2. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo et al. (US Patent 9,823,631), herein after referred to as Loo, in view of Wang et al. (US patent Application Publication 2011/0292009), herein after referred to as Wang.
Regarding independent claim 1, Loo discloses a method (abstract, figure 1 (hardware), and figure 10 (method)), comprising:
at a computer system (10) that is in communication with a movement component (218) (column 3 lines 23-48 (herein after written C3 L23-48) computer 10 includes a motor 219 connected to hinge 218 to automatically open, close, and/or adjust the position of the lid 12 without contact from the user.) and one or more input devices (Figures 5A-6B C6 L10 – C7 L52 describes computer 10 connected with camera 235, Figures 2 and C4 L33-43 describes computer connected with a sensor (herein after referred to as proximity sensor) to detect when a user 301 enters threshold distance 215, figure 4 and C5 L23-38 a computer 10 to include touch sensitive surface 231.):
detecting, via the one or more input devices (231, 235, and/or proximity sensor), a first event (Event: Figure 10 805 C12 L4-14 detect a user is within a threshold distance depicted in figure 3 215 C4 L33-43 to be detected by a sensor. Event: Figure 10 810 C12 L15-25 detect contact with touch-sensitive surface depicted in figure 4 C5 L23-63 to be detected by a touch-sensitive surface 231. Both 805 and 810 may be used to open lid 820 or unlocking the computer.);
in response to detecting the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer):
in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a portion (eyes 304) of a user is not within a first predefined angular range (239) from the computer system (10) (Figure 6A C7 L1-38 describes middle portion 239 to be the viewing angle for optimum view of screen 16 and when the user’s eyes 304 are not within the predefined angular range 239 the computer 10 calculates a necessary change in the angular position of the lid so that the eyes 304 are placed within the range 239.), moving, via the movement component (218), a portion (12) of the computer system (10) (C3 L23-48); and
in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the portion (304) of the user is within the first predefined angular range from the computer system (10), forgoing moving, via the movement component (218), the portion (12) of the computer system (10) (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (forgoing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.);
while moving, via the movement component, the portion of the computer system, detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied; and
in response to detecting the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied while moving the portion of the computer system, ceasing moving, via the movement component, the portion of the computer system (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (ceasing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.).
Loo does not specifically describe the first predefined angular range to be a first predefined distance.
Wang discloses automatically ([0032]) adjusting a hinged (30) lid (11) computer system (100) in accordance with a predefined distance ([0020] and [0023]-[0025] to adjust the cover/lid 11 angle in accordance with the distance between the screen 13 and the face of the user modifying the viewing angle such that the face of the user is maintained at the predetermined distance to the screen which is suitable for the user looking at the display 10.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Loo’s first predefined angular range with the known technique of replacing or additionally including a first predefined distance yielding the predictable results of maintain the screen at a distance suitable for the user looking the display as disclosed by Wang ([0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
in accordance with a determination that the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer) is a first type of event (user standing from seated position), moving the portion (12) of the computer system (10) includes repositioning, via the movement component (218), the portion (12) of the computer system (10) in a first manner (up); and
in accordance with a determination that the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer) is a second type of event different from the first type of event (user sitting from standing position), moving the portion (12) of the computer system (10) includes repositioning, via the movement component (218), the portion (12) of the computer system (10) in a second manner (down) different from the first manner (C6 L28-42 a user sitting and then standing requires adjustment so the lid moves toward the open position (first manner) and conversely if the user is standing and then sits requires adjustment to the lid toward the close position (second manner different from the first manner).).
Regarding claim 3, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer) corresponds to movement of the user (Figure 10 805 and figure 3 C5 L 6-22 describes a user approaching/moving into threshold distance 215 and Figure 10 810 and figure 4 C5 L23-38 describes a user moving to touch the surface 231.).
Regarding claim 4, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer) corresponds to an action that is performed by the user (Figure 10 805 and figure 3 C5 L 6-22 describes a user approaching/moving into threshold distance 215 and Figure 10 810 and figure 4 C5 L23-38 describes a user moving to touch the surface 231.).
Regarding claim 5, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user is a person (Figure 10 805 and figure 3 C5 L 6-22 describes a user approaching/moving into threshold distance 215 and Figure 10 810 and figure 4 C5 L23-38 describes a user moving to touch the surface 231. Figures 3-6B each depict the user as a person.).
Regarding claim 6, Loo and Wang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while moving, via the movement component (Loo: 218), the portion of the computer system (Loo: 10) and in accordance with a determination that the user is within a second predefined distance (not disclosed to be different, smaller, or larger than first predefined distance and therefore interpreted to be the same as the first) (Wang: ([0020] and [0023]-[0025] maintain predefined distance) from the computer system (Loo: 10) and that the user is moving towards the computer system (Loo: 10), ceasing moving, via the movement component (Loo: 218), the portion (Loo: 12) of the computer system (Loo: 10) (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (ceasing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.).
Regarding claim 10, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first event corresponds to a first type (figure 6a) of user, and wherein moving the portion of the computer system includes repositioning the portion of the computer system closer to the first type of user (Figure 6A C7 L1-28 a user with eyes 304 not in the ideal range 239 is adjusted), the method further comprising:
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second event (figure 6B) that corresponds to a second type (user with eyes 304 in ideal range 239) of user; and
in response to detecting that second event that corresponds to the second type of user and in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, forgoing moving, via the movement component, the portion of the computer system (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (forgoing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.).
Regarding claim 11, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein moving, via the movement component (218), a portion (12) of the computer system (10) includes tilting (Figures 6A-6B depict tilt) the portion (12) of the computer system (10) in response to detecting that the portion (12) of the user is moving toward the computer system (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face).
Regarding independent claim 12, Loo discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors (C4 L13-17) of a computer system (10) that is in communication (column 3 lines 23-48 (herein after written C3 L23-48) computer 10 includes a motor 219 connected to hinge 218 to automatically open, close, and/or adjust the position of the lid 12 without contact from the user.) with a movement component (218) and one or more input devices (Figures 5A-6B C6 L10 – C7 L52 describes computer 10 connected with camera 235, Figures 2 and C4 L33-43 describes computer connected with a sensor (herein after referred to as proximity sensor) to detect when a user 301 enters threshold distance 215, figure 4 and C5 L23-38 a computer 10 to include touch sensitive surface 231.), the one or more programs including instructions for:
detecting, via the one or more input devices (231, 235, and/or proximity sensor), a first event (Event: Figure 10 805 C12 L4-14 detect a user is within a threshold distance depicted in figure 3 215 C4 L33-43 to be detected by a sensor. Event: Figure 10 810 C12 L15-25 detect contact with touch-sensitive surface depicted in figure 4 C5 L23-63 to be detected by a touch-sensitive surface 231. Both 805 and 810 may be used to open lid 820 or unlocking the computer.);
in response to detecting the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer):
in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a portion (eyes 304) of a user is not within a first predefined angular range (239) from the computer system (10) (Figure 6A C7 L1-38 describes middle portion 239 to be the viewing angle for optimum view of screen 16 and when the user’s eyes 304 are not within the predefined angular range 239 the computer 10 calculates a necessary change in the angular position of the lid so that the eyes 304 are placed within the range 239.), moving, via the movement component (218), a portion (12) of the computer system (10) (C3 L23-48); and
in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the portion (304) of the user is within the first predefined angular range from the computer system (10), forgoing moving, via the movement component (218), the portion (12) of the computer system (10) (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (forgoing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.);
while moving, via the movement component, the portion of the computer system, detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied; and
in response to detecting the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied while moving the portion of the computer system, ceasing moving, via the movement component, the portion of the computer system (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (ceasing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.).
Loo does not specifically describe the first predefined angular range to be a first predefined distance.
Wang discloses automatically ([0032]) adjusting a hinged (30) lid (11) computer system (100) in accordance with a predefined distance ([0020] and [0023]-[0025] to adjust the cover/lid 11 angle in accordance with the distance between the screen 13 and the face of the user modifying the viewing angle such that the face of the user is maintained at the predetermined distance to the screen which is suitable for the user looking at the display 10.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Loo’s first predefined angular range with the known technique of replacing or additionally including a first predefined distance yielding the predictable results of maintain the screen at a distance suitable for the user looking the display as disclosed by Wang ([0025]).
Regarding independent claim 13, Loo discloses a computer system (10) that is in communication (column 3 lines 23-48 (herein after written C3 L23-48) computer 10 includes a motor 219 connected to hinge 218 to automatically open, close, and/or adjust the position of the lid 12 without contact from the user.) with a movement component (218) and one or more input devices (Figures 5A-6B C6 L10 – C7 L52 describes computer 10 connected with camera 235, Figures 2 and C4 L33-43 describes computer connected with a sensor (herein after referred to as proximity sensor) to detect when a user 301 enters threshold distance 215, figure 4 and C5 L23-38 a computer 10 to include touch sensitive surface 231.), comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (C4 L13-17), the one or more programs including instructions for:
detecting, via the one or more input devices (231, 235, and/or proximity sensor), a first event (Event: Figure 10 805 C12 L4-14 detect a user is within a threshold distance depicted in figure 3 215 C4 L33-43 to be detected by a sensor. Event: Figure 10 810 C12 L15-25 detect contact with touch-sensitive surface depicted in figure 4 C5 L23-63 to be detected by a touch-sensitive surface 231. Both 805 and 810 may be used to open lid 820 or unlocking the computer.);
in response to detecting the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer):
in accordance with a determination that a first set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the first set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when a portion (eyes 304) of a user is not within a first predefined angular range (239) from the computer system (10) (Figure 6A C7 L1-38 describes middle portion 239 to be the viewing angle for optimum view of screen 16 and when the user’s eyes 304 are not within the predefined angular range 239 the computer 10 calculates a necessary change in the angular position of the lid so that the eyes 304 are placed within the range 239.), moving, via the movement component (218), a portion (12) of the computer system (10) (C3 L23-48); and
in accordance with a determination that a second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, wherein the second set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the portion (304) of the user is within the first predefined angular range from the computer system (10), forgoing moving, via the movement component (218), the portion (12) of the computer system (10) (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (forgoing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.);
while moving, via the movement component, the portion of the computer system, detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied; and
in response to detecting the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied while moving the portion of the computer system, ceasing moving, via the movement component, the portion of the computer system (C6 L28-42 describes to continuously adjust the position of the lid in order to maintain that centering on the user’s face, inherently describing if the user’s face (eyes 304 as described above in regards to figures 6A-6B) is in the middle portion 239 no adjustment is needed (ceasing moving). Without this inherent understanding, the lid 12 would continue to move until the predefined range 239 is no longer centered on the user’s eyes 304 and no longer performing what is specifically described by the art.).
Loo does not specifically describe the first predefined angular range to be a first predefined distance.
Wang discloses automatically ([0032]) adjusting a hinged (30) lid (11) computer system (100) in accordance with a predefined distance ([0020] and [0023]-[0025] to adjust the cover/lid 11 angle in accordance with the distance between the screen 13 and the face of the user modifying the viewing angle such that the face of the user is maintained at the predetermined distance to the screen which is suitable for the user looking at the display 10.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Loo’s first predefined angular range with the known technique of replacing or additionally including a first predefined distance yielding the predictable results of maintain the screen at a distance suitable for the user looking the display as disclosed by Wang ([0025]).
4. Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo-Wang in view of Hsieh (US patent Application Publication 2012/0013806).
Regarding claim 7, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computer system (10) is in communication with a first display component (16), the method further comprising: [ ].
Loo does not specifically disclose in response to detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, displaying, via the first display component, an indication a textual indication.
Hsieh discloses in response to detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, displaying, via the first display component, an indication a textual indication (Figures 2-3 and [0009]-[0017] to reducing the zoom of displayed content (that includes text as shown in figure 3), depending on the distance.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Loo-Wang’s response to detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied with the known technique of displaying an indication a textual indication yielding the predictable results allowing user’s to view content on the display at further distances as disclosed by Hsieh (figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computer system (10) is in communication with a second display component (16) (please note this claim is not dependent upon claim 7 therefore claim 8 requires only a singular display component), the method further comprising:
before detecting the first event (805 and/or 810 to open the lid or unlock computer), displaying, via the second display component (16), a first set of one or more user interface elements at a first size (C4 L18-32 when the first event is to unlock the computer the command to do so including clicking a button implemented in software (displayed). The button is inherently of a first size in which to perform the function of being virtually displayed.); and [ ].
Loo does not specifically disclose in response to detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, increasing the size of the first set of one or more user interface elements from the first size to a second size different from the first size.
Hsieh discloses in response to detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, increasing the size of the first set of one or more user interface elements from the first size to a second size different from the first size (Figures 2-3 when the user is further away from the display the size of the displayed objects are larger.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Loo-Wang’s displayed user interface elements at a first size with the known technique of in response to detecting that the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, increasing the size of the first set of one or more user interface elements from the first size to a second size different from the first size yielding the predictable results allowing user’s to view content on the display at further distances as disclosed by Hsieh (figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Loo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computer system displays a second set of one or more user interface elements while the portion of computer system is moved (Figure 7B and C7 L64 to C9 L7 describes a computer system 110 similar to 10 but with a touchscreen 116 that allows the user to interact with the screen to control various functions, describing a displayed user interface on the touchscreen 116. The touchscreen 116 is described to be adjusted in position automatically depending on use position.), the method further comprising:
while moving the portion of the computer system and in accordance with a determination that the user is within a third predefined distance (215) from the computer system, display of the second set of one or more user interface elements (Figure 7B and C7 L64 to C9 L7 describes to display the user interface regards of adjusted position.).
Loo does not specifically disclose a determination that the user is within a third predefined distance from the computer system, increasing the size of the second set of one or more user interface elements.
Hsieh discloses a determination that the user is within a third predefined distance from the computer system, increasing the size of the second set of one or more user interface elements (Figures 2-3 when the user is further away (third predefined distance farther than a closer second predefined distance from the display the size of the displayed objects are larger.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Loo-Wang’s displayed user interface elements while moving with the known technique of a determination that the user is within a third predefined distance from the computer system, increasing the size of the second set of one or more user interface elements yielding the predictable results allowing user’s to view content on the display at further distances as disclosed by Hsieh (figure 3).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621