DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final action in response to the communication filed on 01/21/2026.
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-9 are rejected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 01/21/2026 was filed. The submission is compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 16 reads, “in response to determination,” when it should grammatically read, “ in response to the determination.” Additionally, a colon is missing in Line 8 after the word “comprising.” Claims 2-6 are objected to based upon their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim 2, Line 28 reads, “in response to determination,” when it should grammatically read, “ in response to the determination.” Claims 3-5 are objected to due to their dependency on Claim 2.
Claim 3, Line 6 reads, “in response to determination,” when it should grammatically read, “ in response to the determination.” Claims 4-5 are objected to due to their dependency on Claim 3.
Claim 4, Line 19 reads, “in response to determination,” when it should grammatically read, “ in response to the determination.” Claim-5 is objected to due to its dependency on Claim 4.
Claim 8, Line 8 reads, “in response to determination,” when it should grammatically read, “ in response to the determination.”
Claim 9, Line 24 reads, “in response to determination,” when it should grammatically read, “ in response to the determination.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “A control apparatus configured to” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " the multiple waypoints" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim,” as the multiple waypoints were introduced in dependent claim 2, which is part of a separate claim tree.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test for product and processes, (See MPEP 2106) the claims are directed to the abstract idea of a mental process of evaluating the location of a vehicle by determining whether a vehicle has reached a waypoint.
Claim 1 Discloses:
“A control apparatus configured to operate a control target included in a vehicle that travels along a scheduled travel route and to automatically control, based on an operation of the control target, a predetermined physical quantity so as to bring the predetermined physical quantity closer to a control target value, thus adjusting energy consumption of the vehicle, the control apparatus comprising a storage configured to store, in advance, at least one waypoint located on the scheduled travel route and a waypoint-corresponding target value associated with the at least one waypoint; and control circuitry configured to cause the control apparatus to: determine whether the vehicle has reached the at least one waypoint; and determine the waypoint-corresponding target value as the control target value in response to determination that the vehicle has reached the at least one waypoint.”
Regarding Step 2A – Prong One of the subject matter eligibility test for product and processes, determining whether a vehicle has reaches a waypoint, can be done mentally if no explicit control step is being done on the vehicle, such as actuating a throttle body to raise the vehicle’s speed.
Note: MPEP 2111.03 reads, “the transitional phrases "comprising", "consisting essentially of" and "consisting of" define the scope of a claim with respect to what unrecited additional components or steps, if any, are excluded from the scope of the claim. The determination of what is or is not excluded by a transitional phrase must be made on a case-by-case basis in light of the facts of each case.” Due to the potential vehicle control steps, such as bringing the predetermined physical quantity closer to a control target value, being located in the preamble, the limitations present in Claim 1 - Lines 3-8 are given no patentable weight by the Examiner as they narrow the inventive concept but do not explicitly define what the invention comprises.
Regarding Step 2A – Prong Two of the subject matter eligibility test for product and processes,
this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because merely implementing the control apparatus as a storage device to contain applicable waypoints and route information is considered to be the equivalent of, (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I.)), “merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2).”
Regarding Step 2B The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim does not recite additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, the only remaining limitation of determining the way-point-corresponding target value as the control target value in response to the determining that the vehicle has reach the at least one waypoint is considered, (2106.04(d)(I.)) “Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g),” or mere data gathering.
The subject matter of dependent Claims 2-7 do not provide an explicit vehicle control step and merely add specificity to the insignificant extra solution activity. These limitations do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are therefore the claims are additionally rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jesudason et al. (US 2017/0248426 A, hereinafter Jesudason)
Claim 1 Discloses:
“A control apparatus configured to operate a control target included in a vehicle that travels along a scheduled travel route”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0068]) “When an autonomous navigation vehicle is traversing a navigation route, the calibration controller 124 may use the calibration map to determine if a calibration operation should be performed at a calibration-map location. The calibration controller 124 may use a combination of the corresponding calibration index value(s) and other operational parameter values, for example, the elapsed time since a most recent calibration, a temporal history of previous calibration measurements and other operational parameter values,” wherein, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 12-14) “Exemplary relationships may be a distance relationship, a spatial relationship, an expected traversal-time relationship and other spatial and/or temporal relationships.”
“and to automatically control, based on an operation of the control target, a predetermined physical quantity so as to bring the predetermined physical quantity closer to a control target value,”
Jesudason teaches, (Abstract) “Aspects of the present invention relate to systems and methods for calibrating an autonomous navigation system. According to a first aspect of the present invention, calibration of the autonomous navigation system may be controlled by a calibration map,” wherein, (Paragraph [0006]) “when a first location of an autonomous navigation vehicle corresponds to a location on a calibration map, an overall calibration index value may be retrieved and used to determine if the first location is a suitable location for performing a calibration operation,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0038], Lines 6-11) “The calibration system 120 may provide control signals to the vehicle controls 118 to control the autonomous navigation vehicle to effectuate a calibration process. The calibration system 120 may provide a drift measurement to the velocity-and-heading computation system 114.” Examiner is interpreting performing a calibration operation which directly affects the subsequent velocity and heading of an autonomous vehicle as an example under broadest reasonable interpretation as bringing the predetermined physical quantity closer to a control target value.
“thus adjusting energy consumption of the vehicle,”
Jesudason teaches that, (Paragraph [0048], Lines 2-7) “a first calibration-map location in a plurality of calibration-map locations may be selectively removed from the plurality of calibration-map locations based on one, or more, temporally changing characteristic values. Examples of temporally changing characteristics may include … operational characteristics,” and that, (Paragraph [0052]) “Exemplary operational characteristics may be power consumption, remaining battery power, autonomous vehicle stability and other operational characteristics.”
“the control apparatus comprising a storage configured to store, in advance, at least one waypoint located on the scheduled travel route and a waypoint-corresponding target value associated with the at least one waypoint;”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “A determination may be made 220 to whether or not the current action location is a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated. If the current action location is 222 a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated, then the overall calibration index value may be updated and stored 224.”
“and control circuitry configured to cause the control apparatus to:”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0029]) “Elements of embodiments of the present invention may be embodied in hardware, firmware and/or a non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon/in which may be used to program a computing system … it is to be understood that one skilled in the art would be able to effectuate these elements in any of these forms while resting within the scope of the present invention.”
“determine whether the vehicle has reached the at least one waypoint; and determine the waypoint-corresponding target value as the control target value in response to determination that the vehicle has reached the at least one waypoint.”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0074], Lines 1-9) “A determination may then be made 226 to whether or not calibration is indicated 226. In some embodiments, calibration may be indicated when the overall calibration index value meets a first criteria. In alternative embodiments, calibration may be indicated when the overall calibration index value, the values of the operational parameters and the values of the environmental parameters meet an associated criteria. If calibration is 228 indicated, then a calibration procedure may be performed 230,” and that, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-5) “A determination may be then made 232 to whether or not the current action location is also a waypoint location. If the current action location is 234 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 236.”
Claim 2 Discloses:
“The control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the at least one waypoint comprises multiple waypoints located on the scheduled travel route;”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0041], Lines 1-5) “a path on which an autonomous navigation vehicle is to traverse may be defined by a plurality of drive-to points, also referred to as drive-to locations, waypoints and waypoint locations.”
“the storage is configured to store, in advance, each of the multiple waypoints located on the scheduled travel route and the waypoint-corresponding target value associated with each of the multiple waypoints; and the control circuitry is configured to cause the control apparatus to: determine whether the vehicle has reached one of the multiple waypoints; and determine, in response to determination that the vehicle has reached one of the multiple waypoints, the waypoint-corresponding target value associated with the one of the multiple waypoints as the control target value.”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-5) “A determination may be then made 232 to whether or not the current action location is also a waypoint location. If the current action location is 234 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 236,” and that, (Paragraph [0073]) “A determination may be made 220 to whether or not the current action location is a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated. If the current action location is 222 a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated, then the overall calibration index value may be updated and stored 224.”
Claim 3 Discloses:
“The control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein: next index information is stored in the control apparatus, the next index information representing a waypoint that the vehicle is scheduled to reach next; the control circuitry is configured to cause, in response to determination that the vehicle has reached an arbitrary waypoint in the multiple waypoints, the control apparatus to: update the next index information to an index value associated with a next waypoint next to the arbitrary waypoint when a predetermined update condition is satisfied, the predetermined update condition being that (I) the vehicle has reached a previous waypoint, which precedes the arbitrary waypoint on the scheduled travel route; and (II) the next index information matches an index value associated with the arbitrary waypoint.”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “A determination may be made 220 to whether or not the current action location is a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated. If the current action location is 222 a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated, then the overall calibration index value may be updated and stored 224,” and that, (Paragraph [0137]) “If the current action location is 840 on the calibration map, then an overall calibration index value may be retrieved 842, one, or more, operational parameter values may be retrieved 844 and one, or more, environmental parameter values may be measured 846.”
Jesudason additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0139]) “If calibration is not 854 indicated or after calibration is performed, a determination may be made 856 to whether or not calibration-map location updates are allowed. If calibration-map location updates are not 858 allowed, then the autonomous navigation vehicle may drive 802 toward a next action location,” and that, (Paragraph [0145], Lines 1-3) “If the current action location is not 920 on the calibration map, then the autonomous navigation vehicle may drive 902 toward the next action location.”
Jesudason additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0143]) “If the autonomous navigation vehicle has 908 reached the next action location, now referred to as the current action location, then a determination may be made 910 to whether or not the current action location is a waypoint. If the current action location is 912 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 914.”
Claim 4 Discloses:
“The control apparatus according to claim 3, wherein: the control circuitry is configured to cause, in response to determination that the vehicle has reached the arbitrary waypoint in the multiple waypoints, the control apparatus to: update, upon determination that traveling of the vehicle has continued at least for a predetermined limit up to the arbitrary waypoint, the next index information to the index value associated with the next waypoint independently of the predetermined update condition; and determine the waypoint-corresponding target value associated with the arbitrary waypoint as the control target value.”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0068]) “When an autonomous navigation vehicle is traversing a navigation route, the calibration controller 124 may use the calibration map to determine if a calibration operation should be performed at a calibration-map location. The calibration controller 124 may use a combination of the corresponding calibration index value(s) and other operational parameter values, for example, the elapsed time since a most recent calibration, a temporal history of previous calibration measurements and other operational parameter values,” and that, (Paragraph [0069], Lines 1-6) “In some embodiments of the present invention, if a substantive time has elapsed since a previous calibration and the calibration index value at the current calibration-map location is sufficiently indicative of a suitable location for calibrating, then the calibration controller 124 may initiate a calibration operation.”
Claim 5 Discloses:
“The control apparatus according to claim 4, wherein: a case where traveling of the vehicle has continued at least for the predetermined limit up to the arbitrary waypoint refers to a situation in which the vehicle is determined to have reached one of the multiple waypoints arranged along the scheduled travel route in a scheduled order at least a predetermined number of times while the traveling of the vehicle travel is being continued.”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0075]) “A determination may be then made 232 to whether or not the current action location is also a waypoint location. If the current action location is 234 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 236. If the autonomous navigation vehicle remains at the terminal point of the calibration path after performing calibration, then, in order to perform any waypoint actions, the autonomous navigation vehicle may first return to the current action location. Then a determination may be made 238 to whether or not calibration-map location updates are allowed. If calibration-map location updates are not 240 allowed, then the autonomous navigation vehicle may drive 202 toward a next action location,” which the Examiner is interpreting the return to a location as an example under broadest reasonable interpretation as reaching one of the multiple waypoints arranged along the scheduled travel route in a scheduled order at least a predetermined number of times.
Jesudason additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0143]) “If the autonomous navigation vehicle has 908 reached the next action location, now referred to as the current action location, then a determination may be made 910 to whether or not the current action location is a waypoint. If the current action location is 912 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 914.”
Claim 7 Discloses:
“The control apparatus according to claim 2, wherein: next index information is stored in the control apparatus, the next index information representing a waypoint that the vehicle is scheduled to reach next;”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “A determination may be made 220 to whether or not the current action location is a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated. If the current action location is 222 a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated, then the overall calibration index value may be updated and stored 224,” and that, (Paragraph [0137]) “If the current action location is 840 on the calibration map, then an overall calibration index value may be retrieved 842, one, or more, operational parameter values may be retrieved 844 and one, or more, environmental parameter values may be measured 846.”
Jesudason additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0143]) “If the autonomous navigation vehicle has 908 reached the next action location, now referred to as the current action location, then a determination may be made 910 to whether or not the current action location is a waypoint. If the current action location is 912 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 914.”
“the control circuitry is configured to cause the control apparatus to: update, in response to determination that the vehicle has reached each waypoint, reached index information to an index value associated with the corresponding waypoint; determine, in response to determination that the vehicle has reached an arbitrary waypoint in the multiple waypoints, whether the reached index information matches the next index information; update, in response to determination that the reached index information matches the next index information,”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-5) “A determination may be then made 232 to whether or not the current action location is also a waypoint location. If the current action location is 234 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 236,” and that, (Paragraph [0073]) “A determination may be made 220 to whether or not the current action location is a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated. If the current action location is 222 a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated, then the overall calibration index value may be updated and stored 224.”
“the next index information to an index value associated with a next waypoint next to the arbitrary waypoint; and determine, in response to determination that the reached index information matches the next index information, the waypoint-corresponding target value associated with the arbitrary waypoint as the control target value.”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0139]) “If calibration is not 854 indicated or after calibration is performed, a determination may be made 856 to whether or not calibration-map location updates are allowed. If calibration-map location updates are not 858 allowed, then the autonomous navigation vehicle may drive 802 toward a next action location,” and that, (Paragraph [0145], Lines 1-3) “If the current action location is not 920 on the calibration map, then the autonomous navigation vehicle may drive 902 toward the next action location.”
Jesudason additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0143]) “If the autonomous navigation vehicle has 908 reached the next action location, now referred to as the current action location, then a determination may be made 910 to whether or not the current action location is a waypoint. If the current action location is 912 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 914.”
Claim 8 Discloses:
“A program product for a vehicle that travels along a scheduled travel route, the program product comprising: a non-transitory storage medium; and computer-program instructions stored in the non-transitory storage medium, the computer-program instructions causing a processor to:”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0068]) “When an autonomous navigation vehicle is traversing a navigation route, the calibration controller 124 may use the calibration map to determine if a calibration operation should be performed at a calibration-map location. The calibration controller 124 may use a combination of the corresponding calibration index value(s) and other operational parameter values, for example, the elapsed time since a most recent calibration, a temporal history of previous calibration measurements and other operational parameter values,” wherein, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 12-14) “Exemplary relationships may be a distance relationship, a spatial relationship, an expected traversal-time relationship and other spatial and/or temporal relationships.”
Jesudason additionally teaches, (Paragraph [0029]) “Elements of embodiments of the present invention may be embodied in hardware, firmware and/or a non-transitory computer program product comprising a computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon/in which may be used to program a computing system … it is to be understood that one skilled in the art would be able to effectuate these elements in any of these forms while resting within the scope of the present invention.”
“determine whether the vehicle has reached at least one waypoint located on the scheduled travel route; read, from a storage in which the at least one waypoint and a waypoint-corresponding target value are stored to be associated with one another, the waypoint-corresponding target value in response to determination that the vehicle has reached the at least one waypoint;”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “A determination may be made 220 to whether or not the current action location is a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated. If the current action location is 222 a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated, then the overall calibration index value may be updated and stored 224,” and that, (Paragraph [0074], Lines 1-9) “A determination may then be made 226 to whether or not calibration is indicated 226. In some embodiments, calibration may be indicated when the overall calibration index value meets a first criteria. In alternative embodiments, calibration may be indicated when the overall calibration index value, the values of the operational parameters and the values of the environmental parameters meet an associated criteria. If calibration is 228 indicated, then a calibration procedure may be performed 230,” and that, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-5) “A determination may be then made 232 to whether or not the current action location is also a waypoint location. If the current action location is 234 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 236.”
“determine the waypoint-corresponding target value as a control target value; operate a control target included in the vehicle; and automatically control, based on an operation of the control target, a predetermined physical quantity so as to bring the predetermined physical quantity closer to the control target value,”
Jesudason teaches, (Abstract) “Aspects of the present invention relate to systems and methods for calibrating an autonomous navigation system. According to a first aspect of the present invention, calibration of the autonomous navigation system may be controlled by a calibration map,” wherein, (Paragraph [0006]) “when a first location of an autonomous navigation vehicle corresponds to a location on a calibration map, an overall calibration index value may be retrieved and used to determine if the first location is a suitable location for performing a calibration operation,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0038], Lines 6-11) “The calibration system 120 may provide control signals to the vehicle controls 118 to control the autonomous navigation vehicle to effectuate a calibration process. The calibration system 120 may provide a drift measurement to the velocity-and-heading computation system 114.” Examiner is interpreting performing a calibration operation which directly affects the subsequent velocity and heading of an autonomous vehicle as an example under broadest reasonable interpretation as bringing the predetermined physical quantity closer to a control target value.
“thus adjusting energy consumption of the vehicle.”
Jesudason teaches that, (Paragraph [0048], Lines 2-7) “a first calibration-map location in a plurality of calibration-map locations may be selectively removed from the plurality of calibration-map locations based on one, or more, temporally changing characteristic values. Examples of temporally changing characteristics may include … operational characteristics,” and that, (Paragraph [0052]) “Exemplary operational characteristics may be power consumption, remaining battery power, autonomous vehicle stability and other operational characteristics.”
Claim 9 Discloses:
“A method of controlling a vehicle that travels along a scheduled travel route, the method comprising:”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0068]) “When an autonomous navigation vehicle is traversing a navigation route, the calibration controller 124 may use the calibration map to determine if a calibration operation should be performed at a calibration-map location. The calibration controller 124 may use a combination of the corresponding calibration index value(s) and other operational parameter values, for example, the elapsed time since a most recent calibration, a temporal history of previous calibration measurements and other operational parameter values,” wherein, (Paragraph [0047], Lines 12-14) “Exemplary relationships may be a distance relationship, a spatial relationship, an expected traversal-time relationship and other spatial and/or temporal relationships,” wherein, (Paragraph [0005]) “Some embodiments of the present invention comprise methods and systems for calibration of an autonomous navigation vehicle.”
“determining whether the vehicle has reached at least one waypoint located on the scheduled travel route; reading, from a storage in which the at least one waypoint and a waypoint-corresponding target value are stored to be associated with one another, the waypoint-corresponding target value in response to determination that the vehicle has reached the at least one waypoint;”
Jesudason teaches, (Paragraph [0073]) “A determination may be made 220 to whether or not the current action location is a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated. If the current action location is 222 a calibration-map location whereat the overall calibration index value may be updated, then the overall calibration index value may be updated and stored 224,” and that, (Paragraph [0074], Lines 1-9) “A determination may then be made 226 to whether or not calibration is indicated 226. In some embodiments, calibration may be indicated when the overall calibration index value meets a first criteria. In alternative embodiments, calibration may be indicated when the overall calibration index value, the values of the operational parameters and the values of the environmental parameters meet an associated criteria. If calibration is 228 indicated, then a calibration procedure may be performed 230,” and that, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-5) “A determination may be then made 232 to whether or not the current action location is also a waypoint location. If the current action location is 234 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 236.”
“determining the waypoint-corresponding target value as a control target value; operating a control target included in the vehicle; and automatically controlling, based on an operation of the control target, a predetermined physical quantity so as to bring the predetermined physical quantity closer to the control target value,
Jesudason teaches, (Abstract) “Aspects of the present invention relate to systems and methods for calibrating an autonomous navigation system. According to a first aspect of the present invention, calibration of the autonomous navigation system may be controlled by a calibration map,” wherein, (Paragraph [0006]) “when a first location of an autonomous navigation vehicle corresponds to a location on a calibration map, an overall calibration index value may be retrieved and used to determine if the first location is a suitable location for performing a calibration operation,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0038], Lines 6-11) “The calibration system 120 may provide control signals to the vehicle controls 118 to control the autonomous navigation vehicle to effectuate a calibration process. The calibration system 120 may provide a drift measurement to the velocity-and-heading computation system 114.” Examiner is interpreting performing a calibration operation which directly affects the subsequent velocity and heading of an autonomous vehicle as an example under broadest reasonable interpretation as bringing the predetermined physical quantity closer to a control target value.
“thus adjusting energy consumption of the vehicle.”
Jesudason teaches that, (Paragraph [0048], Lines 2-7) “a first calibration-map location in a plurality of calibration-map locations may be selectively removed from the plurality of calibration-map locations based on one, or more, temporally changing characteristic values. Examples of temporally changing characteristics may include … operational characteristics,” and that, (Paragraph [0052]) “Exemplary operational characteristics may be power consumption, remaining battery power, autonomous vehicle stability and other operational characteristics.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jesudason in view of Lin et al. (CN 117075608 A, hereinafter Lin)
Claim 6 Discloses:
“The control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the control circuitry is configured to cause the control apparatus to determine whether the vehicle has reached one of the multiple waypoints in response to determination that a current position of the vehicle enters a predetermined determination range that includes the one of the waypoints.”
Jesudason does teach explicitly teach capability to determine a predetermined determination range that includes the one of the waypoints.
However, Jesudason does teach that, (Paragraph [0075], Lines 1-5) “A determination may be then made 232 to whether or not the current action location is also a waypoint location. If the current action location is 234 a waypoint location, then any actions required to be performed at the waypoint may be performed 236.”
Lin does teach capability to determine a predetermined determination range that includes the one of the waypoints.
Lin teaches, (Description) “An autonomous driving control method, vehicle, device, and storage medium,” wherein, (Paragraph [n0002], Lines 3-5) “On a driving route planned based on the starting and ending points, there are multiple waypoints obtained through a positioning system. The vehicle will drive according to the location information of these waypoints,” further wherein, (Paragraph [n0008], Lines 2-3) “the distance between the current position of the vehicle and the multiple path points is calculated,” and additionally that, (Paragraph [n0075], Lines 4-6) “Once the target waypoint is determined, the system will perform driving control based on the location information of the target waypoint and the vehicle's current status (such as speed and direction).”
Lin additionally teaches, (Paragraph [n0025) “An index table with a driving range, an index range, and a correspondence between the two is constructed based on the multiple array blocks. The driving range corresponds to the driving path, which covers the coordinates of the path points in the current array block. The index range is composed of the index numbers of the path points in the current array block,” and particularly that, (Paragraph [n0111], Lines 1-5) “each array block corresponds to a driving range and an index range. This process is repeated across all driving ranges to determine which driving range the vehicle is currently within. In other words, if the vehicle is within this driving range, then it may be necessary to consider the waypoints in the current array block as potential navigation targets.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Jesudason which makes a determination regarding the vehicle’s location in relation to a waypoint and applicable action that may be taken due to being at a waypoint, with the system of Lin which explicitly identifies whether applicable waypoints are within a driving range, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the well-known benefits of interpreting information related to a nearby waypoint to enable precise control of an autonomous vehicle. As Lin describes, (Paragraph [n0117]) “By obtaining the nearest waypoint to the current location as the navigation target, and then combining the information carried by the waypoint with the vehicle's kinematic parameters, precise control of the vehicle's autonomous driving path is achieved.”
RELEVANT BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Aviv et al., (US 2024/0361137 A1) discloses, (Paragraph [0002]) “an apparatus and method for optimal navigation route planning for an electric car, and in particular using environmental, car, and driver factors when planning the optimal route according to a defined objective.”
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/TYLER D PAIGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664