 124 recites the acronym EDTA. While the definition of this abbreviation is not provided in the specification, its use in reference to the chelating agent ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid is known. Thus the full name should appear in the claims before the first use the acronym. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 100-117, 119, and 122-130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 100, the sole independent claim, recites “wherein the particles comprise no more than 1% by weight, relative to the cannabidiol content, of a 1:1 adduct of alpha-tocopherol and cannabidiol”. The specification does not discuss “a 1:1 adduct of alpha-tocopherol and cannabidiol”. A compound discussed as the result of dimerization of the alpha-tocopherol and cannabidiol is noted and called RRT 3.45 (see specification paragraph 316). However, it is not clear that an “adduct” and a “dimer” are equivalent in regard to the chemical structure that they embrace/imply. The applicant has not identified any specific location in the disclosure that provides basis for the amendment; thus the artisan of ordinary skill would not have deemed the applicant to be in possession of the invention as currently claimed at the time of filing.
This is a new matter rejection.
Claims 100-117, 119, and 122-130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 100, the sole independent claim, recites “wherein the particles comprise no more than 1% by weight, relative to the cannabidiol content, of a 1:1 adduct of alpha-tocopherol and cannabidiol”. In addition to the identity of the “adduct” being unclear, the occurrence of such an impurity depends upon the storage conditions to chi eth composition is subjected. Specifically, the length of storage as well as the exposure temperature and humidity can alter the amount of impurities that occur and are measured. A composition tested for impurities initially would have a different level of impurities as compared to the same composition if assessed after an accelerated storage at elevated temperature and humidity over several days or weeks. Therefore a single composition could be both inside and outside the scope of the claim, depending upon how much time has passed and the conditions under which it was stored; thereby making the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
Claims 128 and 129 recite a percentage range of alpha-tocopherol present in an amount that falls with a percentage range. The claims do not recite the type of amount (e.g., molar, weight, etc.) or the basis (e.g., total weight of the particle, weight of the lipophilic material, etc.) for the percentages.
Claims that are rejection but are not explicitly elaborated upon are also indefinite because they depend from aa indefinite claim, but do not add clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 100-113, 115, and 122-130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. (previously cited) in view of Macleman et al. (previously cited) as evidenced by Ueck (US PGPub No. 2004/0076693).
Schwarz et al. teach a cannabidiol composition that is a eutectic mixture of cannabidiol and an organic compound, where the cannabidiol is dissolved in the organic compound (see abstract; instant claims 104 and 127). The organic compound is envisioned to include compounds such as tocopherol, polyethoxylated fatty acids, and glycerides (see paragraph 18). They go on to teach that the compositions are successfully incorporated into self emulsifying delivery systems and emulsion systems (see paragraph 38). The cannabidiol composes 20 to 80 wt% of the eutectic mixture and the eutectic mixture is envisioned as 5 to 90 wt% of a dosage form (see claim 1). Examples for oral delivery are detailed where one includes cannabidiol at 52 wt%, medium chain triglycerides at 36 wt% that include C10, C12, and C14 triglycerides, lecithin at 4.2 wt%, alpha tocopherol at 2.1 wt%, butylated hydroxytoluene at 0.1 wt%, ascorbyl palmitate at 0.1 wt%, and peppermint oil at 15.6 wt% (see table 7 example 39; Ueck paragraph 27; instant claims 100 and 115). An adsorbent carrier particle is not explicitly detailed as part of the dosage form.
Macleman et al. teach solid self-emulsifying oral dosage forms, where a self-emulsifying mixture of drug, lipophilic solvent, and emulsifier (surfactant) are adsorbed to a carrier to generate flowing powder for better stability and dissolution of a lipophilic cannabinoid composition (see abstract and paragraphs 8-9 and 54). Surfactants that are envisioned as present include lecithin (see paragraph 85). Medium chain triglycerides are envisioned and exemplified as the lipophilic solvent (see paragraph 14 and examples). Macleman et al. teach that the carrier is mesoporous with a pore volume of about 1.5 to 1.9 g/mL and envisioned as various materials such as silica, zinc oxide, and titanium dioxide (see paragraphs 16 and 68-69; instant claim 106). The drug is envisioned as a cannabinoid, that is preferably cannabidiol (see paragraphs 10-11). The particles have an average size of 20 to 60 microns, a surface area of about 260 to about 320 m2/g, and pore diameter of 2 to 100 nm (see paragraphs 72-73; instant claims 110-111 and 113). Macleman et al. further detail that the weight ratio of adsorbent to self-emulsifying composition can range from about 1:1 to about 1:2 (see paragraph 74). They additionally teach the inclusion of an antioxidant, such as ascorbyl palmitate, EDTA, and alpha tocopherol, where alpha tocopherol is envisioned as present at 0.02 to 1 wt% in the self-emulsifying mixture applied to the adsorbent (see paragraphs 25 and 84; instant claims 123-124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adsorb the highlighted composition of Schwarz et al. onto a porous carrier as detailed by Macleman et al. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. The composition of Schwarz et al. has the components detailed for the components of the self-emulsifying portion detailed by Macleman et al. and is envisioned in a self-emulsifying dosage form, thus there would have been a reasonable expectation of a success for the modification. The result is the adsorption of a cannabinoid dissolved in a lipophilic material onto a porous solid carrier. According to instant specification paragraph 40, the result of this configuration is an amorphous form of the cannabinoid (see instant claim 104). The proportions for the loading level on the particles of Macleman et al. would follow and yield the composition of Schwarz et al. composition about 50 to about 67 wt% of the composition and the carrier particle(s) as the balance (see instant claim 108). The result would be cannabidiol present at about 26 to 34 wt%, medium chain triglyceride (lipophilic material) at about 13 to about 17.4 wt%, lecithin (lipophilic material) at about 2.1 to about 2.8 wt%, alpha tocopherol at about 1 to 1.4 wt%, and ascorbyl palmitate at about 0.05 to about 0.07 wt%, based on the weight of the loaded particles (lipophilic material totals about 15.1 to about 19.5 wt% of the particle; see instant claims 100, 102-103, 122, and 128-129). These ranges of proportions meet or overlap with those instantly claimed, given that the use of the term “about” embraces variations that include 25%, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious (see instant specification paragraph 41). “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990)” (see MPEP 2144.05). The range of average surface area and average pore diameter overlaps or embraces the claimed ranges which also renders the claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05; instant claims 111-112 and 127). An adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol is not a recited ingredient and the composition is not subjected to the conditions that the instant specification shows results in its formation, thus it is the position of examiner that at the time of preparation, the composition has less than 1 wt% of a 1:1 adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol based on the cannabidiol (see instant claims 100 and 130). Cannabidiorcol, cannabidivarin, and cannabidibutol are not recited components and the included cannabidiol has less than 0.14 wt% impurities, therefore they are not present in an amount that exceeds the permissible proportions (see instant claim 101). The addition of further amounts of surfactant as detailed by Macleman et al. to facilitate the self-emulsifying properties would follow and still yield the instantly claimed components present at proportions that render the instant ranges obvious. Further the addition of EDTA as an antioxidant would have been obvious given the presence of other antioxidants. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06). According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Here, Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. render obvious the claimed components in the claimed configuration at the claimed concentrations. Thus absent evidence to the contrary, these dosage forms that are rendered obvious would have the instantly claimed release kinetics (see instant claims 125-126). Therefore claims 100-113, 115, and 122-130 are obvious over Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Claims 100-113, 115, and 122-130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. as applied to claims 100-111, 113, 115, 122-126, and 128-130 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (previously cited).
Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 100-111, 113, 115, 122-126, and 128-130. The teachings additionally render obvious the majority of limitations in instant claims 112 and 127, with the exception of the size of the average pore diameter in the adsorbent.
Wu et al. teach a mesoporous calcium silicate employed as an adsorbent for drug delivery (see abstract). The particles have a pore volume of 1.2 g/mL, a surface area of 290 m2/g, and pore diameter of 2 to 50 nm (see page 750 second column first partial paragraph; instant claims 111-112 and 127).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the composition of Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. where the adsorbent includes the mesoporous calcium silicate of Wu et al. as a silicate This modification would have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. The pore diameter and pore volume meet or embrace those instantly claimed, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05. Here the adsorbent of Wu et al. is employed in a similar capacity as that of Macleman et al. thus there would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the modification. Therefore claims 100-113, 115, and 122-130 are obvious over Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. and Wu et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Claims 100-115 and 122-130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. as applied to claims 100-113, 115, and 122-130 above, and further in view of Sher et al. (previously cited).
Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 100-111, 113, 115, 122-126, and 128-130. The teachings additionally render obvious the majority of limitations in instant claims 112 and 127, with the exception of the porosity in the adsorbent.
Sher et al. teach microporous polypropylene particles employed as an adsorbent for drug delivery (see abstract). The particles have a porosity of 70% and a pore volume of 1.992 g/mL (see page 76 second column; instant claim 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the composition of Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. where the adsorbent includes the microporous polypropylene particles of Sher et al. as an adsorbent. This modification would have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. Here the adsorbent of Sher et al. is employed in a similar capacity as that of Macleman et al., thus there would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the modification. Therefore claims 100-115 and 122-130 are obvious over Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. and Sher et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Claims 100-113, 115-117, 119, and 122-130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. as applied to claims 100-113, 115, and 122-130 above, and further in view of Vangara et al. (previously cited).
Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 100-113, 115, and 122-130. Macleman et al. teach the inclusion of non-ionic surfactant the emulsifier in a cannabidiol containing self-emulsifying compositions loaded onto adsorbents (see paragraph 15). These compounds include polyoxyethylene sorbitan fatty acid esters (see paragraph 85). Propylene monocaprylate is not explicitly recited as a component.
Vangara et al. teach a self-emulsifying formulation of cannabidiol that includes cannabidiol and surfactant envisioned as polysorbates (polyoxyethylene sorbitan fatty acid esters), propylene glycol monocaprylate, and lauroyl polyoxyl-6-glyceride (see paragraph 20; instant claims 116-117 and 119). Lauroyl polyoxyl-6-glyceride is understood to be equivalent to mono-, di-, and triglycerides of lauric and stearic acid and PEG-6 mono- and diesters of lauric and stearic acid (see instant specification paragraph 104). They further teach the inclusion of an antioxidant as well as oil components envisioned and exemplified as medium chain triglycerides (see paragraphs 34 and 41 and example 1 composition 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare the composition of Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. where a non-ionic surfactant is present, as suggested by Macleman et al., to support the self-emulsifying properties. More specifically propylene glycol monocaprylate or lauroyl polyoxyl-6-glyceride of Vangara et al. is employed in this role is obvious. This modification would have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome. Here the non-ionic surfactants for the self-emulsifying systems of Macleman et al. and Vangara et al. overlap in scope and carry cannabidiol as the cannabinoid active, thus there would have been a reasonable expectation of success for the modification. Therefore claims 100-113, 115-117, 119, and 122-130 are obvious over Schwarz et al. in view of Macleman et al. and Vangara et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 100-117, 119, and 122-130 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of US Patent No. 12,569,505 in view of Nowak et al. (US PGPub No. 2020/0046787 – previously cited) and Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite at least one particle composed of a porous solid carrier, cannabidiol, lipophilic material, and antioxidant. The pore volume of the porous solid carrier, cannabidiol proportion, as well as lipophilic material options and proportions are the same while proportions for the porous solid carrier overlap. Antioxidant options in the patented claims include alpha-tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate and the porous carrier is silica that is mesoporous or amorphous with physical details as instantly claimed. In addition, the release kinetics for the cannabidiol are the same or overlapping between the two sets of claims. The patented claims do not recite a plurality of its particles or the claimed concentration for alpha-tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate.
Nowak et al. teaches particles for release of cannabinoids (see abstract and 17). The particles may be provided as a tablet for easy administration (see paragraph 17). The particles include tetrahydrocannabinol, cannabidiol or a mixture thereof (see abstract and paragraph 19). The particles also include drug releasing agent(s) at about 15 to 35 wt% , solubilizer(s), surfactant(s) at 15 to 35 wt%, and a core at 20 to 45 wt%, where the cannabinoid is present at 5 to 50 wt% (see paragraphs 18 and 24). Nowak et al. go on to teach mixing the cannabinoid into the surfactant, solubilizer, drug releasing agent, and stabilizing agent then loading (adsorbing) the mixture onto the cores (see paragraph 66). They further teach the presence of antioxidants (stabilizing agents), such as ascorbyl palmitate, EDTA, tocopherol (vitamin E), butylated hydroxyanisole, and butylated hydroxytoluene at 0.001 to 5 wt% (see paragraph 54).
Schwarz et al. teach a cannabidiol composition that is a eutectic mixture of cannabidiol and an organic compound, where the cannabidiol is dissolved in the organic compound (see abstract). The organic compound is envisioned to include compounds such as tocopherol, polyethoxylated fatty acids, and glycerides (see paragraph 18). They go on to teach that the compositions are successfully incorporated into self emulsifying delivery systems and emulsion systems (see paragraph 38). The cannabidiol composes 20 to 80 wt% of the eutectic mixture and the eutectic mixture is envisioned as 5 to 90 wt% of a dosage form (see claim 1). Examples for oral delivery are detailed where one includes cannabidiol at 52 wt%, medium chain triglycerides at 36 wt% that include C10, C12, and C14 triglycerides, lecithin at 4.2 wt%, alpha tocopherol at 2.1 wt%, butylated hydroxytoluene at 0.1 wt%, ascorbyl palmitate at 0.1 wt%, and peppermint oil at 15.6 wt% (see table 7 example 39; Ueck paragraph 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare a plurality of the particles of the patented claims as a dosage form that is then formed into a tablet in light of Nowak et al. because they teach this final structure as useful for similar cannabidiol particles. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement (e.g., ease of administration). Both alpha-tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate are recited antioxidants that can be included individually or in combination in the patented claims. In light of Schwarz et al., the presence of both antioxidants along with butylated hydroxytoluene was known to be effective in this capacity. Thus the selection of the combination of alpha tocopherol, ascorbyl palmitate and butylated hydroxytoluene at the ratios relative to the cannabidiol detailed by Schwarz et al. would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Specifically, they exemplify a weight ratio of cannabidiol to ascorbyl palmitate to alpha tocopherol to butylated hydroxytoluene of 52:0.1:2.1:0.1. The range of cannabidiol in the patented composition is about 15 to about 40 wt%. This would then correspond to a range of about 0.03 to about 0.076 wt% ascorbyl palmitate, about 0.6 to about 1.6 wt% alpha tocopherol, and about 0.03 to about 0.076 wt% butylated hydroxytoluene. These ranges of proportions meet or overlap with those instantly claimed, given that the use of the term “about” embraces variations that include 25%, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). Further the addition of EDTA as an antioxidant would have been obvious, given the presence of other antioxidants. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06). An adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol is not a recited ingredient and the composition is not subjected to the conditions that the instant specification shows results in its formation, thus it is the position of examiner that at the time of preparation, the composition has less than 1 wt% of a 1:1 adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol based on the cannabidiol (see instant claims 100 and 130). The release kinetics range of the patented claims overlap with that of instant claim 126, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). Therefore claims 100-117, 119, and 122-130 are obvious over claims 1-27 of US Patent No. 12,569,505 in view of Nowak et al. and Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
The following are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 100-114, 116-117, 119, and 122-130 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 19, and 21-28 of copending Application No. 18/597717 (reference application) in view of Nowak et al. and Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite at least one particle composed of the same or overlapping proportions of lipophilic material, porous mesoporous or amorphous silica carrier, antioxidant, and cannabinoid recited to be cannabidiol. In the copending claims, the cannabinoid is adsorbed onto the solid carrier. Propylene glycol monocaprylate and lauroyl polyoxyl-6-glyceride are both recited options for the lipophilic material in both sets of claims and they also recited alpha tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate as antioxidants. Further, the same chelating agents and silica physical features are recited in both sets of claims. The copending claims do not recite a plurality of its particles or the claimed concentration for alpha-tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate.
Nowak et al. teaches particles for release of cannabinoids (see abstract and 17). The particles may be provided as a tablet for easy administration (see paragraph 17). The particles include tetrahydrocannabinol, cannabidiol or a mixture thereof (see abstract and paragraph 19). The particles also include drug releasing agent(s) at about 15 to 35 wt% , solubilizer(s), surfactant(s) at 15 to 35 wt%, and a core at 20 to 45 wt%, where the cannabinoid is present at 5 to 50 wt% (see paragraphs 18 and 24). Nowak et al. go on to teach mixing the cannabinoid into the surfactant, solubilizer, drug releasing agent, and stabilizing agent then loading (adsorbing) the mixture onto the cores (see paragraph 66). They further teach the presence of antioxidants (stabilizing agents), such as ascorbyl palmitate, EDTA, tocopherol (vitamin E), butylated hydroxyanisole, and butylated hydroxytoluene at 0.001 to 5 wt% (see paragraph 54).
Schwarz et al. teach a cannabidiol composition that is a eutectic mixture of cannabidiol and an organic compound, where the cannabidiol is dissolved in the organic compound (see abstract). The organic compound is envisioned to include compounds such as tocopherol, polyethoxylated fatty acids, and glycerides (see paragraph 18). They go on to teach that the compositions are successfully incorporated into self emulsifying delivery systems and emulsion systems (see paragraph 38). The cannabidiol composes 20 to 80 wt% of the eutectic mixture and the eutectic mixture is envisioned as 5 to 90 wt% of a dosage form (see claim 1). Examples for oral delivery are detailed where one includes cannabidiol at 52 wt%, medium chain triglycerides at 36 wt% that include C10, C12, and C14 triglycerides, lecithin at 4.2 wt%, alpha tocopherol at 2.1 wt%, butylated hydroxytoluene at 0.1 wt%, ascorbyl palmitate at 0.1 wt%, and peppermint oil at 15.6 wt% (see table 7 example 39; Ueck paragraph 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to prepare a plurality of the particles of the copending claims as a dosage form that is then formed into a tablet in light of Nowak et al. because they teach this final structure as useful for similar cannabidiol particles. This modification would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement (e.g., ease of administration). Both alpha-tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate are recited antioxidants that can be included individually or in combination in the copending claims. In light of Schwarz et al., the presence of both antioxidants along with butylated hydroxytoluene was known to be effective in this capacity. Thus the selection of the combination of alpha tocopherol, ascorbyl palmitate and butylated hydroxytoluene at the ratios relative to the cannabidiol detailed by Schwarz et al. would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Specifically, they exemplify a weight ratio of cannabidiol to ascorbyl palmitate to alpha tocopherol to butylated hydroxytoluene of 52:0.1:2.1:0.1. The range of cannabidiol in the copending composition is about 30 to about 50 wt%. This would then correspond to a range of about 0.06 to about 0.1 wt% ascorbyl palmitate, about 1.2 to about 2 wt% alpha tocopherol, and about 0.06 to about 0.1 wt% butylated hydroxytoluene. These ranges of proportions meet or overlap with those instantly claimed, given that the use of the term “about” embraces variations that include 25%, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). Further the addition of EDTA as an antioxidant would have been obvious given the presence of other antioxidants. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06). An adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol is not a recited ingredient and the composition is not subjected to the conditions that the instant specification shows results in its formation, thus it is the position of examiner that at the time of preparation, the composition has less than 1 wt% of a 1:1 adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol based on the cannabidiol (see instant claims 100 and 130). The release kinetics range of the copending claims overlap with that of instant claim 126, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Here, the copending claims in view of Nowak et al. render obvious the claimed components in the claimed configuration at the claimed concentrations. Thus absent evidence to the contrary, these dosage forms that are rendered obvious would have the instantly claimed release kinetics. Therefore claims 100-114, 116-117, 119, and 122-130 are obvious over claims 1-16, 19, and 21-28 of copending Application No. 18/597717 in view of Nowak et al. and Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Claims 100-117, 119, and 122-130 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16, 19, and 21-28 of copending Application No. 18/597717 in view of Nowak et al. and Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. as applied claims 100-114, 116-117, 119, and 122-130, and further in view of Bannister et al. (previously cited) as evidenced by Kolodziejczyk et al. (previously cited).
Claims 1-16, 19, and 21-28 of copending Application No. 18/597717 in view of Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 100-114, 116-117, 119, and 122-130. Nowak et al. teaches particles that include drug releasing agent(s) at about 15 to 35 wt%, solubilizer(s), surfactant(s) at 15 to 35 wt%, and a core at 20 to 45 wt%, where the cannabinoid is present at 5 to 50 wt% (see paragraphs 18 and 24). The drug releasing agent may be a gel forming agent that is envisioned as various lipid, cellulose, or gum compounds (see paragraphs 43-44). Amongst the lipid compounds, they include glycerol monostearate in the form of the commercial component Geleol™ Mono and Diglycerides (see paragraph 44). They further detail that the proportion of the gel forming agent impacts the release kinetics of the cannabinoid, where a slower release corresponds to increasing proportions of the gel forming component (see example 1 and tables 3 and 5). The presence of C8-C18 fatty acid mono-, di- and triglycerides is not recited.
Bannister et al. teach compositions that are envisioned to deliver cannabidiol (see abstract and paragraph 78). They detail the inclusion of hard fat glycerolipids that are suitable for such compositions that include glycerol monostearate and diglycerides in the form of the commercial component Geleol™ Mono and Diglycerides as well as mixtures of saturated C10-C18 triglycerides provided by the product sold under the name Gelucire® 43/01. Kolodziejczyk et al. detail that Gelucire® 43/01 is C8-C18 fatty acid mono-, di- and triglycerides (see page 2 second full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add C8-C18 fatty acid mono-, di- and triglycerides via Gelucire® 43/01 as the lipid gel forming agent to the composition of the copending claims in light of Nowak et al. and Bannister et al. This choice would have been obvious as the simple substitution of one known element for another in order to yield a predictable outcome and the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. This lipid gel forming agent meets the instant limitation for the lipophilic material. The selection of a particular proportion would have been informed by Novak et al. and also a matter of routine optimization, given that it is a result effective variable. Therefore claims 100-117, 119, and 122-130 are obvious over claims 1-16, 19, and 21-28 of copending Application No. 18/597717 in view of Nowak et al., Schwarz et al. and Bannister et al. as evidenced by Kolodziejczyk et al. and Ueck et al.
Claims 100-117, 119, 122, and 125-130 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 19/562541 (reference application) in view of Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite at least one particle composed of the same or overlapping proportions of lipophilic material, porous mesoporous or amorphous silica carrier, antioxidant, and cannabidiol. In the copending claims, the cannabinoid is adsorbed onto the solid carrier. The same lipophilic materials are cited by both sets of claims as well as the same or overlapping ranges of carrier parameters Further, ascorbyl palmitate and alpha-tocopherol are names as antioxidants in both sets of claims The copending claims do not recite the claimed concentration for alpha-tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate.
Schwarz et al. teach a cannabidiol composition that is a eutectic mixture of cannabidiol and an organic compound, where the cannabidiol is dissolved in the organic compound (see abstract). The organic compound is envisioned to include compounds such as tocopherol, polyethoxylated fatty acids, and glycerides (see paragraph 18). They go on to teach that the compositions are successfully incorporated into self emulsifying delivery systems and emulsion systems (see paragraph 38). The cannabidiol composes 20 to 80 wt% of the eutectic mixture and the eutectic mixture is envisioned as 5 to 90 wt% of a dosage form (see claim 1). Examples for oral delivery are detailed where one includes cannabidiol at 52 wt%, medium chain triglycerides at 36 wt% that include C10, C12, and C14 triglycerides, lecithin at 4.2 wt%, alpha tocopherol at 2.1 wt%, butylated hydroxytoluene at 0.1 wt%, ascorbyl palmitate at 0.1 wt%, and peppermint oil at 15.6 wt% (see table 7 example 39; Ueck paragraph 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include both alpha-tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate in the composition of the copending claims because they are recited antioxidants that can be included individually or in combination in the copending claims. In light of Schwarz et al., the presence of both antioxidants along with butylated hydroxytoluene was known to be effective in this capacity. Thus the selection of the combination of alpha tocopherol, ascorbyl palmitate and butylated hydroxytoluene at the ratios relative to the cannabidiol detailed by Schwarz et al. would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Specifically, they exemplify a weight ratio of cannabidiol to ascorbyl palmitate to alpha tocopherol to butylated hydroxytoluene of 52:0.1:2.1:0.1. The range of cannabidiol in the copending composition is about 15 to about 40 wt%. This would then correspond to a range of about 0.03 to about 0.076 wt% ascorbyl palmitate, about 0.6 to about 1.6 wt% alpha tocopherol, and about 0.03 to about 0.076 wt% butylated hydroxytoluene. These ranges of proportions meet or overlap with those instantly claimed, given that the use of the term “about” embraces variations that include 25%, thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). An adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol is not a recited ingredient and the composition is not subjected to the conditions that the instant specification shows results in its formation, thus it is the position of examiner that at the time of preparation, the composition has less than 1 wt% of a 1:1 adduct of cannabidiol and alpha tocopherol based on the cannabidiol (see instant claims 100 and 130). The release kinetics range of the copending claims overlap with that of instant claim 126, thereby rendering the claimed range obvious (see MPEP 2144.05). It additionally would have been obvious to include EDTA in light of Nowak et al. to further supplement the antioxidant protection as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Here, the copending claims in view of Nowak et al. render obvious the claimed components in the claimed configuration at the claimed concentrations. Thus absent evidence to the contrary, these dosage forms that are rendered obvious would have the instantly claimed release kinetics. Therefore claims 100-117, 119, 122, and 125-130 are obvious over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 19/562541 in view of Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Claims 100-117, 119, 122, and 125-130 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 19/562541 in view of Shah et al.as applied claims 100-117, 119, 122, and 125-130, and further in view of Nowak et al.
Claims 11-29 of copending Application No. 19/562541 in view of Schwarz et al. as evidenced by Ueck et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 100-117, 119, 122, and 125-130. The presence of a chelating agent is not recited.
Nowak et al. teaches particles for release of cannabinoids (see abstract and 17). The particles may be provided as a tablet for easy administration (see paragraph 17). The particles include tetrahydrocannabinol, cannabidiol or a mixture thereof (see abstract and paragraph 19). The particles also include drug releasing agent(s) at about 15 to 35 wt% , solubilizer(s), surfactant(s) at 15 to 35 wt%, and a core at 20 to 45 wt%, where the cannabinoid is present at 5 to 50 wt% (see paragraphs 18 and 24). Nowak et al. go on to teach mixing the cannabinoid into the surfactant, solubilizer, drug releasing agent, and stabilizing agent then loading (adsorbing) the mixture onto the cores (see paragraph 66). Nowak et al. further teach the presence stabilizing agents, such as ascorbyl palmitate, EDTA, tocopherol (vitamin E), butylated hydroxyanisole, and butylated hydroxytoluene at 0.001 to 5 wt% (see paragraph 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include EDTA as an additional stabilizer for the cannabidiol in the particles of the copending claims in light of Nowak et al. This choice would have been obvious as the application of the same technique to a similar product in order to yield the same improvement. Further “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore claims 100-117, 119, and 122-130 are obvious over claims 1-29 of copending Application No. 19/562541 in view of Schwarz et al. and Nowak et al.as evidenced by Ueck et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 16, 2026 have been fully considered. In light of the amendments to the claims, the previous grounds of rejection are hereby withdrawn and new grounds of rejection are detailed in their place. Arguments concerning unexpected results and the teachings of Schwarz et al. are not persuasive and are addressed below.
The applicant argues that the prior art did not teach or suggest compositions with a low level of alpha-tocopherol-cannabidiol adduct. Currently the identity of the “adduct” at issue is not clear. Even if its identity were clarified, the silence of the prior art in regard to its presence in cannabidiol compositions with alpha tocopherol present at a higher proportion than ascorbyl palmitate as antioxidants is not sufficient, by itself, to overcome the prior art teachings of a composition with these claimed components. According to MPEP 2145II, mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). In addition, the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Schwarz et al. provide alpha tocopherol present at a higher proportion than ascorbyl palmitate in combination with cannabidiol and a claimed lipophilic material. A new characterization of the result of this known combination does not make the combination non-obvious.
The applicant argues that the impact of alpha tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate on cannabidiol impurity formation is synergistic. Again, the inclusion of these two antioxidants in cannabidiol compositions is not new. Thus whatever synergy is attached to their combined presence would also occur in the prior art compositions that already exemplify their combination. The question surrounding obviousness is not whether the combination of alpha tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate is obvious because this combination of antioxidants has already been included repeatedly with cannabidiol, in general, and where the alpha-tocopherol is present at a larger proportion than the ascorbyl palmitate (see Vangara et al.; Shah et al. – previously cited; Schwarz et al.; Diorio US PGPub No. 2019/0015346; and Whittle et al. US PGPub No. 2006/0068034). Instead, the question of obviousness rests on 1) how much the concentrations of these antioxidants impact stability and under which conditions, 2) whether the presence of the carrier and an additional antioxidant impacts the occurrence of impurities, and 3) which combination of concentrations correspond to a non-obvious function (e.g., evidence commensurate in scope with the claims).
The applicant asserts that the composition of Schwarz et al., which is not explicitly detailed on a carrier, would not be suitable for such an application. There is no evidence provided to support this assertion. Further, Schwarz et al. teach their composition as part of a self-emulsifying system and these systems are well known to be adsorbed onto carrier particles. The applicant provides a statement in footnote 7 that only some formulations of cannabidiol can be successfully loaded onto a porous support without problems. This generalized statement is not correlated with the components of Schwarz et al. being among those that pose such issues. To the contrary, the components of Schwarz et al. were already known to be included in compositions that were loaded onto adsorbent carriers, as the rejection highlights.
It is noted that the data in the specification does not appear to be commensurate in scope with an unexpected result. The applicant argues that a synergistic interaction against the formation of undesired impurities occurs between alpha tocopherol present at a higher proportion than ascorbyl palmitate, but the claims do not require that these two antioxidants be the only antioxidants present. In addition, the storage conditions (e.g., temperature, humidity, and duration) can alter the amount of impurities that are measured. The applicant notes the occurrence of an impurity called RRT 3.45 after accelerated stability testing for 7 days and show that at a claimed 2 wt% alpha tocopherol concentration, the instantly claimed maximum of 1 wt% RRT 3.45, based on the cannabidiol amount, was not achieved for any of the tested ascorbyl palmitate concentrations in the claimed range (see table 28B). It appears that the interaction between alpha tocopherol and ascorbyl palmitate is nuanced, where their interaction at the upper end of the claimed concentration range is different than their interaction at the lower end of the claimed concentration ranges. Thus the scope of the compositions that correspond to an unexpected outcome is not clear.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/CARALYNNE E HELM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1615