DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant alleges that Resig does not disclose “contextual interactive content generated based on real-time content analysis.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Resig discloses (¶0013, ¶0018) that the venue specific QR code is embedded into content stream where embedding the content include adding the QR code to a frame; (¶0017, ¶0034) the QR code is generated and displayed at the appropriate time during advertisement between other content segments. Based on this teaching, it is obvious that the content is continuously monitored to generate QR code at the appropriate time during advertisement. Therefore it moots Applicant argument.
Furthermore, Applicant asserts that Gresham does not disclose “monitor content streams using computer vision analysis to detect content segmentation and optimal intervention opportunities” since the two mechanisms disclosed in Gresham are area preset time and a human operator and neither is computer vision analysis and detects content segments. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gresham discloses (¶0138) that during the event at the venue, the system monitors/expects regular breaks/timeouts/intermissions which will require different media to be presented during the streaming; (¶0189) the interactive events are active during the break or timeout with an operator terminating the interactive event at the end of the break/timeout. Also, Resig discloses (¶0017, ¶0034) that the QR code is generated and displayed at the appropriate time during advertisement between other content segments. Furthermore, the Examiner would like to point out that the limitation requires to monitor content streams using computer vision analysis and does not define what computer vision analysis is. Based on the BRI, a human operator viewing the content on the computer screen to terminate the interactive event can be interpreted as computer vision analysis. The rejection is maintained.
Furthermore, Applicant alleges that Gresham does not disclose “a central controller positioned between a content source and a plurality of venue display endpoints.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gresham discloses (¶0088) that the venue control server receives content from the inputs such as video cameras and provides the content to the media outputs as represented in Fig. 4 (elements 412, 402, 410). Therefore, it moots Applicant’s arguments.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Gresham was used to teach the system that manages interactive events at a venue, and Resig was used to teach how the system displays QR code at the venue where the viewer interacts by scanning the QR code. Together, they render obviousness of the claim.
Furthermore, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
With regard to the dependent claims, the respective rejections are maintained as Applicant has only argued that the combination of Gresham and Resig does not cure the deficiencies, nevertheless it is the Examiner's contention that combination of Gresham and Resig does not contain any deficiencies.
The rejections relied on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection.
See the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub 2017/0024094 to Gresham (“Gresham”) in view of US PG Pub 2025/0274628 to Resig (“Resig”).
Regarding claim 1, “A system for enabling interactive sessions in a venue through content orchestration” reads on the system/method for managing interactive communication for events at a venue (abstract) disclosed by Gresham and represented in Fig. 1.
As to “the system comprising: a central controller positioned between a content source and a plurality of venue display endpoints, the central controller comprising one or more processors, a memory, and a plurality of programming instructions stored in the memory, the plurality of programming instructions when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to:” Gresham discloses (¶0086, ¶0088) that the system comprises a venue control server associated with the media server and the venue media outputs as represented in Fig. 4; (¶0071, ¶0079) network computer such as venue control server comprises processor, memory that stores computer readable instructions executed by the processor as represented in Fig. 3.
As to “monitor content streams using computer vision analysis to detect content segmentation and optimal intervention opportunities” Gresham discloses (¶0138) that during the event at the venue, the system monitors/expects regular breaks/timeouts/intermissions which will require different media to be presented during the streaming; (¶0189) the interactive events are active during the break or timeout with a defined timer.
As to “responsive to detection of an optimal interactive moment in the content streams, generate and transmit, contextual interactive content generated based on real-time content analysis, wherein the contextual interactive content comprises questions, challenges, or competitive elements dynamically created from currently displayed programming” Gresham discloses (¶0024) that the interactive event refers to an in venue activity that encourages audience engagement by enabling audience members to interact with the event using their audience devices; the interactive events includes games, polls, voting, etc.; (¶0177) the venue control server initiates an interactive event; the venue control server communicates one or more control messages to audience devices that indicate that an interactive event, such as, as contest, poll, voting, or the like, is about to start, where the interactive event will involve participating audience members using their audience devices to capture media and provide it to the venue control server.
As to “display, on venue display endpoints, interactive participation invitations,…that enable user access to interactive sessions” Gresham discloses (¶0022) that the venue display devices display various content to venue audiences; (¶0179) a control message indicates that a particular in-venue contest is about to start, the client venue application displays instructions on the venue media outputs that explain the rules/purpose of the interactive event and the type of media and desired content that should be captured; (¶0201) one or more of the audience devices receives notification message inviting them to participate in an interactive event; (¶0153) a venue control server provides control message to audience devices to initiate a media capture session.
As to “receive, via a mobile integrator, user interaction requests…via user devices of venue patrons” Gresham discloses (¶0127) that the audience devices exchange handshake messages with a venue control server where the provided handshake information is used to validate that the audience device is eligible to participate in interactive events at the venue.
As to “determine, using location services, whether the user devices are physically present within the venue before permitting participation in interactive sessions” Gresham discloses (¶0127) that an audience device exchanges one or more handshake messages with a venue control server where the geolocation information of the audience device is used to confirm the audience device is at the venue.
As to “responsive to determining that the user devices are present within venue, coordinate synchronized dual-screen interactive sessions, wherein the venue display endpoints present interactive content and the user devices of authenticated patrons serve as response input interfaces” Gresham discloses (¶0127) that the audience device’s geolocation information is used to confirm the audience device is at the venue; (¶0194) the server side and the client side are arranged to work together to conduct the interactive event, where (¶0196, ¶0024) the users use their audience devices to vote for one or more media stream that are displayed in the venue and the users provide answers to poll questions, answers to trivia questions, or the like.
Gresham meets all the limitations of the claim except “contextual interactive content generated based on real-time content analysis; wherein the invitations include scannable codes that enable user access to interactive sessions, receive user interaction requests through scanning of the scannable codes.” However, Resig discloses (¶0010) that the streaming system enables user to dynamically share selected content at a public venue in near real-time; (¶0011) the content stream includes breaks for advertising, displaying details about the venue in which streaming device is located; (¶0013) the user device at the venue scans the QR code generated on the streaming device at the venue to interact with the actionable content as represented in Fig. 2; (¶0013, ¶0018) the venue specific QR code is embedded into content stream where embedding the content include adding the QR code to a frame; (¶0017, ¶0034) the QR code is generated and displayed at the appropriate time during advertisement between other content segments. Based on this teaching, it is obvious that the content is continuously monitored to generate QR code at the appropriate time during advertisement. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gresham’s system by providing scannable code to enable user access to interactive content in real-time as taught by Resig in order so the venue-specific QR code automatically directs the dynamic UGC module to select the venue at which the QR code was displayed as the location to display the user's generated content (Resig - ¶0013).
Regarding claim 2, “The system of claim 1, wherein to coordinate synchronized dual-screen interactive sessions, the plurality of programming instructions when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to: present, using a real time sync, identical interactive content simultaneously to venue display endpoints; coordinate authenticated user devices to transition from authentication interfaces to individual response interfaces for personal input; and maintain synchronization timing between venue display content presentation and user device response collection across the authenticated user devices” Gresham discloses (¶0194) that the server side and the client side are arranged to work together to conduct the interactive event, where (¶0196, ¶0024) the users use their audience devices to vote for one or more media stream that are displayed in the venue and the users provide answers to poll questions, answers to trivia questions, or the like.
Regarding claim 3, The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of programming instructions when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to: process simultaneous responses from the user devices to generate real-time competitive scoring and dynamic leaderboard updates; determine competition results through the scoring calculations and patron ranking across authenticated user devices; and coordinate seamless transitions back to content streams while storing engagement analytics for venue optimization” Gresham discloses (¶0034, ¶0174-¶0176) that the score values that are associated with the users are generated and modified based on the participation of users in the interactive events; (¶0107, ¶0134) venue control server arranged to collect and process media information from audience devices that are at the venue where the media information is collected from the audience devices and compiled in into venue playlists; venue control server is arranged to generate one or more venue playlists that is sorted/ordered based on the media information that is provided by the audience members from their audience devices.
Regarding claim 4, “The system of claim 3, wherein to coordinate synchronized dual-screen interactive sessions, the plurality of programming instructions when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to: responsive to the generation of the scoring calculations and patron ranking across authenticated user devices, automatically distribute, via a point-of-sale (POS) integrator, rewards based on scoring and patron ranking integration” Gresham discloses (¶0165) that the user history is reflected in a user points system that indicates a level of engagement of a user of an audience device; each time a user provides media to the venue control server, the user may receive “points” for participating; the more points a user has the more favorably their provided media may be evaluated; the pending interactive activity is arranged to generate “points” for a user the more times the user interacts with the interactive events presented by the venue control system; (¶0167) the client venue application may be integrated with the venue point-of-sale system to enable points to be accumulated.
Regarding claim 6, “The system of claim 1, wherein to coordinate the dual-screen interactive sessions, the plurality of programming instructions when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to: coordinate synchronized interactive sessions by transitioning venue display endpoints to present questions; and establish real-time bidirectional communication with the authenticated user devices” Gresham discloses (¶0024) that the interactive events may be displayed on venue displays and enable interaction from the audience by way of one or more applications executing on their audience devices; (¶0194) the server side and the client side are arranged to work together to conduct the interactive event, where (¶0196, ¶0024) the users use their audience devices to vote for one or more media stream that are displayed in the venue and the users provide answers to poll questions, answers to trivia questions, or the like.
Regarding claim 7, “The system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to operate in public venue environments comprising sports bars, restaurants, hotels, and entertainment establishments, and wherein the central controller device coordinates multiple venue display endpoints and multiple user devices simultaneously to create venue-wide interactive experiences” Gresham discloses (¶0021) that the “venue” refers to facilities/locations, such as, sports arenas, race tracks, horse race tracks, auditoriums, theaters, ice rinks, gyms, stadiums, swimming pools, swimming complexes, tennis courts, baseball parks, concert halls, music halls, or the like. Venues are places where people can participate and/or observe sporting competitions, music performances, meeting, speeches, conventions, exhibitions, and so on; (¶0024) “interactive event” refers to an in venue activity that encourages audience engagement by enabling audience members to interact with the event using their audience devices; (¶0101, ¶0105, ¶0107) the venue control server controls large video displays at the venue and is arranged to collect and process media information from audience devices that are at the venue.
Regarding claim 8, see rejection similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, see rejection similar to claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, see rejection similar to claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, see rejection similar to claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, see rejection similar to claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection similar to claim 7.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gresham in view of Resig as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of US PG Pub 2020/0014683 to Russell (“Russell”).
Regarding claim 5, The system of claim 1, wherein to determine whether the user devices are physically present within the venue, the plurality of programming instructions when executed by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to: implement GPS-based verification systems that authenticate user device presence within venue premises; and utilize network-based positioning to confirm physical presence” Gresham discloses (¶0122) that the geolocation information such as latitude and longitude coordinates is collected by a hardware GPS sensor and subsequently employed in the identification/determination of the audience devices; (¶0127) the geolocation information of the audience device is provided to the venue control server where the geolocation information is used to confirm the audience device is at the venue.
Combination of Gresham and Resig meets all the limitations of the claim except “wherein the authentication prevents remote participation by users outside venue boundaries.” However, Russell discloses (¶0004, ¶0011, ¶0039) that the gaming authentication server at a physical establishment/venue permits participating devices at the venue to communicate with the gaming authentication server, and when the device is outside of the regulated property/geo-fence, then the device's connectivity for participation will cease. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Gresham and Resig’s systems by preventing participation by users outside venue boundaries as taught by Russell in order to allow participation to only those devices presented at the venue to have access to interactive content (Russell - ¶0018).
Regarding claim 12, see rejection similar to claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PINKAL R CHOKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425