DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recited (line 3) “…the global histogram…” lacks antecedent basis; the claim is interpreted to instead depend from claim 6 – comprising first recited instance of “…a global histogram…” (line 3) – to resolve the deficiency (emphasis provided). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimbrell et al. (2020/0202798; hereinafter Kimbrell).
Regarding claim 1, Kimbrell discloses an image display method [0003], performed by an electronic device [0005], wherein
the electronic device has a display (Figure 1: Comprising 10); and the method comprises:
determining a first image that is to be displayed (Figure 11: Comprising 140);
determining a highlight area of the first image (Comprising 142, 146, 148) and backlight brightness information of the display based on image content of the first image or a histogram of the first image [0050], wherein
the highlight area is an area that is of the first image and whose brightness value is greater than a first threshold (Figure 12: Comprising those among zones 33 corresponding to at least one of groups 1 and 2, respectively comprising brightness above at least one of first and second predetermined thresholds [0058], [0060] of high and very high values [0056]);
reducing brightness (Figure 11: Comprising 154) of a non-highlight area of the first image (Figure 12: Comprising those among 33 corresponding to group 3 below a third threshold [0061] of very low value [0056]) and
keeping brightness of the highlight area unchanged (Comprising 144), to create a second image, wherein
the non-highlight area (Figure 12: Comprising group 3) is an area of the first image other than the highlight area (Comprising at least one of groups 1, 2);
adjusting backlight brightness of the display based on the backlight brightness information (Data output to the LED backlight [0032] comprising adjusted brightness [0009]); and
displaying the second image on the display (Data output to liquid crystals [0032] comprising pixels’ adjusted luminance [0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1. Kimbrell discloses the method wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the image content of the first image comprises: determining, based on the image content of the first image, whether the first image comprises a preset object ([0061]: Object and/or its glow); and if the first image comprises the preset object, determining that an area in which the preset object is located on the first image is the highlight area ([0060]: Area of interest expanded to comprise full bright area).
Regarding claim 19, Kimbrell discloses an electronic device [0005], comprising:
a processor, a memory, and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory, the one or more programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the processor [0034], the electronic device is enabled to perform:
determine a to-be-displayed first image (Figure 11: Comprising 140);
determine a highlight area of the first image (Comprising 142, 146, 148) and backlight brightness information of the display based on image content of the first image or a histogram of the first image [0050], wherein
the highlight area is an area that is of the first image and whose brightness value is greater than a first threshold (Figure 12: Comprising those among zones 33 corresponding to at least one of groups 1 and 2, respectively comprising brightness above at least one of first and second predetermined thresholds [0058], [0060] of high and very high values [0056]);
reduce brightness (Figure 11: Comprising 154) of a non-highlight area of the first image (Figure 12: Comprising those among 33 corresponding to group 3 below a third threshold [0061] of very low value [0056]) and keeping brightness of the highlight area unchanged (Comprising 144), to obtain a second image, wherein the non-highlight area (Figure 12: Comprising group 3) is an area of the first image other than the highlight area (Comprising at least one of groups 1, 2);
adjust backlight brightness of the display based on the backlight brightness information (Data output to the LED backlight [0032] comprising adjusted brightness [0009]); and
display the second image on the display (Data output to liquid crystals [0032] comprising pixels’ adjusted luminance [0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Claims 3, 4, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Cao et al. (2021/0248755; hereinafter Cao; cited in Applicant’s 19 March 2026 IDS).
Regarding claim 3, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1. Kimbrell discloses the method wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the image content of the first image comprises: running a first algorithm model by using the first image as an input parameter, to obtain a highlight map of the first image (Program executed [0034] pending incoming frame data [0057] to associate display zones with one of three groups [0061]).
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method wherein the first algorithm model is configured to: when recognizing that the first image comprises a preset object, adjust a pixel value of a pixel in an area in which the preset object is located on the first image to a first pixel value, and adjust a pixel value of a pixel in another area to a second pixel value, to obtain the highlight map, wherein the first pixel value is less than the second pixel value; and determining the highlight area of the first image based on the highlight map.
In the same field of endeavor, Cao discloses an image display [0002] wherein the first algorithm model is configured to: when recognizing that the first image comprises a preset object, adjust a pixel value of a pixel in an area in which the preset object is located on the first image to a first pixel value, and adjust a pixel value of a pixel in another area to a second pixel value, to obtain the highlight map, wherein the first pixel value is less than the second pixel value; and determining the highlight area of the first image based on the highlight map (Foreground object pixels set to first grayscale value, non-foreground object pixels set to second grayscale value range [0143] wherein first grayscale value is less than the second grayscale value range [0073]). This is among measures implemented by which pixels associated with an object boundary [0082] may be relied upon to more clearly identify object attributes [0100].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein the first algorithm model is configured to: when recognizing that the first image comprises a preset object, adjust a pixel value of a pixel in an area in which the preset object is located on the first image to a first pixel value, and adjust a pixel value of a pixel in another area to a second pixel value, to obtain the highlight map, wherein the first pixel value is less than the second pixel value; and determining the highlight area of the first image based on the highlight map, in view of the teaching of Cao, to more clearly identify object attributes.
Regarding claim 4, Kimbrell in view of Cao discloses the method according to claim 3.
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the highlight map comprises: determining a first pixel whose pixel value is the first pixel value in the highlight map; determining a second pixel in the first image based on the first pixel, wherein a location of the second pixel in the first image is the same as a location of the first pixel in the highlight map; and determining an area in which the second pixel is located as the highlight area.
In the same field of endeavor, Cao discloses an image display [0002] wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the highlight map comprises: determining a first pixel whose pixel value is the first pixel value in the highlight map ([0143]: Foreground object pixel set to first grayscale value/range); determining a second pixel in the first image based on the first pixel, wherein a location of the second pixel in the first image is the same as a location of the first pixel in the highlight map; and determining an area in which the second pixel is located as the highlight area (Foreground object outline in input image defined by position of pixels [0080] similarly defining boundary of mask image [0082]). This is among measures implemented by which pixels associated with an object boundary [0082] may be relied upon to more clearly identify object attributes [0100].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the highlight map comprises: determining a first pixel whose pixel value is the first pixel value in the highlight map; determining a second pixel in the first image based on the first pixel, wherein a location of the second pixel in the first image is the same as a location of the first pixel in the highlight map; and determining an area in which the second pixel is located as the highlight area, in view of the teaching of Cao, to more clearly identify object attributes.
Regarding claim 17, Kimbrell in view of Cao discloses the method according to claim 3. Kimbrell discloses the method wherein the method further comprises: storing the highlight map of the first image and the backlight brightness information [0053].
ii. Claims 5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Zhang (2018/0090076; cited in Applicant’s 19 March 2026 IDS).
Regarding claim 5, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1. Kimbrell discloses the method wherein determining the highlight area of the first image comprises: dividing the first image (Figure 12) into N areas (Comprising 33), wherein N is a positive integer (If total display panel pixel resolution is the product of X horizontal pixels and Y vertical pixels 1920x1080 [0029], knowing that each zone into which the panel is divided consists of a 90x90 pixel array [0031], the total number of zones is X/90 * Y/90 = XY/810); determining M areas in the N areas, wherein M is a positive integer less than or equal to N, and each of the M areas satisfies that an average pixel value is greater than a second threshold (Zones’ average pixel luminance [0043] determined to have a value greater than a predetermined threshold [0050]) and/or a quantity of pixels whose pixel values are greater than the second threshold exceeds a preset quantity ([0043]: Average luminance calculated with zone pixel sum); and determining the M areas as the highlight area (Average brightness determining characterization of bright [0050] or varying degrees thereof [0052]).
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the histogram of the first image comprises: determining a local histogram of each of the N areas; determining M areas in the N areas based on the local histogram.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a method backlight and display control [0002] wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the histogram of the first image comprises: determining a local histogram of each of the N areas (Averaging pixels of a partition [0055] forming basis for generated partition histogram [0058]); determining M areas in the N areas based on the local histogram ([0110]: Counting partition among those disposed toward being bright, on the basis of partition histogram). This is among measures implemented to enhance details in a dim scene [0100].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein determining the highlight area of the first image based on the histogram of the first image comprises: determining a local histogram of each of the N areas; determining M areas in the N areas based on the local histogram, in view of the teaching of Zhang, to enhance the details of a dim scene.
Regarding claim 20, Kimbrell discloses an image display method [0003], performed by an electronic device [0005], wherein
the electronic device has a display (Figure 1: Comprising 10); and the method comprises:
determining a to-be-displayed first image (Figure 11: Comprising 140);
determining a highlight area of the first image (Comprising 142, 146, 148) and backlight brightness information of the display based on pixel values of pixels in the first image [0050], wherein
the highlight area is an area that is of the first image and whose brightness value is greater than a first threshold (Figure 12: Comprising those among zones 33 corresponding to at least one of groups 1 and 2, respectively comprising brightness above at least one of first and second predetermined thresholds [0058], [0060] of high and very high values [0056]);
reducing brightness (Figure 11: Comprising 154) of a non-highlight area of the first image (Figure 12: Comprising those among 33 corresponding to group 3 below a third threshold [0061] of very low value [0056]) and keeping brightness of the highlight area unchanged (Comprising 144), to obtain a second image, wherein the non-highlight area (Figure 12: Comprising group 3) is an area of the first image other than the highlight area (Comprising at least one of groups 1, 2);
adjusting backlight brightness of the display based on the backlight brightness information (Data output to the LED backlight [0032] comprising adjusted brightness [0009]); and
displaying the second image on the display (Data output to liquid crystals [0032] comprising pixels’ adjusted luminance [0029]).
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising determining a highlight area of the first image and backlight brightness information of the display based on a histogram of the first image and pixel values of pixels in the first image.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a method of backlight and display control [0002] further comprising determining a highlight area of the first image and backlight brightness information of the display based on a histogram of the first image and pixel values of pixels in the first image (Histograms of pixel grayscale values govern backlight brightness [0058] and form the basis for bright image partition identification [0110]). This is among measures implemented to enhance details in a dim scene [0100].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified as further comprising determining a highlight area of the first image and backlight brightness information of the display based on a histogram of the first image and pixel values of pixels in the first image, in view of the teaching of Zhang, to enhance the details of a dim scene.
iii. Claims 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Zhang, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (2024/0428612; hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Kimbrell in view of Zhang discloses the method according to claim 5.
Kimbrell in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the method wherein before determining the M areas as the highlight area, the method further comprises: determining K areas in the M areas based on a global histogram of the first image, wherein K is a positive integer less than or equal to M, each of the K areas satisfies that a ratio of S1 to S2 is greater than a first ratio, S1 is a quantity of pixels whose pixel values are greater than the second threshold in each area, and S2 is a quantity of all pixels whose pixel values are greater than the second threshold in the first image; and determining the M areas as the highlight area comprises: determining the K areas as the highlight area of the first image, wherein the first image is a high dynamic range image, and a value of the first ratio is a third value; or the first image is a low dynamic range image, a value of the first ratio is a fourth value, and the third value is less than the fourth value.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses video image processing [0002] wherein before determining the M areas as the highlight area, the method further comprises: determining K areas in the M areas based on a global histogram of the first image, wherein K is a positive integer less than or equal to M, each of the K areas satisfies that a ratio of S1 to S2 is greater than a first ratio, S1 is a quantity of pixels whose pixel values are greater than the second threshold in each area, and S2 is a quantity of all pixels whose pixel values are greater than the second threshold in the first image; and determining the M areas as the highlight area comprises: determining the K areas as the highlight area of the first image ([0034], [0038]), wherein the first image is a high dynamic range image, and a value of the first ratio is a third value; or the first image is a low dynamic range image, a value of the first ratio is a fourth value, and the third value is less than the fourth value [0044]. This is among measure implemented to implement facial detection and analysis without over-enhancement [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein before determining the M areas as the highlight area, the method further comprises: determining K areas in the M areas based on a global histogram of the first image, wherein K is a positive integer less than or equal to M, each of the K areas satisfies that a ratio of S1 to S2 is greater than a first ratio, S1 is a quantity of pixels whose pixel values are greater than the second threshold in each area, and S2 is a quantity of all pixels whose pixel values are greater than the second threshold in the first image; and determining the M areas as the highlight area comprises: determining the K areas as the highlight area of the first image, wherein the first image is a high dynamic range image, and a value of the first ratio is a third value; or the first image is a low dynamic range image, a value of the first ratio is a fourth value, and the third value is less than the fourth value, in view of the teaching of Huang, to detect and analyze faces in video content without over-enhancement.
iv. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Zhang, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (2021/0027437; hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 7, Kimbrell in view of Zhang discloses the method according to claim 5.
Kimbrell in view of Zhang does not explicitly disclose the method wherein the first image is a high dynamic range image, and a value of the second threshold is a first value; or the first image is a low dynamic range image, the value of the second threshold is a second value, and the first value is less than the second value.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhou discloses improving upon HDR displays [0002] wherein the first image is a high dynamic range image, and a value of the second threshold is a first value; or the first image is a low dynamic range image, the value of the second threshold is a second value, and the first value is less than the second value ([0042], [0045]). This is among measures implemented to improve content visibility in blended layers [0009].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein the first image is a high dynamic range image, and a value of the second threshold is a first value; or the first image is a low dynamic range image, the value of the second threshold is a second value, and the first value is less than the second value, in view of the teaching of Zhou, to improve content visibility in blended layers.
v. Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Wooster et al. (2020/0135074; hereinafter Wooster).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1.
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method wherein determining the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image comprises: determining, based on the image content of the first image, an environment in which the first image is located; and determining the backlight brightness information based on the environment, wherein the backlight brightness information comprises a backlight brightness multiplier; and when the environment is an outdoor environment or a daytime environment, determining the backlight brightness multiplier as a first multiplier; or when the environment is an indoor environment or a nighttime environment, determining the backlight brightness multiplier as a second multiplier, wherein the first multiplier is greater than the second multiplier.
In the same field of endeavor, Wooster discloses display luminance management [0001] wherein determining the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image comprises: determining, based on the image content of the first image, an environment in which the first image is located; and determining the backlight brightness information based on the environment, wherein the backlight brightness information comprises a backlight brightness multiplier; and when the environment is an outdoor environment or a daytime environment, determining the backlight brightness multiplier as a first multiplier; or when the environment is an indoor environment or a nighttime environment, determining the backlight brightness multiplier as a second multiplier, wherein the first multiplier is greater than the second multiplier [0036]. This is among measures implemented to increase contrast ratio and better image reproduction [0002].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein determining the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image comprises: determining, based on the image content of the first image, an environment in which the first image is located; and determining the backlight brightness information based on the environment, wherein the backlight brightness information comprises a backlight brightness multiplier; and when the environment is an outdoor environment or a daytime environment, determining the backlight brightness multiplier as a first multiplier; or when the environment is an indoor environment or a nighttime environment, determining the backlight brightness multiplier as a second multiplier, wherein the first multiplier is greater than the second multiplier, in view of the teaching of Wooster, to increase contrast ratio and better image reproduction.
vi. Claims 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Tann et al. (2024/0105131; hereinafter Tann).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1.
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method wherein before reducing the brightness of the non-highlight area of the first image, the method further comprises: determining a grayscale change value Δ based on the backlight brightness information; and subtracting the grayscale change value Δ from a grayscale value of each pixel in the non-highlight area, wherein determining the grayscale change value Δ based on the backlight brightness information comprises: determining, based on the backlight brightness information and a correspondence between backlight brightness information and a grayscale change value, the grayscale change value Δ corresponding to the backlight brightness information.
In the same field of endeavor, Tann manages display pixel contrast control [0001] wherein before reducing the brightness of the non-highlight area of the first image, the method further comprises: determining a grayscale change value Δ based on the backlight brightness information; and subtracting the grayscale change value Δ from a grayscale value of each pixel in the non-highlight area, wherein determining the grayscale change value Δ based on the backlight brightness information comprises: determining, based on the backlight brightness information and a correspondence between backlight brightness information and a grayscale change value, the grayscale change value Δ corresponding to the backlight brightness information [0055]. This is among measures implemented to navigate color component efficiency while reducing power consumption [0008].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein before reducing the brightness of the non-highlight area of the first image, the method further comprises: determining a grayscale change value Δ based on the backlight brightness information; and subtracting the grayscale change value Δ from a grayscale value of each pixel in the non-highlight area, wherein determining the grayscale change value Δ based on the backlight brightness information comprises: determining, based on the backlight brightness information and a correspondence between backlight brightness information and a grayscale change value, the grayscale change value Δ corresponding to the backlight brightness information, in view of the teaching of Tann, to balance color component efficiency with power savings.
vii. Claims 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Baar et al. (2018/0350047; hereinafter Baar; cited in Applicant’s 19 March 2026 IDS).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1.
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method wherein before determining the highlight area of the first image and the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image or the histogram of the first image, the method further comprises: determining that the first image is a third-party image, wherein the third-party image is not an image locally shot by the electronic device, wherein determining that the first image is a third-party image comprises: reading a flag bit in a first file, and determining, based on the flag bit, that the first image is a third-party image, wherein the first file is a file formed by storing the first image by the electronic device based on a first image format, and the flag bit indicates that the first image is a third-party image or a locally shot image.
In the same field of endeavor, Barr discloses tone mapping [0001] wherein before determining the highlight area of the first image and the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image or the histogram of the first image, the method further comprises: determining that the first image is a third-party image, wherein the third-party image is not an image locally shot by the electronic device, wherein determining that the first image is a third-party image comprises: reading a flag bit in a first file, and determining, based on the flag bit, that the first image is a third-party image, wherein the first file is a file formed by storing the first image by the electronic device based on a first image format, and the flag bit indicates that the first image is a third-party image or a locally shot image [0017]. This is among measures implemented to preserve artistic intent in viewed content [0002].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein before determining the highlight area of the first image and the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image or the histogram of the first image, the method further comprises: determining that the first image is a third-party image, wherein the third-party image is not an image locally shot by the electronic device, wherein determining that the first image is a third-party image comprises: reading a flag bit in a first file, and determining, based on the flag bit, that the first image is a third-party image, wherein the first file is a file formed by storing the first image by the electronic device based on a first image format, and the flag bit indicates that the first image is a third-party image or a locally shot image, in view of the teaching of Barr, to preserve artistic intent in viewed content.
viii. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimbrell in view of Rao et al. (2021/0375221; hereinafter Rao).
Regarding claim 16, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1.
Kimbrell does not explicitly disclose the method wherein before determining the highlight area of the first image and the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image or the histogram of the first image, the method further comprises: determining, based on the image content of the first image, that the first image is a photographic image, wherein the photographic image is an image that comprises at least one of a landscape, a person, and an animal.
In the same field of endeavor, Rao discloses backlight control [0002] wherein before determining the highlight area of the first image and the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image or the histogram of the first image, the method further comprises: determining, based on the image content of the first image, that the first image is a photographic image, wherein the photographic image is an image that comprises at least one of a landscape, a person, and an animal [0142]. This is among measures implemented to reduce object halos in the display screen [0004].
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention for the method of Kimbrell to be modified wherein before determining the highlight area of the first image and the backlight brightness information of the display based on the image content of the first image or the histogram of the first image, the method further comprises: determining, based on the image content of the first image, that the first image is a photographic image, wherein the photographic image is an image that comprises at least one of a landscape, a person, and an animal, in view of the teaching of Rao, to reduce presence of object halos.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, Kimbrell discloses the method according to claim 1.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the method wherein determining the backlight brightness information of the display based on the histogram of the first image comprises: determining, based on the global histogram of the first image, a second ratio of a quantity of pixels whose pixel values are less than a third threshold in the first image to a total quantity of pixels in the first image, and determining the backlight brightness information based on the second ratio; or determining, based on the global histogram of the first image, a third ratio of a quantity of pixels whose pixel values are greater than a fourth threshold in the first image to the total quantity of pixels in the first image, and determining the backlight brightness information based on the third ratio.
Thus, claim 11 is objected to.
Regarding claim 18, Kimbrell in view of Cao discloses the method according to claim 17.
The cited prior art fails to singularly or collectively disclose the method wherein the method further comprises: canceling display of the second image on the display in response to a first operation; reading the highlight map and the backlight brightness information when receiving an operation used to open the first image again; determining the highlight area of the first image based on the highlight map; reducing the brightness of the non-highlight area of the first image and keeping the brightness of the highlight area unchanged, to obtain a third image, wherein the non-highlight area is the area of the first image other than the highlight area; adjusting the backlight brightness of the display based on the backlight brightness information; and displaying the third image on the display.
Thus, claim 18 is objected to.
Conclusion
/AARON MIDKIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621